Customer Reviews


1,012 Reviews
5 star:
 (768)
4 star:
 (127)
3 star:
 (58)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


245 of 262 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What movie did the critics watch?
What's up with all the flack this movie's been getting from critics? It's absolutely dazzling! This has to be one of the best musicals of the past decade. The musical numbers are phenomenal, the costumes are fabulous, and Christina is just marvelous. I've always known she was a great talent but I think this movie is just what she needed to showcase that talent. Her acting...
Published on January 12, 2011 by Cristine

versus
38 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A popcorn-scratch that, kettle corn-movie
`Burlesque,' the gazillion-and-sixth movie memoir of a small-town girl making it big, was expectedly lampooned by most critics upon arrival. Although several of the complaints are perfectly valid, `Burlesque' is no `Glitter.' It is in many ways a very on-the-surface visual spectacle, however, and must be treated as such throughout most of its runtime in order for...
Published on December 1, 2010 by MisterMusicFan


‹ Previous | 1 2102 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

245 of 262 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What movie did the critics watch?, January 12, 2011
This review is from: Burlesque (DVD)
What's up with all the flack this movie's been getting from critics? It's absolutely dazzling! This has to be one of the best musicals of the past decade. The musical numbers are phenomenal, the costumes are fabulous, and Christina is just marvelous. I've always known she was a great talent but I think this movie is just what she needed to showcase that talent. Her acting was good, her dancing was on point and what can I say about that voice? I'm not a fan of Cher but I really enjoyed her in this movie. Christina and her have great chemistry. The love story was also really cute. I'm salivating for this to come out on DVD/blu-ray so I can watch it over and over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


159 of 171 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burlesque is the Best!, December 12, 2010
This review is from: Burlesque (DVD)
Burlesque is awesome! Its pure entertainment. Singing, dancing, acting, romance - oh my! The cast is wonderful! A classic story told again in a throwback to the musicals which is a formula that always works with the right people and the right music and in the right setting and it works here. I am bias to Christina Aguilera. :) She's an amazing singer and I am pleased to say in her acting debut she is terrific. I adore her with the very handsome and sexy Cam Gigandet. :) Who by the way can offer me a box of Famous Amos cookies ANYTIME! lol Anyone who likes musicals and romance or just wants to get away from movies about gangsters, pyschos and dead bodies will definitely enjoy this enjoyable movie. I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


121 of 133 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, December 3, 2010
This review is from: Burlesque (DVD)
I've seen this movie three times in the theater and left feeling energized every time!!! Pure entertainment! The kind of movie that you can see repeatedly and love more each time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RISQUE NOT RUDE, March 10, 2011
This review is from: Burlesque (DVD)
On occasion you'll see a movie where you're not quite sure what to expect or perhaps think you'll see something only to be surprised. It may not be the best movie ever made, but it does offer a touch of entertainment, doesn't bore you to tears and even puts a smile on your face. BURLESQUE is one of those movies.

Now by the name implied there are probably some who think that the movie involves non-stop strippers in various states of undress. Those folks will be disappointed. But fans of both Cher and Christina Aguilera and their singing abilities will find that the movie delivers all that they could hope for and more.

Aguilera stars as Ali, a young girl from a small town with dreams of something more. She wants to sing and dance and so one day heads to Los Angeles. She arrives and searches for a job only to be turned down time after time. She sees the sign for a club called Burlesque and enters just to find out what's going on. Inside she sees a bevy of beauties dancing on stage in skimpy outfits lip synching some classic tunes. Desperate for a job, she's directed to the club's owner Tess (Cher) by bartender Jack (Can Gigandet).

Ali stumbles through her request, begging for the chance to be a dancer in the show, but Tess turns her down telling her to come back when they have auditions. Returning to the bar Ali sees an opportunity when a waitress offers terrible service. Putting her past skills to use, Ali takes on the role of waitress telling Jack if she doesn't do better than his current staff, she'll walk but if she does, she gets a job. Needless to say she gets the job.

