Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Business of the 21st Century
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 16, 2010
Robert Kiyosaki has built several multimillion dollar businesses. As such, he is a good person to objectively critique the business of network marketing. In this book, he lays down the reasons why network marketing is the best way for the average person today to build a significant asset that will permit them to live and retire in freedom.

He spends the first half of the book explaining why the old path to Industrial Age financial success -- "get a good education, find a good job, work hard for forty years, invest in stocks and real estate, etc." -- no longer works in the Information Age. The second half of the book explains what network marketing is, what it is not, and why it is the best option to create personal income security today.

Kiyosaki lends his substantial credibility to this much-misunderstood business to clear away the misconceptions that keep many prospects from joining. He demolishes objections one by one so that those who are determined to succeed in "The New Economy" will see that only network marketing offers all the benefits of a huge business, with none of the risk, expense, and complexity.

Network marketing is a revolutionary business format that relies more on communication, leadership, and team-building skills than it does sales skills. It doesn't require a college education or large investment to build a six-figure (or higher) income. There is no glass ceiling. There is no need to abandon a J.O.B. to start a network marketing enterprise.

This is the book to give your best prospects and team members The Business of the 21st Century. It is a quick read which explains the business, without the usual hype about the magnificent potential incomes, but rather, in the context of what makes any business a success in our current economic situation.

I especially liked the final chapter of the book, where Kiyosaki describes network marketing as a democratic force for increasing world peace and prosperity. Network marketing is leveling the playing field, making the opportunity of building a successful business available to all.

More than "just another business book", this is truly a message of hope for those looking for the opportunity to create their own income security in this period of global economic transition.
0Comment|142 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2010
With so many people looking for something better in their life but skeptical of "better offers" this is well worth a listen. I am new to Network Marketing after 23 years of owning a brick & mortar retail store. What I've noticed when I show network marketing to others is that they like it, but do not trust their gut that this really is a amazing vehicle for building wealth. This CD helps gives credibility to people with antiquated ideas of what network marketing is and it helps them make the leap to begin their path to financial freedom. I buy these in quantity and hand them to anyone considering network marketing. I am so grateful to Robert Kiyousaki for creating it and writing the book. "The Business of the 21st Century"
22 comments|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2010
The Business of the 21st Century by Robert Kiyosaki because;

This is a quick read, well written, well balanced view of Network Marketing and how it fits into the economic environment of 2010 and beyond.

There is a strong thread of personal responsibility - or as I like to call it - personal "Response-Ability" throughout the book which will go a long way to dispel the get rich quick myth often associated with network marketing. The quote; "The economy is not the issue - the issue is you!" has been our Team's mantra for nearly 12 years now.

I especially enjoyed the last chapter where the author sees our industry as an instrument for increased world peace and prosperity, and for the revitalization of America - because participation is truly a level playing field and who you become in the process of building your own business is the ultimate reward.

Live with Intention,
[...]
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2010
Robert Kiyosaki has always written great books, however for those in network marketing or thinking about pursuing a network marketing business, this book speaks volumes! I've been in the industry for years and know what works and what doesn't work! This book works! I highly recommend it! Thank you again!
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2010
The new book by Robert Kiyosaki is great. It gives Network Marketing a good name and will help people to have more belief in it. The industrial age is gone. The information age is upon us. We have to find new ways to earn a living.

This book explains what Network Marketing is and is not. It is not a GET RICH QUICK SCHEME, OR AN ILLEGAL PYRAMID. Network Marketing (AKA Multi Level Marketing) is a viable and very honest way to make a living. You get to create how much you earn, not based on somebody else's view of you, or what the job itself is worth.

In Network Marketing you can be as equal or as un-equal as you choose. It is up to you to create the life you want without having to blame anyone else for your failure or wins.

I plan to use this book a lot to educate people about the business I am in, and why they should join me.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2010
Kiyosaki has written the best book on NWM I've ever read. It's written in plain language, and although there is little here I've never heard, I understood the whole concept for the first time in 15 years. I recommend it to everyone who is interested in the concept of network marketing.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2010
I absolutely LOVE this audio CD by Robert Kiyosaki, who talks about why network marketing works for those who put in the effort. He shares very insightful perspectives making this an audio cd that you do not tire of listening to repeatedly.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2010
Outstanding! I'm not quite finished with the book however it portrays the network marketing industry in a GREAT LIGHT! I'm very excited to be 'currently' reading this book (well into Part Two) and it will be used as a tool for my teams 'book of the month'. Believe it or not the book for the month of March was 'Rich Dads Conspiracy of the Rich'... :-)

This book is a no-brainer if the question pops up in your mind IF you should get it... GET IT!

Robert and John really provide a view of the industry from the 'top-down', from the mind of one in the B quadrant...and that is the best possible standpoint to view network marketing. I thank Robert and John for their insight and HONESTY about this business and their encouragement to the reader that if they want to 'change addresses' and move from the left side to the right side of the quadrant- into the B quadrant, than network marketing is a great start in BUILDING a B quadrant business that will turn into a real asset in just a few years...

Thanks Robert, thanks John...

