Customer Reviews


875 Reviews
5 star:
 (614)
4 star:
 (176)
3 star:
 (52)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


587 of 609 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The music of pain." (or at least adolescence)
For a first time screenwriter, Joss Whedon's "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" was a good effort for a feature film. I thought for sure the series was going to tank. When I started watching halfway through the first season, I quickly found that I was wrong. "Buffy" simply blossoms on television. I've been hooked ever since.
For the first time, Whedon...
Published on November 7, 2000 by dangertim

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better Buffys were waiting
This isn't a bad purchase at all. And, if you're like me and got acquainted with Buffy through another friend's DVDs (a few days after the show ended), you quickly get a sense of why the show was so compelling. The central characters are already well-developed, and the Master, the show's first "Big Bad," is both scary and strangely endearing. There are also some very...
Published on July 21, 2003 by Center Man


‹ Previous | 1 288 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

587 of 609 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The music of pain." (or at least adolescence), November 7, 2000
By 
dangertim (Houston, TX USA) - See all my reviews
For a first time screenwriter, Joss Whedon's "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" was a good effort for a feature film. I thought for sure the series was going to tank. When I started watching halfway through the first season, I quickly found that I was wrong. "Buffy" simply blossoms on television. I've been hooked ever since.
For the first time, Whedon has provided us with all the terrors of high school (remember those?) in a horror genre setting. Not only that, but he provides a confident, cool FEMALE character to trounce the bad guys. Whether you're a fan of the genre or a teenage feminist, Buffy (Sarah Michelle Gellar) provides a niche for the unpopular misfits in high school, but looks upon them as heroes. Were you as uncomfortable as Xander (Nicholas Brendon)? As geeky as Willow (Alyson Hannigan)? As quick with an aphorism as Oz (Seth Green)? The series proves that high school is indeed survivable no matter who you are, even if you're cliquish Cordelia (Charisma Carpenter). And in the end, the more unpopular you were - possibly the more important you were to your teenage community.
Mix in your favorite teacher (or librarian) played by Anthony Stewart Head (who should play "Doctor Who" after he's done with "Buffy") to be the requisite horror genre British pseudo-scientist, and Buffy's single mom (Kristine Sutherland) and you're all set to go with the most intelligent sci-fi TV series possibly written for this age group. (The next closest thing being the intelligent, yet non-sf "Freaks & Geeks".)
I'm not kidding. It's amazing how quickly these characters grow in the first season and their responses remain true to life despite the extraordinary situations they're thrown into. Creator Joss Whedon has become one of the most talented writer/directors working in the industry today, despite the fact that "Buffy" is most of what he's been doing for the last five years.
As far as what you get in this box set, you're in for a treat. This is the full first season, not just the half previously released on VHS; including the season finale "Prophecy Girl" - where we see just how heroic Buffy really is, despite her adolescence and fear of death. Also present throughout the series are teenage issues of emotional/sexual conflict ("Teacher's Pet") and problems with acceptance ("The Pack"). Specific highlights also include Whedon's commentary for the two part premiere as well as the first appearances of Angel (David Boreanaz) and Jenny Calendar (Robia LaMorte).
Remember, Buffy's not JUST about vampires. In fact I think it's safe to say that vampires are secondary to the emotional undercurrent of the show, if not a particular episode's plot. Forget "Felicity" and shove off of "Dawson's Creek", this is the one for the adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's about time!, November 13, 2001
By 
Joseph Rodriguez (Iowa City, IA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Finally, the complete first season of Buffy the Vampire Slayer is available on DVD (rather than the boxed set previously available that contained only half of the episodes). While a little uneven in quality compared to later, more polished seasons, the series' trademark wit and pathos are in fine form in this set.
The set begins with the two-part series premiere, "Welcome to the Hellmouth" and "The Harvest." These episodes introduce Buffy, a sophomore in high school and the Slayer chosen to fight the forces of darkness; Willow, the shy technology-savvy redhead; Xander, the goofy regular guy who happens to have a serious crush on the Buffster; Cordelia, the shallow queen always ready with an acerbic comment; and Giles, the staid school librarian and Buffy's watcher. Some important secondary characters are also introduced, like Angel, Buffy's future boyfriend, and Darla, Angel's vampiric ex-flame. The storyline involves the plans of the Master, a vampire, to escape his prison and wreak havoc at the same time that Buffy has just transferred to a new school (after being kicked out of her old one for burning down the gym). Naturally, she and her friends avert the catastrophe.
