Customer Reviews


631 Reviews
5 star:
 (503)
4 star:
 (73)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


146 of 152 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The operatic second season of "Buffy the Vampire Slayer"
I do not consider it hyperbole to talk about the second season of "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" as scaling operatic heights, culminating with the glorious aria of "Becoming, Part 2," which I still relentlesly tout as one of the ten best dramatic hours on television I have ever seen in my life. I have watched a lot of television and have been teaching classes about this...
Published on March 13, 2002 by Lawrance M. Bernabo

versus
21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great show, bad DVD
Let me start off by saying that I love Buffy. I think it's one of the greatest shows on television right now. Great writing, incredible acting, inventive storylines, and just the right balance of humor, drama, and action.
Were I to give the show a rating, it would be a very high 5+. However, I gave this DVD boxed set such a low rating because of the quality of the...
Published on June 12, 2002 by ldsssa


‹ Previous | 1 264 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

146 of 152 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The operatic second season of "Buffy the Vampire Slayer", March 13, 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I do not consider it hyperbole to talk about the second season of "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" as scaling operatic heights, culminating with the glorious aria of "Becoming, Part 2," which I still relentlesly tout as one of the ten best dramatic hours on television I have ever seen in my life. I have watched a lot of television and have been teaching classes about this topic for over half my life, so I believe I can make a pretty convincing case. We witnesses the potential of this series in Season 1, when creator Joss Whedon held off on the revelation that the mysterious Angel was really a vampire, who just happened to have a soul and loved the Slayer, until half way through the abbreviated first season. In Season 2, we find out just how far true love can go wrong.
Love continues to be a very painful thing for the Scooby Gang, as Cordelia ("Some Assembly Required"), Xander ("Inca Mummy Girl") and Joyce ("Ted"), find out. Then again, prospects look much better for Willow ("Phases"), although we never really do take the Cordelia-Xander romance ("Go Fish") to be anything more than a cosmic joke, which does offer up the delightfully twisted "Bewitched, Bothered, and Bewildered" as the exception that proves the rule (footnote: Buffy spends most of the episode as the Buffy rat because Sarah Michelle Gellar was hosting SNL that week). Of the off-arc stories, "Halloween" and "Ted" are clearly the best of the bunch. But when it comes to romance, Buffy and Angel are truly on the road to hell paved with the best of intentions.
It is clear in the season premier episode, "When She Was Bad," that things are different. When Buffy dances seductively with Xander, taunting him with her sexuality, the ante has been upped considerably. The pivotal point in the season comes with episode 13 (of 22), "Surprise," when Buffy unknowingly undoes Angel's curse on the night of her 17th birthday by making love to him. Why the gypsies put in the Faustian (in the Goethe sense) escape clause via the moment of true happiness and contentment is debatable, but the galvanizing effect on the show is truly impressive. When Angelus brutally slays Jenny Calendar in "Passion," leaving her body in a grotesque display for Giles to discover in his bed (while opera music soars in the background), it is the symbolic Hellmouth of the show opening up. The audience is shocked into realizing how bad things can get, only the worst is yet to come. Giles's anger buys him one shot at Angelus, but Buffy has to rescue him. They turn on each other in anger, and Buffy actually slugs him to the ground before they collapse weeping in each other's arms. Buffy tells him, "I can't do this alone," but this proves to be most ironically incorrect.
Clearly Whedon constructs each season around two half-season story arcs. The first half of Season 2 heralds the arrival of Spike and Dru, and the quick departure of "The Annoying One." Of course now we look back and are amazed at what James Marsters has done with the role of Spike, but at this point it is Juliet Landau's ditzy psychotic vampire who provides the flair of the dark side. Whedon brings the first half to a climax in "What's My Line?," the show's first two-parter, where we are introduced to Kendra the Vampire Slayer. It seems Buffy's brief moment of death at the hands of the Master in "Prophecy Girl" has some long reaching implications we only begin to appreciate at this point. But with the return of Angelus everything changes. Spike and Drusilla are trying to reassemble the Judge, a grotesque who cannot be killed "by any weapon forged." Then everybody learns the truth about not only Angel's transformation but also Jenny's betrayal. Thus begins the deadly game of cat and mouse between Angel and his former allies, which culminates in the two parts of "Becoming."
Both parts of "Becoming" are written and directed by Whedon, and represent the apex of his work on the series. When Angeleus opens the portal to Hell, only his blood can close it, but things are not going to be that easy for Buffy. The dramatic culmination contains the best fight sequence (with swords) in a show that prides itself on innovative staging of its fights, and is an ultimately emotionally shattering experience captured beautifully by Sarah Michelle Gellar's slow dissolve into tears while the haunting Sarah McLachlan song "Full of Grace" is played. Joss Whedon had set this moment up from the first episode of the series. It is a payoff usually reserved for the final episode of a series and not simply the end of the second season. "Becoming" is truly an astounding accomplishment in the history of dramatic television and when you watch the entire second season again you can appreciate how brilliantly this shattering conclusion is set up.
The original theatrical film was a teaser, the first season on television was an appetizer, but the second season of "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" was epic and once you see this, whether again or for the first time, you are not going to want to stop here. It is especially nice to see that the extras have gone up a couple of notches for the Season 2 DVD collection which is clearly priced to be accessible to BtVS's loyal fans. Yes, we all appreciated having the entire first season, just like our Buffy brethren across the sea, but certainly we expected more goodies from Whedon and crew, especially given the high quality of "The Watchers Guide," the show's official companion volumes. Clearly there is a lot of thought put into this show, which means any and all insights and looks behind the curtain are greatly appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


