Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


115 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Bullworth Academy
If you haven't played Bully, let me say that you are in for a huge treat. First off, Rockstar was kind enough to lop ten bucks off the purchase price so this is being sold for fifty bucks, which is actually a steal, considering how much content this game has. Let me also dispel any notions of this being a "schoolyard GTA", in fact, the high school that I go to is worse...
Published on April 15, 2008 by Karen F. Nath

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit late to the game....
I recently started playing Bully Scholarship edition on the xbox 360 and found the game to be an enjoyable experience. I did not have the pleasure of having played the original so I cannot compare it to that. I have however played GTA4, GTA3 through San Andreas, and many other open boxes like it, so I can compare it to those.

Graphics: The graphics are not top...
Published 22 months ago by Elder Whizzer VI: Legendary Ed...


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

115 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Bullworth Academy, April 15, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bully: Scholarship Edition (Video Game)
If you haven't played Bully, let me say that you are in for a huge treat. First off, Rockstar was kind enough to lop ten bucks off the purchase price so this is being sold for fifty bucks, which is actually a steal, considering how much content this game has. Let me also dispel any notions of this being a "schoolyard GTA", in fact, the high school that I go to is worse than this game is. You don't kill people, there is no blood; the whole atmosphere is very tongue in cheek.

Bully is an open world game set in the fictitous Bullworth Academy and its neighboring town. While that may not sound like a huge world to explore, there is so much detail in everything that you will hardly notice this. You start out as Jimmy Hopkins, a fifteen year old delinquent dropped off by your mother and new stepdad at boarding school. Right away, you figure out that the teachers are corrupt, the students are all part of conformist cliques, the prefects are out to bust anyone for putting a toe over the line, and the only kid like you is a power-hungry jerk. Thanks, mom.

The gameplay is extremely solid. Combat is varied, with a number of ways you can take on the prefects, teachers, or townspeople. You can, of course, punch, kick, etc, but you can also throw eggs, use stink bombs, lob firecrackers...you get the picture. The number and sheer variety of missions is extraordinary. It took me well over 100 hours to achieve absolutely everything in the game and get all the Achievements (which are quite fun and varied as well). And believe me, you won't regret an hour spent playing. Even classroom activities are really enjoyable, offering up some unique minigames, which benefit your everyday skills (e.g., if you excel in Art, you will have more success with the ladies).

The plot is very well done, and humor is ever present. Jimmy needs to win over the groups of students: the Nerds, Jocks, Preps, Greasers, and Bullies. Along the way, you'll run into missions delving into calendar year functions, such as Halloween and Christmas. Everything you do is related to something else, which makes the whole game that much more enjoyable. (However, if you already played this on PS2, there isn't a ton of new content here, 8 missions, 4 classes, multiplayer, and Achievements are about it).

Here's to a sequel that hopefully will be coming soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


282 of 311 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best games from PS2 just got better!, March 7, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bully: Scholarship Edition (Video Game)
first, please vote whether this helps or not. otherwise its kind of pointless writing these. yes/no buttons are right at the bottom of the review. thanks.

if you enjoyed this game on the PS2 half as much as me, you're going to love it on the 360. there's tons of new content including 8 new missions, 4 new classes, new characters, two-player classes/mini games, new unlockables, new rewards and achievements. in total you get 82 missions, 45 lessons, loads of mini games and collectibles. 30+ hours of gameplay.

its an open world sandbox game with deeper combat options than most, full of options to dispatch your enemies, including tackles, headbutts, and a few wresting grapples. the world is pretty massive, and will take some time to fully explore. maybe its just me, but the environments seem to be expanded pretty majorly from the PS2 version. theres a few vehicles you can use to explore the campus and the surrounding town including a skateboard, bicycles, go-carts, and scooters.

the graphics have been revamped significantly. an all new lighting/shadow system has been added, along with high resolution textures. it still doesnt compare to most xbox 360 games, but thats not the point, and thats probably a big part of its price.

this game has more general character and spirit than almost any other game ive played. everyone is a pretty believeable character in thier universe. playing this really takes you back. its like being in highschool all over again, but if you want to shove someone into a locker you can, you want to pinch your teachers behind as she walks past? go for it! you wanna watch the hall monitor(prefect) fall in your scattered marbles, only to be shot down by your bottle rockets when he chases after you?? no problem! there is great variety of people to interect with, each group with their own members and unique personalities:jocks, nerds, preppies, bullies, greasers, teachers, townies, carnies.

its the Grand Theft Auto of the schoolyard, complete with no killing, and the lack of anything too offensive. during its developement, this was quickly becomming one of the most controversial games in years. upon its release, all the soccer moms and political wives with nothing better to do than scapegoat video games were slapped in the face by a harmless romp down memory lane, with a few complimentary wedgies.

add a surprisingly good story full of twists that goes through the whole school year and a cast rivaled by very few games, and you have yourself the answer to your open-world thirst. next to GTA IV and Saints Row this is your best bet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the Money?, July 18, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bully: Scholarship Edition (Video Game)
Yes! I purchased this game (I'm an adult female of 24 years old) and I have yet to put it down. Here's some pros and cons for the readers of this review...

