Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best small book on step-by-step Business Plans
This small book does a splendid job in explaining the business planning process more simple and uncomplicated than most books on business planning that often are too comprehensive and detailed - sometimes probably creating "paralysis by analysis" for the users.

The approach is a practical step-by-step procedure with the same specific case study throughout the...
Published on September 15, 2005 by Peter Leerskov

versus
24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, but not great!
"Business Plans That Work" might work for you, if you're planning on marketing a product (not a service business) and borrowing ALOT of money. The sub-title of the book is "A guide for small business". The problem I had with this book is that it assumes that you want to borrow $500,000 or more and start a business revolving around a product. I would not consider that a...
Published on August 7, 2005 by Big Montanna


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, but not great!, August 7, 2005
By 
"Business Plans That Work" might work for you, if you're planning on marketing a product (not a service business) and borrowing ALOT of money. The sub-title of the book is "A guide for small business". The problem I had with this book is that it assumes that you want to borrow $500,000 or more and start a business revolving around a product. I would not consider that a small business! I was more interested in starting a service business (UPS or Fed Ex shipping store), but the examples in this book didn't translate very well for that goal. The book follows a start up toy company called Firefly Toys, whose product is a toy designed for children that are coping with a life crisis (divorce, death, abuse). To me this is kind of goofy! The reader would be more well served if the book had exapmles from many different kinds of businesses, or at least a more mainstream product. Bottom Line: This is not a bad book for any business. It does have a fair amount of useful info, but I would definitely try to get it from the library if I were you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best small book on step-by-step Business Plans, September 15, 2005
This small book does a splendid job in explaining the business planning process more simple and uncomplicated than most books on business planning that often are too comprehensive and detailed - sometimes probably creating "paralysis by analysis" for the users.

The approach is a practical step-by-step procedure with the same specific case study throughout the book ("FireFly Toys"). At the end of the book, there's an alternative case study - including Powerpoint presentation - on another industry ("Fossa Medical"). Both case studies' 4-page executive summaries should inspire each and every manager to present his venture or business in this concise and exemplary manner...

It is indeed a no-nonsense guidebook and I especially like the small critical comments that the authors have inserted in the margins (as speech balloons).

Being a corporate strategist, I spend most of my time working with strategic issues including business plans. So I read a book on this topic with a subtle skepticism. But it was a pleasant surprise ;-)

Thus, I can highly recommend this easy-to-read 183-page book.

Peter Leerskov,
MSc in International Business (Marketing & Management) and Graduate Diploma in E-business
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, May 23, 2013
This review is from: Business Plans that Work: A Guide for Small Business 2/E (Paperback)
There's no shortage of competition for books on this topic. In fact there are two others with the exact same title. This book makes it plain that its focus is small businesses, and as such I think the text offers roughly the right tone and degree of complexity for its intended audience. I've read more authoritative books on business plans, but several were too complex for a small business audience. Recommended, although best to compare to some of the competition to find the one that feels best for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting and useful book to have, January 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Business Plans that Work: A Guide for Small Business 2/E (Paperback)
it is enough for people who have the bachelor certificate of business adminstration.
very good book.
i recommend it .it is very useful tool for planning
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good details on parts of the business plan, December 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good book with great details on each section of a business plan. I would recommend buying it if you have to write a business plan. I bought it for my MBA class on entrepreneurship and it helped the the details on my business plan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Read, July 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Business Plans that Work: A Guide for Small Business 2/E (Paperback)
While most readings about business can be tiresome and boring, I find this book extremely helpful and a good read. The content sticks to one example, and you really begin to see how all the different parts come together. A very good place to start for anyone considering starting their own business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Business Plans That Work, September 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Business Plans that Work: A Guide for Small Business 2/E (Paperback)
Excellent book. Well written and easy to follow. The examples were helpful. My business plan is coming together in a more thorough and thoughtful manner as a result of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for a school project, August 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Honestly, I didn't read the whole thing b/c my professor said it was just a "guide" for us to make our imaginary business plan. The steps were helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 22, 2014
By 
Teresa Kellerman (Tucson, Arizona USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Business Plans that Work: A Guide for Small Business 2/E (Paperback)
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excelente guia para planes de negocios, October 13, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
un libro que tiene una vision muy directa. ideal para personas que hacen planes de negocios para presentar a futuros accionistas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Business Plans that Work: A Guide for Small Business 2/E
Business Plans that Work: A Guide for Small Business 2/E by Andrew Zacharakis (Paperback - March 24, 2011)
$20.00 $12.91
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.