Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book will expand your thinking and effectiveness.
Imagine an "Invisible Cult" -- on page 11 of this book, you're introduced to the Invisible Cult that is "unseen or unrecognized as a cult yet it incorporates many of the aspects engendered by other cults: loyalty, an elitist attitude, a brotherly bond among its followers . . . by maintaining happy and compliant followers they avoid the scrutiny of the media and contribute...
Published on March 13, 2010 by Tom Marcoux

versus
17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please hire an editor
There are not as many useful tips in here as I was hoping for (regarding politics, etc.), but I could have overlooked that if there weren't between five and thirty typos, misspellings, grammatical errors, etc. on every single page. It is absolutely the lowest quality text I have ever laid eyes on. The author is in SERIOUS need of editorial help, and I would recommend...
Published on August 18, 2010 by Chellee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book will expand your thinking and effectiveness., March 13, 2010
By 
Tom Marcoux (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Building Your Cult: Power, Politics and People (Paperback)
Imagine an "Invisible Cult" -- on page 11 of this book, you're introduced to the Invisible Cult that is "unseen or unrecognized as a cult yet it incorporates many of the aspects engendered by other cults: loyalty, an elitist attitude, a brotherly bond among its followers . . . by maintaining happy and compliant followers they avoid the scrutiny of the media and contribute to the world while its leadership silently prospers." On page 17, the author warns of how a potential downfall "can come from excesses of self acceptance and love in the form of narcissistic egotism." And, on page 74, the author guides you in the ways of "Personal Propaganda." The power of author Dantalion Jones is that he has no hesitation to "tell you the unvarnished truth" (as he sees it). This book will likely make a number of people angry. But other readers will take this information and do something good -- for themselves and their followers (customers, friends and others). Knowledge is potential. Action is power. Would you like more power? Get this book.

Tom Marcoux
America's Communication Coach
Author of
Truth No One Will Tell You: How to Feed Your Soul, Save a Business, or Get a Job During an Economic Crisis
and
Be Heard and Be Trusted: How You Can Use Secrets of the Greatest Communicators to Get What You Want
and
Nothing Can Stop You This Year!: How to Unleash Your Hidden Power to Persuade Well, Get More Done, Gain Sudden Profits, Command Intuition and Feel Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please hire an editor, August 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building Your Cult: Power, Politics and People (Paperback)
There are not as many useful tips in here as I was hoping for (regarding politics, etc.), but I could have overlooked that if there weren't between five and thirty typos, misspellings, grammatical errors, etc. on every single page. It is absolutely the lowest quality text I have ever laid eyes on. The author is in SERIOUS need of editorial help, and I would recommend shopping around rather than purchasing anything Dantalion Jones has attempted to write.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and Thought-Provoking, March 29, 2010
By 
Elissa (Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Building Your Cult: Power, Politics and People (Paperback)
Building Your Cult is a fascinating and thought-provoking book. It is about far more than building a cult---it is about getting clear on what you want from life, building yourself into the person you want to be, and achieving your goals.

"Cult" is defined as "a smaller group of people with a set of beliefs that is different from the culture at large." A cult can be Harley-Davidson motorcycle owners, or a multi-level marketing group. The word is not used in this book to mean "bizarre" or dangerous." One could use the information in this book to build a business; the cult could be either the employees or the customers. Or, one could use the information to surround oneself with like-minded friends, or simply to have a more fulfilling life or to be a better person.

The book excels in conciseness. Many self-help books contain pages of fluff and a few major points that could be condensed into an article. Succinct and well-organized, this book spares you the tedium of winnowing out bits of information from piles of chaff. However, this virtue is carried to a fault. I sometimes found myself wanting more detail, or a story or example. Jones' book, How to Get What You Want would be a good companion book, as it goes into more detail on some topics.

The ethical tone of the book is generally high. The leader is encouraged to control emotions, treat cult members kindly and respectfully, and generally to work to be a superior human being.

I have read several of Jones' books, and generally find them to be a refreshing alternative to some of the wordy and overly idealistic books on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Building Your Cult is a MUST READ!, March 3, 2010
This review is from: Building Your Cult: Power, Politics and People (Paperback)
If you are building your brand, business, or rebuilding your life, Building Your Cult, by Dantalion Jones is a must read.

Dantalion doesn't just focus on "cult building" as a tactical process, he begins where it matters - with getting your inner game together.

I give this book 5 solid gold stars, because Mr Jones presents what is needed in personal development, tactical structuring, and day to day work to do what it takes, to build your brand, business or rebuild your life.

The Cult Building focus of the book is simply a great bonus.

An absolute must read!

Mr Twenty Twenty
Exhostage turned professional visionary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Passion, power and leadership, explained, March 8, 2010
This review is from: Building Your Cult: Power, Politics and People (Paperback)
If you want to start a cult, this may be the only book you'll need.

However, that's not why I read this book, or what impressed me. In fact, if your only goal is to build a cult, you might miss some of the vital, life-improving ideas in "Building Your Cult."

This book is about passion, and the qualities that make someone stand out in the crowd. It's about becoming a charismatic person whom others want to be around, emulate, or even follow, in any community or professional context.

Author Dantalion Jones takes cult-related concepts that I'm familiar with (from books by Steve Hassan, Robert Jay Lifton, and Robert Cialdini) but reframes them in a very positive and dynamic context.

