Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring ... far more compelling than I expected
This is one of the few books in recent memory that I actually enjoyed reading. I generally have pretty low expectations for books of this genre, but the combination of insightful advice and real world applicability gave this book a certain legitimacy and usefulness I've found similar titles lacking.

I've already put several of the strategies in this book into...
Published on July 14, 2011 by Priestington Insurance Services

versus
35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Scam Artist
I can give you a summary of the book aka the real story of how this company was created.

Darren wants to start an insurance agency. So he applies for a business license and employs immigrants seeking work visas. The immigrants know that their work visa is contingent upon their employment and they are willing to do whatever it takes to stay in the country, as...
Published 7 months ago by Internal Conquest


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Scam Artist, June 24, 2014
This review is from: How I Built A $37 Million Insurance Agency In Less Than 7 Years (Paperback)
I can give you a summary of the book aka the real story of how this company was created.

Darren wants to start an insurance agency. So he applies for a business license and employs immigrants seeking work visas. The immigrants know that their work visa is contingent upon their employment and they are willing to do whatever it takes to stay in the country, as long as it is not illegal. Darren instructs the immigrants to tell every new employee that they hire that they are making close to a six figure incomes in three years, and that this was accomplished by following Darren's business model and sales script. Since lying to college students is not illegal, the immigrants go along with it. Next Darren holds group hiring sessions to quickly recruit recent college graduates. These college graduates are instructed to cold call 8 hours a day to prospect small businesses that want to switch insurance agents. Any appointments booked by the recent college grads are attended by Darren or one of the immigrants. During the appointment, they will tell you that they can save you 22% on your insurance premiums by switching brokers. What they really mean is that they'll downgrade your plan so you receive less benefits and pay lower premiums. It's nothing ground breaking, but when you have dozens of college students cold calling local businesses 8 hours a day, you eventually find some people who are willing to switch brokers. It's a number game.

Many college grads stick around for months, sometimes even years before finally realizing that Darren never had any intent on sharing the full commission that he promised. He only shares commission with the immigrants so that they can uphold the image of success and one or two females that he befriends. Eventually the college grads realize that this is a sham, they inevitable search for new work and Darren keeps the accounts and commission to himself. Repeat this cycle after almost a decade and now Darren is rich because literally hundreds, possibly up to a thousand college graduates, have worked for months at a time making cold calls to prospect small businesses, only to leave those accounts behind.

Want proof? Here's a link to when Darren started applying to get employees on work visas from myvisajobs.
myvisajobs(dot)com/Visa-Sponsor/Apex-Outsourcing-Insurance/693690_Visa(dot)htm
Two of the originally employees on work visas are Scott Boyd and George Mihov shown in this video.
youtube(dot)com/watch?v=fYmUDNTvPdE

The first employee is Scott Boyd, he is ethnically caucasian but he had an Indonesia citizenship.
He received his degree from Jakarta. Here's proof from his own linkedin website.
linkedin(dot)com/pub/scott-boyd/12/534/72b

The second employee in this video is George Mihov, from Bulgaria. Here's proof from his company bio on united AMG website.
unitedamgpartners(dot)com/about-us(dot)html

Now here's proof that he uses college grads for free labor. These reviews are written from his former employees from Glass Door website who confirm that he's using recent college grads as a source of free labor.
glassdoor(dot)com/Reviews/Apex-Outsourcing-Reviews-E227457(dot)htm
The reviews are self explanatory.

Darren operates the same company under three different names to create the illusion of growth and diversity.
These companies are:
Apex Broker
UnitedAMG
DaVincifinancial

If you view the contact page on each website, they all have the same address in Irvine, CA. He's trying to create the illusion of success and wealth.

While this guy might not be breaking any laws, he is as shady as they come. He'll tell say things like, "there's enough businesses in a 10 miles radius to support all the new brokers", "if you stick with his program for three years, you'll make it too, but it's a tough job and not everyone is cut out to work on commission because some people just don't have what it takes". He's basically using reverse psychology on you to get you to think you need to work hard for free if you want to make it and if you don't, it's your own damn fault.

The truth is, there is no merit system in which the employees are promoted to ever receive commission. You only believe it is possible to achieve a reasonable income through this system because the immigrants parrot this lie to you. In truth, Darren just gives out just enough commission to sustain the illusion and keeps the rest for himself. As a real agent, you can get signed up by any health care provider on your own and collect 100% of the commission yourself from day one. As a new agent, you sometimes split commission and earn a draw during the training process. At APEX - you work for free and sign all your accounts under Darren's name.

He's been pulling the same trick on college students for almost a decade now. His ploy has probably evolved over time, but here's the real story behind Apex. The fact that he's even written a book to white wash his history is actually a smart move but it's also rather disgusting at the same time.

If Amazon continues to sell this book, I hope they re-categorize this to the appropriate section - "Fiction".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring ... far more compelling than I expected, July 14, 2011
This review is from: How I Built A $37 Million Insurance Agency In Less Than 7 Years (Paperback)
This is one of the few books in recent memory that I actually enjoyed reading. I generally have pretty low expectations for books of this genre, but the combination of insightful advice and real world applicability gave this book a certain legitimacy and usefulness I've found similar titles lacking.

I've already put several of the strategies in this book into practice in my own life, and have been pleasantly surprised by the results. To be fair, I have a background in insurance that makes this book especially relevant for me, but this text has so much useful information that anyone who wants to build a better company or even just learn more about what it takes to be successful will get a lot out of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Legacy in Action, February 5, 2014
This review is from: How I Built A $37 Million Insurance Agency In Less Than 7 Years (Paperback)
This book embarked the beginning of a legacy being built by Darren Sugiyama and his team. Purchased in bulk by a multi-billion dollar company, I've had the pleasure of not only reading, but actually experiencing the training behind the story with the author himself. While my agency operates in a different fashion (as many do)the lesson has been engrained and our sales have continued to rise steadily year over year. I highly encourage to start with this read, then move to the next chapter, The Icon Effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real life, real tools!, February 4, 2014
This review is from: How I Built A $37 Million Insurance Agency In Less Than 7 Years (Paperback)
Being in the insurance industry you get really bored of the same self help , fluffy, feel good, how to books! Darren is the real deal, he inspires drive, ambition and passion. As a sales manager I have personally implemented his tools in the reality of a commission driven sales world , and they work! The structure with enthusiasm is a formula for confidence. There is no success without confidence and this world thrives on perception and first impressions. If you are lazy and entitled this probably is not for you. But if you are looking for some real life motivation and a path to put you in the right direction...start here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great easy to understand book, July 14, 2011
This review is from: How I Built A $37 Million Insurance Agency In Less Than 7 Years (Paperback)
This book is straight forward, simple, and easy to read. This book can be very useful to someone starting out in the insurance business or even an experienced insurance professional. It covers everything from describing how to present yourself in front of your prospects and employees all the way up to running your own agency. The approach Darren uses is a system driven approach instead of a people driven approach which is a shocking to some people but very effective in the field. I strongly recommend this book to anyone in sales and/or someone who manages 1099 employees.
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seek Clarity, October 5, 2012
This review is from: How I Built A $37 Million Insurance Agency In Less Than 7 Years (Paperback)
Darren's book points out the importance of clarity in life and business. Unlike our politicians, he knows what to do, how to do it, and shares his insight with the reader. Use this book to catalyze your success and enjoy your time reading as Darren takes you along his journey with his conversational writing style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for any entrepreneur, February 4, 2014
This review is from: How I Built A $37 Million Insurance Agency In Less Than 7 Years (Paperback)
Darren's successes in business and in life are truly inspirational. The lessons he shares in this and his other books should be required reading for anyone in business for themselves or simply looking for inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definatley the bible for the industry., February 4, 2014
This review is from: How I Built A $37 Million Insurance Agency In Less Than 7 Years (Paperback)
For anyone looking for the "Truth" for what its going to take to grow an agency based on systems, this it it.

With a straight shot, no fluff approach, the author gives you step by step directions on what it is going to really take to succeed in this industry. If you are looking for a motivational book with a "pat on the back" "Ra Ra" feeling you may be disappointed.

However if you want things you can implement tomorrow, this is the BIBLE.

Most leaders today cannot walk the talk, when you read this book you will understand why it's just different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Applying these methods on a daily basis in my insurance agency!, February 5, 2014
This review is from: How I Built A $37 Million Insurance Agency In Less Than 7 Years (Paperback)
I highly recommend this book for everyone, especially people in the sales world. He adds clarity to the many things we learn and teach our sales associates on a daily basis without the extra junk you may get from other authors. This is a no nonsense approach to getting the job done! I've read twice and also bought copies for my sales force.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST READ BOOK FOR EVERYBODY!, February 5, 2014
This review is from: How I Built A $37 Million Insurance Agency In Less Than 7 Years (Paperback)
Darren is a real example of what it takes to succeed in the business world! He speaks straight from the heart and has a passion for what he does and helping others fulfill their potential. Every entrepreneur is searching for the elusive formula and Darren sums it up in his "How I built A $37 Million Dollar Insurance Agency in Less Than 7 Years" book. Throughout my Insurance career, I've been blessed with many inspirational leaders and mentors and Darren is one of them. I encourage every person to read and learn from all of Darren's no-nonsense, straight-shooting books... You will not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

How I Built A $37 Million Insurance Agency In Less Than 7 Years
How I Built A $37 Million Insurance Agency In Less Than 7 Years by Darren Sugiyama (Paperback - March 7, 2011)
$18.49 $16.64
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.