Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read for Book Lovers & Mystery Fans!
I was fortunate enough to receive an ARC of Buried in a Book from the author, in exchange for an honest review.

Former journalist Lila Wilkins is looking for work, when she applies to a job as intern at the A Novel Idea literary agency. Little does she know that she will land the job have an interesting first day of work, when she witnesses a murder! It's up to...
Published on February 7, 2012 by Bella McGuire

versus
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I wanted to choke out this character
I was initially really into this book, but as it went on everything about it felt sloppy. Contrived motivations, flat/stereotyped characters, and moments of complete density on the characters' part. At times I felt I was being beat over the head with the same information. And the "romance" portions of it felt uncomfortably forced.

This book could have used one...
Published on April 11, 2012 by Anne


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun new mystery series for book lovers, May 11, 2012
This review is from: Buried in a Book (A Novel Idea Mystery) (Mass Market Paperback)
A laid-off journalist who finds a job in a literary agency and stumbles onto a juicy mystery? How could I resist picking up this book? Luckily, it was just as fun as it sounded, and I'm happy I discovered this new mystery series.

The protagonist of the series is Lila Wilkins, who's been a features reporter for years and suddenly finds herself without a job at the age of 45. She gets a new job at A Novel Idea Literary Agency as an intern, reading query letters from many eager but unqualified writers. (These, by the way, are not only hilarious but somewhat educational).

Then a homeless man is murdered in the lobby of the agency, and Lila finds out that he was an aspiring writer with an unusual and tragic past. As a reporter, she can't help herself - she starts asking questions. Soon she find that her new job may be more dangerous than her last.

I really enjoyed this book. The author, "Lucy Arlington," is actually the pen name of Ellery Adams and Sylvia May, two veteran authors who make a good team.

The protagonist was clever and likable, and although I initially found the character of her mother, a more backwoods-type fortune teller, a bit incongruent compared to her daughter, I soon got used to her and even came to like her.

The cast of characters was quirky and fun, and I didn't guess the killer until the end. I'm looking forward to the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Wait for the Next Installment, April 17, 2012
This review is from: Buried in a Book (A Novel Idea Mystery) (Mass Market Paperback)
What an amazing debut novel. Buried in a Book is cozy fiction at its best and every book lover's dream read! It has all the perfect elements - mystery, intrigue and even a budding romance. Even the setting is perfect - a literary agency full of agents whose motivations are a bit mysterious. The fact that it involves a single mom, a missing manuscript, a dead body and one of the most unique and delightful plot lines ever is simply icing on the cake! I found it hard to put down. This is one series I will read, reread and book chat. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buried in a Book, August 10, 2012
By 
Lynn Demsky "Lynn/MI" (Saint Clair, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Buried in a Book (A Novel Idea Mystery) (Mass Market Paperback)
What a lovely summer treat to read! The characters are entertaining, a wee bit nutsy and just plain fun! What a novel idea --- being paid to read! I especially enjoyed Marlette! A sandwich Shoppe where the sandwiches are named after character's in a book, when you order instead of a # you're given a name of an author, book character.....really an intriguing book for people who enjoy reading! I am eagerly awaiting more books by this author! and, can't wait to get them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book, September 29, 2012
By 
kayek (Portland, OR,USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Buried in a Book (A Novel Idea Mystery) (Mass Market Paperback)
Lila Wilkins lost her job as a journalist, got a job as an intern at a literary agency, and things went downhill from there. Her first day at work started with a stack of 500 query letters, a dead body, and then got worse. Her 17 year old son, gets in trouble trashing the school football field and wrecking Lila's car. So she puts her house up for sale and moves in with her psychic mother Althea. A bright spot is she meets the very attractive detective Sean Griffiths, and Makayla, the owner of Espresso Yourself. Her concern for the murdered would-be author Marlette, leads her to investigate his murder. Lots of interesting characters including Lila's co-workers and the members of the Red Fox Mountain Co-op. I liked this book and am looking forward to the next book in the series. I want the recipe for Althea's banana-chocolate chip bread, it sounds yummy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book!, March 11, 2013
This review is from: Buried in a Book (A Novel Idea Mystery) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have to say that I was fairly impressed with this book. I was pretty interested in the idea that Lila was in her forties, yet wasn't a "mom" character staying home and baking cookies, nor was she a "grandmother" character that does nothing but meddle. It's refreshing to see someone write about a woman and make her older without actually making her old.

