Customer Reviews


437 Reviews
5 star:
 (263)
4 star:
 (96)
3 star:
 (43)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


159 of 170 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHEDON & NOXON ROCK! A SPECTACULAR OSCAR WORTHY ENDING!!!
This six Disk DVD Set is extraordinary. The Picture and Sound quality are so very good that you feel as though you are watching it in a theater. The closed captioning and Audio come in other languages besides English. It's jam packed with all sorts of extra bonus special features, plus a special series end wrap party that is a whole lot of fun. Everything you ever wanted...
Published on May 25, 2005 by Lauren H. Lavine

versus
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some great episodes, a not so great season story arc
Buffy season seven is the weakest season of the series, but it is still above average television. The strength of the season lies not in the season's story arcs, but in some of the individual episodes. For example, "Selfless" artfully examines Anya's past and present life and reveals that she feels like she has never quite fit in as a human, but she no longer has the...
Published on May 11, 2006 by calvinnme


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

159 of 170 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHEDON & NOXON ROCK! A SPECTACULAR OSCAR WORTHY ENDING!!!, May 25, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer - The Complete Seventh Season (DVD)
This six Disk DVD Set is extraordinary. The Picture and Sound quality are so very good that you feel as though you are watching it in a theater. The closed captioning and Audio come in other languages besides English. It's jam packed with all sorts of extra bonus special features, plus a special series end wrap party that is a whole lot of fun. Everything you ever wanted to know about Buffy, cast, The Brilliant creator, Joss Whedon and other staff members. I not only highly recommend this Season disk set, but the other six seasons as well. Quite a bit of quality work went into the making of all seven seasons. They are a necessary buy for any Buffy fan! It's completely impossible to be anything but extremely pleased with this purchase as well as the rest of the series. The writing, acting, directing, etc... are extraordinary. This is feature film quality at it's finest, instead of the plain old TV quality that most people expect. Each episode is like watching a movie. The last five episodes build to a finale that is as amazing as any feature film that I have never before seen on television. The final episode was extraordinary, the writing, the premise was ingenious. The acting was the usual above average talent. I believe that the music that Rob Duncan provided was the icing on the cake and made the episode EPIC. It was brilliant music. Of all seven seasons this is truly my favorite. If you don't own any then by all means at least purchase season seven.

Here's Season Seven's Line Up:

1. Lessons
2. Beneath You
3. Same Time, Same Place
4. Help
5. Selfless
6. Him
7. Conversations with Dead People
8. Sleeper
9. Never Leave Me
10. Bring on The Night
11. Showtime
12. Potential
13. The Killer In Me
14. First Date
15. Get It Done
16. Storyteller
17. Lies My Parents Told Me
18. Dirty Girls
19. Empty Places
20. Touched
21. End of Days
22. Chosen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


357 of 392 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let me explain my rating, August 27, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer - The Complete Seventh Season (DVD)
Unlike other seasons of BUFFY, one needs to defend either a low or high rating for this season. One can take either of two tacks with Season Seven. One could give it a low rating based on comparison with other seasons of BUFFY, because there is virtually no debate that this is the weakest season in the show's seven. On this criterion, I would probably give the set a three-star rating. On the other hand, one could base the rating not in comparison to BUFFY's other seasons, but to other shows, and on this basis I don't see how you can give the season anything less than a five. Yes, it is BUFFY's weakest season; yes, there are some serious errors made during the season; yes, the writing isn't as sharp or as consistent. Nonetheless, it was during the 2002-2003 television season, along with ANGEL (which had its own problems in its Season Four), FARSCAPE (which while superb was not as nearly sharp as Season Three), and ALIAS, among the finest shows on TV. It is my least favorite season of BUFFY, but given the option of watching either it or any season of LAW AND ORDER or FRIENDS or CSI, I would choose Season Seven of BUFFY in a nanosecond.

Warning: Spoilers ahead.

