Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful and very practical addition
School bullying has become a major concern, probably not because there's any more of it now than before, but because we are more aware of it and the very real potential for long-term adverse consequences. This book stands out clearly in my opinion among the many related publications that are now available. In spite of what appears to be a common popular opinion, the...
Published on August 20, 2009 by Dale Floody

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars average
It's good information. I'm running a therapy group for kids who have been targeted. I thought there might have been worksheets to use as part of my curriculum. Other than that it's helpful.
Published 17 months ago by Kahikina R.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful and very practical addition, August 20, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bullying Prevention and Intervention: Realistic Strategies for Schools (The Guilford Practical Intervention in the Schools Series) (Paperback)
School bullying has become a major concern, probably not because there's any more of it now than before, but because we are more aware of it and the very real potential for long-term adverse consequences. This book stands out clearly in my opinion among the many related publications that are now available. In spite of what appears to be a common popular opinion, the authors do not believe that punishment of bullies is an effective intervention (good balanced positive psychology perspective!), and then go one to outline types of bullying, social-ecological problems associated with bullying (psychological correlates; and peer, familial, school, and societal influences), and social skills/information processing considerations. Without promoting any specific anti-bullying program (and there are many), they outline in a general fashion the steps for developing and implementing an effective anti-bullying policy. They discuss a number of legal issues, and I was surprised at the differences among the 50 states with respect to focusing on bullying (especially availability and comprehensiveness of state statutes). This is a very practical and down-to-earth guide to implementing and evaluating anti-bullying programs, and it deserves the careful attention of anyone who likes and works with kids (school administrators, school board members, counselors, teachers, psychologists, parents, and concerned community individuals).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A useful resource for combating school bullying!, April 23, 2011
This review is from: Bullying Prevention and Intervention: Realistic Strategies for Schools (The Guilford Practical Intervention in the Schools Series) (Paperback)
I like this book! There are many books on bullying, but some of them only talk "about" the problems instead of offering solutions. Yet other books offer well-intentioned suggestions based on personal experiences that have no scientific proofs. The authors of this book are leading researchers on school bullying, and they have published many empirical studies in scientific journals like Journal of Counseling & Development, School Psychology Review, Journal of Emotional Abuse...etc. The suggestions of this book are based on their social-ecological model which addresses not only personal characteristics of the bullies and victims, but the whole ecological systems (peers, school, community and family) that perpetuate the problem. I also like the fact that they don't favor any "red hot" anti-bullying program which cost a school thousands of dollars to implement. Instead they offer detailed bullying prevention plans that any school can adapt and use right away. I think it is very useful for any teacher, school administrator, and school counselor/psychologist who cares about this growing problem and wishes to end it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "must-have" for public and private school educators, March 10, 2009
This review is from: Bullying Prevention and Intervention: Realistic Strategies for Schools (The Guilford Practical Intervention in the Schools Series) (Paperback)
A foundation of research and the authors' hands-on experience in schools, Bullying Prevention & Intervention: Realistic Strategies for Schools is a straightforward guide for educators to take a stand against bullying in schools. Straightforward strategies for developing effective district-wide policies, coordinating team-based prevention initiatives, addressing the root causes of bullying, taking steps against the modern problem of cyberbullying, and more fill this practical guide with examples, reproducible pages, and discussion questions. A "must-have" for public and private school educators. "It is not politically correct to suggest that some children have physical and personality characteristics that place them at risk for victimization, but it is true. Children and adolescents who bully others do, in fact, pick their victims very carefully. The selection or choice might be the result of a judgment that makes use of a real understanding of the victim's weaknesses and of how this child is perceived by other classmates."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars All Parents Should Read This, May 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this for a class I took last semester. It was so insightful as to how bullying begins, the negative effects - not only for the victims but the bullies, too. I think it's an important part of parenting for us to know the signs to watch for from both perspectives, but victim and bully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars average, March 31, 2013
This review is from: Bullying Prevention and Intervention: Realistic Strategies for Schools (The Guilford Practical Intervention in the Schools Series) (Paperback)
It's good information. I'm running a therapy group for kids who have been targeted. I thought there might have been worksheets to use as part of my curriculum. Other than that it's helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, March 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bullying Prevention and Intervention: Realistic Strategies for Schools (The Guilford Practical Intervention in the Schools Series) (Paperback)
i needed this book for a college class. Great price, new book in great shape. Has tons of good info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, August 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bullying Prevention and Intervention: Realistic Strategies for Schools (The Guilford Practical Intervention in the Schools Series) (Paperback)
This book offers great information on bullying and how to handle it. Teaching in a BD classroom, this will be a great help this upcoming school year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good start for parents to understand and prevent your kids to be bullied, June 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bullying Prevention and Intervention: Realistic Strategies for Schools (The Guilford Practical Intervention in the Schools Series) (Paperback)
As a parent we need to educate ourselves about the widespread bullying and how to prevent it. This is a good starting book for parents to understand Bullying in school and how to cope with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 29, 2014
This review is from: Bullying Prevention and Intervention: Realistic Strategies for Schools (The Guilford Practical Intervention in the Schools Series) (Paperback)
Great basic book for a school staff collection- includes strategies. Great amazon price and arrived safely! Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost new, September 18, 2011
By 
I. Kim (Topeka, KS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bullying Prevention and Intervention: Realistic Strategies for Schools (The Guilford Practical Intervention in the Schools Series) (Paperback)
This book arrived on time for my class. It's like a new book. I'm so satisfied with this book.

Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.