Customer Reviews


231 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (71)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars H to the Yeah! Fans of Showdown in Little Tokyo rejoice.
A completely retro movie. I flashed back throughout this flick to some of the best years of my life as I thought about films like Dolph Lundgren's "Showdown in Little Tokyo," "Red Heat," and even "They Live."

What you have here is Stallone in his "Cobra" mode, a true bad ass, take no prisoners type of hero. He plays Jimmy Bobo, and he's hellbent on revenge...
Published 17 months ago by Wally World

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Action Flick
I don't why some people watch movies like this if they don't like action, revenge, guns, and good fights. It's kind of why I don't watch "The Sound of Music". This is a down and dirty, gritty, old fashioned kick ass Stallone movie. All around good movie and he has a hot daughter to boot. The people that give this bad reviews, probably don't like The Expendables or...
Published 12 months ago by Eric D. Kirk


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars H to the Yeah! Fans of Showdown in Little Tokyo rejoice., February 13, 2013
This review is from: Bullet to the Head (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
A completely retro movie. I flashed back throughout this flick to some of the best years of my life as I thought about films like Dolph Lundgren's "Showdown in Little Tokyo," "Red Heat," and even "They Live."

What you have here is Stallone in his "Cobra" mode, a true bad ass, take no prisoners type of hero. He plays Jimmy Bobo, and he's hellbent on revenge after his partner is knifed by the dude from "Game of Thrones." I'm glad Jason Momoa is in this film because for the first time in my life, my girl dragged me to see a Stallone flick!

Enter in Detective Taylor Kwan, an upright law enforcement-type dude, who uses his investigative powers to discover Jimmy Bobo is an active hitman, and he and his partner killed a powerhouse in the criminal underworld. In fact, Kwan is certain Bobo's partner died as a result of the hit, and tries to lure Bobo into working for him to find a ruthless criminal.

The two eventually form an uneasy alliance and the movie is slam packed full of fist action and bullets and man, there is even an axe fight. Complete with a Christian Slater cameo as slimy Marcus Baptiste, why not see this film?

It's totally 80,s, early-90's style and it's banging, man. Nice nudity as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STALLONE AND THE 80'S ARE BACK!!!, February 4, 2013
This review is from: Bullet to the Head (DVD)
This movie is high octane fun! Stallone is in rediculously good shape for 66! I have been a fan of his since i was a child growing up in the 80's. So I have seen a boat load of Stallone's films, the good and the bad. This is one of his best! Don't let the critics fool you, this is a must see if you are a fan of this type of film. My girlfriend who is not a fan, even liked this movie. We found ourselves laughing at the banter between Stallone and his new partner, who happens to be an Asian cop. Stallone is constantly throwing racist comments at him, but it is all in good fun. Stallone's age works to his advantage, his face is chiseled from years of wear and tear, as is the rest of his body. He looks like he was carved out of stone. There is no other actor like him. Christian Slater plays a small, but good roll, as a crooked lawyer. The masquerade ball he throws for his guests is done well. It's fun to watch Stallone creeping around the party wearing a strange mask. I don't want to give a bunch of this film away, so i will just say this. High energy, well acted, well directed, characters are very believable. Go see the movie then buy it when it comes out. It is a keeper! Oh, did I mention Stallone gets into an ax fight?? "What are we, Vikings?" Stallone grunts. GREAT FILM!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SYLVESTER STALLONE IS AMAZING..., May 30, 2013
This review is from: Bullet to the Head (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
Bullet to the Head. The name is based on a French Graphic Novel. Sylvester Stallone plays a Hit Man and the character suits him very well. He is very likable. Stallone delivers a great performance. The movie, is loud, explosive, funny and very entertaining. I loved the rock and roll music that plays throughout the movie. It adds up to the 80's feel that the movie has. Walter Hill did a good job directing.
Bottom line is, Bullet to the Head does not disappoint. Certain actors have come and go. But legends like Sylvester Stallone have proved over and over that they can continue to be on top of their game even after being in the movie business for FIVE DECADES.
Good job Sly. You are FANTASTIC.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bullet to the Head, July 4, 2013
Good flick! I enjoyed it! the script was as serviceable as it needed to be! I was impressed with Stallone's stamina and unflinching bad-assness. It was great to see him back on the big screen playing a different character. Old school action is back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars throw back, July 10, 2013
This review is from: Bullet to the Head (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
this is a throw back 80's action movie. It was everything it was supposed to be. Stallone at his best. Roles like this just seem to fit him. pure bad ass. great bad guys, great action. its great to have a movie thats not special effects thru the whole thing. wish they would make more movie like this. Sly keep up the good work. age has only made you better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's only a movie, January 17, 2013
This review is from: Bullet to the Head (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
Regardless of the tragedies, I see nothing wrong with the film. Gun violence is common in a number of movies and remember it's only a movie. Why should a movie be cancelled or delayed because of a few nutcases who can't separate fantasy from reality. It's tragic what happened this past year, however, I see nothing wrong with this movie. I love action movies and Hollywood won't let a few nutcases cancel or delay movies. IT'S ONLY A MOVIE!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I GOT YOUR OLD GUY, March 2, 2013
This review is from: Bullet to the Head (DVD)
James Bonomo (Sylvester Stallone) is a hitman. Due to a number of circumstances he teams up with Taylor Kwan, an honest cop (Sung Kang) who wants to take people in while Bonomo wants to take them out.