So why do BUFFY fans find Season Seven to be so disappointing. I think there are a variety of reasons. Here are a few: 1) Although there is some very sharp humor during the season (e.g., a conversation about fast food delicacies between Spike and Andrew on a motorcycle, after which Spike warns that he will kill Andrew if he ever tells anyone about it; Anya's asking Andrew why he doesn't use the bathroom for the same purpose everyone else does [not the purpose one might first imagine]; and a phenomenal first encounter between Faith and Spike, when she doesn't know that he now fights on the side of the good guys, and tries to slay him, with the two of them debating on who has reformed and who did so first), the humor isn't as consistent. But the tone of the series changed. Even in Season Six, the show maintained a humorous tone most of the time. In Season Seven, there is a constant attempt to inject a sense of impending doom, which unfortunately alters the show's mood in unpleasant fashion. Buffy almost completely ceased her quipping. 2) Although Sarah Michelle has gained a number of detractors since the end of the series (I think mainly for her lack of interaction with fans), I always think she did a marvelous job in the only crucial role on the show. Unfortunately, in Season Seven she was asked to do something that her character wasn't well equipped to do: more or less be a great leader. Buffy in the first six seasons was always more of her own person, not quite a loner, but although the central figure in the Scoobies as the Slayer, not a leader either. But in Season Seven after the Potentials arrive, she is asked to be a leader. What is worse, she is asked to lead not merely by example but by giving morale-boosting speeches in every other episode. Unfortunately, the speeches were horribly written and awkwardly inserted into the episodes. I was more put off by her General Patton speeches more than I was by the notorious "cookie dough" speech she gives Angel in the final episode. 3) Worse of all, the Potentials completely altered the structure of the show. I know many people simply didn't like the individual actresses portraying the Potentials, but to me that wasn't what was so bad about them. Because there were so many of them, they gradually started eroding the screen time left to deal with the stories of the main Scoobies. Actually, Season Seven is very good up to the episode when the Potential start arriving. The episode where Anya slaughters as vengeance demon all the members of a fraternity, only to repent after failing to convince both others and herself that this was what she really wanted to be doing, and then walks off by herself at the end of the story is quite as good as what we had seen in the previous two or three seasons. But once the Potentials arrived, there simply wasn't room or time to deals with individual characters any longer. Xander, Anya, Dawn, and Giles more or less get squeezed out of the story. Only Buffy, Willow, and Spike, and later in the year Faith, get to have their stories told at all. In Seasons One through Six, four or five or six or seven was company, but twenty proved to be a crowd. 4) The lameness of The First as the Big Bad. Cementing this was the terrible use of the great use of Nathan Fillion (who was spectacular as Mal Reynolds in FIREFLY) as Caleb.

One other thing to lament about Season Seven was recently revealed by Joss Whedon, when he explained that they hoped to bring Tara back in Season Seven before contract negotiations broke down. In an early episode, Buffy would somehow manage to gain the ability to make a single reality-altering wish. Several alternatives are instantly imaginable: wishing her mother back, lifting Angel's curse, perhaps not even being the Slayer. Whedon imagined Buffy going to Willow and showing her new shoes, as if they were what she had used her wish for, Willow's incredulous reaction, and then Buffy telling her to look behind her, where Tara would have been standing. Now that is an episode I would have liked to see.

But sometimes the negatives seem to mask the large number of extremely good things in Season Seven. For instance: 1) Except for "Him" (where Buffy and Dawn fight over the attentions of the same high school student) there were no out and out from beginning to end bad episodes. The bad stuff largely took place within a show that features some good things. 2) A few absolutely stunning individual episodes, especially "Conversations with Dead People," the hysterical "The Storyteller" (centering on Andrew, who provided many of the funniest moments of Season Seven, and who is one of the odds on favorites to be in any BUFFY/ANGEL spin off), and the great episode where Spike deals with unresolved conflicts concerning his mother. 3) The struggles of both Willow and Spike in dealing with their respective inner demons, Willow with having killed in Season Six and Spike with his having a soul. 4) The return of Faith, which while BUFFY did not provide her with as many great moments as ANGEL did for three episodes preceding her return to Sunnydale, were great. The tremendous chemistry (more as kindred spirits than sexual) between Spike and Faith, especially in a long conversation they have in Buffy's basement, one of the highpoints of the season, has many people hoping for the demise of TRU CALLING (Eliza Dushku's current and lightly regarded show) so that Faith and Spike can head a spin off.

Then there is the ending. Many hate it. Many love it. Personally, I think it was a perfect end to the series. BUFFY was always a fictional representation about the empowerment of women. In the climax of the season-and indeed, the climax of the entire series-Buffy with Willow's help discovers a way to empower not merely the Chosen One, the lone Slayer, but all potential slayers, all over the world. Best of all, the show managed to resolve Buffy's central dilemma that was established in Season One and continued through to the end: How could she, whom fate had selected to be The Chosen One, ever manage to live the kind of life she dreamed of having? By empowering all potentials, and in effect creating dozens and perhaps hundreds of Slayers, Buffy ceased to be The Chose One. In the final seconds of the show, Faith says to Buffy "Yeah, you're not the one and only chosen anymore. Just gotta live like a person. How's that feel?" It seems to take a second before the question hits her, but when it does, you can almost feel Buffy's relief, and her face lights up with an extraordinarily happy smile. You can feel her relief at having triumphed over her fate.

I can't imagine a more perfect ending to what I honestly feel is the finest television series in the history of television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She saved the world - a lot, January 14, 2007
By 
H. Bala "Me Too Can Read" (Recently moved back to Carson, California, or as I call it... the center of the universe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
From 1997 to 2003, Joss Whedon gave his audience some of the best episodes aired on television. BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER showcased an empowered young girl saddled with the unintimidating name of Buffy Summers, who, with the help of her high school friends and her stuffy mentor Giles, faced sundry monsters and saved the world - a lot. Along the way, she managed to leave an indelible impact on our pop cultural consciousness.

Before its series debut, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, based on its promotional push on TV, seemed slated to be a straight-out horror series starring an erstwhile typical high schooler who battles vampires and demons. But, fairly quickly on, this unassuming little show, thanks to Whedon's intense and witty, pop-culture savvy yet very literate writing, met and surpassed the viewer's expectations. Whedon created compelling stories and characters who grew on the viewers; for seven years, we watched them strive to maintain a normal life as they navigated thru high school, college life, and then to adulthood, all the while frequently facing down supernatural threats. Which brings us to Season 7.

Possible SPOILERS follow: Here in the bittersweet and melancholy finale season, Joss Whedon attempts to provide closure to the show and also to bring it full circle to its origins. The opening episode "Lessons" has Buffy escorting Dawn, for her inaugural school day, back to good, ol' Sunnydale High, which has just been rebuilt on top of the old one. This, by the way, means that the Hellmouth is very much alive and again active. Somehow, Buffy is offered a job as a school counselor at Sunnydale High by the enigmatic principal, Robin Wood (24's D.B. Woodside). Back in England, Willow, under the tutelage of Giles and a benevolent coven of witches, has been recovering from her turn to the dark side (Season Six) and receives a horrifying glimpse of the future for Sunnydale. Meanwhile, Spike is found dwelling in the Sunnydale High School basement in a bonkers state of mind, influenced by his new soul and possibly also by...something else. Lessee, who's left? Anya is again a Vengeance Demon, though her heart isn't really in it. And Xander is still fixing windows...

The season's major story arc involves the return of the First Evil, the original and the source of all evil. The First's return is made possible by the instability caused by Buffy's having died and consequently being resurrected (again, Season 6). Very early on, we get a hint of the season's Big Bad as various Sunnydale denizens spout the ominous warning: "From beneath you, it devours." This season also increases the scope of Buffy's world even more as most of the Watcher Council are annihilated and Giles is forced to seek out Potential Slayers (who are also being killed off one by one by Bringers, no-eyed, murdering servants of Caleb and the First) and bring them to Sunnydale for protection. Now, more than ever, Buffy's leadership skills and methods are tested and even questioned as several of the Potentials prove to be uncowed and contentious free thinkers. Buffy has never been forced to deliver as many bracing, rallying speeches as she has been this season, which attests to her foe's overwhelming level of menace.

Because the First cannot enter our world in a corporeal form and can only assume the identities of dead people, this is an opportunity for a callback of Buffy's past uber-foes. For one last time, we get to enjoy cameos of the Master, Drusilla, the Mayor, Adam, Glory, and two of the Nerd Trio. Pretty neat. Besides the First, Buffy faces two despicable and truly hard-to-kill villains, who are themselves minions of the First: the Turok-Han, an early caveman type of vampire (thus, even more sturdy than contemporary vampires) and Caleb, the frightening, mysoginistic preacher who convincingly beats Buffy senseless in several encounters.

As ever, the writers do an amazing job. The episodes are obviously action-packed. But, underneath the surface, the show is laden with metaphors and symbolisms. Themes of isolation, the isolation of a leader, female empowerment, sacrifice, friendship, and humanity are touched on in great depth. This season is also about the quest for redemption. Most of the members of Buffy's Scooby gang, ironically, at one point or another, were evil or have turned evil in the past: Willow, Spike, Anya, Faith, Andrew...All these characters are trying to find their way back to atonement; it won't be easy.

This season has to be the one with the most recurring characters in it. Principal Wood and the Potentials are introduced. Season 7 also marks the return of Andrew, Faith, and, in one episode, Angel. With the glut of additional characters, the core Scoobies are given short thrift here, although Dawn does shine in "Potential" and Xander proves his worth in "Potential" and "Dirty Girls." One episode, "Selfless," really focuses on Anya and paves the way for her eventual return to the fold. Only Spike seems to maintain copious screen time throughout the series. The camera, of course, is ever on Buffy Summers.

The arrival of the Potentials does usher in a freshness to the series as it simultaneously takes the spotlight away from the Scoobies. The take-charge Kennedy (Iyari Limon), the feisty Rona (Indigo), and Amanda (Sarah Hagan) prove to be welcome additions to the cast, while the non-English speaking Asian Potential drops some instant funnies. "Conversations with Dead People" reintroduces Andrew (the very good, very funny Tom Lenk) as a possible good guy, while "Dirty Girls" marks the welcome return of sexy Faith (Eliza Dushku) as her encounters with Spike provide some of the high points of the season. The awesome Nathan Fillion, by the way, is scary good as Caleb.

The Special Features provide episode commentaries by various cast and crew members on "Lessons," "Selfless," "Conversations with Dead People," "The Killer In Me," "Lies My Parents Told Me," "Dirty Girls," and "Chosen." Disc 3 has the featurette "It's Always Been About the Fans." Disc 6 offers up four more featurettes (the 36-minute long "Season 7 Overview - Buffy: Full Circle"; "Buffy 101- Studying the Slayer" - various television critics talk about the show's influence; "Generation S" - interviews with the Potentials actresses; "The Last Sundown" - a look at Joss Whedon's top 10 favorite Buffy episodes and some of his thoughts about the series); an outtakes reel (not that funny); "Buffy Wraps" (the wrap party with cast and crew, but where was Sarah Michelle Gellar?); and for those who care, a DVD-ROM Willow Demon Guide.

Years ago, Joss Whedon wanted to shake things up by turning topsy-turvy the cliche of the hapless, little blonde damsel needing a hero to come to her rescue. Seven years of quality television has proven that audiences will accept a tiny girl being capable of slaying monsters while remaining quintessentially feminine. So, above all else, BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER is meant to be a feminist allegory. But, for those who aren't into that, there's still so much that this season has to offer: an us against the world mentality, superlative action sequences, shivery horror/fantasy elements, witty repartees, heartfelt dialogue, gripping, dramatic stories, and great acting. And, of course, great, iconic heroes in Buffy Summers, Spike, Faith, and crew. Five stars for one of my all-time favorite shows EVER.

Oh, yeah, and I like the slim set collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


99 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Circle, September 7, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer - The Complete Seventh Season (DVD)
Love or hate the final season of Buffy - one important fact cannot be overlooked, the complete circle the series and characters took while at the same time growing into a more evolved and mature show. I highly recommend you view this season, but only after viewing the previous 6. The show did take a different direction and focused in on the First and the Slayer, but this is not a negative, just a completion.

