Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliance and accessibility
Once again, David Macaulay provides artistry and specialized knowledge in a medium that readers of all ages can appreciate. He explains complicated architectural structures with striking clarity, and his illustrations perfectly complement his engaging narrative tone. Macaulay joins fact and story beautifully -- rather than "lobotomized Sendak," I see...
Published on November 1, 2000

versus
23 of 72 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Big if you read at a 5th Grade level
Building Big reminds me of a book I owned as a boy called "How do they build it?" Slick pictures of giraffes and elephants building dams and skyscrapers. This book isn't much different. Skinny on the details, full of colorful pictures you might get from Maurice Sendak with a lobotomy. In other words, I'm dissapointed that a subject of such scope has been...
Published on October 27, 2000 by Douglas


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliance and accessibility, November 1, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Building Big (Hardcover)
Once again, David Macaulay provides artistry and specialized knowledge in a medium that readers of all ages can appreciate. He explains complicated architectural structures with striking clarity, and his illustrations perfectly complement his engaging narrative tone. Macaulay joins fact and story beautifully -- rather than "lobotomized Sendak," I see conversational Da Vinci.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BIG success, March 12, 2001
This review is from: Building Big (Hardcover)
David Macaulay takes the reader on a tour of some of the really big civil engineering structures of our time. Building Big has sections on Bridges, Tunnels, Dams, Domes, and Skyscrapers. Each part of the book describes the design and construction of from four to ten outstanding examples of the structure highlighted. The examples in each category are described in chronological order with some going back to the time of ancient Rome. The drawings that accompany the text are excellent at focusing on the details and techniques described. The integration of text and graphics is wonderful. In each case, Macaulay describes the design objectives, the interplay between the structure and the environment, and the engineering solutions used to bring the structures into being. This is a wonderful book for anyone interested in structural engineering and design. I have not seen the related PBS video series, but I can say that the book stands on its own very well. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, August 23, 2006
This review is from: Building Big (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my 6 year old son who is an avid builder. I knew that the text would be above his head, so I read the book before giving it to him so I could summarize the paragraphs for him. He asks to look at this book every night and loves it. This is not a picture book as it has a lot of text, but the pictures are well done, and he has gained some basic building concepts that he uses with his Legos and blocks. He likes to look at the book about how they build a structure (he is really fascinated by the Hoover dam and Petronas Towers) and they we look online at the completed pictures. It's a great book for older children (or if you want to take the time with a younger child to explain it) and I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, November 15, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Building Big (Hardcover)
Macaulay fans are going to be amazed and impressed by this, his best book yet. It's a companion to the PBS series that's better than the films! A must see and better yet, must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!, February 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building Big (Hardcover)
The illustrations were wonderful. My 4 year old is obsessed with David Macaulay. Since purchasing this book, and the DVD series, we have checked out as many of the David Macaulay books at our library as we can get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Requested by Grandson, January 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building Big (Paperback)
My grandson, who uses Mind Craft , wanted this book He has always been a Lego builder and likes architecture, he was busy reading this book during the holidays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PBS did it again!!!!, December 14, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building Big (Paperback)
Bought a used copy years ago at a library sale so this is for another grandkid, see the Building Big site online for more great learning sources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars David Macaulay is the master of show and tell, June 11, 2013
This review is from: Building Big (Hardcover)
David Macaulay can show ANYTHING. His illustrations and clear explanations make his books indispensable.

This book belongs on your child's bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Building Big, November 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building Big (Hardcover)
David is a great writer and artist. The PBS series that followed along with this book was fantastic. If you want to know the how and why, here it is. Enjoy!

Once you open the book you'll find an abundance of information on gigantic structures from past to publication date. There are bridges,tunnels,dams,domes,skyscrapers covered in great detail. All the art work hand drawn or sketched with labels. If your interested in history and the development of structures this is a very good book on seeing how it was done.

There are examples of ever type of structure in each topic. Each topic details the phases involved in construction. In most of these chapters there is a discussion on "why" the thing was built as well as the "who" and "how".

Under bridges there are (7) famous ones covered, (6) tunnels, (4)dams, (8)domes, (10)skyscrapers. You won't get bored reading this book. I also suggest the DVD to go with the book and support your local PBS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Building Big does a great job explaining civil engineering concept!, January 4, 2007
By 
QZO (Chesapeake, VA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building Big (Hardcover)
This book is outstanding! It's informative, yet easy to read. I have used it as the textbook for my high school engineering class for two years, and the students love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Building Big
Building Big by David MacAulay (Hardcover - October 24, 2000)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.