"The Witch" is a great episode, looking at both mother/daughter relationships and being pressured by parents to succeed. When the cheerleading squad meets various mystical "accidents," one-by-one, Buffy has to investigate. The trail apparently leads to Amy Madison, a gawky girl turned second-string cheerleader. She's moving up the ranks as her competitors go down... One of the best episodes in the set.
"Teacher's Pet" features Xander, as he and all the other guys go gaga for a new substitute teacher. But Buffy's suspicious when she sees the teacher do a head-twist, Exorcist-style. Unfortunately, Xander's already in her trap...
"Never Kill a Boy on the First Date" is a more humorous episode. Buffy tries to have a social life, but those pesky slaying commitments keep getting in the way. She finally ends up dragging her date to the funeral home when they find that an ancient prophecy is coming to pass...
In "Angel," the mysterious Angel's secret is revealed: he's a vampire! (As if it were a surprise to anyone.) But when Buffy thinks he's fed on her mother, she has to make a decision: can she bring herself to kill him?
The spotlight's on Willow in "I Robot, You Jane." When introspective Will starts an online romance, Buffy's a little worried. But when it turns out that there's a demon in the Internet - and that he's Willow's "boyfriend" - things get particularly hairy. This episode introduces computer teacher and technopagan Jenny Calendar, Giles' sometimes girlfriend and a pivotal character in Season Two.
"The Puppet Show" is the series' token creepy-ventriloquist's-dummy episode. Giles has been drafted for the school talent show, but several of the participants have turned up rather dead. Buffy suspects one of the stranger kids' ventriloquist dummy is behind the deaths. Though this episode is not the strongest of the season, an enjoyable and unexpected twist makes it still eminently watchable.
In "The Pack," Xander's started to act funny - snarling at his friends and hanging out with the bullies. It all started when he entered the hyena cage at the zoo. But can Buffy figure it out before things get out of hand and somebody gets...well, eaten?
"Nightmares" brings everyone's worst nightmares to life. Buffy's father tells her he doesn't love her, while bookworm Giles forgets how to read. The Master seizes the opportunity to try to make a break for the outside world, and nearly succeeds. Worth it if for nothing but Cordelia's bad hair day.
In "Out of Mind, Out of Sight," an invisible girl is terrorizing Cordelia and her associates. She comes to Buffy for help, and Buffy gives it (albeit very reluctantly). But when the attacks coincide with the crowning of Cordelia as the new May Queen, problems arise - big surprise.
The set ends on a high note with "Prophecy Girl." Giles finds a prophecy that predicts Buffy's death at the hands of the Master. It deals very clearly with Buffy's bleak realization of her own mortality, and ends with a showstopping showdown between Buffy and the Master. Quite possibly the best episode in this set.
I can't recommend this boxed set highly enough. Extras, like interviews with Joss Whedon (the creator) and David Boreanaz (Angel) round out the set. A worthwhile purchase both for Buffy fans and those wanting to see what the fuss is all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reconsidering the First Season of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, October 14, 2001
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (COMMUNITY FORUM 04)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Surely the legions of fans of the "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" television series appreciate the irony that now that the show is in syndication, the First Season (1997) is finally coming out on DVD. This still puts us behind the fans in Europe who can already get last season on video tape, but we will try to be patient, hard as that might be (But it was still a big mistake NOT to include "Prophecy Girl" in the first set of videotapes). Now that "BtVS" is into its Sixth Season and the Slayer is on her third life, this might be a good time to re-evaluate that first season. I therefore offer the following points for contemplation:
(1) The most important factor that gives the television series more depth than the movie is clearly the character of Angel (David Boreanaz), although the creation of the Scooby Gang is huge as well. But even more impressive than the fact that a vampire with a soul is in love with the Slayer is the fact that Joss Whedon holds off on this revelation until the seventh episode ("Angel"). For the first six episodes Angel was Mystery Guy, Stealth Guy, Cryptic Guy, and then in the first truly memorable moment of the series, Buffy learns the truth as Angel's face morphs in her bedroom. Creating these star-crossed lovers is where this television series start an operatic story arc that culminates in "Becoming: Part II," the show's zenith. (2) Related to this is the Master (Mark Metcalf) story arc that defines the first season. Each subsequent season of Buffy has similarly been defined by a pair of story arcs, usually dividing the season in half: Season 2 starts with Spike & Dru and then Angelus takes over in the second half. Of course, this helps set up the thrilling season finales each year as the Master/Angelus/Mayor/Adam/Glory meets their fate. But it also means that throughout the season things are brewing and building. In other words, the order of the episodes matters.