Darrin
San Diego, Ca.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2014
This was a terrible book. It never acknowledged the primary and most obvious criticism of network marketing. Only a small fraction of a percent of people who go into it succeed. It provided one misleading suggestion to the contrary by quoting Warren Buffett. But to my knowledge Buffett never said and never would say that going into network marketing (e.g. as an Amway independent business owner) is a good way to make money.

This book distinguishes between the loser in us and the winner in us. It says: “How do you know when the loser is speaking up? “Oh, I can’t afford that.” “Oh, that’s too risky.” Or, “What if I fail?” The winner is up for the risk, but the loser thinks only of safety and security. “ It encourages us to think like a winner and take risks, rather than a loser who worries about risk. What it doesn’t tell us is that only a small fraction of a percent of all independent business owners associated with network marketing companies like Amway make any real money. It also fails to mention that most successful people in business are successful in no small part because they often think like “losers”. Success in business requires the kind of critical thinking skills that allows us to tell when the risks are too big. Virtue is a mean between two extremes: a willingness to take risk and prudence.

The book says contradictory things about the importance of other people in business. On page 91 the book says, “Depending on someone else for your financial future is like rolling the dice. The reward may be there in the end, but the risk is steep.” But don’t you depend on others in Net Work Marketing? Isn’t that the whole point of network marketing? You develop a network of others whom you depend on. And why is depending on others more risky than depending on oneself? It is arrogant to think that the mere fact that I am in control means that there is less risk.
The book was extremely dismissive of alternative perspectives and at times was guilty of the very things it was critical of others for doing. For example, on page 106 it says, “If you have the idea that you can start a network marketing business and expect to start making money right away, then you are still thinking like someone who lives in the E or S quadrants.” Who’s looking for quick returns, the person who expects to be a multi-millionaire in 3 to 5 years after working for Amway or the person who goes into medical school to become a doctor? Amway and similar organizations attract people by suggesting that in 3 to 5 years they can become rich. Medical schools do not. They require more work, promise less money, but are far more likely to deliver. The book preaches one thing (avoid get rich quick schemes), but it practices another (it tells us how to get rich quickly (or relatively quickly)).

The book has a totally black and white, simplified view of the world that admits of no complexity and (most importantly) puts the responsibility for one’s success almost entirely on oneself. This is not the real world. In the real world success means knowing both oneself and the world and finding a niche for oneself in an ever changing world. For example, does a market ever get saturated with a given network marketing company? Isn’t this something one should attend to?

The book failed to recognize the importance of academic intelligence. On page 112 it says. “Financial intelligence has little or nothing to do with academic intelligence.” That’s false in my experience. Financial intelligence has a lot to do with mathematical ability, which most certainly is a matter of academic intelligence. Interesting that in a book with such specific advice for its readers there is so little focus on the actual money that can be made by a typical network marketer.

It contained many false claims such as the following claim on page 113: ““You can train a monkey to save money and invest in mutual funds—which is exactly why the returns on those investment vehicles are historically pretty pitiful.” This is false. The average mutual fund tends to generate a modest return on the investment , though not all do. Historically the U.S. stock market has done well. The fact that as an investor one don’t have to actively get involved in it is part of what makes stocks an attractive investment. The book claims that rich people have their money work for them while poor people work for their money. If so then doesn’t this mean that rich people should invest in things that don’t require their attention like stocks rather than investments whose success is bound up with oneself? Again, the book seems inconsistent about one of its major points.
33 comments|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2012
First of all, I agree with Kiyosaki that multi-level marketing (MLM) companies may be among the best business opportunities today - in that they are hybrids, where you can build a business "on the back" of an already established, proven business. But, having said that, I'll say this: If entrepreneurship is in your blood; if you have that passion to build your own business; and not march to the drum of someone else, then MLM is probably NOT for you. In fact, I would say you would be decidedly unhappy in such an environment. In MLM, you plug yourself into someone's else's company; someone else's vision. You play by their rules; market their way. You are a cog in their wheel, albeit a more independent cog.

I think the people who succeed with MLM are those who like the idea of building their own business, but still have an "employee" mindset. If you do what they tell you - if you, as they say, are "coachable" and are a team player, you may do very well; perhaps better than you can do by building your own company from scratch. But you need to seriously ask yourself if you are that kind of person.

Also, I disagree with Kiyosaki when he says MLM companies are great places to learn how to sell. For over a decade I sold wholesale to the likes of Wal-Mart and Target. MLM "sales" are very different. It is because - and this is the key -- MLM sales are not about the product (even though some of them have great product). MLM sales are about MLM - adding promoters to your downline (like a pyramid scheme, to be honest). That is the mantra that is drummed into you. That's why MLM selling kinda feels like being a religious missionary; and why some people call it cultlike.

Quick sidenote: Here's an angle that I thought Kiyosaki should have explored and discussed further: whether an MLM model could be used to scale your own business.

I was going to entitle this review something like "A good road if you want to be an entrepreneur but think like an employee." In the end, I'm thinking that this could even have been Kiyosaki's thoughts all along: he knows many of his readers have not instilled the lessons of his "Cashflow Quadrant," and that the recommendations of this book might be what they are looking for. But if you are a real entrepreneur, think twice about going down the MLM road.
22 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse