Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good advice, sometimes questionable opinions
First off, this book is aimed squarely at beginning investors. Which is what I wanted, but anyone who's already traded stocks or managed investments will likely be happier with more advanced material. This book gives a good overview of the topic, and is a respectable primer for a brand new investor. Enough details are listed to get you started, and the author highly...
Published on August 21, 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
88 of 91 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very little useful information
The book is basically a discussion of why the author believes it is wise to buy silver, and some *very* limited information on ways to go about it. I was looking for something to give more insight into actual trading. On that point, I was strongly disappointed. More and better information can be had with a simple Google search.

Don't be deceived by the...
Published on January 1, 2012 by K. Andrews


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

88 of 91 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very little useful information, January 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building Wealth with Silver: How to Profit From the Biggest Wealth Transfer in History (Paperback)
The book is basically a discussion of why the author believes it is wise to buy silver, and some *very* limited information on ways to go about it. I was looking for something to give more insight into actual trading. On that point, I was strongly disappointed. More and better information can be had with a simple Google search.

Don't be deceived by the 5-star reviews posted here. Ask yourself why someone would write a 5-star review that reads more like slick advertising copy than a genuine review. And isn't it interesting that there are so many 5 star reviews, but only a handful of 4 star reviews? Interesting also is how many of the 5-star reviews were written by people who have never reveiwed anything else, before or since! Especially those which are given to superlatives like "fantastic" and "VERY informative".

I was displeased with my purchase of this book before reading the reviews, but after seeing the obvious way in which so many fake positive reviews have been posted, I'm truly disgusted. The misspellings and writing style in the reviews are oddly reminiscent the book. It's as if the same person wrote them!

There is NOTHING in this book that you can't learn by reading a few online articles. I'll summarize it for you: Silver is a good investment because of the coming devaluation of the dollar, its rarity relative to gold, and the out-of-historical-synch gold:silver price ratio. You can buy silver cheaply and easily with an online trading account using ETFs. You can leverage your position by choosing an ETF that buys silver futures on margin. You can short or double short silver by choosing an ETF that uses that strategy. Buy low, sell high. Be careful because you can also lose a lot of money. There, I just saved you a couple hours of plodding through the hype and unsupported theory this book is filled with. He will also tell you how you can visit the author's web site and buy all kinds of expensive newsletters, investment ebooks and courses. The author has evidently realized that an even better way to build wealth is by selling "how to" ebooks to saps!

I generously give it two stars only because I don't want to be guilty of the same hyperbole as the author and the bogus 5-star "reviews". If you know nothing about silver or investing, this could be a marginally useful introduction. However, you can get less biased and more complete information from any online broker's web site. If you have an online trading account, have ever bought and sold shares in an ETF, or are looking for some useful information to help you develop a trading strategy, you won't find anything of value here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A poorly written book, January 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building Wealth with Silver: How to Profit From the Biggest Wealth Transfer in History (Paperback)
As a trader who has been studying the silver market for years, I find this book very disappointing. Firstly, it contains quite a few obvious mistakes. For example, it said Jim Rogers joined hands with George Soros to bet against Bank of England in the 90s. In fact Rogers had already broken up with Soros in a bitter quarrel in the 80s. Secondly, if you compare the supply and demand data in the book with another source like CPM Group, you will see a lot of discrepancies. I consider CPM Group to be one of the more reliable sources. This author gave me the impression that he didn't check the accuracy of his information carefully. And he didn't cite the sources of his information. I am very doubtful about his data. If you are not familiar with the silver market, it is risky to rely on this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy Silver Bullion Only, August 10, 2012
This review is from: Building Wealth with Silver: How to Profit From the Biggest Wealth Transfer in History (Paperback)
While I haven't purchased this book, I had to rate it before proceeding; so I gave it a neutral rating. I can say, with certainty, to all investors new to silver, "Stay away from any kind of paper instruments in silver, like ETFs, unless they are backed by silver bullion, and you can audit it yourself."

These ETF's can be shorted very easily by the bullion banks who have been investigated by regulators on the silver manipulation, since they take up extremely outsized (or concentrated) short positions in the paper silver market.

