Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent supplement to the IBC Code
The graphic diagrams are a real help in trying to visualize issues like egress. I refer my architecture school students to this book frequently when they need to get a quick understanding of life safety or accessibility issues related to their designs. This book is a real help for almost any architect whether they are at the beginning of their career or seasoned...
Published on November 13, 2009 by Sara Caples

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dont purchase anything if you are a student.
They had good rating is why i purchased. I purchased book last week for a class i had this week.Due to be delivered around today. I only noticed i was not receiving book cause i was notified i was receiving a refund in future. After researching i found a message saying book was damaged and returned in shipping and we do not have another copy. The refund has not hit my...
Published 12 months ago by Michael Ursul


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent supplement to the IBC Code, November 13, 2009
By 
Sara Caples (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Building Codes Illustrated: A Guide to Understanding the 2009 International Building Code (Paperback)
The graphic diagrams are a real help in trying to visualize issues like egress. I refer my architecture school students to this book frequently when they need to get a quick understanding of life safety or accessibility issues related to their designs. This book is a real help for almost any architect whether they are at the beginning of their career or seasoned professionals looking for a refresher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A solid reference for any college-level or professional builder's collection, December 19, 2009
This review is from: Building Codes Illustrated: A Guide to Understanding the 2009 International Building Code (Paperback)
Any college-level architecture or construction library will find the 2009 edition of Building Codes Illustrated a fine guide to the 2009 International Building Code and its concepts. Builders, engineers, interior designers and any industry professional will find this packs in an illustrated, simple coverage of the code to enhance an actual copy of the code itself. From exit-access design requirements to ducts and air transfer openings, the visual drawings provide outstanding interpretation and access of the code's real-world applications in a solid reference for any college-level or professional builder's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Architects Code Resource, October 2, 2010
By 
D. Guich (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building Codes Illustrated: A Guide to Understanding the 2009 International Building Code (Paperback)
This reference book is a must have for any architect who needs further clarification on the international building code. The author presents the examples graphically which makes the code easier to interpret. I highly recommend the handbook to junior designers and graduates who have recently entered the architectural and construction industry as well as the seasoned professional since building codes are a dynamic document. Fortunately, I have had the opportunity to work with Steve on several code interpretations in California. Again, I recommend this book to anyone who is preparing drawings for building permit or just wants to educate themselves better about life, safety and welfare issues in construction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of Building Codes Illus. 2009 by Ching et al, February 12, 2010
By 
Paul A. Nowak Jr. (GRAND RAPIDS, MI, US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building Codes Illustrated: A Guide to Understanding the 2009 International Building Code (Paperback)
So far, so good ...is much easier to retain and understand than trying to read the International Building Code Book by itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Francis D K Ching is one of the best architecture and construction writers/teachers around, July 21, 2014
By 
San Dan "TP" (Fort Worth, Texas) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building Codes Illustrated: A Guide to Understanding the 2009 International Building Code (Paperback)
Francis D K Ching is one of the best architecture and construction writers/teachers around.
If you are an architect, engineer, or contractor and do not have this book for use
in your profession you are missing a lot of information.
It is easy to read and learn from, no more 2D drawings, the drawings are isometric or 3D.
Why we even started drawing in 2D is a mystery to me as an architect.
3D is the way to go and all of the details are shown clearly and understandable.
Get out there and get your copy NOW......
(this is not an advertisement just someone who has used copies in my architectural business and teaching)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative book, June 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building Codes Illustrated: A Guide to Understanding the 2009 International Building Code (Paperback)
I had purchased this book as a requirement for a graduate school course. I ended up keeping the book after the class because it's a great reference in the work field and I use it on a daily basis to look up codes and regulations on the job. If you are in the architectural field or design this is a good book to have around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, June 14, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building Codes Illustrated: A Guide to Understanding the 2009 International Building Code (Paperback)
This book had proved to be very helpful in decoding the building code for me. I'm using it as a study aid for the ARE, and it's been very instructive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helped with Passing Grade, April 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building Codes Illustrated: A Guide to Understanding the 2009 International Building Code (Paperback)
Great for extra explanation on Building Code, already helped on two exams...Worth the price! Easy to read and offers greater detail..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars building codes, October 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building Codes Illustrated: A Guide to Understanding the 2009 International Building Code (Paperback)
the book on building codes will be very helpfull. It came in like new condition< with fast delivery and very well protected. It was also priced well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Building Codes, July 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building Codes Illustrated: A Guide to Understanding the 2009 International Building Code (Paperback)
So in depth for a summary of the building codes. The book was in perfect condition and will be very well used by myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Building Codes Illustrated: A Guide to Understanding the 2009 International Building Code
Used & New from: $24.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.