273 of 290 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible (spoilers below), March 9, 2002
The second season continued one what was successfully started in the first season. The second season is a lot more ambitious (remember, the first season only had twelve episodes, unlike the rest which had 22).
The story arcs in the second season are brilliant. The romance between Angel and Buffy reached gothic heights with Surprise/Innocence (Surprise is astonishing). When Angel turns bad, David Boreanaz manages to do a sensational job of acting the transition (the episodes "Passion" and "I Only Have Eyes For You" are incredible in detailing this, and Buffy's reaction). Willow's romance with Oz is wonderful, and Giles attachment to Jenny Calendar a welcome addition.
This show still manages to be surprisingly funny (as seen in Halloween, and Bewitched Bothered and Bewildered) and packs a wallop (the two part season ender, Becoming I & II, are essential viewing for any Buffy fans. They are incredibly moving). Yes, there are some clunkers (Killed by Death, Bad Eggs), but they are more than redeemed.
My favourites are: Becoming I & II, Surprise/Innocence, I Only Have Eyes for You, Passion, School Hard, When She Was Bad, and Lie To Me
For a show set in high school, the writers have neatly side-stepped making a caricature of Anthony Stewart Head's librarian/Watcher Giles. His befuddled sexiness is immensely appealing. Alyson Hannigan's performance as wallflower Willow blooming into a witch (her growing powers are smartly charted by writers all the way through season six) is strong, and having the animosity between Xander and Cordelia boil over into lust was a masterstroke. Finally, we have to give the star her due. Sarah Michelle Gellar proved with this season that she's actually a capable actress, both with comic timing (Halloween) and pathos (Surprise/Innocence).
The second season was an immense improvement over the first season (a solid debut) and the quality continues. In my mind, the second and third season need to be bought together (or at least both bought). Story arcs introduced in the second season are wrapped up in the third season. Buy this set, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Buffy" Comes Of Age, March 12, 2002
By 
Jason A. Miller (Brooklyn, New York USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
With the features-packed DVD of "Buffy" Season 2 due to hit our mailboxes any month now, it's time for a look back at the episodes that arguably turned the show from closet-watching fascination to cult phenomenon.
Season 2 was "Buffy"'s first full-length run of 22 episodes, up from 12 the previous spring. David Boreanaz (Angel) joined the cast full-time, and in his first episode, "When She Was Bad", it's clear that his feelings for Buffy have not gone away during the season hiatus. The romantic tension between the leads is intense in the season premiere, with Buffy challenging Angel to a fight (which would come back to be very important later), and Xander and Willow nearly kissing.
"School Hard" introduced the season's recurring villains, Spike and Drusilla, the "Sid and Nancy" of the vampire world. Spike hunts down Buffy through dark school characters, and Principal Snyder drops the first hint of the dark Sunnydale conspiracy of silence.
"Inca Mummy Girl" and "Reptile Boy" are two fun monster shows. David Greenwalt, later the driving force behind the "Angel" show, will give audio commentary to the latter story, and this is anticipated to provide a great glimpse of how he's influenced both shows.
"Halloween", "Lie To Me", and "The Dark Age" explore the characters of Giles, Angel, Spike and Drusilla much more thoroughly, each showing scary glimpses of their dark pasts. The first of these stories introduces the recurring warlock Ethan Rayne, an old "friend" of Giles. The second features Jason Behr, who appeared in every WB teen series ever.
"What's My Line?", a two-parter, here with audio commentary by executive producer Marti Noxon (another huge cog in the "Buffy" wheel), introduces the notion of the "second slayer", sends the Buffy/Angel romance to a new level -- and features a surprising coupling between two other regulars. It's the first of the season's three two-parters, and you'll be impressed to know that this is the weakest of the three.
"Ted" is notable for Special Guest Star John Ritter. At the time, this bit of casting was seen as a triumph for the show, just getting attention in the national media. He's a great psychopath, Jack Tripper-style.
"Surprise"/"Innocence" is the next two-parter, presented with Joss Whedons commentary. "Innocense" moved "Buffy" from Monday nights to Tuesday, getting out of the "Seventh Heaven" shadow and anchoring its own night on the WB. Buffy and Angel have their moment of true happiness; Xander and Cordelia give Willow a moment of true unhappiness, and suddenly Spike and Drusilla are no longer the only villains. These two hours are among "Buffy"'s greatest achievement.
"Phases" is a funny werewolf show, moving Seth Green's popular Oz into the inner-circle Scooby Gang. "Bewitched, Bothered and Wildered" is Xander's comic Valentine's Day nightmare, with another appearance by Amy the teen witch.
"Passion" revels again in "Buffy"'s ability to kill off regular characters. Many BtVS fans name this their favorite episode of all time.
The season ends with a final two-parter, "Becoming", and when part two aired, the four-month hiatus until Season 3 began, became unbearable. These two hours show, via flashback, the origins of Drusilla, Angel, and Buffy. The Buffy/Angel "forbidden romance of all time" comes to a shocking conclusion, and Spike comes to a sudden decision about his loyalties. Pay special attention to his fight with Buffy at the beginning of Part Two. Five years gone by, he's still with us.