Pros:

#1. This game is one of the few that really make you think. I was a fan of Grand Theft Auto IV as well but while this could be a long distance relative to that game, Bully has a bit more than your regular shooting and killing game. As Jimmy, you have to go to the classes in order to graduate the school. Now, I've been out of school for a couple of years now and some of them really make you ponder. English and Math were the hardest ones and I still haven't beaten the final Biology class.

#2. This game has a "T for Teen" rating but I wouldn't have given it that. The only thing that might make parents a little wary is the fact that once you reach level 3 you have the ability (ability meaning "you can but don't have to") kiss other boys. Other than that fun little tidbit, the weapons are child based. Sling shots, stink bombs, itching powder, potato launcher, etc. etc. In fact, when you shoot another kid with your slingshot (if you shoot a child or girl, you are immediately "punished" by the man)they are knocked out instead of killed like in other games. I would be completely comfortable letting my 10 year old nephew play this game without any worries.

#3. The tasks are relatively easy. Even though the game doesn't offer an "easy, medium, hard" choice, the missions are somewhat easy to figure out. Again, another plus for small kids (or adult women whose last game she played was Donkey Kong on the Super Nintendo).

Cons:

#1. Loading Time. The loading time on this game is a big buzz kill. I'm not a fan of loading times at all but Bully seems to overdo it by alot. Everytime you enter into a building it loads? That's quite alot when you are on a mission and you have to enter four or five different buildings and everytime you walk through a door you have to sit through a 30 second to a minute worth of loading time.

#2. Glitches. There are quite a few of them in this game. Little things where your school clock doesn't show up and then you get busted for violating curfew. Another one is where you swing at an offender and for some reason or another you don't connect. That one usually shows up in missions and you either have to start the mission over or turn your game off all together. Maybe it's me but that does seem to irritate me.

#3. Some of the classes are too hard. I know in my pro section I said that the classes teach you and that it is good for you but come on people? 2 and a half minutes to disect a pig into seven pieces?? I still can't beat that biology class. Arggh!

All in all? I give Bully an A-. Easily one of the best games I have seen but there are a few minor issues that cause some irritation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good at $30, definite buy., July 6, 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bully: Scholarship Edition (Video Game)
This is an open world game featuring you, a 15 year old smart- mouthed, trouble making kid. The story is that you are dumped off at this huge academy, because your mom is going on a honeymoon with her new husband, which your character hates. The story lasts around 13 hours, but an easy 15 can be played afterwards with all of the mini games and things such as that. This game has a very fun story and is one of the funniest games I have ever played. The only real strike is the gameplay can become a little to repetitive at times, and the difficulty never really picks up from the start to the end. All in all this is an excellent open world style of game and is one you should seriously consider adding to your collection.

Overall 8.0-8.5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game!, May 23, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bully: Scholarship Edition (Video Game)
This has been among my favorites on the 360. Bully is very well designed, without too many significant glitches. My favorite part about this game though is how amazing the story goes. The main character, JImmy, goes to a new school that's full of bullys and cliques. Contrary to what the name suggests and everyone believes, Jimmy is an anti-bully. Yeah, there are fights and pranks, but the overall goal is to manipulate each clique to get them to stop bullying others. It's a genius storyline, with tons of missions that are interesting and a blast to play.

Besides the main story, there are so many things to its overwhelming. There are jobs to get money aside from the main missions, like paper routes and lawn mowing, there are bike races, errands to do for people, and shops to go to. One of the coolest parts is the carnival. There you can play regular carnival games, go on rides, go kart races, and even win yourself a moped.

Back at school, you have many classes you can go to, and they are actually somewhat challenging!! There is math, art, biology, chemistry, music, and geography. Passing these classes gets you benefits in the game like maps, the ability to make firecrackers and stuff like that.

For the 360, achievements are a lot of fun too and make the game even longer. You don't just get them by playing in Bully, you really have to work. For example, you have to get 20 guys to kiss you (you're a boy). There are 38 in all, worth 1000 points.

