Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ching did it again !, January 19, 2009
This review is from: Building Structures Illustrated: Patterns, Systems, and Design (Paperback)
If there is a Ching-ian punch, I guess it would be being fun and easy.
Last publication, on building codes, is a perfect example for it. Most
practitioners in the beginning of their careers suffer interpreting
somewhat ambiguous words of code book, let alone systematically
understanding of overall structure of it. Ching knocked it down with his
punch.

This book likewise, will bring somewhat theoretical and mathmatical
subject, hence often avoided, enjoyable to readers. It will be especially
helpful for those who would like to grasp overall picture of what constitutes
structural engineering for an architect.

Followings are covered:

1. basic structural terminology
2. design issues (gains or losses by overruling one system over another)
3. material properties (wood, steel, conc)
4. loads (gravity vs. lateral)
5. long span roofs and high-rise structural issues
6. system integration

What is Ching-ian punch in this book? It is being heavily graphical, well
organized, and to the point. It is also being intensely focused and design related.
Clear and simple in the beginning, the book moves very smoothly with rich
illustration and terse text.

Page after page, the book will symphonically orchestrate between various systems
allowing readers, to know different structure systems based on material taxonomy
(wood, steel, concrete), and to grasp the pros and cons of each different structure
system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great illustrations, March 25, 2009
This review is from: Building Structures Illustrated: Patterns, Systems, and Design (Paperback)
I purchased this book in preparation for a structures test. The illustrations are very helpful to understand the basic concepts of structural systems. The book didn't include any calculations, but it contains an overview of historic and modern structural systems of the building industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, and clearly targeted at architects, December 27, 2011
This review is from: Building Structures Illustrated: Patterns, Systems, and Design (Paperback)
Approaching this book as an engineer who appreciates architecture, I found it to be very good overall. More specific comments:

- The authors include two architects and an engineer, which is a good combination.

- The book begins with a nice little historical survey of building structures (though it includes a bridge, and makes an odd reference to Ohm's law).

- The illustrations are abundant and of top quality (as one would hope, based on the book title).

- Structural engineering is covered at a conceptual and systems level, rather than with engineering rigor, equations, etc.

- There's some useful discussion on fire protection and integration of building systems.

- There's a rather lengthy discussion on column grid layouts - too long for my interest, but perhaps suitable for practicing architects.

- The book is interspersed with many useful rules of thumb for determining span capabilities of various systems, sizing members, etc.

- The format of the book makes it easy to find information once you know your way around, so it should work well as a reference.

- The emphasis is on how architects can address structural considerations in their work to achieve architectural goals, not on structural engineering itself. The book is therefore definitely better suited to architects than engineers, though engineers can benefit too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars building structures illustrated: great help for students, May 31, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building Structures Illustrated: Patterns, Systems, and Design (Paperback)
This book is a great tool for every architecture student. Every possible structure of a building is explained in this book, with detailed drawings and text. And that's what we are used to of D.K. Ching's books.

A cheap and must-have book for every student!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great overview and helpful study tool, March 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building Structures Illustrated: Patterns, Systems, and Design (Paperback)
In general, not the greatest depth as needed for the structures exam, but decent for its overview and general content. Visualization is needed for me to understand many of the structural concepts. I felt this book did a decent job at diagramming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning technical language, August 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building Structures Illustrated: Patterns, Systems, and Design (Paperback)
I buy it to learn about construction systems and because I want to learn specific language, and I find it very useful even though i just started reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars structures for architects, April 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building Structures Illustrated: Patterns, Systems, and Design (Paperback)
the old days of ching's hand drawn sketches notwithstanding, this is an excellent book, especially for the SS ARE exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great, October 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building Structures Illustrated: Patterns, Systems, and Design (Paperback)
a really great book used for architectural structures class...a good book to have throughout architecture
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm very happy with this purchase, January 23, 2011
This review is from: Building Structures Illustrated: Patterns, Systems, and Design (Paperback)
I actually purchased this book for my sister. The book was super cheap compared to all other prices I saw out there, and I was even happier when I saw it was brand new for such a low price. Also, the book arrived a couple of days before the expected delivery date, which worked out great for my sister since she had class that same week the book arrived!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect condition, and on time!, September 23, 2009
By 
Jonathan Rolf (Huntington Beach, CA. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building Structures Illustrated: Patterns, Systems, and Design (Paperback)
Book showed up on time, in perfect condition, as stated, and was the cheapest i could find anywhere, especially for a new book. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Building Structures Illustrated: Patterns, Systems, and Design
Building Structures Illustrated: Patterns, Systems, and Design by Francis D.K. Ching (Paperback - January 14, 2009)
Used & New from: $22.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.