The final episode changes every basic premise of the show, and if you haven't seen it before, you'll be left stunned. Indeed there's barely a rotten episode in the bunch, with only a couple of the 22 hours you won't watch more than once. With a sixth disc full of production featurettes, and hours of commentary from the production time -- and at an extremely reasonable price for a 6-disc set -- this is the must-buy DVD set of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buffy at her best., May 13, 2002
By 
I'm sure that all fans agree that the second season of Buffy the Vampire Slayer was the best overall season of the entire series (to date). With the introduction of "The Big Bad" Spike and his clueless mistress Drucilla, the rivalry between Angel and Spike, the intruduction of a new Slayer (the ungodly cute, but awkward Kendra) and finally the introduction of Seth Green as Willow's boyfriend OZ made for some fun times infront of the screen.
Episodes:
When She Was Bad: Buffy's cold, distant behavior is escalated when she learns of plans to ressurrect the Master.
Some Assembly Required: A perfect woman is being created from dead body parts, the finishing touch -- Cordellia's head.
School Hard: Spike crashes into town, wishing to add a third slayer to his list of victims.
Inca Mummy Girl: Buffy's south American exchange student friend turns out to be an Incian Mummy brought back to life.
Reptile Boy: Buffy & Cordelia go to a frat party and become the main course in the feeding of a demon.
Halloween: The gang is volunteered to take kids trick-or-treating, but their costumes take on the role playing attributes, of course Spike tries to take atvantage of the situation.
Lie to Me: An old boybriend of Buffy's is a part of a sect which worships vampires.
The Dark Age: Sins of Giles' past catch up to him, as a demon he himself created comes after him.
What's my Line (2 pts) : Spike calls on three deadly assasins to keep her out of the way of a ritual, but four people come, the forth is a young woman who introduces her self: "I am Kendra, the Vampire Slayer". Buffy learns that she and Kendra were trained differently, but they join forces, rescuing Angel from Spike's ritual, but allow Drucilla to be restored, and Spike to be crippled.
Ted: John Ritter is a master chef who wishes to marry Joyce, but he realizes three's a crowd. (It was only a jo-oke, je-e-eze!)
Bad Eggs: Students are given eggs as a parenthood lesson, but the eggs really are creatures who take over the students and lead them to the basement to dig up the mother creature.
Surprise (1 of 2): We learn that Jenny is really the descendant of the clan who cursed Angel, and she has just sent him to the most remote region of Earth possible.
Innocense (2 of 2): After a moment of true happiness, Angel is returned to his vampire self and is reunited with Spike.
Phases: Oz becomes a werewolf after being bitten by his cousin Jordy.
Bewitched, Bothered & Bewildered: Distraught about being dumped by Cordy, Xander has Amy help him with a love spell that goes wrong.
Passion: Angel has a new way of life, and it involvs terrorizing Buffy, and Jenny wishes to help restore his soul.
Killed by Death: Buffy is taken to the hospital with a fever, and learns the sick children are being persecuted by a monster that may be death itself.
I Only Have Eyes for You: The ghost of a student haunts the halls forcing people to relive a murder.
Go Fish: The Swim team members are gradually being skinned alive like fish.
Becoming (2 pts): Buffy and Willow learn of a spell that will restore Angel's soul. Kendra returns only to be killed by Dru. Spike and Buffy form their first alliance, and Joyce learns that Buffy is the slayer, who tells her if she leaves the house she better not ever come back.
Besides these episodes, the DVD's bring us hours of extras, including interviews, teasers and even a few commenteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go on try it...ignore the title, March 8, 2002
The second season of Buffy is on its way, and it's about time. With the second season, we get the full 22 episodes instead of the 12 of the first season. We also get to see all of the cast members really find their characters. Sarah Michelle Gellar simply shines in this season, reprising her Buffy character and in doing so, brings us along as she matures while dealing with high school, a boyfriend (Angel, a vampire to boot), and her mother finally discovering that she is the Slayer. Willow (Allyson Hannigan) begins her foray into Wicca (which will play heavily in later seasons), and gains a boyfriend as well (Oz, played by Seth Green)). This season is where the show finds itself. Xander, Cordelia, Giles, and Jenny Calendar, all are here and start really bonding together until the scoobies really come together as a unit.
This season has MANY great episodes, and the story arc that builds is considered by many as the best of all the six seasons of Buffy. This is the season where we see Buffy and Angel become both lovers...and worst enemies. David Boreanaz plays his evil-self part very well, and many will argue that the 2-part season finale (Becoming 1 & 2) are the best episodes of Buffy period. One of the other things we see is Spike (James Marsters) becoming a likeable villain. This will pan out in later seasons.
For Buffy fans, this DVD set is of course a no-brainer. For those who have not watched the show, or don't understand the passion behind the fans, this is the season that will open up your eyes. Ignore the fact that the show sounds like some teenie bopper flick show...it's not. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great season and the first display of the brilliance to come, March 7, 2006
By 
Tom Benton (North Springfield, VT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer - The Complete Second Season (Slim Set) (DVD)
WARNING: POSSIBLE SPOILERS AHEAD.