Though some of the material in this book could be used in destructive ways -- and I have mixed feelings about the author revealing that basic "recipe" -- this information is most powerful (and enduring) when it's applied to projects that will make the world a better place.

"Building Your Cult" is an intense book. In a little over 100 pages, Jones surveys almost every essential ingredient necessary to manipulate power, politics and people. Many readers will want to research those elements further, but they'll be starting with a well-rounded understanding of power and politics.

The information in this book is highly concentrated. As a result, it is not easy reading. I like that. These tactics should not be attempted by anyone who's only casually interested in this subject. (However, if you're reading this book to immunize yourself from cultic practices, it's a good overview.)

In the wrong hands, this information could be scary. However, for most people, this is a good addition to the fields of self-help, business management and success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, well-written, information-packed and witty, March 2, 2010
By 
J. Thomas (Tulsa, Oklahoma) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Building Your Cult: Power, Politics and People (Paperback)
This is the first book of Mr. Jones's that I've read, and I will certainly be buying more. He's truly one of the foremost (if not THE top) expert on this subject, and goes into great detail on the specifics: what make these strange organizations tick?

His style here is a barrage of information, without filler. Every single page contains numerous tactics and strategies for building organizations of this nature. And he goes so far as to share one of the most subtle, insidious and powerful secrets of all, something you won't see in any other book on the subject.

Only buy this book if you're the kind of person who actually follows through and gets things done-- it's designed to be read and used.

Cults are all around us. You probably belong to more than one. What Mr. Jones is doing here is giving away the keys to the castle, and it wouldn't surprise me to see this book taken off the market or censored because of his no-holds-barred delivery.

This book would also be of great interest to cult deprogrammers and to people who have lost loved ones to cults. These organizations are on the rise and forewarned is forearmed.

If I could offer one criticism, it would be that there's just so much information here, and that he's letting some cats out of the bag that should perhaps be better left in there. I question whether it's such a good thing to have this information widely available because it might get into the hands of people who would abuse it.

And we wouldn't want that. Would we now?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something for Everyone?, September 3, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building Your Cult: Power, Politics and People (Paperback)
Judging from the reviews, different people get different things from this book. I can see that. The title is "Building Your Cult. Power, Politics, and People." The book starts off with the focus on how to successfully build your cult and avoid pitfalls. This could just as easily be about building your business brand or the art of persuasion.

I bought this book because of the reviews that talked about how it can change your life. I am always interested in self growth. I also was interested in how the author presented NLP. I found this part of the book the most interesting and the least covered. I am a certified NLP practitioner, so the very quick overview of that was enough for me. There are one line to one paragraph flashes of brilliance scattered throughout the book that I wish were expanded upon, but perhaps the fact that the author doesn't give it all to you makes it better. Maybe it's the kind of thing that is more meaningful when you have to do the work.

The book is easy to understand, but I read it slowly to absorb the finer points. The information is good, but the editing isn't the greatest (as others have pointed out) and the way that ideas are presented is jarring at times. It gives enough at a fair enough price that I want to see what else the author has to say. On his website, he says if you send him your Amazon receipt, he will send you something free (or if you buy the book on his site, he will send the free thing too). I did that, but didn't get a response.

Anyway, if the review seems disjointed, it's because the book is too. I do recommend it- especially if you actually do want to start a cult- but there is a lot more to it than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quit reviewing your OWN BOOKS, D.!!!, February 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building Your Cult: Power, Politics and People (Paperback)
Hey Dantalion, quit making fake accounts and reviewing YOUR OWN BOOKS! Yeah numbskull, I caught you. Knock it off.

For everyone else, Dantalion writes some of the absolute worst books available. The content is flimsy, the writing atrocious, and D. seriously needs to buy a dictionary... "I do not think that means what you think it means." Look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good for those starting out or trying to build a group of any kind. Great for HS and Collage Age., September 1, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Building Your Cult: Power, Politics and People (Paperback)
Dantalion Jones has a few products out. Most are higher caliber than this book. However it does deliver...depending upon your knowledge level of the field. I can say it was a good buy. and it is a great buy if you are around High School and College age and want to start a group or if you prefer Cult. I probably can't give a completely fair assessment since I learned most of what is talked about in the book whilst growing up and being interested in the subject. But for those just getting started, or needing a few extra tips tricks and ideas for that final push... It is definitely worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't let the Title Scare You!, March 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read the book and I am rereading now. This book is really about building YOUR CONFIDENCE and then going out and building a team, or creating fan loyalty to yourself or a brand.

Dantalion does refer to crash and burn cults as examples of what you DON'T want to do! He has a self-hypnotic script that he wants you to read many times to help you avoid become a megalomaniac, which seems to be the downfall of most cults.

He talks about helping people get what they want and this will instill loyalty to you so you get what you want. I know several self-help books that say the exact same thing. Dantalion just puts in a hypnotic twist.

The warnings alone in this book make it worth the price. I recommend you buy this book if you want to run something (a club, business, political campaign). It will help you avoid the pitfalls while building a loyal team to achieve the main goal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Building Your Cult: Power, Politics and People
Building Your Cult: Power, Politics and People by Dantalion Jones (Paperback - February 12, 2010)
$19.95 $17.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.