Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


142 of 145 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional book on parenting, a real milestone.
I will become a grandfather soon and the young parents-to-be (both physicians) asked for a really outstanding book on parenting. I am very familiar with the classic literature on the subject, but I searched the Internet anyway. I found over 20 thousand books. I picked the most promising titles of the last few years. I scanned nearly one hundred books in libraries and...
Published on April 5, 2000 by Dr.Z.T.Hornoch

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lot of this advice seems intuitive
This book offers what seems like sound advice, however, for me, it all seemed intuitive. All the suggestions on how to interact with your baby, I was already doing. So there wasn't a lot to disagree with, but there wasn't a lot of eye opening info either. This may be better for parents who are dealing with a colicky infant or an infant who has trouble engaging with the...
Published on July 13, 2005 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

142 of 145 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional book on parenting, a real milestone., April 5, 2000
I will become a grandfather soon and the young parents-to-be (both physicians) asked for a really outstanding book on parenting. I am very familiar with the classic literature on the subject, but I searched the Internet anyway. I found over 20 thousand books. I picked the most promising titles of the last few years. I scanned nearly one hundred books in libraries and bookstores and I actually read two dozens of them. I found Dr. Greenspan's book by far the best. He discusses the results of his own research but presents them in a practical way understandable to all parents. Dr. Greenspan identifies six crucial developmental stages and the healthy interactions babies need in each with their caretakers. He also shows how to adapt the principles to infants with different temperaments. Dr. Greenspan demonstrates not only first class science but also deep intuition and love of children. Many of his findings seem intuitively obvious in hindsight, yet, as far as I know, nobody talked about them before. Lucky are the babies whose parents will follow this exceptional guide. As adults they will be able to reach their full potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Spock for this Century, July 11, 2000
As a parent, then a psychologist, and now as a psychiatrist in training, I have read hundreds of books which discuss parenting and child development. What a delight it was to open this book and discover the finest book on infant and toddler development and practical guide for their parents that I have read--ever. This book discusses in detail how children develop from birth on, and explains ways that everyday interactions with their caregiver shape their mind, their sense of themself and their view of their world. It also has numerous examples of children with very different personalities, detailing in particular how a given sensory or cognitive under- or over-sensitivity can be a hurdle in the development of the child and of their relationship with their parents. The real gift of this book lies in the down to earth examples of ways that sensitive parents may intervene to help their child over the hurdle and continue along thier joyful developmental trajectory. I have never read anything else that comes even close to describing the child-eye view of the world that is so eloquently yet simply described here. Next time I need a shower gift for an expectant parent, some reading for a parent who is particularly curious about what is going on inside her babies mind, a resource for a friend who is puzzled or distressed by her child, or a primary resource for anyone who is working in the field of child development, this is the first book I am reaching for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Terrific Book by Greenspan, January 22, 2005
By 
FUBAR (Jefferson, Maryland United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Building Healthy Minds: The Six Experiences That Create Intelligence And Emotional Growth In Babies And Young Children (Paperback)
I read this as a borrowed book and I agree with the majority of the previous reviewers as to its incredible value to parents. I completely disagree with the reviewer who recommended "The Continuum Project". That book describes a nice general theme but doesn't get into specifics. Greenspan's book is just the opposite...raising a caring child is truly more complex than just holding them 24/7.

My problem is that, as a teacher, while I am held solely responsible (see "No Child Left Behind") for a child's academic struggles...reality suggests we can only deal with that which families and/or society delivers to us...in short, we are not miracle workers or human laundry mats where children enter school one way and somehow come out "clean" on the other end. It's so much easier to attack education than it is to solve issues dealing with the family isn't it? As one researcher pointed out...we don't have a crisis in education...we have a crisis of the family...how true. In his books Greenspan clearly holds parenting responsible and, most importantly, recognizes (as most good teachers do) that a child with emotional deficits will hinder their academic gains...No Child Left Behind conveniently separates the logic from emotion as we have done for years...BUT, as Greenspan points out wonderfully...emotion always leads learning.