After the first season found success as a mid-season replacement, the WB renewed BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER for a second season, this time with a full slate of 22 episodes. It was during this second season that fans were given their first taste of the brilliance that made the show so popular in the seasons that followed.

The first half of this season sticks, for the most part, to the first season's "Monster of the Week" formula, as Buffy (Sarah Michelle Gellar) does battle with an array of creepy crawlies. Some of these episodes were great, such as "Halloween" (in which our gang becomes whatever they're dressed up as) and "Lie to Me" (in which Buffy finds herself trying to disillusion a group of vampire worshippers); many were not ("Reptile Boy", "Inca Mummy Girl"). One of the finest early episodes of this season is "School Hard", which introduced the fan favorite characters of Spike (James Marsters) and Drusilla (Juliet Landau). But it's during the second half of the season, beginning at episode 13, where the show finally realized its potential and became the brilliant drama we all know and love. The primary storyline of the season's later episodes revolves around the relationship between Buffy and Angel (David Boreanaz). Centuries ago, Angel was cursed by gypsies, who restored his soul, thus forcing him to eternally torment himself for the pain he had caused as the evil vampire Angelus. If Angel ever experiences a moment of true happiness, he will revert back to his original form as the vampiric barbarian Angelus. As you may guess, Angel experiences a moment of true happiness, causing Buffy to question whether she can cure her true love - or whether she'll ultimately be forced to kill him.

