Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great rental
I needed this book for my ethics class. I chose to rent it and it worked out perfectly. Thank you
Published 10 months ago by ALYSSA BODISON

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars boring subject
Glad I bought this used! what a boring subject and this book didn't make it any easier. It made assumption about thing that really don't happen in real life, but if was 'must have' for a college course I was taking.
Published 22 months ago by Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great rental, March 10, 2014
By 
ALYSSA BODISON (WALTERBORO, SC United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I needed this book for my ethics class. I chose to rent it and it worked out perfectly. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Took a few chapters, but the author finally shows some ankle mid-book., April 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
And the author's point is that just about all big businesses are bad (framed as one-sided ethics arguments), capitalism is bad, egalitarianism and collectivism are good, and we're killing the planet.

The book's saving graces are its brevity and the post-chapter cases which, though the cases chosen are nearly all meant to shine a bad light on capitalism and business, at least provide some fodder for refutation during class discussions. But the book is not even close to being balanced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars boring subject, March 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Business Ethics: A Textbook with Cases (Cengage Advantage Books) (Paperback)
Glad I bought this used! what a boring subject and this book didn't make it any easier. It made assumption about thing that really don't happen in real life, but if was 'must have' for a college course I was taking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Too opinionated, March 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Business Ethics: A Textbook with Cases (Cengage Advantage Books) (Paperback)
The chapters are really long and the author's opinion is embedded into the facts and principles that are learned. I don't like this author at all and his main points aren't very focused and brought to light. He is very confusing and unorganized. I understand opinions and abstract ideas are what make ethics but he puts too much of his own thought into this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just a Text I needed for class, March 5, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Business Ethics: A Textbook with Cases (Cengage Advantage Books) (Paperback)
This was a text book I needed for a class I am taking on business ethics. It is decent - though I the class is not my favorite - but the material in the book is relavent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's an A-OK textbook, February 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Business Ethics: A Textbook with Cases (Cengage Advantage Books) (Paperback)
Was required to purchase this textbook for my Business Ethics course as the name implies. It's an easy read and pretty standard as far as textbooks go but there was some interesting stories about business corruption with some good lessons to be learned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BUSINESS PROFESSIONALS, November 7, 2011
GREAT BOOK FOR THOSE THAT ARE BUSINESS MINDED. IF YOU ARE IN BUSINESS OR INTEND TO START ONE IN THE NEAR FUTURE, THIS IS A GREAT BOOK TO LEARN FROM AND TO BEGIN IMPLEMENTING STRUCTURE AND POLICY WITHIN YOUR COMPANY. THE LATEST BUSINESS WORLD ETHICS DILEMMAS ARE DETAILED IN THIS BOOK. FROM MORALITY IN THE WORKPLACE TO TODAY'S CURRENT CHALLENGES OF THE WORKPLACE ARE DRAWN OUT. THIS BOOK IS GREAT FOR DISCUSSION, ESPECIALLY IF YOU INTEND TO OR TEND TO DISCUSS BUSINESS ISSUES WITH COWORKERS OR COLLEAGUES. BUSINESS TERMINOLOGY IS WELL PRESENTED ALONG WITH RECENT AND PASS CASES IN THE BUSINESS WORLD THAT DID OR DID NOT MAKE HEADLINES. A VERY INTERESTING, DETAILED BOOK. I RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE WHO IS EXCITED ABOUT BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION AND ESPECIALLY TO THOSE THAT WOULD LIKE TO PROMOTE A GREAT WORKING ATMOSPHERE FOR THEIR COMPANY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Its Okay, but Obviously Very Biased, September 10, 2011
This review is from: Business Ethics: A Textbook with Cases (Cengage Advantage Books) (Paperback)
We are currently reading this book for a class in business ethics. Shaw seems to have a strong bias towards socialism and Marxism, which is very disturbing for me as a student of Austrian Economics.

He gives examples of some capitalist countries experiencing massive starvation, yet he does not give examples of the evils socialism has wrought (ex: Communist China, Soviet Russia, and Cuba left a lot more people starving that capitalism ever did). He also forgets to point out that many government regulations within capitalist economies are part of what exacerbated the poverty in capitalist nations (ex: minimum wage laws, price controls, laws making it expensive to hire people, the inflation tax, tax incentives to invest retirement funds in stocks, etc). It had no coverage of what happened to the Accounting firm who was in charge of auditing Enron and the variety of corporations (ex: consumer reports) whose job it is to essentially verify that corporations are acting ethically.

All in all, I do not recommend this book. I had a better coverage of business ethics from my Introduction to Management textbooks. In this way, it fails to effectively prepare business men and women for their jobs in the real world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Displeased, August 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Business Ethics: A Textbook with Cases (Cengage Advantage Books) (Paperback)
The concepts and the case studies are good but the book is too hard to follow. It doesnt have chapter summaries. I would only purchase this book if it's mandatory for a class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Business Ethics, May 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Business Ethics: A Textbook with Cases (Cengage Advantage Books) (Paperback)
Business Ethics says it all!!! Case studies help bring the world of business alive. This book was utilized for leadership class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Business Ethics: A Textbook with Cases (Cengage Advantage Books)
Business Ethics: A Textbook with Cases (Cengage Advantage Books) by William H. Shaw (Paperback - January 25, 2010)
Used & New from: $9.67
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.