Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Renee Keeler
WOW! Perfect for 5th grade unit on internet safety! I also would rec. for middle school and high school! DON'T be afraid to read aloud this powerful picture book to older kids!
RK
Published on September 23, 2012 by R. Keeler

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good idea, too much like a lecture
Polacco has written many great books. This one is just OK.
The topic is a good one, but the book sounds like a lecture. Many of her books have a wonderful feeling of childish curiosity or wonder. That wouldn't have worked for this topic.
She tries but doesn't quite succeed at getting inside the head of a preteen convincingly. Perhaps this topic doesn't lend...
Published on October 16, 2012 by Hsilver


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good idea, too much like a lecture, October 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bully (Hardcover)
Polacco has written many great books. This one is just OK.
The topic is a good one, but the book sounds like a lecture. Many of her books have a wonderful feeling of childish curiosity or wonder. That wouldn't have worked for this topic.
She tries but doesn't quite succeed at getting inside the head of a preteen convincingly. Perhaps this topic doesn't lend itself to a book of this type and length.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Renee Keeler, September 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bully (Hardcover)
WOW! Perfect for 5th grade unit on internet safety! I also would rec. for middle school and high school! DON'T be afraid to read aloud this powerful picture book to older kids!
RK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look Patricia Polacco, December 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bully (Hardcover)
Another great book by Patricia Polacco. This is a great picture book to teach students about bullying. I used this the first week of school with my 4th and 5th grade classes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but a little more geared to Jr. High students, October 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bully (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed the book. When it first arrived I was worried that it was a little too wordy for a read aloud for my third grade students. However, it read really smoothly and I did finish it in one reading. It's just that it has a little more to do with cyberbullying. Most of my kids are not "connected" yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent lessons for elementary school aged children….and even adults, December 2, 2013
By 
Kim (Houston, Texas) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bully (Hardcover)
Anything by Patricia Polacco is endearing and touching. Perfect for children who are in elementary school to teach them about differences in others, being kind and having an open heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One day just a new girl in school meeting and meeting a new friend---lives change., November 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bully (Hardcover)
My students love this book! I love the book and the lesson is there. It is so very pertinent to kids today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It taught me that you should not be a bystander and help stop bullying!!!, July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bully (Kindle Edition)
It teaches a lesson.

It is a lesson I think everyone should learn
stop this silliness and stand up!
I recommend this for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Character Ed Teaching Tool, July 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bully (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book to help young children learn what to do when someone is being bullied. It clearly showed how a child can easily become part of a "click" of students who lure someone in by being "kind" and then bully others. I love Patricia Polacco's books and this one is no exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a great lesson, May 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bully (Kindle Edition)
A little predictable but we enjoyed the characters and the great lesson learned. The use of the Facebook in the story is very timely. Great voice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bully, March 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bully (Hardcover)
We are in the middle of the author study and the students loved having this story read to them. They liked that they could make the ending of the story how they wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bully
Bully by Patricia Polacco (Hardcover - September 13, 2012)
$17.99 $13.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.