Many of the show's finest episodes are in this season. They include "Surprise" and "Innocence", in which Angel undergoes his surprising transformation; "Passion", in which Angel psychologically torments Buffy's friends and family; "I Only Have Eyes for You", in which Sunnydale High is haunted by the ghost of a former student-turned-murderer; and the excellent two-part finale, "Becoming", considered by many to be the finest episodes of the entire series.

The second season of BUFFY features surprising plot twists, terrific acting (Gellar is outstanding), clever and witty scripts, and a great soundtrack. Many a fan considers this to be the show's finest season; I'd say it's definitely up there. Those who watched Season One and enjoyed it will feel well-rewarded whilst watching BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER: Season Two - it's all that Season One was and so very much more.

TOP 5 EPISODES OF THE SEASON

1. Becoming, Part Two
2. Becoming, Part One
3. Passion
4. Innocence
5. Surprise

ABOUT THE DVD: This release is the same as the previous release, only with the discs packaged in very thin cases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grrr. Arg., November 11, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I remember when I was a kid, a local movie reviewer here in DC gave "Raiders of the Lost Ark" five stars. This was a big deal because in his entire history of reviewing films, four stars had always been his highest rating. He justified it simply by saying, "(Raiders) is the perfect example of why we go to the movies in the first place."

I broke my own rule and gave Season Two five stars, because Buffy as a whole is a perfect example of what TV can do when it is done right, and Season Two is a perfect example of a great show at the highest peak of its energy, creativity, and enthusiasm. Now, before you roll your eyes, I know I pulled a Milhouse in my review of Season One and got a wee bit overstimulated, wearing out the thesaurus with words of praise and sounding like a love-struck geek on too much Adderol, so I promise to be more restrained here and limit myself to a story you Buffy-heads will probably find amusing.

A year ago I moved back to DC from Pennyslvania, and for about 6 months lived with my mom while I looked for an apartment and fumbled around with my new job. During this tough settling-in period, which coincided with the DC area Sniper shooting people every day right on my doorstep, and boy wasn't that a fun time to work in Rockville, MD, I started watching back-to-back Buffy episodes on FX. I had been only a very casual watcher of the show prior to this, but quickly got hooked. Of course, as I lay on the couch in my shirt and tie, drinking beer and eating Triscuits, my 62 year-old Mom (who is in Seminary) would inevitably walk through the living room, roll her eyes, and say, "What are you doing watching this CHILDREN'S PROGRAM?" (Remember when your parents told you as long as you were under their roof, you were still a child to them? This rule still applies at the age of 30). For weeks I silently endured this abuse, which was worst when she happened to be in the room reading about Nietsche's "World Spirit" or Schopenauer's "Die Welt als Wille Und Vorstellung". Many sneers were directed at the appearance of Buffy's bra-strap, or Cordelia's little cheerleading skirt, or the Master's Kool-Aid mouth and WWI flying ace leather jacket. Gradually the criticism faded. And then, one day, out of the blue, I heard: "Hey....why is Buffy kissing that vampire?"

That was around Halloween. By Thanksgiving day, she would not leave the house to go to dinner until I assured her that a tape was in the VCR, recording every minute of FX's "Buffy's Skewers Choice Marathon." For Christmas, she gave herself Buffy's First Season on DVD, thinly disguised as a present to me. In short order followed Season Two and Three. Then I moved out to my own place. No matter. When Four came out, I was compelled to invite her over every Sunday for two episodes. As of this writing we are about five episodes away from the end of the season. Luckily, Season Five will soon be released, which will prevent her from breaking her into my apartment and looting all my DVD's like a crazed junkie going through a pharmacy. Then again, for Christmas this year, she wants a DVD player of her own, and...gasp!....I've already invited her in!

Suffice to say, if Buffy's Second Season could convert my Moms, Seminary and all, it HAS to be good. Some (not all) of the highlights: "School Hard" (enter Spike & Dru), "Reptile Boy" (hilarious, but creepy), "Halloween" (just hilarious), "Lie to Me" (moving), "Ted" (in retrospect, a good tribute to John Ritter), "What's My Line I & II...." (Xander and Cordelia!) "The Dark Age", "Bewitched...." (also hilarious), "Passion" (most disturbing episode of the series), "Go Fish" and "Becoming I & II."