I agree with many that the series finale should have been a bit longer. There were so many details and points made in this episode that to a casual viewer, it would be overlooked. To those true fans of BTVS you will see how far the show has come. If unsure yourself, it is best to view season 1 again, especially the final episode of season 1. You see Buffy mature from being told she is the "chosen one", the only one, into a cunning fighter with her new-found scooby friends, then dependant upon them, and finally into an individual who learns to at once take on responsibility, and share responsibility. You see the other characters mature into heroes of their own and for all their weaknesses, the strenth the gang has is in its unity. That was the one thing that made Buffy more powerful than previous slayers and this is touched upon as well.

The sacrifices made by the scoobies is also noted, although little attention is given to the brave death of Anya, and the final episode gives a tribute to a great scene from the final episode of season one in which the Fab Three are walking away from Giles and his utterance of "the earth is doomed" is as sharp and funny now as it was then. The final episode of season 7 ends in the only way that the series can - answering all the questions the show asked with hope and bravery.

If you are a fan of BTVS then you must check out this fitting ending to a most brilliant show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fitting end for a magnificent series, February 23, 2006
By 
Tom Benton (North Springfield, VT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a huge "Buffy" fan, I was both nervous and excited when I received the Seventh Season DVDs in the mail: nervous, because it was the final season - what if it wasn't good? And excited, because it WAS the final season, and traditionally, much happens during the final year of a TV show. I'd read reviews claiming that the season was terrible, so I began the season expecting to be a little disappointed.

But I wasn't. The first five episodes were terrific. They made me feel like I was back in the good ol' days of "Buffy", in the early seasons. "Lessons", the season opener, was great and filled with Joss Whedon's trademark wit (although he wrote the episode, he didn't direct it). "Him", while not the most brilliant episode, was very enjoyable (particularly a sequence towards the end of the episode, with some terrific music and editing). "Conversations with Dead People" was a great episode, thanks to numerous intriguing storylines and a fine script (not to mention a great performance by Jonathan Woodward as a talkative undead college student).

From there, it all went downhill.

Out of nowhere, the show's footing disappeared. The "Potential Slayers" were introduced, a group of whiney girls whom do nearly nothing for the storyline. For something like seven or eight episodes, we're forced to endure the training of the Potentials. Those eight or so episodes are some of the worst - and by far the hokiest - that the show has produced. The show's major comeback was the seventeenth episode, "Lies My Parents Told Me". It was a very interesting, cool, well-written episode, in which Principal Wood attempts to murder Spike for a crime he committed long ago. From there on, the show improved, but it still wasn't like it used to be.

The finale - "Chosen" - was one of the greatest episodes of the show. Written and directed by Joss Whedon, it's filled with great Whedon dialog, humor, and action. Whedon gives the show the dramatic, explosive, and very fitting ending the show so rightly deserved.

The two finer characters introduced in the season - Principal Robin Wood, and Caleb, the Evil Preacher - really improved the episodes (although Wood seemed to disappear in some of the later episodes). As I love Joss Whedon's sci-fi/western show "Firefly", I thought it was fantastic to see Nathan Fillion (the star of that show) appear on "Buffy" as Caleb.

Willow never really shines in this season until the final episode (you can tell Whedon loves her). Sarah Michelle Gellar does her best to work with the weak material she's given, as do the rest of the cast members.

The really horrible thing about this season is that there's a point where you just stop caring. You watch the episodes because you have to to complete the series. But the season is worth purchasing, if only for the first seven episodes and the last five episodes.

TOP 5 OF THE SEASON

1. "Chosen"

2. "Lies My Parents Told Me"

3. "Conversations with Dead People"

4. "Lessons"

5. "Him"

THE DVDS: These DVDs are the same as the original releases, but with a reduced price and thin packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some great episodes, a not so great season story arc, May 11, 2006
Buffy season seven is the weakest season of the series, but it is still above average television. The strength of the season lies not in the season's story arcs, but in some of the individual episodes. For example, "Selfless" artfully examines Anya's past and present life and reveals that she feels like she has never quite fit in as a human, but she no longer has the killer instinct to continue on in her second incarnation as a vengeance demon either. "Conversations With Dead People" ranks right up there with "Hush" in its scariness. The only way that this episode could have been improved upon is if Tara was the face of the ghost speaking to Willow, but with actress Amber Benson unwilling to reprise her role that season, it was really beyond the show's control. "Storyteller" is hilarious as Andrew narrates a film about the Scoobies, and "Lies Your Parents Told You" is another fine showcase of James Marsters' acting talent as we finally learn the source of the "trigger" that the First Evil has been using to control Spike.

