Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent Recapturing of History
I lived in Panama for 17 years and have written 3 books on Panama.

How how I wish I had this beautifully spectacular book years ago. What an inspiration it would have been during those dreary hours of research and writing. Each of these magnificent pictures are indeed worth a thousand words -- and there are so many pictures in this book!

The United...
Published on June 20, 2003 by Gustavo A. Mellander, Ph.D., D...

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Like pictures? It's for you!
More pictures than information, my fault did not realized that fact when I bought. It says right on the title. Early senior moment.
Published 13 months ago by ARV


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent Recapturing of History, June 20, 2003
This review is from: The Building of the Panama Canal in Historic Photographs (Paperback)
I lived in Panama for 17 years and have written 3 books on Panama.

How how I wish I had this beautifully spectacular book years ago. What an inspiration it would have been during those dreary hours of research and writing. Each of these magnificent pictures are indeed worth a thousand words -- and there are so many pictures in this book!

The United States "helped" Panama separate from Colombia in 1903; it had tried to do so over 80 times before then. But that's a different story.

In 1904 the task to build the canal began. It would take 10 difficult years. The great task, which had defeated the French, was a monumental feat which changed the world forever.

The rare photographs in this book document those years. How wonderful that they have been saved and are now offered to another generation!

The Panama Canal Museum -- now at the University of Florida -- has an excellent collection of artifacts, documents and recollections for those seeking more information. Much of it is being digitized and is available on the Internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The building of the Panama Canal in historic photograph, April 14, 2001
By 
A. Thomas (Charlotte, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Building of the Panama Canal in Historic Photographs (Paperback)
Wealth of information! This book eloquently navigates through Panama's Canal history; merging dynamic cultural and socio-political elements that contributed to this technological marvel. As a lifetime resident of the Canal Zone I taught I knew the definitive version of the Canals creation, however these photographs of the mundane to the sublime still concedes a wealth of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Photographs of the Panama Canal, April 10, 2008
By 
Herbert A. Hutchinson (Thousand Oaks, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Building of the Panama Canal in Historic Photographs (Paperback)
The Building of the Panama Canal in Historic Photographs by Ulrich Keller is a most fascinating compilation of photographs recording man's greatest engineering achievement in construction during the 20th Century. The photographs are even more special to me because it shows scenes that my Barbadian grandfather and uncle would have seen during their laboring to construct the Panama Canal. That uncle died of malaria at the Canal and is buried, alongside the many others who sacrificed their lives, in the cemetery shown in one of the photographs. This book ranks in the top 3 that I have ever read during my over 70 years of reading.
Herbert A. Hutchinson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of information, May 27, 2011
By 
Heide I. Koehn (Toronto, Ontario- Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Building of the Panama Canal in Historic Photographs (Paperback)
We bought this book to inform ourselves for an upcoming trip through the Panama Canal. It was of immense help once we were sailing through the Canal, listening to the Ship's Commentator.
We could now understand why and because so many hurdles were to overcome with the building of this beautiful passage between 2 seas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Building of the Panama Canal in Historic Photographs, February 8, 2008
This review is from: The Building of the Panama Canal in Historic Photographs (Paperback)
This book a must for anyone visiting the Panama Canal. Buy it before your visit to acquaint yourself with the history of this amazing project. Then take it along on your trip. Everyone around you will be itching to have a look at this book as you view the canal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview, November 17, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Building of the Panama Canal in Historic Photographs (Paperback)
This book gave a comprehensive narrative and pictorial overview of the building of the Panama Canal. I learned many interesting facts about this project that I had somehow missed in school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Building of the Panama Canal in historic pictures, August 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Building of the Panama Canal in Historic Photographs (Paperback)
What I liked about this book was at the very front, rare pictures of the France's effort to build the canal in the 1880's. All in all a great book for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great historical B&W photos!!, August 29, 2011
By 
M K McNair (Fort Worth, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Building of the Panama Canal in Historic Photographs (Paperback)
With a transit cruise coming in December of 2011, I wanted to read on the history and building of the Panama Canal. This book provides over 150 great black and white photos showing the building of the Canal and the human support efforts required for this massive task. I think this book is a great historical reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Allen, December 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's a wonderful picture history but it lacks any of the rich intrigue or details of the immensity of the effort. I would suggest reading David McCullough's "The Path Between The Seas" first and then his book it makes the photos come alive in that you now have the background information to appreciate them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Panama Canal book, March 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Building of the Panama Canal in Historic Photographs (Paperback)
Good book but lacks the full history on the Canal. "Path Between the Seas", is most useful to anyone who really wants to know about the canal, the politics, illness, money etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Building of the Panama Canal in Historic Photographs
The Building of the Panama Canal in Historic Photographs by Ulrich Keller (Paperback - February 1, 1984)
$14.95 $11.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.