Overall, bully is an amazing game, that will keep you entertained for 30+ hours. I recommend it to anyone especially for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bully! Not about bullying other kids!, April 2, 2008
By 
N_W_TX "Nick_frm_TX" (Alvin, TX United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bully: Scholarship Edition (Video Game)
Bully is an updated port from the PS2 version. The graphics are updated as well as the gameplay. Overall I would say this is an excellent port of an older video game. Gameplay mechanics are solid and it has a funny story. Don't believe the hype in the media about bully making kids bully and glorifying bullying. THAT'S WRONG AND IGNORANT!! It's about a kid taking back the school from bullies and you are penalized for being a bully. Beside most kids face far worse in the real world schools than in this videogame. This is a T for teen rated game so parents pay attention to what your kids are playing. But this game is a definite buy, especially for those who like rockstar's games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the few sandbox games I enjoy, November 28, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bully: Scholarship Edition (Video Game)
Generally speaking, whenever I've played any sandbox style game (GTA, Saints Row) my first inclination is to find all the cheat codes and then determine the most efficient way to kill as many people as possibly and max out my wanted level. Then I get bored and quit the game. This has happened to pretty much every sandbox game I've ever played.

Bully totally changes that. The quests feel relevant as opposed to roadblocks to getting your mass destruction on (mainly because this game is rated T you can't really get much destruction on) and the plot and characters are actually super enjoyable (i guess i can relate more strongly to a kid trying to buck the private school system than i can to mobsters. go figure)

Seriously though, the game has a rich and diverse world, the characters are individuals who will respond to you in individual ways (such a rarity in gaming in general) and the plot never feels like it's doddering. Actions have consequences and nothing seems too outlandish (even though the majority of the game is sort of outlandish...escapism is the point though)

I also found this game held up very well, having played it earlier this year (and having played it when it originally came out) so i would totally suggest it to anyone who is sick of call of duty v9.0 or halo goes camping or whatever number they're at now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Think GTA, just replace the guns with slingshots and cars with bicycles..., December 20, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bully: Scholarship Edition (Video Game)
It took me a long time to finally sit down and play this game because I simply thought it was a "kid's version of GTA". And to be honest, that's what it pretty much is....but it's fun as hell! Instead of hitting the streets taking down drug dealers and the mob you're storming the halls of a local boarding school taking out every clique who crosses you and having immense fun doing it.

The premise may sound pretty childish as a sub par rendition of a GTA story but it's actually very fun and interesting, as Rockstar has not really developed a sandbox game quite like this. There's many reused devices from the GTA games (such as getting busted and losing your weapons or mission markers) but at the same time there's enough unique things in it distract you from them.

Graphic-wise, I think this one of the more beautiful games Rockstar has released on the 360. If you have an HDTV, you can really appreciate this, as everything looks much more colorful and vibrant than the regular SD version. However, whether you play it in HD or not, it does look nice.

The story is pretty straightforward, as you'll have to run around the school doing missions for each of the school's main cliques who will eventually grow to respect you as you do more missions for them. Admittedly, it is not a long game but the missions are fun enough and vary in difficulty and length to provide some variety. This version benefits by having even more missions than the PS2 version, so that increases the longevity by a bit.

The biggest thing I look for in games these days besides length would be replay value and to be honest, this is probably the weakest aspect of the game. Once you complete the game, there isn't too much to do besides running around the school and town causing havoc. There are small things to do like bicycle races, paper routes, yearbook photos, and other miscellaneous tasks to do but none of them require much time. As mentioned before, running around at any given time causing trouble can prove to be a great source of amusement but that can get old real quick.

Overall, I give it a 4 out of 5, as its great in everything but is ultimately too short of a game and doesn't have much replay value to merit a perfect score. If you love the GTA games, I highly recommend at least renting it if the concept still makes you hesitate. If you haven't played a GTA game, by all means don't let that discourage you at this game can be appreciated by anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit late to the game...., April 30, 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bully: Scholarship Edition (Video Game)
I recently started playing Bully Scholarship edition on the xbox 360 and found the game to be an enjoyable experience. I did not have the pleasure of having played the original so I cannot compare it to that. I have however played GTA4, GTA3 through San Andreas, and many other open boxes like it, so I can compare it to those.

Graphics: The graphics are not top notch, but I have no real complaint here. They are adequate and don't detract from the game experience. I can tell that things are what they are, there are no creepy disfigured heads like you might see in a bethesda game, so it is good enough for me.

Gameplay: The gameplay is very similar to what you might face in San Andreas. The "scope" of the game has certainly been peeled back substantially. The only vehicles that you can use are bicycles, skateboards, and mopeds. The handling isn't great, but you won't be thrown off at every turn with half of your life gone like the GTAs. The university combines with several little towns to make the map you can travel around on, and in Traditional GTA fashion, the map gets unlocked 1/3 at a time as you play. They add emoticons allowing you to interact with people in your environment. This is quite nice, allowing you to grab and bully people, harass them, approve, or threaten them. It's reminiscent of the Fable series in that respect and does very well.