The mystery here is fairly good, but what I loved were the little in-jokes and snarks towards the publishing and literary world. Anyone who has read any length of professionally and self-published books will recognize a lot of the stuff Arlington pokes fun at. I have to say that this provided quite a bit of enjoyment for me because the issues as so recognizable, from the pompous and egocentric famous author to the unpublished author that sends in the worst query letter ever. There are mentions of the good ones too, of course.

Arlington's characters are really the best part of this. They're typical for your average cozy mystery, but Arlington does try to make them a little different in some ways. It's the character of Lila that really stood out the most. I have to state again that it's so nice to have a woman in her forties not be a mom, grandmom, or any of the other typical roles that older women play.

The pace in this is initially a little slow at times, but the ending really brought me in. It made me want to read the next book, which I guess is probably the best endorsement of this book. Anything that makes you want to keep reading has to be doing something right. This is absolutely a fun read for fans of the cozy mystery genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a fan, February 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buried in a Book (A Novel Idea Mystery) (Mass Market Paperback)
I really like cozy mysteries. I have enjoyed all of Julie Hyzy, Jenn McKinley (and her pseudonyms), Murder She Wrote, Mary Higgins Clark books/series. I was looking for something else to read and based on Amazon reviews, picked this one up. I wanted to like it so bad. I was excited that it was set in NC, my home state. I have read about half and just cannot get into this book. I think the office and the people there sound very interesting, but I do not enjoy the parts about her family (son, Mom). I think maybe it is her reaction to these things that bothers me the most. And her son's attitude about what he has done wrong. Nonetheless, I also found that in parts there was excruciating detail about things that didn't interest me at all (her mom the tarot card reader, the commune they go visit, etc). I am sure others will love it, but I don't think I will finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent First Book, October 13, 2012
By 
Patty "bookswoman" (Rapid City, SD, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buried in a Book (Paperback)
Lila Wilkins gets fired from her long time job as a journalist. Seeking something in writing but a little different she applies to be an intern at the Novel Idea Literary Agency.

Her first day becomes very memorable for a couple of reasons, the first is trying to handle hundreds of query letters, basically a page summary of the novels they want Novel Idea to publish for them. The second is a the death of a seemingly homeless man, who dies while resting on a sofa in the reception area.

The books takes off like a shot and just keeps moving. Who would kill an apparently harmless old man who's only wish was for someone to read his query letter?

There are plenty of twists and turns and Lila is smack in the middle of almost all of them.

For a first novel this one is a barn burner. Can't wait to read the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good start to series, February 22, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buried in a Book (A Novel Idea Mystery) (Mass Market Paperback)
After 45 year old newspaper journalist Lila Wilkins is laid off she needs to find a job - fast. Luckily she finds one right away as an intern for the Novel Idea Literary Agency. Not so luckily, she stumbles across a dead body soon after she starts working there. The police investigate Marlette Robbins' death but they have more pressing concerns than the death of a penniless aspiring author who hadn't bathed in years. Marlette's death bothers Lila and she begins her own investigation. She needs to be careful, however, or she may be the next victim.

There are so many things to like about "Buried in a Book" starting with Lila herself. It is always nice having someone a bit older as the "star" of a cozy mystery. One of the best parts of this book is Lila's relationship with her teenage son, Trey, who causes her more than one sleepless night; and her mother, Althea, who is a psychic - a bit eccentric but caring. These relationships are very real and interesting. It is also nice to see Lila is still interested in romance after a bad divorce - all cozy mysteries inevitably have a romance in them but I especially enjoyed this one. Another thing I really liked in this book is Lila's new job. Author Lucy Arlington gives plenty of samples of query letters that will catch an agent's attention and those that won't - in some ways this book is a gift of love for aspiring authors. As for the mystery aspects - for the most part it is well plotted with not only Marlette's death to solve but finding works of his he hid all over town. I did figure out pretty early on who the killer was - or at least I thought I did! There were some unexpected twists in this book that caught me off guard and definitely make it worth reading.