Tess and show production co-coordinator/best friend Sean (Stanley Tucci) notice her working and let it pass. The shows star Nikki (Kristin Bell) notices her too and takes an instant disliking to Ali. Nikki is that typical bitchy star who thinks the world revolves around her and anyone who doesn't treat her as such deserves to be gone. But Ali hangs in there, waiting for her big chance.

Months go by during which time Ali has her apartment broken into. Jack offers her a place to stay until she gets on her feet, but it's a purely platonic relationship since Jack's engaged (his girlfriend is in New York doing a play at the moment though). When audition time arrives, Ali takes to the stage but doesn't give the performance Tess is looking for. When she asks Tess what she wants Tess tells her she doesn't even know herself but that she has to take command of the stage and make it her own. Emboldened by this nugget of information, Ali gives an audition that floors Tess and Sean and is added to the line up of dancer, a move that doesn't sit well with Nikki.

While this little drama is going on, Tess is fighting a losing battle to keep the club open. The club is and always has been her dream but her ex-husband and partner Vince (Peter Gallagher) sees it as nothing but a losing battle. Add to that a buzzard like businessman named Marcus (Eric Dane) who wants to buy the club to tear it down to build condos and you have problems. Ali suggests to Tess that they change it up and have the girls actually sing instead of lip synch but Tess won't listen.

Nikki, always the trouble maker, always late and almost always drunk, fails to show for her set one night. Instead, Tess puts Ali in her place. As the girls begin their set, Nikki cuts the music track playing and Tess begins to bring down the curtain. All stops as soon as Ali begins to sing on her own with a voice that demands attention. The curtain rises, the band comes in and Ali takes control of the stage to a standing ovation.

Now the centerpiece of the show, crowds begin to come into the club. A shrewd businessman, Marcus sets his eye on Ali, just as he did before on Nikki when she was the big draw. And as he begins to woo Ali, Jack sees a missed opportunity set in. The entire time he and Ali have lived together in his apartment the attraction was there, he just never acted on it.

So the stage is set. Will Tess lose the club? Will Ali be a big enough draw to save it? Will Nikki find a way to stop it all from happening? Will Jack and Ali get together or will Marcus take her away and make her the star she always dreamed of? All answers are found before the movie ends.

Some have said that this movie is nothing more than a retelling of COYOTE UGLY with different music. In some ways that's true but not entirely. The ingénue trying to make it in big city after leaving a small town behind is there. Dancing and singing is there. But this movie has a different vibe to it. It's also been compared to SHOWGIRLS with a different setting and less skin. Once more, with the exception of the small town/big city story it offers something more. And is much less tacky.

This is a feel good movie. You enjoy the musical numbers that are more along the lines of CHICAGO than they are the old Gene Kelly movies of the past. Aguilera does a pretty good job for this being her first major role in a big time film. If you just thought of her as another pretty face you'll be surprised. I've never been a big fan of her vocal styling but they fit the film perfectly. Cher is believable as the ex-dancer/singer with a dream of a place of her own. Bell does a great job as the catty star whose spotlight is taken away and Gigandet turns out to be not only a good actor but nice love interest for Aguilera to play off of.

The movie is cotton candy for the eyes and ears. It offers some good music and some dynamite dance sequences. It's entertaining without going too deep. In essence it's a movie that makes you feel good and have a good time, something that more movies should do. I don't think this film ever intended to be an Oscar winner, but fans of musicals and of the cast will get their money's worth with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guys, how bad can a movie set in a burlesque house be?, December 13, 2010
By 
This review is from: Burlesque (DVD)
Guys, don't be afraid to see the film "Burlesque" with your wives. Ladies, don't feel guilty asking your husbands to go. I caught the film over the weekend with my wife Alison (her pick), and ended up enjoying it quite a bit.

