Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


142 of 146 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's as accurate as any sextant could be
Ok, reading the other reviews makes me think of my grandmother, rest her soul, trying to program a VCR, only backwards. Clearly, the 1 and 2 star ratings have 'old-knowledge' blinders, and don't understand how MOA (minutes of angle) work. Meanwhile, the 4 and 5 stars look at this scope as I do, a good way to measure distance.
Oh, and for those saying "it only works...
Published on May 13, 2011 by Melanie C

versus
51 of 60 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only good with flagsticks!
The design of this product is based around measuring the distance to a flagstick, so you won't be able to use this product to measure distances to any random object. It also will not measure distances less than 50 yards.

My unit did not come with any instructions, so here they are:

Instructions: Within the golf scope is an etched rangefinder...
Published on January 5, 2009 by initself


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

142 of 146 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's as accurate as any sextant could be, May 13, 2011
By 
Melanie C "MC" (Desert Soutwest, U.S.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bushnell 5x20 Golf Scope Rangefinder (Silver) (Electronics)
Ok, reading the other reviews makes me think of my grandmother, rest her soul, trying to program a VCR, only backwards. Clearly, the 1 and 2 star ratings have 'old-knowledge' blinders, and don't understand how MOA (minutes of angle) work. Meanwhile, the 4 and 5 stars look at this scope as I do, a good way to measure distance.
Oh, and for those saying "it only works for 50-to-200 yards/meters", well, that's not true...just 'double' or 'half' your image relative to the distance marks...or inversely, 'double-or-half' your distance.

The technology involved on how this works is about 2000-years old. The marks in the lens is keyed to the idea that the golf pennant is 6-ft above the cup. So, if your pennant is 6-ft out of the cup, then you just base the bottom line on the bottom of the pole, at the cup, and the top line gives your distance reading. Again, if you assume a deer is 3-ft tall at the shoulders, and an elk is 6-ft, then you can still use the monocular for hunting, too...even bow hunting! Just take that deer, put the bottom mark at the hooves, then at the shoulder blade you just take the reading...and then half it...since the deer is only HALF of 6-ft tall at the shoulders. So, if that reading was 100yds, then he is really only 50-yds away. Simple.

Nope, its not a laser unit...then again, I don't have to lose the trophy of a lifetime because my primo batteries just ran out, or my clumsy dropping of a 600-dollar unit into a stream in the high-country caused my super-special digital unit to stop working.

It works, it works well, and its made well. Learn how to take a distance-reading using size and angles, and you'll see how easy it actually is. Knowing that it is calibrated to a 6-ft pennant is all you need to know...the rest is just a matter of scaling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FOR HUNTING, November 20, 2004
By 
KRASSEL (SPANAWAY, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bushnell 5x20 Golf Scope Rangefinder (Silver) (Electronics)
Very lightweight and compact. Also very fast to use. No battery's to go dead and no waiting for warmup. They have this advertised as a "laser" range finder but it is not. It uses the old tryed and true "line" method, such as is seen in very high quality rifle scopes. I have found it to be very accurate out to 200 yds. You place the base line at the hooves of the animal and read the line that is at the top of the animals body..that gives the range. Slight adjustments must be made for differant animals, deer are shorter than elk. But one trip to the rifle range will make this very easy to do. I have found it to be much quicker to use than a laser type and it is not affected by rain and snow. Also I don't have to remove my gloves to use it. No battery's to worry about, it weighs almost nothing and fits in any pocket. If you want a range finder that really works well and is easy and fast to use this is the ticket. I bought 3 more for xmas gifts for my hunting partners. Can't recommend it high enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 60 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only good with flagsticks!, January 5, 2009
By 
initself (Tustin, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The design of this product is based around measuring the distance to a flagstick, so you won't be able to use this product to measure distances to any random object. It also will not measure distances less than 50 yards.

My unit did not come with any instructions, so here they are:

Instructions: Within the golf scope is an etched rangefinder reticle. Once you have the base of the flag lined up to the bottom line of the reticle, simply determine distance to the flag by reading the numbers on the reticle that align with the top of the flagstick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so good for golf, September 8, 2005
By 
N. Thorell (Höllviken Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bushnell 5x20 Golf Scope Rangefinder (Silver) (Electronics)
I am 50 and have trouble keeping it stable. The combination of large magnification, small weight and tiny dimensions make it hard to hold in a steady position that allows accurate readings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money and effort, September 15, 2005
By 
This review is from: Bushnell 5x20 Golf Scope Rangefinder (Silver) (Electronics)
I really wanted to like this golf gadget. However, it is almost impossible to hold the rangefinder still enough to accurately see the distance readings. When I did make extensive effort to hold it motionless, the readings still were not accurate when compared to the distances noted on the course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works as Advertised, July 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bushnell 5x20 Golf Scope Rangefinder (Silver) (Electronics)
The range finder is simple to use and works exactly as described. The view is clear; enlarged just enough to find the pin in the viewer. It is compact and uncomplicated to use. The fold down rubber eye enclosure lets me use it with my glasses on. The carrying case keeps it clean. It came with tees, a green repair and a ball marker. Got the best price through Amazon. Very satisfied. I made several golf shots that I would not have made without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Rangefinder for 6' 0" or 6' 6" Flags, June 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bushnell 5x20 Golf Scope Rangefinder (Silver) (Electronics)
Great little rangefinder. There's no focus - everything from about 25 yards to 200 yards was in focus when I first lpicked it up and looked through it. For a flag that's 6-feet zero-inches tall, the yards scale gives the range accurately. For a flag that's 6-feet 6-inches tall, the meters scale gives the range accurately. The manufacturer says it varies depending on your eyes, but a buddy and I spent a while with a long measuring tape and some lengths of lathing clamped together to make a variable-length flag pole, and the ranges read the same for both our sets of eyeballs. Which are over 50 years old and not that great, but the little scope still worked. I like it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Driving Range, February 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bushnell 5x20 Golf Scope Rangefinder (Silver) (Electronics)
This is the simplest way to get a pin measurement I have found without buying a Laser Range Finder or GPS. I will occasionally use on the course but I actually bought it to use at the local driving range where they are constantly moving the hitting area and flags are never where they are suppose to be. Can't beat it for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for buget golfer!, February 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bushnell 5x20 Golf Scope Rangefinder (Silver) (Electronics)
This product was my first golf range finder and it is a great piece of equipment. For the cost it is a must have for the buget golfer. My order arrived EARLY and in great condition. I ordered from optics planet and I am now a customer to them for all my optics needs. This comes with the scope, a small bag to put it in, a cleaning cloth, instructions, 5 golf tees, a diviot tool and a ball marker. This products shows that bushnell can make a low coast but high quality golf range finder for any and all golfers! P.S. This makes a great gift!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get what you pay for, August 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bushnell 5x20 Golf Scope Rangefinder (Silver) (Electronics)
This item was so cheap compared to a reasonable laser rangefinder that I can not complain at all.

I would like to use it for golf but its really not much better than guessing at your distance compared to the most recent yardage marker. In the scope, it goes from 200 to 150, then 125, then 100, and even just a slight movement of the hand or the flag stick moves the yardage estimate by 50 yards or more.

So, if you want a slightly magnified view of the green, this is the product your looking for.
If you want any sort of accuracy with the distance, you'll need to pony up for the callaway or bushnell laser finders. The callaway one is made by Nikon, had many good reviews just like the Bushnell Vr2, but its closer to 250 to enter that market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bushnell  5x20 Golf Scope Rangefinder (Silver)
Used & New from: $89.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.