If liked Buffy after the first season, Season Two is probably what made you a fan. And if you're not a fan, you might want to give these 22 episodes a spin. If that doesn't work, check your pulse. You're probably dead. Congrats! Wipe off that grave dirt, take a gander at the moon, wander around the cemetary and have a nice long drink of someone's blood. Just do yourself a favor....stay out of Sunnydale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than most movies or television, February 28, 2002
This is the season where the Buffy cast hit its stride. There is a rich tapestry of plot and myth associated with this show, and most of it started in season two. Sadly, most of you who read this review are already sold on the quality of the show, but there are legions who would be dumbfounded by the consistant quality if they could only get past the title.
Do yourself a favor - take a chance on a sure bet. This DVD is guaranteed to entertain. Pick it up and be amazed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Outstanding Storytelling, June 30, 2002
By 
Heffaloo "Heffaloo" (Oklahoma City, Oklahoma USA) - See all my reviews
There are only two possible complaints with season 2 of the hit program Buffy the Vampire Slayer. First, due to budget limitations, the whole season was filmed with a 16mm camera, so the image quality is not a good as it could have been. Second, there are only 22 episodes.
The whole season flows perfectly, from Buffy's return to Sunnydale after summer vacation in L.A. (still freaked out about dying in season 1), to her departure at season's end after destroying her whole life to save the world. Season Two features what is still my favorite episode, "Passion." While death comes suddenly and often to background characters in this series, they take it seriously when a main character is killed. There are long term repercussions, and people don't recover from the emotional trauma of losing a loved one in just 1 week. "Passion" was the first time we got to see how the Mutant Enemy production crew dealt with a major character's death, and it was quite powerful. Other episodes that deal with the death of major characters are "Becoming (pts 1 & 2)," Season Five's outstanding "The Body," the first three and last four episodes of Season Six. I guess we'll still have to wait awhile for those.
Seriously, I have gotten more people hooked on this show with select episodes from season 2, than any other season. If you haven't seen it before, you're missing something special.
I also recommend the Season One DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FOR THE UNINITIATED, June 5, 2002
By 
Saki (ROCHESTER, NY) - See all my reviews
I, like so many people I know who later became huge fans of the series, was initially convinced that the show was nothing but teenage horror nonsense, similar more to "Idle Hands" than Shakespeare. This opinion was, needless to say, unforgivably uninformed. I took the silliness of the title, my giant lack of feelings toward the movie of the same name, and the caricatures put forth by the equally uninformed, and created for myself a negative mental picture of the show. The picture carried me straight through the first season of the show, as I, in my great ignorance, did not watch Buffy. A couple of episodes into the second season, however, the naysayers started to get shouted down, and Buffy became a force to be denied no longer. I had to try it, if only to have fuel for my anti-Buffy arguments with friends.
The first episode that I watched was "School Hard," in which Spike and Drusilla first arrive in Sunnydale. It was a huge episode, full of action, adventure, suspense, humor, and high drama. Oddly enough, though, impressed as I was by those elements, it seemed like there was a deeper reason and meaning to everything, and even in the most plot-centered of moments, the characters shone through as real and interesting people, including the villains. That impressed me even more. I then watched the next episode on the very next week, entitled "Inca Mummy Girl." I had a lot of fun with that episode as well, thinking that surely it was another of Buffy's greatest episodes. Other television wasn't like this. Surely Buffy wasn't consistently like this either. As I later discovered, "Inca Mummy Girl" was actually very much a substandard episode for the series, and yet still it was better than anything else on television.
I've always thought that the most impressive thing that a television show can do is to win over someone who is only watching it for evidence by which to condemn it. That is exactly what Buffy did for me. Throughout the second season Buffy kept up its excellence, reaching even higher highs that the first appearance of Spike, and making other television look about as unappealing as food poisoning.
Just try this package of episodes. Rent it if you're unsure. Borrow it from a friend and ask them what episode they recommend that you watch first. I would pick "Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered," for its humor. Just give Buffy a chance. No one who gives it a chance once ever stops watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 264 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Buffy the Vampire Slayer  - The Complete Second Season (Slim Set)
$39.98 $15.08
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.