Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Practical Advice for the Business Person
Business By the Book is an excellent reference not only for the self-employed, but anyone engaged in business.

The book is divided into 3 main sections: Conducting Business by the Bible, Critical Policy Decisions, and Your Business and Your Life.

Some of the more helpful chapters for me were:

1. Personal Lifestyle Goals.

2...
Published on November 24, 2004 by Michael Taylor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Many of the ideas he states, especially around women's rights are illegal today.
Published 13 days ago by Mark de la Bretonne


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Practical Advice for the Business Person, November 24, 2004
Business By the Book is an excellent reference not only for the self-employed, but anyone engaged in business.

The book is divided into 3 main sections: Conducting Business by the Bible, Critical Policy Decisions, and Your Business and Your Life.

Some of the more helpful chapters for me were:

1. Personal Lifestyle Goals.

2. Biblical Business Goals.

3. Your Business and Your Spouse.

4. Hiring and Firing Decisions.

5. Management Selection Decisions.

6. Business Tithing.

7. Retirement.

8. Implementing God's Plan.

Whether self-employed, a manager, church or ministry staff person, or engaged in business, you will benefit from Burkett's sound biblical wisdom.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Self Employed Person Should Read This Book!!, December 25, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Business By The Book Complete Guide Of Biblical Principles For The Workplace (Paperback)
Although it is written from a Biblical perspective, EVERY self employed person needs to read this book. It is packed with common sense business principles which, in this world-gone-mad with secular humanism, most of us have lost sight of. It doesn't matter what your faith is... even an athiest would greatly benefit from the business principles taught in this book. It turned my little mom-and-pop business, and my life, around to the direction it should have taken in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Thought Provoking Resource, July 20, 2005
This review is from: Business By The Book Complete Guide Of Biblical Principles For The Workplace (Paperback)
In a world where the current business ideology seems to be about maximizing short term profits, climbing over others, and getting the maximum return possible with the minimal effort or investment Larry Burkett draws a sharp contrast.

Using referenced Biblical principles throughout the book Mr. Burkett outlines what it means to run a business by God's standards. This does not mean becoming a non-profit or lossing money - but it does mean completely changing the way we view the business, our employees and customers, and our role as business leaders. The principles laid out are challenging and often contrary to the advice you are used to hearing.

I found it to be an extremely useful and informative resource that helped me to see how I could not only run a business successfully, but also not sacrifice my concience or ideals. One of the primary tenents of this book is that we are stewards of the resources God gave us, meaning that the money we have and the business we may own ultimately belong to God, not us, and he has entrusted us with them to use in a manner he would approve of. If you are comfortable with this premise I believe you will enjoy the book and find it challenging. If you are not comfortable with this premise you will probably have difficulty accepting the concepts he has outlined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I give away 12 a month, March 20, 2000
By 
Steve Dale (Mission Viejo Ca.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Business By The Book Complete Guide Of Biblical Principles For The Workplace (Paperback)
This book is so good that I give away 10-20 of them a month. I set people up in business and I send it to all my new dealers. Read it and you will know how GOD wants you to run HIS business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, November 11, 1998
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Business By The Book Complete Guide Of Biblical Principles For The Workplace (Paperback)
As a christian I am thankful for God's guidance in all areas of my life through the Bible. Larry Burkett addresses areas of business that most christians "go with the flow" of what the world says is o.k. Integrity is hard to find in the workplace - even in business owned by christians. The testimonials in this book are thought provoking, inspiring as well as encouraging to do it God's way. As a small business steward (God owns it all) I am faced with opportunities to compromise God's will. Some days I don't do so good. It's great to know I'm not the only one struggling. It's even more encouraging to read of success - success the way God views success.
Thank you and God bless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for causing you to think!, August 23, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Business By The Book Complete Guide Of Biblical Principles For The Workplace (Paperback)
As someone who is considering starting a business, it is great to consider contrary ways to what is shown as the "everybody does it" ways of stretching out vendors, and focusing on Integrity. I HIGHLY recommend this for anyone considering starting a business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST READ BEFORE YOU START A BUSINESS, October 26, 2005
This review is from: Business By The Book Complete Guide Of Biblical Principles For The Workplace (Paperback)
THE AUTHOR COVERS BUSINESS PRINCIPLES IN A MANNER THAT YOU DONT COVER IN ANY BA OR MBA PROGRAM THAT I EVER HEARD. DEFINETELY WORTH THE READ!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Business By THE Book, August 9, 2005
This review is from: Business By The Book Complete Guide Of Biblical Principles For The Workplace (Paperback)
This book is not for someone wanting to get rich quick! If you are a Christian business owner wanting to run your business according to God's word, this book explains God's word and gives helpful tips to follow through with His word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The man behind Dave Ramsey, October 18, 2011
By 
Kendal B. Hunter (Provo, UT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Larry Burkett is the man behind Dave Ramsey. Indeed, one of the things that attracted me to the Titan of Tennessee's radio show was that familiar spirit I heard. Really, it was the Biblical principles. Others devoured the Motley Fools or the "Rich Dad/Poor Dad" franchise, but it was that familiar spirit, the eternal principles that kept me listening to Larry Burkett.