"Buried in a Book" is the nicely done first book in the new "A Novel Idea" cozy mystery series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Debut!!, February 8, 2012
This review is from: Buried in a Book (A Novel Idea Mystery) (Mass Market Paperback)
Meet Lila Wilkens, former newspaper journalist and the newest employee of A Novel Idea. She is a 45 year old intern, but she not only accepts the position because she really needs the job, but also because it is a thriving business in the Utopian town of Inspiration Valley, North Carolina. Lily is an avid reader and can imagine no job better than getting paid to read.

Her first day is quite eventful as she meets her eccentric coworkers, receives a huge stack of query letters to review, and is assigned an extremely small desk. Of course none of that compares to finding a dead body in the waiting room. Even more amazing is that none of her new coworkers seem the least bit concerned that a man died in their office. Most of them just continue on with their day leaving Lila to handle the aftermath including the police.

The journalist in Lila can't believe that this man died at A Novel Idea randomly so using skills from her previous job she is determined who killed this man and why.

Dollycas's Thoughts
First things first, I want Lila's job, I wouldn't even mind dealing with the dead body. Being paid to read story ideas and novels would be absolutely awesome. Doing it in a place like Inspiration Valley would be caramel on top of my latte!

Lucy Arlington has a winner with this debut. Readers will love to read about the beginning of the publishing process with a murder or two wrapped in a great mystery. The setting is a place everyone will want to visit, from the coffee cafe to the sandwich shoppe. I want to jump right into the cover of the book and tool around the cobblestone streets on my bright yellow scooter.

Lila is quick to make friends, some friendlier than others, her mother is has a unique gift, her son Trey needs a little redirection that the changes in Lila's life will help create. We are just starting to get to know all the characters and I am very anxious to see where the author takes them.

A first-rate whodunit all cozy fans will enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great new series, February 7, 2012
This review is from: Buried in a Book (A Novel Idea Mystery) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first book in the A Novel Idea Mystery series by Lucy Arlington. Lila Wlkins is a newspaper reporter and the paper is undergoing a downsizing and she is suddenly unemployed. Looking through the classifieds, she finds an opportunity that appeals to her. An internship at A Novel Idea. She knows she has what it takes to turn that into a literary agent.

The co-workers in this agency range quiet to very outgoing. As the intern, her job is to read out inquiries sent to the agency from hopeful authors. Lila also has a homeless person, Marlette, who stops by every day with bouquet of flowers and asks if anyone has read letter. As scraggy as he looks Lila can't believe that he is capable of becoming an author. On his last visit he is sitting on the sofa in the reception are and Lila notices he hasn't moved in some time. Upon closer inspection with the help of one of the agents, finds that he is dead, possibly caused by a bee sting.

Inspiration Valley, being a small town, also has a small police department. They are in the midst investigating a building fire in which someone has died. Lila feels that the cursory investigation by police is hardly fair to the dead man.

With a little help from the agents in her office, Makayla, who runs Expresso Yourself,and some of the residents of the Red Fox Co-op; Lila is able to track down the story on Marlette and also to find the manuscript that he had written. The manuscript being the reason he was killed. She has enough information gathered to turn it over to Officer Griffithsnd get the killer apprehneded.

I am one who loves to be told a story, as opposed to trying figure out what is in the minds of the characters. The author has great story to tell and has provided a very interesting and beautiful backdrop fot it. I'm really looking forward to the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Buried in a Book (A Novel Idea Mystery)
Buried in a Book (A Novel Idea Mystery) by Lucy Arlington (Mass Market Paperback - February 7, 2012)
$7.99 $7.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.