Now for what is not good about this season... The series strong point- the growth and interaction of the main characters- is crowded out by the arrival of the potential slayers in episode ten. Giles return, which should have been a boost to the series, just muddled matters even more since he in no way resembles the character we have come to know in previous seasons. Other reviewers have referred to him as "Pod Giles", and I have to agree this moniker fits his season seven persona to a tee. Once the mystery of the season's "big bad" is revealed- an evil force that can take on the form of any dead person but cannot interact with the world around it- there is really no place else to go with this storyline as we do not have in the "First Evil" a villain worthy of reflection such as season three's Mayor or season two's Angelus. Kennedy, Willow's new love interest, is not a convincing actress, and the two's relationship falls flat. Although I would expect Willow to eventually get over Tara's death and move on with a new love interest, I could not figure out why THIS is the person she would choose to move on with. The two have absolutely no chemistry. Spike's big decision to regain his soul and his success at doing so is apparently explained by Buffy to the other main characters offscreen, and we viewers are denied the depth of treatment that revelation should have received. By episode eighteen, when the final story arc is launched, it seems that the writers and actors are phoning in their performances as they know the show will not be renewed for another season.

Then there are all of the plot holes and inconsistency in the writing. For example, according to Giles, after visiting the oracle of Beljoxa's Eye, the First Evil has appeared on the scene because of the slayer herself - because she has died and returned. But Buffy died the first time at the end of season one. So why has the First Evil waited all of this time to appear? In "Showtime" the ubervamps appear almost impossible to kill, so why by the finale are even the potentials slicing through them like butter? At first we are told that the seal over the Hellmouth is not opened by Jonathan's death because there is not enough blood. Then why are only a few drops of Spike's blood sufficient to do the job? Why does D'hoffryn decline to kill Anya at the conclusion of "Selfless", even at her request, but in later episodes has his minions trying to kill her? And the list goes on. Gross inconsistencies in the storyline such as this just didn't occur in previous seasons.

Finally, "Chosen", Joss Whedon's series finale, is mediocre when compared to shows from other seasons that he has written that did not have the importance that this final episode should have had, with a couple of exceptions. I did think that Whedon found a clever way to set Buffy free to live a normal life without her having to abandon her duties. I also liked the scene the day of the final battle with Buffy, Willow, and Xander, the original scoobies, having a conversation reminiscent of the closing scene of "The Harvest", which was the second part of the two-part premiere from season one. As they carry on their superficial banter about shopping, Giles repeats the same line that he said in this same situation in "The Harvest" - "The world is doomed." This was a real treat for long-time viewers and did indeed bring us "back to the beginning" - which was the theme of season seven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fine finale to a soulful, passionate epic., December 18, 2004
By 
M J Heilbron Jr. "Dr. Mo" (Long Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer - The Complete Seventh Season (DVD)
I am actually sad that there are no more Buffy episodes to watch. I discovered the show on DVD, and have made my way through the seven stellar box sets.

It's now over, and I can honestly say I'm gonna miss these guys.

That said...there were a few things that bugged me this season.

The "potentials" business is pretty painful to watch all year long. It pays off in the final episode, in a big and unexpectedly fulfilling way, but for the most part, it kinda sucked.

Andrew's geeky humor worked most of the time, but not all of the time.

Some people did very little this year, like Anya, Giles and Dawn, although they each were given a token moment or two. I wanted Giles to be "there" more.

And did anyone else notice a few too many references to the amazing musical episode of the previous year?

And were there, like, SEVEN too many "Henry V" speeches by Buffy? (Which is hilariously pointed out by Andrew in one episode, by the way...)

There. I'm done carping. As to what Whedon and company did right?

Oh, pretty much everything else.