But the relationship is not a mirror image or clone. Rather, it is like that between Ralph Waldo Emerson and Henry David Thoreau. Both drank from the same source, but their personalities, temperaments, and positions in life and in history differ. Larry is stately, sedate, and professorial; Dave is manic, wild, and a mixture of comedian, comic, and Shakespearean wise-cracker.

And I appreciate the differences. In fact, what makes Dave great (his wild personality) is what Larry lacks, and that may be Larry's greatest asset. No shouting, no rock bumper music, no wise-cracks, just a sedate, calm, logical presentation of Biblical business practices. No Dionysus, just Apollo.

In fact, if Dave rubs you the wrong way (and you can bee a good Christian and not like Dave), then this book is for you

Now for the book. This is a non-hysterical version of EntreLeadership: 20 Years of Practical Business Wisdom from the Trenches. It covers 90% of the same material, without the theatrics. Another benefit is the logical presentation. Many chapters have bullet points. This makes for easier reading, better note-taking, and increased retention. Larry gives us easy checklists to follow.

Yet this book is not a long PowerPoint presentation. Intermixed are real life stories of people Larry has counseled. Some good, some bad, and all of them helpful. It puts a face, and engraves in the heart the points he tries to make. The study guide in the back clinches that retention.

One big difference between Larry and Dave is their attitudes towards debt. Ramsey is rabidly against debt of all or any kind, except a home mortgage. Larry is more flexible.

And he has a better theology argument. The sabbath release implies that debt was allowed among the ancient Hebrews. He also makes a distinction between principles and commandments (184). Religious leaders from Thomas Aquinas (Thomas Aquinas: Selected Writings (Penguin Classics), 578, 590 to Dallin H. Oaks (With Full Purpose of Heart: Collection of Messages by Dallin H. Oaks) make this same distinction. Some things are sins, others mistakes

So debt is not a sin. But it is also not smart (See chapter 15 for the list)

Burkett is also open to credit cards, if you pay them off every month. Updated in 1998, this book was crafted before debit cards became to their own. So Ramsey's point of view carries more weight.

(A personal story. I bought some stamps with my debit card, and the clerk, instead of $10.17 put $1,010.17. This tied things up for three days. So credit cards do have their place. And so does cash and food storage.)

However, they also differ in attitudes towards lawsuits. Dave, like Gandalf, is subtle and quick to anger. If honest and upfront, you will get fair treatment. If not, then expect obliteration. Larry, contrawise, has a more complex view. One, never sue another a christian--and take a loss if necessary. Two, never countersue. But you do defend yourself in court, to protect your name, as Paul did.

Therefore, use both books. Larry and Dave were not rivals. So their books should also not be rivals. Accept them both for what they have to offer.

My concluding thought is this. Burkett frequently uses the word "radical." Indeed, his call is for radical Christianity in business. It is akin to Oswald Chambers's call for a "reckless abandon to Jesus" (My Utmost for His Highest - Deluxe (DELUXE CHRISTIAN CLASSICS), June 13). It comes out in his sly comments about government largess and abuse (4ff), cafeteria Christians (7), the stingy rich (188). But it also comes out with his unflinching commitment to God's Word--both the Bible and Christ.

Larry asks us to do the difficult thing--turn the other cheek, be honest--even if it hurts, and let our light shine. Business is not just business, but about evangelism.

Dave Quotes Larry: More than Enough: The Ten Keys to Changing Your Financial Destiny, 72, 87, 112, 250; The Total Money Makeover: A Proven Plan for Financial Fitness, 48; Financial Peace Revisited, 8, 23, 56, 90, 121, 195, 202, 241; EntreLeadership, 266.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tested over Time, March 5, 2001
By 
This review is from: Business By The Book Complete Guide Of Biblical Principles For The Workplace (Paperback)
I read an earlier version 10 years ago and tried many of the concepts. They were straight forward and easy to understand. I just read the latest version and it stands the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Business By The Book Complete Guide Of Biblical Principles For The Workplace
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.