Christina Aquilera is both down-to-earth and sexy as the country girl who wants to make it in the big city, Cher lords it over everyone as the tough-but-lovable boss of the burlesque house, and Stanley Tucci is once again everyone's gay best friend. Making all of the preceding palatable to the guys in the audience is the general air of sexiness pervading the proceedings, in large part generated by the wonderfully skimpy costumes worn by Ms. Aquilera and the variety of women performing on stage with her. The songs are very good, too.

Trust me, guys, if you owe your wife a movie pick after dragging her to numerous sci-fi action thrillers, you can do worse than heading out to this one. Kudos to writer/director Steve Antin for delivering a fun night at the movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robert Horton doesn't get it, January 7, 2011
This review is from: Burlesque (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
After reading the review by Robert Horton I wondered if he had actually seen this movie. I loved Burlesque the first time and loved it the second time and am waiting for the DVD to be released. It is totally entertaining and at times I almost applauded after some of the dance numbers. Cher does a stand up job in her role but if you don't like Cher go see this movie for Christina Aguilara....she blew me away with her talent. It is a feel good movie that will leave you wanting the soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!!!, January 4, 2011
By 
KAS (Oklahoma City) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Burlesque (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
Burlesque [Blu-ray]

My daughter talked me into going to see Burlesque. I'm not a Cher fan, but I do enjoy Christina Aguilera's music. I was shocked, amazed, totally entertained. Surprised by a great story line and I loved the costumes! I found the movie to be invigorating and very exciting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Down and Out Good Fun!, March 5, 2011
By 
This review is from: Burlesque (DVD)
BURLESQUE, written and directed by Steve Antin, is a terrific cinematic definition of what the word 'burlesque' means: 'a literary, dramatic or musical work intended to cause laughter by caricaturing the manner or spirit of serious works, or by ludicrous treatment of their subjects. The word derives from the Italian burlesco, which itself derives from the Italian burla - a joke, ridicule or mockery.' This is a riot of color and good fun and snazzy production numbers a la Bob Fosse takeoffs. The story is predictable and silly and the script borders on mediocre, but with the talent and pizzazz of the cast, none of that matters!

Ali (Christine Aguilera) flees Iowa in hopes of a career in show biz and happens into a Sunset Strip Burlesque House run by 'still not down' Tess (Cher) who knows her business is failing, despite the solid help from her gay assistant Sean (Stanley Tucci) and the warnings of her ex-husband/partner Vince (Peter Gallagher). Tess has problems with some of her lip-synching cast, namely Nikki (Kristen Bell), and is being hounded to sell her club to the wealthy boyfriend of Nikki - Marcus (Eric Dane). Ali observes, wants to be in the show, but is offered the job of waitress in the club by bartender/songwriter Jack (Cam Gigandet), a guy so kind that he shares his little flat with her. Ali is persistent and when given a chance to audition she gets into the cast. Her trump card is that she is such a terrific singer that she converts the club away from lip-synching into a full-blown song and dance place. Romance of course flutters in as do other little sidebars (including a strange quickie by doorman Alexis (Alan Cumming), but the main attractions are the glitzy stage numbers by a surprisingly fine Aguilera and by Cher herself. It is all very corny and very wonderful entertainment. Definitely worth an evening's pleasure. Grady Harp, March 11
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HOT HOT HOT, January 5, 2011
This review is from: Burlesque (DVD)
Great movie! Worth the ticket price. Pretty good storyline and the music makes you want to get up out of your seat and dance. Good thing I maintained composure. The people sitting behind me were grateful, I'm sure. Can't wait for the DVD. I'm adding this one to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie!!!! Hate the cover., February 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Burlesque (DVD)
This is a great movie. I loved it the music was wonderful and dancing was just right. I could not keep still in my seat when I was watching it. I can't wait for the movie to come out. The only thing i was disappointed about was the cover. I really wish they would have stuck with the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2102 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Burlesque (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo)
Burlesque (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo) by Steve Antin (Blu-ray - 2011)
$19.99 $14.52
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.