(3) As Joss Whedon has often told us, the subtext of "BtVS" is that High School is Hell. I was surprised that over half the episodes from the First Season dealt primarily with the horrors of going to high school, as opposed to expanding the Buffy mythos. Living up to the unreasonable expectations of parents ("Witch"), having a crush on a teacher ("Teacher's Pet"), school cliques ("The Pack"), meeting someone on the internet ("I Robot, You Jane"), facing your worst fears ("Nightmares"), being ignored by everybody ("Out of Mind, Out of Sight"), and even just trying to go out on a date ("Never Kill a Boy On the First Date") are dealt with in Season One. (4) The final obvious strength of the show would be the characters and the actors playing them. Willow (Allyson Hannigan) might by the all-time best Best Friend, and watching the character grow over the years has been fascinating. Poking fun at the pomposity of Giles (Anthony Stewart Head) never grows old, but I have to admit that I think Xander (Nicholas Brendon) is the [punch line] of way too many jokes. Then again, one of the show's masterstrokes is that Cordelia (Charisma Carpenter), who represents everything about high school that the others hate, gets dragged into being a member of the gang. It is also clear in retrospect that Joss Whedon's knows how to use the characters and acting talent he stumbles across. Elizabeth Anne Allen (Amy Madison), Robia LaMorte (Jenny Calendar), and Mercedes McNab (Harmony) are all introduced in first season episodes and brought back for even greater fun in future episodes.
Watching the first season episodes of "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" makes it clear that the show certainly started strong. Yes, there are some efforts that could be a lot better: my groaner is "Teacher's Pet" although others have problems with "Witch," "I Robot, You Jane" and "Out of Mind, Out of Sight." But all of those episodes suffer in part because they are the farthest removed from the core of the Buffy mythos. But the "Welcome to the Hellmouth/The Harvest" pilot, "The Pack," "Angel" and "Prophecy Girl" are first-rate efforts, and that's a third of the initial season right there. However, as soon as you watch "When She Was Bad," the first episode from Season Two, it is clear that the show had gotten a LOT better. So I would really give Season One 4.5 stars, which rounds up on the strength of Sarah Michelle Gellar's performance and especially her "I don't want to die" speech in "Prophecy Girl." Killing Buffy only makes her stronger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The beginning of a beautiful friendship..., November 20, 2001
By 
Rob (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
I will always hold a fond place in my heart for the first season of "Buffy the Vampire Slayer." This season is truly a peek at a show on the verge of greatness. All the ingredients are there, and they're all good. Further, this season can only not be classified as a masterpiece in retrospect. We know now what great things are to come in all the other seasons (the second all the way through to the sixth, the present season), so this season cannot help but pale in comparison.
But, taken by itself, this is really a wonderful beginning. Not many shows can boast a perfect first episode. And yet this show can. Everything just cliked perfectly from the start: the characters, the mythology, the feel of the show. The only major flaw in the early episodes were weak guest stars. While the main cast (Sarah Michelle Gellar, Allyson Hannigan, Nicholas Brendon, Anthony Stewart Hall, and Charisma Carpenter) are all achingly perfect, most of the guest stars (with the exception of Kristine Sutherland, Robia LaMorte and Armin Shimmerman) were rather mediocre. By the second season, just about everyone on every "Buffy" episode was great.
But let's break it down episode by episode:
"Welcome to the Hellmouth/The Harvest"--What more can I say but that this is a perfect first episode? It lets us in on the mythology of the series, but does not give us to much at once. Further, all of the main characters are explored, and it is clear from the beginning that this is an ensemble piece--all of them are important. Sets up the year's major story arc with the Master.
"The Witch"--While some have called this a weak episode, I like it a great deal. It shows us that Buffy not only slays vampires, and that there is more to the show than that. Also, we see Buffy in a weakened state, with her friends having to help her. With Amy we also see the beginning of a witchcraft theme that will be further explored in later seasons.
"Teacher's Pet"--Another episode that many have called weak, but I think is very enjoyable. Xander gets to be the focus of an episode, and we get to see the first in his line of increasingly bad choices in women (until Cordy next year). No, this is not the best episode, but it's involving and funny.
"Never Kill A Boy on the First Date"--The first story-arc episode since the premiere, this is an extremely entertaining episode, where we get to see Buffy try to juggle being the Slayer and having a normal dating life. Also, of course, we see the first signs of the Anointed One.
"Angel"--Arguably the most important "mythology" episode of the first season, not only do we learn great secrets, but they are ones that will have an enormous effect on the series, particularly in the second season.