Story: This is a major faltering for me. The story is essentially about a troubled boy sent off to a "boarding school" of sorts while his mom goes on a honeymoon with his new step dad. He possesses a lot of angst as a result of his rough upbringing. Through the help of a boy named gary, he ends up getting involved in clique wars. All of this is interesting and fine. What isn't is the cohesion in this story. Hint, it has none. Pretty much every mission in the game involves you being called to someones office, an event that happens completely off camera with no beepers/cellphones/text messages to tell you why you are going to this spot and starting this mission, or they occur as a result of you randomly walking by and getting pulled into something.

In GTA games, it's usually a natural progression of things. Missions you do for this guy causes you to meet the next guy who in turn introduces you to the next guy. And when a friend you haven't quested for in a while wants to meet up, they send you a text, beep, ect... and say something. In this game, you just wonder to each other checkpoints, often based on time. All and all, the complete lack of cohesion really hurts and otherwise great story.

Timing: This is a major gripe with the game, the day/night cycles. The first thing that is frustrating is that many many missions are timed based, so you can seriously be stuck for 4-5 hours (game time) waiting for a mission to repop up so you can do it. During the day you are required to attend classes, doing so prompts great bonuses and not doing so gets people searching for you for being truant. Then, you have a few hours and then you are up passed curfew and violating that. But wait, there is more. Assuming you are fine having to constantly dodge the teachers and cops, you will simply pass out unconscious if you stay up any later than 2ish. Prompting you to have to race back to a bed less you collapse in the street. Which is fine if sleeping in a bed saved the game as it should, but it doesn't. So to recap, about 3/4 of the day you are "breaking the rules" and will be chased down by anyone who sees you, and you pretty much HAVE to go to the bed every night for no reason other than cause you have to. The ONLY way to save is by logging it in a book near the bed, so no autosaves after missions.

Glitches: I don't really care about visual glitches, and so far my game has never frozen completely, but even now, on the newest xbox system, on a hard drive installed version of the game, with all of the patches they have done over the years, the game still has significant slow down issues. This is especially frustrating during the dozens of minigames the game offers, I've had it happen during rhythm based games and completely lost as a result.

Minigames: Loads and loads of them. It's one of the main things that GTA4 lost and I am glad this place kept. There are tons and tons of minigames, from "mowing the grass" to arcade games to dodge ball. They are all simplistic and I can't say any of them are as time consuming or engaging as Blitzball from FFX, but they are all mildly amusing and I don't think I was sick of any of them by the time the game was over.

Other Annoyances: The other annoyances is that most of the other weapons you can get don't really do much. You'll be finding yourself always using the slingshot with it's infinite ammo, as the eggs are limited, the itching powder and stink bombs are practically useless, the firecrackers can occasionally help on a surprise, but once an enemy is running after you it is basically pointless, you will never get enough distance from them to really make use of it. So all and all the many options you can wield only come to play when filling specific mission criteria. Another annoyance is the shear number of people that run up to you demanding that you "help" them. A few is fine, but it's almost as annoying as the cellphone from GTA4, and you'll quickly find yourself ignoring them and their constant pleas for help, especially with a day so limited in time, where doing what they ask means missing out on your class/mission.

The final "annoyance" comes down to the lack of replayability. In the GTAs, it used to be fun going crazy and ending up with 6 stars while you outrun/avoid swat trucks, tanks, and the army; or trying to make crazy leaps, or jumping out of an airplay and going sky diving. You get none of that here. You are just a single guy with fists, and if you warrant stars you either run and hide or face the consequences. Very little options in the ways of mayham here, and very little worth doing other than to acquire the 100% achievements.

Overall: So overall it's a good game. It gets 3 stars for the complaints I have with it, but it still has a good story, fun gameplay, and some unique things. The social aspects and the capacity to bully people is really fun, and a feature I wish they'd add to GTA. The story and play is very unique and with the number of minigames it has it is well worth a try. I would definitely consider it if you can get it for cheap, but I wouldn't spend more than $10 on it at this point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game that was almost overlooked, February 11, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bully: Scholarship Edition (Video Game)
I bought Bully: Scholarship Edition about 6 months ago. I was just looking for a cheap game to kill time with and was real skeptical. I am real picky in graphics and was nervous that the graphics would be poor. To my surprise, it was a really good game and was glad that I bought it. I highly recommend it especially if your into Grand Theft Auto but its really its own game with its fun, humor, and lots of interactivity like mini-games (there is some cool ones of different subjects when you go to class), exploration of different groups, and evolution as you progress through grade levels. Even if your not a fan of GTA, it has enough individuality that you might like it.Don't pass this game up. It is a good experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bully: Scholarship Edition
Bully: Scholarship Edition by Rockstar Games (Xbox 360)
$79.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.