Silver is rare, its applications are numerous and growing, and it is being hoarded by central banks of the Eastern hemisphere. When the physical supply runs out, the manipulation will end, and the price will go in to orbit.

If you really want to know more about silver, read Ted Butler, David Morgan and GATA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good advice, sometimes questionable opinions, August 21, 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Longview, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First off, this book is aimed squarely at beginning investors. Which is what I wanted, but anyone who's already traded stocks or managed investments will likely be happier with more advanced material. This book gives a good overview of the topic, and is a respectable primer for a brand new investor. Enough details are listed to get you started, and the author highly encourages you to continue learning from other sources.

The single best feature of the book is it's common sense, low-pressure approach. The author spends most of the book not selling anything. Instead, he offers practical advice like making sure you understand the mechanics of how different investments work before engaging in them. He is careful to point out that "leveraged" investments increase your potential risk as well as your potential profit and that Day Trading will require a lot more knowledge, time and effort than long term investing. He doesn't offer any magic formulas for success (other than buy low and sell high), but has some suggestions for minimizing risk and developing the right mindset for successful investing.

Alas, at the very end he throws in a pitch for his own "buy my exclusive information" service. Sigh. Although the information in the book seems sound, you are left wondering if the whole thing is just a sales gimmick to sell you a phony a financial service. This both cheapens and makes me distrustful of the entire book (which otherwise seems be be full of good, if basic, knowledge).

Before the sales pitch at the end, the author also turns a little loopy by saying that long term cycles in human civilization are somehow explained by the Mayan Calender (?!?) and that our current woes all date back to Nixon taking the US off the Gold Standard. He also predicts the demise of the Dollar as the world's standard currency. Fortunately, the author quickly leaves the Mayans behind, and the role of the Gold Standard and eventual fate of the dollar are controversial but certainly open to question. The author's various predictions and pontifications on the economic future are no worse that what you hear on TV every week, and much more believable than the rosy "everything is fine" that we get from the government.

Overall, I would recommend the book as a primer on investing in Silver, although I would also highly recommend doing some further research as well. His predictions I would take as one man's opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Maybe helpful if this is the very first book on silver you're reading, January 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building Wealth with Silver: How to Profit From the Biggest Wealth Transfer in History (Paperback)
The book may be helpful if you have zero background in this area and this is absolutely the very first book on silver you are reading. This is the third book I read and I did not learn anything new. Way over priced given lightness of content and compared to the other two I read. If you have kindle or kindle app, consider Previewing first chapter on Kindle to see if you like it before buying the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and informmation, April 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book was good background on silver and it's many uses. Throughout history silver has proved to be money, now its uses are many and varied. Industrial and medical are some of the various uses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very informative book., April 12, 2011
This review is from: Building Wealth with Silver: How to Profit From the Biggest Wealth Transfer in History (Paperback)
I bought this book, and Im very happy I did. I was new to the silver market and needed to find some info on how to invest in silver. The book is written in a way I could understand. And within a week I had opened up an online trading account. I would recommend this book to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only for beginners, don't buy if you are seasoned investor, April 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Most of the information contained in this book is very obvious. I get the sense that the guy wrote the book just because he wants to have a personal business model where he doesn't have to show up to work everyday (he begins the book talking about "The Secret" which is a lame self help book). The information is basic and you can find everything on the internet by doing a basic google search. This book is an attempt to make money on the recent gold/silver bull markets (a valid trend and sound advice, but you don't need to buy this book to learn anything profound in that department).

Not much useful in here; Buy books by Peter Schiff, or David Skarica if you want some sound principles and concrete advice about how to profit from current money printing and inflationary climate.

This book is not worth the money. Spend your money elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silver investment book, September 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very informative and practical book that considerably expanded my knowledge and understanding of silver and it's importance as an investment. I highly recommend this book to anyone who needs to invest and who wants to understand what is really going on with international currencies and finances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read, January 21, 2013
This review is from: Building Wealth with Silver: How to Profit From the Biggest Wealth Transfer in History (Paperback)
Excellent book, good for beginners and professionals alike, it explains very well the advantages of silver over gold, in such way that even beginners can invest in the precious metals with confidence. Excellent and a must read book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Building Wealth with Silver: How to Profit From the Biggest Wealth Transfer in History
$14.95 $13.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.