Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BI for smarties
In my opinion Kimball vs Inmon is not a war of religion, they both have pro and cons in different situation. I believe people seriously interested in BI should read the book and take several advices from it. There are situation in which an Inmon design is good, there are some in which it isn't BUT to be able to judge you need to know both an be able to decide based on the...
Published on August 22, 2007 by Ferrari Alberto

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Provides basic generic advice
As other reviers have mentioned, this book covers wide, but not that deep. Like many books, it gives advice so generic as to be useless, but an easy to understand overview has its importance too, so perhaps this is a good place to start.

So you will see the basic problems of combining data from different sources into one place, but not necessarily how to do it...
Published on June 5, 2009 by F. Hu


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Provides basic generic advice, June 5, 2009
By 
F. Hu (Seattle, WA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Building the Data Warehouse (Paperback)
As other reviers have mentioned, this book covers wide, but not that deep. Like many books, it gives advice so generic as to be useless, but an easy to understand overview has its importance too, so perhaps this is a good place to start.

So you will see the basic problems of combining data from different sources into one place, but not necessarily how to do it. Very little is dedicated to the issues around moving that data or ETL.

This book has many chapters, many of which may not apply to your situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good and Bad, September 12, 2007
By 
A reader (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Building the Data Warehouse (Paperback)
This book is a good introduction to data warehousing. However, the style is remarkably bad. It is very repetitious, poorly organized overall, occasionally self-contradictory, and jam-packed with cartoon-like line drawings that seldom add clarity to the discussion. The book easily could be reduced from 500 pages to 200 pages without losing any information, and with an improvement in readability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BI for smarties, August 22, 2007
This review is from: Building the Data Warehouse (Paperback)
In my opinion Kimball vs Inmon is not a war of religion, they both have pro and cons in different situation. I believe people seriously interested in BI should read the book and take several advices from it. There are situation in which an Inmon design is good, there are some in which it isn't BUT to be able to judge you need to know both an be able to decide based on the customer's necessity.
The pictures in the book are really ugly and useless, nevertheless the concepts are clearly stated and easily understandable. If I have to say something wrong about it is that you need to already know what a BI system is in order to get the most out of the book. It is not for newcomers but it is definetely a good book on BI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unrewarding slog, January 24, 2013
This review is from: Building the Data Warehouse (Paperback)
Ok, I just don't get it. "Building the data warehouse" feels like a padded and generally under-edited collection of essays on topics of varying interest. Its focus is "orthogonal" to that of Kimball's "Data warehouse toolkit"; Chapter 13 is the easy-to-see overlap, but gave me no clue about the nature of the supposed "Team Edward vs. Team Jacob"-scale conflict between the two camps. However, as far as writing is concerned, the comparison with Kimball's book is clearly not in favor of Inmon's thicker tome, highlighting its frustrating tendencies for vagueness and hand-waving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good info, March 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am just learning about data warehouses this book gives a good overview , plenty of useful information in this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Job, Bill!, April 3, 2010
By 
Michael Tozer (Spring, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Building the Data Warehouse (Paperback)
A little over fifteen years ago, I was working for the then great, and now deceased, Chicago area consulting firm of Greenbrier and Russel. On their behalf, I was often called upon to speak publicly on matters relating to logical data modeling and relational database design. One of these occasions was a meeting of the Milwaukee chapter of the Data Administration Management Association. When I spoke before these wonderful folks, the speaker following me was one Bill Inmon. How could I have known then how close was I to one of the real future "rock stars" of the Data Warehousing World? (I must also report that some folks said I gave the better presentation that day. But that had everything to do with the excellent presentation graphics put together by the outstanding staff at G&R. Inmon, obviously, still lacks such artistic, professional support.)

In any case, Inmon's book, now reviewed, is really quite a good introduction to the important, and still emerging, topic of corporate data warehousing. It is, as some other reviewers have averred, a bit light technically. However, it does provide something of a "soup to nuts" introduction to the topic. I was particularly struck by how nicely Bill dealt with the evident controversy still extant between what is styled as his data warehousing approach versus that of Ralph Kimball. Inmon respectfully cites Kimball in the corpus of this text. In so doing, he simply, and I'd judge fairly, illustrates the difference between the approaches, allowing his readers to reach their own conclusions. In the sometimes acrimonious world of technical debate, I found this approach refreshing and praise worthy.

As a practitioner of many years in the discipline, I can recommend Inmon's book as an excellent and comprehensive introduction to the important and still emerging topic. God bless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, January 20, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Building the Data Warehouse
Building the Data Warehouse by W. H. Inmon (Paperback - October 7, 2005)
$55.00 $43.81
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.