Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent reference source for many areas of modeling
This book is not only for beginners. I has excellent information on several areas of the modeling industry. Good reference. Could be de-bound, tabbed and used as a reference guide. I have recommended this book to students and customers. I certainly recommend this book.
Published on May 24, 2012 by James Wolfsong

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacks technical basics
The author is an artist when it comes to scenery and other layout details. I can hardly wait to use his techniques but when it comes to track building and DCC control, this book falls flat.

Out of 143 pages, only 12 are dedicated to track building and control and they are mostly photo examples. There does appear to be some very useful tips though...
Published 8 months ago by RVG


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent reference source for many areas of modeling, May 24, 2012
By 
James Wolfsong "James Wolfsong" (Swannanoa, NC United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building a Model Railroad Step by Step, 2nd Edition (Modern Railroader) (Paperback)
This book is not only for beginners. I has excellent information on several areas of the modeling industry. Good reference. Could be de-bound, tabbed and used as a reference guide. I have recommended this book to students and customers. I certainly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good start up, February 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building a Model Railroad Step by Step, 2nd Edition (Modern Railroader) (Paperback)
when starting to build a model railroad this book gives good tips and start up ideas, I would still recommend going to a model railroad club if there is one in your area. Even though the book is good you can still get overwhelmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacks technical basics, March 19, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building a Model Railroad Step by Step, 2nd Edition (Modern Railroader) (Paperback)
The author is an artist when it comes to scenery and other layout details. I can hardly wait to use his techniques but when it comes to track building and DCC control, this book falls flat.

Out of 143 pages, only 12 are dedicated to track building and control and they are mostly photo examples. There does appear to be some very useful tips though.

There is very little explanation of how DCC works let alone what it does. There is however a good comprehensive treatment on installing decoders but again, nothing on how they work or how the controller communicates with them.

With a title that includes "Step by Step" I assumed it was for beginners- something that teaches the "nuts and bolts" of building a model railway. Now it's necessary to buy another book or search through internet forums for answers. Not too happy about that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm hoping this helps coach him up so he does better and continues to enjoy model trains, July 12, 2014
By 
Gene Gall (Aberdeen, MD, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Building a Model Railroad Step by Step, 2nd Edition (Modern Railroader) (Paperback)
Bought this for my grandson, who has been building model railroads for years. Problem is he doesn't know what he doesn't know so not all his lay-outs were successful. I'm hoping this helps coach him up so he does better and continues to enjoy model trains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great N Scale Resource!, April 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building a Model Railroad Step by Step, 2nd Edition (Modern Railroader) (Paperback)
Having followed David Popp's many articles detailing progress on his N scale New Haven layout, I was happy to see most of his Model Railroader articles have been gathered together in one volume. This second edition even includes updates from his expansion after the first edition was published.

Everything you need to know to build a nice N scale layout is included. You shouldn't overlook consulting this this book before starting your next layout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FOR GETTING STARTED IN MODEL RR, December 21, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building a Model Railroad Step by Step, 2nd Edition (Modern Railroader) (Paperback)
It is a very good resource for taking first steps in building your first project. It will make the process much easier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book for N Scale, December 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building a Model Railroad Step by Step, 2nd Edition (Modern Railroader) (Paperback)
David Popp's book is one of the finest you can find for n scale. His railroad is a good example of how to build an N scale pike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EASY TO FOLLOW, December 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building a Model Railroad Step by Step, 2nd Edition (Modern Railroader) (Paperback)
great book, very well illustrated, easy to understand great hints and id -eas for any scale model railroad, big or small
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, October 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building a Model Railroad Step by Step, 2nd Edition (Modern Railroader) (Paperback)
I have the video for this book and thought that was all there was.
Little did I know that there was a book that went along with the video.
excellent!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, October 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building a Model Railroad Step by Step, 2nd Edition (Modern Railroader) (Paperback)
Excellent book for anyone who needs information on building, expanding, or modifying their model railroad. Well laid out and easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Building a Model Railroad Step by Step, 2nd Edition (Modern Railroader)
$21.95 $17.13
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.