Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Brett Dennen Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer bighero bighero bighero  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars35
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$15.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 24, 2012
This book is not only for beginners. I has excellent information on several areas of the modeling industry. Good reference. Could be de-bound, tabbed and used as a reference guide. I have recommended this book to students and customers. I certainly recommend this book.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2014
The author is an artist when it comes to scenery and other layout details. I can hardly wait to use his techniques but when it comes to track building and DCC control, this book falls flat.

Out of 143 pages, only 12 are dedicated to track building and control and they are mostly photo examples. There does appear to be some very useful tips though.

There is very little explanation of how DCC works let alone what it does. There is however a good comprehensive treatment on installing decoders but again, nothing on how they work or how the controller communicates with them.

With a title that includes "Step by Step" I assumed it was for beginners- something that teaches the "nuts and bolts" of building a model railway. Now it's necessary to buy another book or search through internet forums for answers. Not too happy about that.
22 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2013
I bought this to see what is involved in building scenery should I decide to build a indoor model RR. The book had a great deal of information and ways to construct scenery, product information and who sells it. Like a lot of these kinds of books, it may be a little basic for the advanced hobbyist but still, I'll bet anyone can get some good information from this book..
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2014
Excellent Book ,Seller shipped fast ,There are just so many little tips in this book for a beginner or someone that is working on their own layout!! I will read it a few more times as I am building my layout !!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2014
when starting to build a model railroad this book gives good tips and start up ideas, I would still recommend going to a model railroad club if there is one in your area. Even though the book is good you can still get overwhelmed.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2013
i've bought a lot of books about building model train layouts and this book has got to be in the top 5 out of all of them!

this book covers all the basics in an orderly fashion without skipping over anything crucial or going into way too much depth for a beginner, somehow it strikes the perfect balance
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2015
I received this book as a gift. Generally, pretty decent, but could use some updating. I look forward to seeing better versions in the future
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2016
A great book, I enjoyed reading it and save it for reference when working on my layout. Lots of helpful hints.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2016
Purchased to use with model train setup. Mainly for reference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2014
Having followed David Popp's many articles detailing progress on his N scale New Haven layout, I was happy to see most of his Model Railroader articles have been gathered together in one volume. This second edition even includes updates from his expansion after the first edition was published.

Everything you need to know to build a nice N scale layout is included. You shouldn't overlook consulting this this book before starting your next layout.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse