Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sordid affair with a campy, retro, sexy and gory vibe.
I would consider myself an unofficial expert when it comes to the "slasher film genre". I have seen myriad movies that fall into this category, some great, some awful, some campy, some that weren't really slasher movies but good nevertheless. I was very eager to see "Burlesque Massacre" because it falls into the sub class of slasher movies which are "Massacre" films...
Published on April 23, 2012 by The Straw Man

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars YOU'RE THE BEST DANCER
This isn't even a who-dun-it. We know that John (Timothy Whitfield) and his sister Crystal (Crystal Swarovski) are the killers. She has daddy issues from which he rescued her. Now they are an item and she is required to wear pasties throughout the entire movie.

Their issues have manifested themselves into killing off strippers, of which Crystal is a dancer...
Published 5 months ago by The Movie Guy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sordid affair with a campy, retro, sexy and gory vibe., April 23, 2012
By 
The Straw Man "J.E. Hoppock" (Aloof October on April's Birthday) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Burlesque Massacre (DVD)
I would consider myself an unofficial expert when it comes to the "slasher film genre". I have seen myriad movies that fall into this category, some great, some awful, some campy, some that weren't really slasher movies but good nevertheless. I was very eager to see "Burlesque Massacre" because it falls into the sub class of slasher movies which are "Massacre" films. The best way I can simplify these types of movies is by using a rudimentary equation; take the first word(s) in the movie title and just know that the plot will focus on a massacre surrounding that term, in this case "burlesque".

This movie is homage to 1970s/1980s exploitation horror films, utilizing all of the classic staples of the genre yet providing some modern twists. The plot is that a bunch of girls whom are burlesque dancers decide to take a couple days off at one of the dancer's home to relax and practice for their next show. It isn't long before these girls start meeting their demise. There is a little more to it, not much but I believe the less said the better.

This film is very low budget and in no way shape or form is going to win any major awards. In contrast, I found it to be gritty with a tongue in cheek vibe that is very honest to the source material, which is to exploitation horror. The film makers even distressed the footage and provided "cigarette burns" to the movie it give it an aged effect. The acting was believable yet amateurish; I found this to give the movie charm. The special effects were decent and the gory was plentiful. Even the dialogue seems rather candid.

I must stress that there is a great deal of female nudity and sexual content. This didn't bother me; it really reinforced the old horror films of yesteryear. However, the level of nudity and sexuality was very close to soft core pornography. Notwithstanding, in many aspects the sexual content is also a ruse for a plot device. This is just a friendly warning to anyone who is turned off by gratuitous female nudity.

Overall, I really loved this movie and I took it at face value, a sleazy little horror flick that recaptures the nostalgia of horror films 30 to 40 years ago. It is very entertaining and the production company really seems to know what they were doing given what they had to work with. I'd like to see more recent movies that have this same vibe. As for the DVD-R, it worked fine having clear audio and picture. There is no special features or subtitles just the flick. This movie gave me hope for the future of independent horror movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars YOU'RE THE BEST DANCER, February 8, 2014
This review is from: Burlesque Massacre (DVD)
This isn't even a who-dun-it. We know that John (Timothy Whitfield) and his sister Crystal (Crystal Swarovski) are the killers. She has daddy issues from which he rescued her. Now they are an item and she is required to wear pasties throughout the entire movie.

Their issues have manifested themselves into killing off strippers, of which Crystal is a dancer also. That is pretty much it, although I will say strippers like to stay clean.

3 stars for the nudity and nothing else. Bad dialog, terrible acting, stinker plot.

F-bombs, sex, and full frontal nudity. Recommend "Strip Club Slasher" (good luck finding it) if you liked this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars no booty., March 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Burlesque Massacre (DVD)
once again the cover is way better then then film. their is no booty like on the cover in the film. pretty dismal film at best. I didn't enjoy it all, and I will watch dam near anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Movie Massacre, April 9, 2013
By 
Andrew Johnson (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Burlesque Massacre (DVD)
Well the director certainly murderd this little film. Made on a shoestring where they couldn't afford decent quality fake blood. Dumb plot, crap acting and woeful special effects. Are you getting the picture? Try elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More Skinemax Than Slasher Movie, March 26, 2011
By 
This review is from: Burlesque Massacre (DVD)
Burlesque Massacre is yet another disappointing horror movie that isn't much of a horror movie at all. It has far more nudity than anything that even resembles terror. I like T & A in horror movies just as much as the next guy, but it should be used sparingly. When it's the front and center of a horror movie, that's when there is a problem. That's when you know that the makers of the film didn't have much of a story or script, and so they put as much nudity in there to try to distract from it. Burlesque Massacre is more for the skinemax crowd than the horror crowd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Burlesque Massacre
Burlesque Massacre (DVD - 2011)
$14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.