Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better allowed me to connect to the subject.
Reading never gets to heavy, but is able to touch on all the subjects. I felt like i absorbed much more information this way. People saying this textbook lacks in content need to realize this is a book for INTRODUCTORY business!
Published on June 4, 2012 by J.R

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Textbook that reads a little too much like a magazine.
First to amazon reviewers: Please stop giving reviews that reflect the quality of delivery, condition of book, etc as it reflects the seller and NOT the ACTUAL BOOK.

The book is easy to follow and has everything a textbook should have, glossary, terms and indexes. It does read like a magazine which has both positive and negative aspects. I will however focus...
Published on October 3, 2011 by Chan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better allowed me to connect to the subject., June 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BUSN 4 (with Business CourseMate with eBook Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
Reading never gets to heavy, but is able to touch on all the subjects. I felt like i absorbed much more information this way. People saying this textbook lacks in content need to realize this is a book for INTRODUCTORY business!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Textbook that reads a little too much like a magazine., October 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BUSN 4 (with Business CourseMate with eBook Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
First to amazon reviewers: Please stop giving reviews that reflect the quality of delivery, condition of book, etc as it reflects the seller and NOT the ACTUAL BOOK.

The book is easy to follow and has everything a textbook should have, glossary, terms and indexes. It does read like a magazine which has both positive and negative aspects. I will however focus on the negatives.

It reads like a magazine:
While it does have interesting information pertaining to business, some of the information is irrelevant. In the first chapter, it defines a business, the 5 environments that businesses exist in. But there are cut-out sections of the chapter devoted to random facts, some interesting, others really awful and irrelevant. One is that some mistakes businesses have made including Disney needing to remodel their "its a small world" ride to accommodate obese people due to obstruction. Its material like this that takes away from the value." However one section plugged into the chapter talked about "choice architecture" which I thought was a really neat idea.

This is a college textbook and while this is an introductory course, by now I expect High School graduates to read books without many pictures in them or interesting irrelevant facts to wake them up once in a while. I just want as much relevant information as possible. I suspect this won't be the only irrelevant

Speaking of pictures: While reading the part on technological environment there was a cutout picture of a couple hugging each other. While I was trying to read the text which was placed around this picture, I couldn't help but get distracted like. . . every other second. I gave up reading that section all together. I suspect this isn't the only picture like this. I see cutout of former presidents as well. Overall, this textbook is well written. The language is easy, but its too colorful for its own good. While many subjects have the problem of being too stodgy, business itself is already an interesting subject. So please to the authors of this book, take away a few things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars MEH, December 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BUSN 4 (with Business CourseMate with eBook Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
This book knows that 90% of its material is filler, so there are printed notes for every chapter in the back of the book, and they're perforated so you can pull them out and ditch the rest of this useless book. So, basically, you can buy this book for about 40 pages of relevant information, or make friends with someone in the class and xerox theirs or buy a previous edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not boring! Up-to date (for it's release) business teachings and it's not a HUGE BORING textbook students will hate., November 23, 2013
By 
A. Sible (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BUSN 4 (with Business CourseMate with eBook Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
Good quality text that is now an older version, but still relatively recent thoughts about economy that readers can relate to. It's important to have a current view of events when studying business and economy, due to current events and changes it is not like a science that stays mostly constant (for lack of a better explanation).

This book attempts and succeeds and providing interesting anecdotes and realistic teachings that are based on topics a student can understand, rather than bland text that tries to over generalize or go into detail about something boring as hell ad-nausea.

Good text, pick it if you're a teacher and give it a shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Business as Usual, October 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BUSN 4 (with Business CourseMate with eBook Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
I am taking Introduction to Business which allows me to take quite a few other business courses once this class is finished. This book is a 2011 publication which means it is up-to-date version of business and very helpful to any business person in todays world. It covers creating your own company along with many other options, if you are doing business out of the country it directs you how to conduct yourself in other countries. I am very pleased with the content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BUSINESS 4TH EDITION, February 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BUSN 4 (with Business CourseMate with eBook Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
This book was amazing because the price was good and it had ebook access card which has not been used before. The book is in excellent condition.
it is important to make sure that book has all the pages and meet the requirements of teachers.In this case the access card was important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars It is what you par for if you don't mind the real thing. Never Unethical, September 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BUSN 4 (with Business CourseMate with eBook Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
As student looking to save some money one should always remember that people depend on the copyright dues. This book was sold as new, but far from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, May 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BUSN 4 (with Business CourseMate with eBook Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
Excellent book.. Clear and consider information. Provides a lot of resources and references. Will definitely recommend it to friends and faminily
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect condition, May 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BUSN 4 (with Business CourseMate with eBook Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
Very happy with condition of book, it appeared to be brand new for used prices, that is how good of condition it was in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love CourseMate, December 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BUSN 4 (with Business CourseMate with eBook Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
I purchased this book for one of my classes, very well structured and organized. Very easy to read. Very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

BUSN 4 (with Business CourseMate with eBook Printed Access Card)
BUSN 4 (with Business CourseMate with eBook Printed Access Card) by James McGowen (Paperback - February 4, 2011)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.