"I Robot, You Jane"--In my opinion, this is the first season's real clunker of an episode. The monster is, quite frankly, silly and not very believable, making the story quite lightweight. On the positive side, the dialogue is fresh and witty, as usual, and we finally get to see Willow spotlighted in an episode. Jenny Calendar is also given more of an introduction. She will also be important in the second season.
"The Puppet Show"--A true masterpiece, by first season standards, this episode manages to be both funny and creepy. It is the best of the first season's stand-alones. We start to see just how much of a "Nazi" Principal Snyder is, and the coda scene during the credits is one of the funniest moments in BtVS history.
"The Pack"--An excellent episode that really breaks down the idea of a group of bullies acting like a pack of animals. Only here, it is literally. Xander goes a little bad, and all hell ensues.
"Nightmares"--This episode is pure artistry at its best. It is darker than most of the other eps this season, and also brilliant in how it shows that most realistic nightmares are not the monsters Buffy faces every week, but the doubts, concerns, and worries of every teenager, such as a father telling his daughter he doesn't love her, entering a classroom naked, etc. Buffy's fear of being buried alive is an amazing foreshadowing of the sixth season.
"Out of Mind, Out of Sight"--We get to learn more about Cordy, and, even, *gasp!* possibly like her a little in this episode. It is an interesting concept, well carried-out. And the final scene is one of the creepiest of the first season.
"Prophecy Girl"--The best episode of the season, and also the season finale. It is the first first season episode to transcend the first season. It has the quality of a second season episode, which is saying a great deal, since the second season is pure genius.
So, to sum up...Buy this set. It is required viewing for Buffy newbies and fans alike. No, it is not the best season. It is only the beginning. But what a wonderful beginning it is...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Master's Plan" revisited., November 3, 2001
By 
Picking up just a few months after the movie left off, (which starred Kristy Swanson), season one evolved around the appearance of many of the now key characters of this series.
The first was Buffy Summers, who in the series is played by Sarah Michelle Gellar, who is far superior as Buffy than Krusty. She begins as being resentful as being "The Chosen One", and thought her vampire slaying days were at an end. A stroke of fate placed her directly on the Hellmouth when she switched schools, forcing her to again slay all of those nasties.
The second is the dark, mysterious and brooding "vampire with a soul" apropriately named as Angel aka Angelus. He is portrayed by David Borandaz, who can ignite his character with both charm and terror sometimes at the same time.
Next up is Ruport Gyles, (Anthony Stewart Head) on the outside a Clark Kentish mild mannered, occasionally dim-witted libriarian. But in reality he is Buffy's watcher, who at times has a strength (both outer and inner) which he may not realize he has.Not to forget her two best friends, Willow and Xander (Alyson Hannagan and Nicholas Brandon), they both have their strengths, Willow her computer wizardry and Xander his . . . um well, he's just one of the girls [as Buffy so aptly points out in one of the episodes in this set].
We can't forget Cordellia Chase (Charisma Carpenter), while she fancies herself as the self-imposed queen of the school, and a nemisis of Buffy, when push comes to shove, she finds herself standing alongside Buffy fighting the demons (when she herself isn't being held captive by one that is).
Finally the seasonal characters, in this season it's the Master (Mark Metcalf). Everything that a Vampire is, is in him, thought to be one of the last "true" vampires, he rises from his sub-terrianian grave ready to be released from his sub-terrianian prison, waiting to kill the only thing that stands in his way . . . the Slayer.
On this three disk set are all 12 of the 1st season episodes:
01. Welcome to the Hellmouth
02. The Harvest
03. The Witch
04. Teacher's Pet
05. Never Kill a Boy on the 1st Date
06. The Pack
07. Angel
08. I Robot -- You Jane
09. Puppet Show
10. Nightmares
11. Invisible Girl (aka: Out of Sight out of Mind)
12. Prophecy Girl
I'm glad that they decided to follow the patern of the X-Files and Avengers, in that they package the series in seasons, rather than individually, as it makes it less expensive for the customers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good start to one of the best - if not THE best - TV shows of all time, February 23, 2006
By 
Tom Benton (North Springfield, VT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer - The Complete First Season (Slim Set) (DVD)
During its seven seasons on the air - the first five on The WB, the last two on UPN - "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" garnered more devoted fans than you can shake a stake at. The show's surprising plot twists, lovable characters, immense originality and wonderful wit are enough to draw in anyone - that is, if you make it past the show's campy title. Sadly, many people heard the title and assumed that "Buffy" was a campy horror series - but now, thanks to DVD, you can shed your assumptions and watch the entire magnificent series from start to finish.

