Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Valuable story, would have preferred better documentation
This is the story of a young George Washington during the French and Indian War, who miraculously survived a battle which killed every other officer on horseback, and most of the Bristich and American soliders. In fact, Washington himself had two horses shot out from under him and four holes shot in his coat. This is a valuable story in American history and of God's...
Published on September 27, 2009 by HeatherHH

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Historians will be disappointed.
This was not as much history as it was the author's opinion. A nice bibliography, but no references for factual statements made.
Published 7 months ago by DonG


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Valuable story, would have preferred better documentation, September 27, 2009
This review is from: The Bulletproof George Washington (Paperback)
This is the story of a young George Washington during the French and Indian War, who miraculously survived a battle which killed every other officer on horseback, and most of the Bristich and American soliders. In fact, Washington himself had two horses shot out from under him and four holes shot in his coat. This is a valuable story in American history and of God's providence, one that was widely told until the early 20th century, but is relatively unknown today. The author provides background events leading up to the battle to provide context. With relatively little knowledge of the French and Indian War, I was able to follow along. This was an enjoyable and informative story. There is a map of the battle area in the back and a timeline of events.

My complaint is that the documentation could have been improved. There is a list of primary (and secondary) sources in the back, but nothing indicating what came from each book. Even when there are long quotes that are essential to the point of the story, we're not told which of the books they came from. That would be exceedingly helpful, both in substantiating what he's said (see the review calling into question the accuracy of some of the account), but also for those interested in learning more. Still, with this being a story that's no longer widely shared, this is a valuable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wets the appetite!, April 3, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bulletproof George Washington (Paperback)
My 12 year old daughter just "read" the audio version of this book in a car trip. It has inspired her first true interest in history. Now she wants to own the actual book so she can have access to the photos and maps. There was enough background information about the climate leading to the battles, that she now sees how things relate, and how people can see the same event through opposing views. It shows how minor decisions can have big impacts. She loves how the Indian Chief came to the conclusion that the God whom he didn't believe in was certainly the only one that could have kept George alive in battle. It showed how impossible his odds of living were and highlighted how history is full of people just like us making great contributions to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy Read, February 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bulletproof George Washington (Paperback)
This is an easy read and I would recommend it for older grade school kids. For those who believe this country's founding and it's Founders were directed by God, this story will illustrate that. For those who do not necessarily believe this, it will provide insight into why many Americans do feel this way. David Barton masterfully uses primary sources to tell the story of the Bulletproof George Washington.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bulletproof George Washington, May 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bulletproof George Washington (Paperback)
This is a great book. Easy to read and wonderfully written. It details a story which used to be well-known but nobody talks about anymore. I read this to my fourth grade class (in the public school even!) this week. They loved it. Every child and adult in America should know this true story about George Washington and the hand of God that was evidently upon him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, October 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bulletproof George Washington (Paperback)
The story behind why the native Americans were afraid of our great Founding Father
I recommend it for reading to school age children since the language is easily understood and the story is one "for the history books".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One mans life dose count, September 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bulletproof George Washington (Paperback)
This book is about a hero that the educational culture has tried to destroy by its half truths and out right lies. There are many leaders from our past that could inspire us . Some how we have given into the culture that idolizes those in the pop culture that are any thing but a good example. This man was chosen by Gods providence to set the start of this nation on the path to greatness by his personal adherence to values that that he aspired to build into his own life by daily practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for Grandson, January 1, 2012
By 
Quilt Lady (Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bulletproof George Washington (Paperback)
Bought this book for my 14 year old grandson. This will make his history lesson reslly complete with all the facts. Cant wait to borrow it from him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bullet Proof George Washington, August 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bulletproof George Washington (Paperback)
One of the best short reads on the Father of our country George Washington. A must read for all students of history including those enrolled in our public schools. A story that could not have been written unless it was absolutely the truth. A perspective that should never be left out of the learning of this country's history. Providence was definitely attentive to this man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bulletproof George Washington, by David Barton, January 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bulletproof George Washington (Paperback)
A quick-read, full of things we never knew about the "young George Washington" Hat's off to my hero, David Barton, who always uncovers the truth in History. I look forward to reading more of his works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Share it with the kids!, March 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bulletproof George Washington (Paperback)
We've all heard of "President George Washington" and "General George Washington." But what do you know of the younger, valiant "Colonel George Washington"? David Barton does it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Bulletproof George Washington
The Bulletproof George Washington by David Barton (Paperback - December 19, 2002)
$6.95 $6.60
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.