Sarah Michelle Gellar is still the anchor...the foundation of the cast. She's just that good. I hope she finds something as epic as this to show off her talents to the world at large. I once dismissed her as an actress (as I did the show) for no real reason.

My huge mistake. Big oops there, huh?

I enjoyed the return to the high school arena, and thought DB Woodside did a fine job as the new principal.

Xander's humble nobility was an unexpected delight, and James Marsters' Spike...well...there's one for the ages, isn't it?

What an arc...from the impossibly evil, imposing swagger of his first years, through his comedic middle period to his very real love for Buffy.

We need to develop a retro-Emmy for these folks, don't we? Yes we do.

Anyways, the set design, special effects, music and sound are far and above anything else on TV, as usual, and the writing rebounds from an off-(but still really good) year.

It is an inarguable fact: Buffy will go down as one of the best shows ever on television.

It's operatic sweep, technical wizardry, impossibly good dialogue, obsessive attention to detail, explosive humor, dizzying romance and plain old great passionate storytelling I think will prove to be unique.

This show had more soul than anything I've experienced in a long, long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fitting end to this great show..., December 16, 2004
By 
Cubist (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer - The Complete Seventh Season (DVD)
The last season of Buffy the Vampire Slayer was a bittersweet affair. Sarah Michelle Gellar made it known that she had grown tired of playing Buffy and wanted to move on-presumably to motion pictures (which is exactly what she did with Scooby Doo 2 and The Grudge). And so, all bets were off as season seven began. Joss Whedon and company prepared to have Buffy and the Scooby gang face their biggest threat yet.

The First is an interesting twist on the traditional Buffy bad guy in that it is not a physical threat per se (that comes later with Caleb) but a powerful psychological one as it appears to our heroes as friends or deceased loved ones to instill them with fear and self-doubt. As Giles puts it so well, it is "the thing that created evil." Of course, this shape-shifting entity gives Joss an opportunity to bring many of the show's significant characters back for one more go round (i.e. Joyce, Drusilla, etc.).

Disc One features an audio commentary on "Lessons" by Joss Whedon and director David Solomon. Joss' trademark dry, sarcastic wit is evident as he and Solomon playfully make fun of each other.

Disc Two includes an audio commentary on "Selfless" by director David Solomon and writer Drew Goddard. They talk about how this episode's emphasis was on Anya (Caulfield) and explores how she became a vengeance demon.

There is also an audio commentary on "Conversations with Dead People" by director Nick Marck, writers Jane Epenson and Drew Goddard and actors Danny Strong and Tom Lenk. This is an entertaining track that fans will enjoy.

Disc Three contains a featurette entitled, "Buffy: It's Always Been About the Fans" that examines the show's loyal fan base and how one site, in particular, hosts an annual, six-hour party for the cast and crew to celebrate the show.

Disc Four contains an audio commentary on "The Killer in Me" with director David Solomon and writer Drew Z. Greenberg. This is kind of a dry, boring track as they joke and try to think of interesting things to say but end up narrating much of what we are seeing.

Disc Five features an audio commentary on "Lies My Parents Told Me" by director David Fury, writer Drew Goddard and actors James Marsters and D.B. Woodside. This is a solid track thanks mostly to the presence of the actors who talk about their experiences working on the show and dealing with this Buffy mythology-rich episode.

There is also an audio commentary on "Dirty Girls" by writer Drew Goddard and actor Nicholas Brendon. This isn't as entertaining a track as you would think but it is fairly decent.

Disc Six contains the rest of the extra material, starting off with a fantastic audio commentary on the last episode, "Chosen," by Joss Whedon. He talks about how exhausted he was by the time they made this episode. This is an oddly bittersweet track as Joss criticizes his own work with his amusing self-deprecating humour. It is also a very thoughtful commentary from the show's creator. A must-listen.

"Season 7 Overview-Buffy: Full Circle" takes a look at the season in general as cast and crew members talk about overriding themes. Not surprisingly, Joss says that this final season was about closure and bringing everything back to the beginning.

"Buffy 101: Studying the Slayer" features critics and scholars talking about the show's enduring legacy and "the genius of the central concept," as one critic points out.