The season begins with high school sophomore Buffy Summers (Sarah Michelle Gellar) moving to the seemingly calm and quiet town of Sunnydale, California. After the ordeal depicted in the '92 film of the same name, Buffy just wants to live a normal life, free from battling the undead. But, as she discovers in the two-part pilot episodes "Welcome to the Hellmouth" and "The Harvest", she cannot escape her destiny as The Slayer - one girl chosen in every generation to battle the vampires, the demons, the unholy. This time around, though, Buffy has friends to help her in her battle: wisecracking Xander (Nicholas Brendon), shy computer geek Willow (Alyson Hannigan), popular drama queen Cordelia (Charisma Carpenter), and Buffy's Watcher (a sort of mentor and guardian for the Slayer), droll Englishman Rupert Giles (Anthony Stewart Head). Buffy also meets the handsome and mysterious Angel (David Boreanaz), who is not what he seems ...

"Buffy"'s first season is an interesting one indeed. It's hardly as brilliant as the seasons that followed; when compared to the rest of the show, it's a sort of lame appetizer. But this season is far from bad. Some of the highlights of the season are the aforementioned two-part opener, "Welcome to the Hellmouth" and "The Harvest"; Buffy's date with a 'normal' guy in "Never Kill a Boy on the First Date"; "Nightmares", in which everyone's nightmares become reality; and the season finale, "Prophecy Girl", Joss Whedon's directorial debut. Probably the season's finest episode is "Angel", the classic ep. in which Buffy discovers the truth about who - and what - Angel really is. Of course, this season also has its share of bad episodes (most of the show's worst episodes are in this season). Chief among these is "The Pack", in which Xander and a group of mischievous teens are possessed by the spirits of demonic hyenas.

Joss Whedon, worshipped as a God by fans of his work - primarily "Buffy" and "Firefly" - hadn't yet been given full control of the show, as these 12 episodes were filmed as a mid-season replacement. Because of this, this season is perhaps a little campy and certainly not on par with the seasons which followed. Season one of "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" is a good start to one of the best - if not THE best - TV shows of all-time. I'd highly recommend that you pick it up and give it a try; if you make it to Season Two, you won't regret it.