We each come at books, music, movies, and so on and define it by our own experiences. I come from the perspective of a parent and a teacher who sees the results of all types of home environments. From this experience I can honestly say that this book, along with many of Greenspan's other books, should be a must read for all parents and caregivers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lot of this advice seems intuitive, July 13, 2005
This review is from: Building Healthy Minds: The Six Experiences That Create Intelligence And Emotional Growth In Babies And Young Children (Paperback)
This book offers what seems like sound advice, however, for me, it all seemed intuitive. All the suggestions on how to interact with your baby, I was already doing. So there wasn't a lot to disagree with, but there wasn't a lot of eye opening info either. This may be better for parents who are dealing with a colicky infant or an infant who has trouble engaging with the world due to sensitivities. I didn't have these problems with my daughter. I would check this book out of the library versus adding it to my personal library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommendation of Dr. Greenspan's work, January 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Dr. Stanley Greenspan was a brilliant child psychiatrist. I recommend this book very highly. If you don't buy any other books on raising children, buy this book. It is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge Contributor To Our Parenting Success, June 13, 2007
This review is from: Building Healthy Minds: The Six Experiences That Create Intelligence And Emotional Growth In Babies And Young Children (Paperback)
This was the #1 most helpful book with our parenting. Agree with all the positive reviews.
As for the negatives, yes, it is intuitive to a certain extent, but how often have you questioned your own judgement? Is it always right? And what about people for whom 'obvious' parenting does not come naturally? Nice to get the affirmation on the behavior that does work!
Also, of course it's repetitive to a degree. By definition, growth is building so you'd have to re-establish the baseline definition of an early phase to adequately compare the later one.
Also, and perhaps most helpful about this book, there are hundreds of specific examples of how you can promote healthy growth for each stage and you do have to read thoroughly and carefully to get them. A table-of-contents review would be missing 2/3 of the most useful info in the book.
I hope you buy and enjoy as much as we did. It's been immensely helpful to us and we can't recommend it enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We declare this book a winner!, January 3, 2001
This review is from: Building Healthy Minds: The Six Experiences That Create Intelligence And Emotional Growth In Babies And Young Children (Paperback)
The minds of babies and children are very much affected by their experiences, surroundings, and even by the way others interact with them.
Many parents might not take the time to really think about how their child's mind develops in relation to their interaction with them. According to the book, "Building Healthy Minds", by Dr. Stanley Greenspan, there are six key experiences which foster the most intelligence and emotional growth in a child's mind. If parents learn how to make the most out of every interaction with their child, they will be giving them the chance to have the healthiest mind possible.
My ParenTime highly recommends "Building Healthy Minds" - it's the little things we do in our everyday lives, that end up affecting our children forever. This book gives us the ability to learn how to improve our interactions with our children...the children of our future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!!!!!!!!!!, November 9, 2006
This review is from: Building Healthy Minds: The Six Experiences That Create Intelligence And Emotional Growth In Babies And Young Children (Paperback)
Really interesting reading. It helped me with my 4-year-old development. I highly recommend it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Building Healthy Minds: The Six Experiences That Create Inte, April 12, 2001
By 
CM Geissler (Johannesburg, Gauteng South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Building Healthy Minds: The Six Experiences That Create Intelligence And Emotional Growth In Babies And Young Children (Paperback)
Very disappointing. Whilst I agree with the underlying concepts, the book is repetitive and arduous. New chapters, with interesting headings, merely repeat what was said in previous ones. The contents page tells the story and time spent on reading the detail reveals little new information.
Whilst not disputing the author's experience, as a mother, my intuition will stand me in better stead than the instructions of a strange man. I recommend that other disappointed readers purchase Jean Liedloff's "The Continuum Concept". More concise, thought-provoking and stimulating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Building Healthy Minds: The Six Experiences That Create Intelligence And Emotional Growth In Babies And Young Children
$19.95 $14.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.