Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A step in the right direction to eradicate this plague!
This book is decades too late but now that it's here it's a godsend. Every parent, teacher and school needs a copy and an action plan based on this book to put an end to bullying in America. It is a plague and it needs to be stopped NOW. No more needless youth suicides. No more tormented souls. No more sleepless nights for so many kids. Empower yourselves as...
Published on September 27, 2012 by G. Randolph

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good guideline
Gave good ideas for identifying bullying not really anything new. Good checklist. I will refer to it during the school year.
Published 18 months ago by sharon Bartlett


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A step in the right direction to eradicate this plague!, September 27, 2012
This book is decades too late but now that it's here it's a godsend. Every parent, teacher and school needs a copy and an action plan based on this book to put an end to bullying in America. It is a plague and it needs to be stopped NOW. No more needless youth suicides. No more tormented souls. No more sleepless nights for so many kids. Empower yourselves as parents, teachers, counselors, and students. Knowledge is power and I can't recommend this book enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read for parents, teachers, and middle school student and up!, December 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
great condensensed background of the essence of the movie, as well as an execution guide to help parents, students, teachers and administration help tackle the serious issue of Bullying. definitely check out the FB page and thebullyproject.org for more info.

I've purchased 30 books so far that we have been getting into the libraries at schools and for loan at martial arts studio.

the DVD is available for preorder now as well, and you can request a screening of the bully movie through tugg.com if like me there weren't any close enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Engaging stories but action plan falls short, October 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I used this book (with the movie) in my Psychology of Violence undergraduate class. The students did find the stories of the individual children and families engaging and memorable. I know a student who is a Head Resident used some of these examples with her freshmen. I will use it again.
However, I was somewhat disappointed with the action plan. Like most approaches to bullying, many of the steps seem to imply that kids don't know they are being mean and if they did they would just stop. Kids already know the difference between mean and nice. They bully because there are social payoffs for bullying, as considerable research has shown. In a lot of settings, bullying actually makes the bullies more popular. I have seen many parents and teachers collude with or even encourage bullying.
Existing bullying prevention is not very effective. We need innovative science to figure out how to address this problem. Increasing adult monitoring at hotspots such as buses and cafeterias is one good idea (check out the Shifting Boundaries program by Bruce Taylor and colleagues). Bus drivers cannot safely drive and monitor all of the children behind them at the same time. If this country were committed to reducing bullying, there would be two adults on every school bus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Helpful Plan for Schools, August 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been using this for Professional Development in my school. It gives new tools for teachers, administrators and parents to combat this terrible modern day problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making a change/ Be the Change, January 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I use to run the diversity club at the high school I just retired from. This has many good ideas for staff to use to make changes that really need to be done in schools and communities .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eye Opening Movie, March 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Shows what really goes on in our schools today. This pointed out clearly what some students go through and how many parents and administrators are not aware. We showed it to all our students and they felt like bullies should have to spend a day walking in the shoes of someone who is bullied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, August 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This action plan is a must read for anyone who wants to help in educating about Bullying. The move is incredible as a teaching tool but to continue the conversation this is a great compliment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good guideline, June 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Gave good ideas for identifying bullying not really anything new. Good checklist. I will refer to it during the school year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kids, June 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
very good information for girls/ boys fifth grade and up. good tools and better understanding of the problems at hand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It was great, June 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very good film to show school children. Used it in all of my classes. Using it to curb the bully problem in our school. Product arrived on time and was in great condition. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bully: An Action Plan for Teachers, Parents, and Communities to Combat the Bullying Crisis
$15.99 $6.40
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.