TOP 5 OF THE SEASON

1. Angel
2. Prophecy Girl
3. Welcome to the Hellmouth
4. The Harvest
5. Nightmares

THE DVDS: These new DVD sets are the same as the old, but with a reduced price and new, very thin packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish Fulfillment, March 9, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Typical of Buffy's 'older' fans, I discovered her late in the second season. The problem with being an intellectual snob is that one only discovers television shows by accident, which means you've always missed a good deal of history. So, despite an occasional rerun, I pretty much lost the entire first season. To make matters worse, I've only recently acquired the ability to watch DVD's. I am pleased to announce that my woes are now over. With the release of the first season on DVD and the up and coming release of the second season, I am about to enter Buffy heaven.
Watching these episodes I was struck by the talented writing and acting that were present right from the beginning. It is immediately apparent that the show was never intended to be yet another scary film take-off. From Sarah Gellar to Anthony Head the actors display an almost effortless professionalism. And the writing is filled with the kind of bright dialog and wit to which us adults can only aspire.
This set contains the first 12 episodes which are all there was of the first season. Officially, that's from ''Welcome to the Hellmouth' to 'Prophecy Girl'. It's hard to pick one out as a favorite, but I'm currently very fond of 'Teacher's Pet' in which Xander's woes remind me of much of my own early history. All are wonderful, and I no longer think of myself as one of the BTVS disadvantaged.
In addition to the episodes themselves, there are interviews with Joss Whedon and David Boreanaz, a full length commentary on 'Welcome to the Hellmouth' by Whedon, who also provides several interviews. Television trailers, photo stills, and the original pilot script are there as well. Languages alternatives are English and French (also available in surround sound). Spanish and English subtitles are also provided. Sound and video quality are excellent. I had a problem getting the second and third DVD's to play on my PC, which were resolved by updating the DVD drive's firmware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best show on TV finally comes home to DVD!, October 14, 2001
By 
Robert W. Berg "Rob" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For any fan of "Buffy," this box set is absolutely essential. For any one who has never seen "Buffy," it is essential as well. What better place to start than the beginning of the story? True, the show is still starting out here, so it is not yet the perfect, amazing brilliant piece of art we see every week, but it is still very, very good. It is amazing how well the characters were written, from the beginning. In some shows, it takes a few episodes or even years for the writers and actors to find the right tone for their characters. Not so with "Buffy." From the very first episode, everything falls into place perfectly, and the character interaction is realistic and wonderful. It is also amazing how well the episodes hold up continuity-wise. One would expect that a show that has been on 6 years, whose writers were creating the mythology as they went along, might have stumbled here or there...but no. I was only able to find one continuity error. When Angel meets Buffy in the first episode, "Welcome to the Hellmouth," he tells her that he thought she'd be taller. In a later episode, "Amends," in the third season, we learn that Angel had seen Buffy from afar in L.A. the year before, so he already knew how tall she was. And that is the only slip I was able to find. In fact, the episodes from the first season are even better if you go back to them after watching the other seasons. In "Nightmares," we learn that one of Buffy's biggest nightmares is being buried alive...And in "Bargaining," that is exactly what happens to her. I could go on and on about the extremely complex, brilliant mythology of the show, the great writing, the amazing acting, and the excellent production values and directing. But why not do yourself a favor, stop reading this review, and order the darn thing already! You'll be glad you did. For Joss Whedon did the amazing task of not only creating a successful show with a silly name like "Buffy the Vampire Slayer," but also making it the most intelligent show on TV today, and, arguably, ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whats to be said it is the best show ever, October 11, 2001
I gave this product 5 stars because it is Buffy and no other show has ever come close to matching it for quality. In fact I am currently converting my sixth friend into becoming as sad a fan as I am.
The first person I introduced to Buffy now scans the web for news about upcoming episodes and positively cant wait for new seasons to start.
I am amazed that we in the UK have got the first two series on DVD already with series 3 of Buffy and series 1 of angel coming out at the end of october. Usually we get everything after the US and Japan, but hey I aint complaining unless you guys get more extras that is.
Anyway series one is not the best in my opinion but it is still great and with the extras and the great interface you get with the DVD it really is a must for Buffy fans. In fact I would suggest that if you dont yet have a DVD player then buy one so you can get the extras on these DVDs alone.
And if you think this DVD is good you wait for season 2, it is even better except for the packaging which although it includes glossy inbuilt pages of information, still seems a little cheap in my opinion and has little pockets where you slip the dvds into. The pockets are a little tight and I am worried that in the long term it will scratch the DVDs as you keep taking them out.
Anyway thats for the future season one is a MUST buy, can you get your DVD players chipped to play DVDs from other regions, I know we can here for a small charge in most electronic stores and it means that you will be able to order all three first series from Amazon.co.uk, without having to wait another two years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Begins Here, November 18, 2001
By 
Sanjiv Sarwate (Chicago, Illinois USA) - See all my reviews
Despite what the Emmy voters think, "Buffy" is consistently one of the most creative, best written, and best performed shows on television. Although the first season has some miscues that are typical of any freshman show (e.g. the somewhat unsatisfying "Teacher's Pet" and "The Pack"), it still leaps and bounds above the expectations that we are conditioned to expect from ordinary television. Five seasons later, it's still going strong. There aren't many shows that maintain a consistently high level of creativity and quality for six seasons, but "Buffy" manages it with style. I look forward to releases of future seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 288 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Buffy the Vampire Slayer  - The Complete First Season (Slim Set)
$39.98 $12.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.