Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like Having a Mentor on Call
Working as a sales support person for a consulting firm, I'm often asked to research companies, industries and business topics for other staff. I bought this book looking for a "how to" guide on online research and realized I got something more valuable to boot.

This book does not teach mechanics such as putting together complex boolean strings. Instead it...
Published on September 3, 2010 by Kenneth W. Kozak

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I was a gift. I didn't read it.
I was a gift. I didn't read it. Sorry
Published 3 months ago by Jeannine Trybus


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like Having a Mentor on Call, September 3, 2010
By 
Kenneth W. Kozak "Ken Kozak" (Walnut Creek, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building & Running a Successful Research Business: A Guide for the Independent Information Professional (Paperback)
Working as a sales support person for a consulting firm, I'm often asked to research companies, industries and business topics for other staff. I bought this book looking for a "how to" guide on online research and realized I got something more valuable to boot.

This book does not teach mechanics such as putting together complex boolean strings. Instead it does present a great overview of research resources. What I enjoyed most was practical advice on how to make myself a better researcher -- how to define and scope out a research project, how to set realistic client expectations, how to market my services and how to do a better job managing my projects and my internal clients. Recommended. Comprehensive, clear, concise, well organized and documented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for independent information professionals, June 12, 2010
By 
Kim Dority (Centennial, CO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Building & Running a Successful Research Business: A Guide for the Independent Information Professional (Paperback)
The first edition of Bates' practical guide has long been required reading for anyone considering this growing career opportunity. This second edition continues the strengths of the first - practical, detailed, thorough, and written in a wonderfully supportive style - while adding and updating information to reflect the subtantial changes to the profession in the past seven years.

Every chapter in the book's three sections (Getting Started, Running the Business, Marketing) provides information critical to succeeding as an information broker or independent researcher, but especially important is the guide's concluding section, Marketing. You simply cannot succeed if you can't market your services, and this is a major perceived obstacle among those who might otherwise follow this career path. In the Marketing section's eight chapters, Bates identifies what to do, how to do it, when to do it, and when to do it again. The message: marketing is critical to your success, it's ongoing, but it's also doable.

This new edition of Building & Running a Successful Research Business is a must-have for independent researchers, but it's also valuable for those of us who do more independent information creation than research. Being a good researcher or content developer is one thing; being able to build a successful business with those skills is quite a different challenge. The new edition of this classic work will enable you to successfully meet that challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Resource, November 23, 2010
By 
William Corsair "Will" (Leavenworth County, KS USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building & Running a Successful Research Business: A Guide for the Independent Information Professional (Paperback)
I read the first edition of Mary Ellen's book and was impressed enough that I wanted to see how she'd updated it. Fortunately, I wasn't disappointed.

The book is a great resource, and not just for information professionals. It can be used as a primer for anyone putting together a solo consulting practice, for example. It's been updated with enough ideas for modern web marketing and web site design as well.

I particularly found the sections on "deep web" research helpful. These are paid-subscription sites with access to a great deal of material that's not available on public-facing web sites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A core addition to any business collection, July 11, 2010
This review is from: Building & Running a Successful Research Business: A Guide for the Independent Information Professional (Paperback)
Research is not something that will turn a direct profit, but it doesn't mean it can't be profitable. "Building & Running a Successful Research Business" is a guide to running a successful research driven business. Examining the business model needed to be successful in such an environment, the challenges faced, and with plenty of advice drawn on experience, "Building & Running a Successful Research Business" proves to be an invaluable reference for readers and managers, and is a core addition to any business collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthwhile book - even for experienced business-owners, August 20, 2011
This review is from: Building & Running a Successful Research Business: A Guide for the Independent Information Professional (Paperback)
This book offers valuable information and practical tips for both new and experienced information business-owners. The expanded marketing content in the second edition provides up-to-date coverage on attracting the right kinds of clients, and Mary Ellen's advice on the art of the reference interview has proven indispensable for project development and management - even after more than a decade in business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource, August 3, 2013
By 
KCreader (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Building & Running a Successful Research Business: A Guide for the Independent Information Professional (Paperback)
Others have already described the content. I just want to say that I appreciated Bates' clear, straightforward, description of the ins and outs of being an information broker. This is not one of those breathless, "You, too, can be an entrepreneur!" books. She is very clear about the challenges of being an independent researcher and I appreciated her frankness. She has been in business many years, so has plenty of experience to back up her assertions. (No, I don't know her, nor am I in any way affiliated with her business.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Want to be a successful Info Pro?, March 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very few times have I ever picked up a book and not able to put it down, but this book is an exception. Bates does an outstanding job of presenting information, expanding on it, and even making you feel a bit more confident that success as an info pro is obtainable.

Highly recommend if you are thinking about entering this line of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I found this book to be everything I was looking ..., February 20, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I found this book to be everything I was looking for. It had all the information I needed to make an informed decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, October 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Still haven't finishes but contents is pretty encouraging, a nice way to survive in this economy but little by little, which is the way businesses grow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 25, 2014
By 
Vivian Martin (PINEY POINT, MD, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Building & Running a Successful Research Business: A Guide for the Independent Information Professional (Paperback)
Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Building & Running a Successful Research Business: A Guide for the Independent Information Professional
$34.95 $21.36
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.