The screenplay for this film is based on a novel which means the writing is a step above the hack made-for-film scripts we've been subjected to by the other heavy weight action film stars...especially the guy with the pony tail. The title "Bullet to the Head" has a duo meaning as Stallone enjoys Bullet bourbon. In the beginning Stallone swerves to miss a cat. This is an omen to the next scene where he spares a woman with a panther tattoo on her back. These subtleties (pay attention writer/actor/cop Steve) along with Louisiana harmonica blues grindhouse music and a superior script overcomes bad acting, including Christian Slater.

The film is filled with action and bullets to the head. It was just enough drama filler to make a story so we don't get bored when we see people get shot. Worth a view for those who like action films just a cut above the grindhouse style.

Parental Guide: F-bombs. Nudity (Weronika Rosati, Sarah Shahi-briefly, plus extras. No sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Action Flick, July 1, 2013
This review is from: Bullet to the Head (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
I don't why some people watch movies like this if they don't like action, revenge, guns, and good fights. It's kind of why I don't watch "The Sound of Music". This is a down and dirty, gritty, old fashioned kick ass Stallone movie. All around good movie and he has a hot daughter to boot. The people that give this bad reviews, probably don't like The Expendables or Dirty Harry either. Rotten Tomato critics shouldn't watch it either since they wouldn't know a good movie if it bit them in the butt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never to be mistaken with "Bullet in the Head", April 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bullet to the Head (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
Bullet to the Head, with Sylvester Stallone (Blu-ray edition is copyright 2013) must
never be confused with the John Woo film by a similar name, also released
on DVD for US players (in the original Cantonese with terrible English subtitling).

To watch this film, obviously, first you have to like watching Sylvester Stallone---
at least SOMETIMES. After all, he's the star. As far as I'm concerned this was,
in certain ways one of his best films.

There's a twist to this action film in that Stallone plays the ostensibly bad
character--an assassin for hire. As circumstances have it, he (reluctantly)
pairs up with an Asian-American police detective (another loose sort of
association with Woo's film) to catch some especially bad guys, who
killed his co-worker. So at the outset there's a tension at work: for the
detective. this is about solving a crime and catching the bad guys (of which
Stallone himself is one), while for Stallone's character it's about revenge,
and perhaps about making sure he's not next on someone's list....

Sure, there's plenty of shooting, fighting, some nudity--everything you'd
ask for in an R-rated movie. What there is also is Stallone delivering
some of his funniest-ever lines in a movie. Remember how he
"couldn't act" [what they say about most male action stars] ? Well,
clearly there were some good script writers, but his delivery was also
spot-on. For an action-suspense movie, this had me repeatedly
breaking up---all of it at Stallone's lines. And of course there's
a satisfactorily happy ending.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This bullet bites, August 18, 2013
By 
In "Bullet to the Head," a granite-faced Sylvester Stallone, who's looking more and more like he should be staring down from Mount Rushmore, plays a "principled" hit man - i.e., he draws the line at taking out women and children - who has the tables turned on him when the same guy (Christian Slater) who hired him to kill a dirty ex-cop then turns around and hires someone else to take out Stallone and his fellow hit man. Stallone then teams up with the old partner (Sung Kang) of the now-deceased dirty ex-cop to take out Slater. And if none of this makes any sense, welcome to the world of "Bullet to the Head."

Suffice it to say that the bodies pile up faster than vehicles at a NASCAR rally, as Stallone and Kang play a deadly game of cat-and-mouse through the streets and alleyways of New Orleans, all the while bickering like an old married couple.

There really isn't much of interest to say about this thoroughly tired and generic crime tale, other than to note that the screenplay is as mechanical and muddled as Stallone's line readings.

Do yourself and everyone involved with this production a favor and take a pass on "Bullet to the Head." You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bullet to the Head (Blu-ray + Digital Copy)
Bullet to the Head (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) by Walter Hill (Blu-ray - 2013)
$35.99 $12.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.