Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "One stop" book for cob building
Those of you who have read "The Hand-Sculpted House" by Ianto Evans will like this book. It is an excellent guide to building with cob. I felt that every aspect of building a house was covered in enough detail that you could start building with cob if you were even a little bit handy. Although building a house is covered well, it includes building fireplaces and cob...
Published on June 16, 2007 by A Deist

versus
27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Could have been a contender"
While reading this book, I got the overall impression that the authors experienced the construction, took a few photos and notes and later had the epiphany, "I think I'll write a book". This isn't meant to sound heartless toward the authors, but the book just doesn't carry you along. Too many times they make references that just seem redundant like they were getting paid...
Published on June 1, 2009 by Rickoshay


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "One stop" book for cob building, June 16, 2007
This review is from: Building with Cob: A Step-by-Step Guide (Sustainable Building) (Paperback)
Those of you who have read "The Hand-Sculpted House" by Ianto Evans will like this book. It is an excellent guide to building with cob. I felt that every aspect of building a house was covered in enough detail that you could start building with cob if you were even a little bit handy. Although building a house is covered well, it includes building fireplaces and cob ovens, too.

I paid forty five dollars for my copy at the Midwest Renewable Energy Fair and see now that I could have saved fifteen dollars. Still, if you are looking for just one book to cover many aspects of using cob then you won't go wrong with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative book, May 13, 2006
By 
This review is from: Building with Cob: A Step-by-Step Guide (Sustainable Building) (Paperback)
This book shows you the ins and outs of cob building. It's very pleasant to read and a must for everyone interested in natural building. I own many books on natural building (mostly American) and find the views of the authors refreshing. You will not find claims of houses built for USD 15.000 or less in this book! No mumbojumbo, but just the bare facts in all of their beauty. I can wholeheartedly recommend this book as it will give you hours of reading pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Could have been a contender", June 1, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building with Cob: A Step-by-Step Guide (Sustainable Building) (Paperback)
While reading this book, I got the overall impression that the authors experienced the construction, took a few photos and notes and later had the epiphany, "I think I'll write a book". This isn't meant to sound heartless toward the authors, but the book just doesn't carry you along. Too many times they make references that just seem redundant like they were getting paid by the word rather than reading well or just plain good instructions. It is enjoyable as light reading and some good pictures about the couples' experience, but just needs some more work to rate higher. I haven't compared it with other cob books but it falls short compared with most of the other earth construction books I've read. It's a good book at first glance but just "OK" once you get into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential guide, July 24, 2006
This review is from: Building with Cob: A Step-by-Step Guide (Sustainable Building) (Paperback)
If you want to create a cob structure, BUILDING WITH COB: A STEP-BY-STEP GUIDE is the item of choice, whether it be for a home or an outbuilding. Photos by Ray Main accompany details on how to pair cob building requirements with local construction codes and standards, offering both construction and overall maintenance guidelines. From different kinds of thatch and their lifespans to manufactured paint choices, BUILDING WITH COB is an essential guide.

Diane C. Donovan

California Bookwatch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All you need for playing with mud., January 15, 2009
By 
Scott Knudsen (Air Ronge, Saskatchewan Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Building with Cob: A Step-by-Step Guide (Sustainable Building) (Paperback)
This is the book to have if you have the slightest inkling towards building with cob. The book goes into great detail on all aspects of cob building and has lots of good illustrations and photos to explain what they are saying.

Chapters include: History of Earth building, Site & Design, Finding and testing soil, Making Cob, Building with Cob, Foundations, Roofs, Insulation, Finishes, Earthen Floors, Fireplaces & Ovens, Restoration, Planning & Regulations. More or less everything you need to know on building with Cob.

The reason I only gave it 4 stars though, is that I wish they had put more photos of finished cob buildings in the book. I have seen some real nice photos in other books, so was a bit disappointed when they never included more in this one. Also, photos of finished cob interiors would have been real nice. Also, the book should have been proof-read a few more times. There are a couple of mistakes that should have been easily picked up, and what they say in some of the text, they show the exact opposite in some of the illustrations. It is easy to pick out though, because they do make themselves quite clear in the text. Also some of the things they don't class as 'Green', do have variations that are classed as Green products, so do yourself a favour and do your own research online. It would also have been nice to have a North American edition, but being written for people in the UK it still works for the rest of the world.

A better idea for Cob Fireplaces & Earthen Ovens can be found in the book "The Book of Masonry Stoves: Rediscovering an Old Way of Warming" by David Lyle or ,[...]

Not much else I can say other than it is a real good book, with stuff in it that I haven't yet read about in any other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great guide for environmentaly friendly building, May 17, 2006
By 
Amir Hadzic "coach" (Cedar Rapids, U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Building with Cob: A Step-by-Step Guide (Sustainable Building) (Paperback)
This book is a fantastic step-by-step guide for all people interested in sustainable, environmentaly friendly building. I found authors' way of describing building with cob as refreshing, simple and easy to follow. Illustrations and beautiful photographs help readers follow the building process from the beginning to the final product. I highly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, Inspiring and Informative, May 2, 2006
This review is from: Building with Cob: A Step-by-Step Guide (Sustainable Building) (Paperback)
As a student of sustainable design, I found this book to be a breath of fresh air. It provides a thoroughly readable and practical, yet sophisticated, guide to building cob structures, explaining in straightforward and engaging prose both the philosophical and the technical aspects of cob construction and design. Yet its ambition is not limited to "how tos". The authors also self-consciously aim to portray and preserve a vernacular building tradition and the community life that sustains and informs it. I LOVE the illustrations. The gorgeous photographs enliven the instructional sections. Even if I am never able myself to undertake the building of a cob structure, the information provided in this book will help me make wiser decisions about my realtionship to the earth and the structures I choose to inhabit, and inform my participation in the devlopment of my community. I love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully thorough, October 20, 2007
This review is from: Building with Cob: A Step-by-Step Guide (Sustainable Building) (Paperback)
Lavishly illustrated, this is a well-organized, clearly written volume describing the processes necessary to build a range of structures using earth and straw (and a number of other natural materials). The drawings and photographs really help support the text, providing a rich introduction into the world of cob and natural building. An exceptional book for anyone thinking about getting involved with cob building.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Treasure for Anyone to Own, March 28, 2006
By 
Mary (Des Moines, IA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Building with Cob: A Step-by-Step Guide (Sustainable Building) (Paperback)
I'll never build a cob house. But I still love this book! I love the vision Adam and Katy have for how everyone can find some way to leave the world a little better than they found it. I love their compassion for the earth, their reverence for our natural resources, the spiritual underpinnings of their passion for cob houses. It makes me smile to look at the beautiful pictures and see these two young people hard at work, building organic houses that will last for centuries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Building with Cob, June 29, 2006
This review is from: Building with Cob: A Step-by-Step Guide (Sustainable Building) (Paperback)
Practical and readable guide to the building of cob structures. Excellent photographs and illustrations make this well written book an interesting read for anyone curious about how things work -- even for those of us who will never build a cob structure nor find playing in the mud a spiritual experience. More than worth your attention and time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Building with Cob: A Step-by-Step Guide (Sustainable Building)
Building with Cob: A Step-by-Step Guide (Sustainable Building) by Katy Bryce (Paperback - February 1, 2006)
$39.95 $35.23
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.