"Generation S" focuses on the young, potential slayers that Buffy trains to battle the First. The actors talk briefly about their characters and their experiences on the show.

One of the strongest and most interesting extras in the set is "The Last Sundown" where Joss picks his ten favourite episodes from the show's entire run and why. This is a nice look back at the show's entire run with its creator.

There is the obligatory "Outtakes Reel" of blown lines, pratfalls and general goofing around.

Finally, there is "Buffy Wraps," a look at the wrap party for the end of the show. You really get the impression that this show changed the lives of everyone who worked on it (and a lot of its fans too) and this is a fitting tribute to this fine program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goodbye to You, October 26, 2006
With this set of DVDs, The Seven year adventure of 'Buffy the Vampire Slayer' finally comes to an end. Coming off the most fan-hated season to date, Joss Whedon went back to the beginning with this series, planning the story-arcs almost a year an advance, and deciding to return to the roots of the series, presenting a mixture of drama and comedy, filler episodes and arc episodes, themes and happyness, etc. Not long after the season premier on UPN, Sarah Michelle Gellar gave Entertainment Weekly an exclusive interview titled: "Buffy in its current incarnation, is over" and within the week her, along with Joss Whedon and the President of UPN made a joint announcement that the series would come to a close the following May.

The producers/writers where given approx. 16 episodes and 6 months to wrap up the seven years of storylines, and for the most part they do an amazing job. Whedon takes the series back to the beginning and finally takes Buffy from the innocent and naive school-girl (where the series started) to a loving mother/menter for others. Also, he brings in 'the original evil' as this year's badguy - bringing back a bunch of old cahracters in the process.

Obviously, after seven-years as well as a spin-off and countless comic books, novels, and other media it was going to be next to impossible to provide an adequate and unique ending to a show that somehow became an icon of its generation (I personally do not know a single human around my age that hasn't seen atleast a couple of episodes...), but somehow Joss Whedon provided his loyal viewers with a fitting ending to the series... The final 5 episode arc sums up the entire series with returning characters, new characters, and final decisions that lead up to the final scene of the show which is nothing short of heartbreaking, empowering, and awestrucking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great way to wrap up series, September 23, 2004
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer - The Complete Seventh Season (DVD)
I really enjoyed this last season of Buffy. Sure, I was kind of annoyed by the potentials. Not because they were there, just because they took time away from other characters (where the hell was Xander this season?) The Big Bad was a great last villian because if you're going to go out on top, you should have the first original evil to battle, right? I loved Buffy and Spike's relationship this season. It was built on trust, not on lust. I actually liked the character of Kennedy. Sure, she's no Tara, but Willow needed her and she was great for her in that aspect. I kind of wished they would have focused some more on Xander and Anya's relationship. We had 'Selfless' which was wonderful, and then we see them as buddies. Later on, their relationship seems built on sex, not love. It was nice to have Giles back for a good portion of the season. I loved how Buffy no longer needed a watcher, and they spent most of their time on different pages. This season was really about power. Buffy's got it and still isn't respected for it. After she is kicked out of the house, they realize just how much they need her. Caleb was an interesting villian. I liked how this season was all about girl power so it was appropriate to have a female hating villian. Well, Buffy sure showed him, huh? It was great to see some familiar faces. Faith returns for the final few episodes after helping out Angel in L.A. We see the Mayor, Drusilla, Warren, Glory, and the Master all in the form on the First. What can I say about the last episode? It was truly amazing. I remember when it first aired, I cried so hard during the second half I couldn't even hear what was happening. Thank God for VCR's and recording. There was so much to wrap up in that final episode. We got a visit from Angel and an explosive battle down in the Hellmouth. The best part of the episode is the throw-back to the first season, when Buffy, Willow, Xander, and Giles were the original gang. Friendship has always been a huge theme in this show and it's amazing to see everyone's transformation from season one to seven. The twist ending was amazing as well: using the power of the scythe to make every potential a slayer... Brilliant. The last shot of the entire series is just perfect. What a great finish to the best series television has ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Buffy the Vampire Slayer - The Complete Seventh Season
$59.98 $15.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.