Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Bust: How I Gambled and Lost a Fortune, Brought Down a Bank--and Lived to Pay for It
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 29, 2011
First of all, I will go on record and say that this book is almost impossible to put down once you start reading it. I heard the author on a local Chicago radio show and his life seemed like a total roller-coaster of a ride and I thought I've got to read more about this guy. I bought the book and think I read the entire thing in about 2 days. No doubt the author is a very smart guy in his businesses, but just goes to show you how one's life can get turned upside down within the world of gambling and chance.

This book is a MUST READ for anyone who loves stories about ordinary people that defy the odds of survival with the the mob, Las Vegas casinos, the government and various other nefarious characters chomping on your heels. I still can't imagine living this guys life for even one day. Wow. A+++. Outstanding book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2007
This is supposed to be a self help book or a "cautionary tale" for gamblers and addicts looking to break the pattern. This book barely discusses the underlying causes for addiction and it reads (in my opinion) as a self serving and vile vehicle for the author, Adam Resnick to brag about his exploits (business, sexual, social) while offering no redeeming value to people with real problems. I would argue that this book makes James Frey's novel (which is clearly Mr. Resnick's model for this novel) look like a masterpiece in its' factual content.

Mr. Resnick seems to have delusions of grandeur and used gambling to obtain friends, fame and wealth. All he really is is a simple conman that got caught trying to complete his latest scheme. This book is a continuance of that life long need for self importance exploiting peoples' lives to sell a few books in hopes of paying back an enormous debt to the innocent customers of a small community bank. I hope Mr. Resnick takes his long days ahead of him to think about what he's done to those that care about him because writing a book like this shows he still has not learned his lesson.
1111 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2009
Great book. I had a hard time putting it down and read it in no time. Tragic story. I would not read the very end because it bothered me. Thanks Mark.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2007
Resnick wants us to believe two things: 1. That he has accepted full responsibility and is fully accountable for his actions. 2. That he's a really good guy, and all the bad things he did were the results of his addiction to gambling. I'm not fully sold on either point.

He does say the right things many different times in the book - that it was his fault, his bad decisions, etc. But he says other things that still seem to blame or at least imply that other people are partly responsible.

In chapter 11, while awaiting trial, he runs into an old acguaintance who used to book sports his sports bets during Resnick's college days. The bookie (named Green) says that he knew Resnick was sick, and should have done something about it. Resnick's response starts off with "Hey, I was the one making the choices." But the very next thing he says is "It's inherently more natural, and easier, to be a enabler then an intervener. If the opposite were true, society would be better off."

Does that really sound like someone taking full responsibility for their actions? To me, the unspoken message is "If only more people had helped me by not allowing me to continue gambling, I wouldn't have gotten into so much trouble." He does a similar thing later in the book when he finally sees a therapist about his gambling addiction.

But he's a nice guy when not consumed by gambling, right? Well, it's hard to say, in part because as a gambling addict, there are very few moments in the book where's he not thinking about gambling. But read the beginning of chapter ten, when he says horrible things to his college girlfriend (his future wife) when she refuses to let him cheat off of her paper.

I hope he stays away from gambling when he gets out of prison. But I wouldn't bet on it.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2007
This book is a very well-written book that provides good entertaining reading while attempting to at the same time to reach out to people and family members in the need of help (to show them how ugly things can get when gambling takes over your life).

Hey "EyeInTheSky"? Do you have a life? Or do you just visit these postings daily and try to ridicule them out of angst, bitterness, and jealousy? You ridiculed Mr. Sanjay about being honest and telling it like it is; why don't you stop hiding behind your post-name and reveal your real name and insecurity as to your knowledge/involvement in Mr. Resnick's downfall?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2015
Adam makes you laugh out loud. His picturesque descriptions ignite the imagination and the tickle bone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2015
Loved it. Great book. Would recommend to anyone who enjoys gambling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2008
What an amazing story! This is one of those books you can't put down. Even if you don't gamble will find the book very interesting! When your setting in Jail I guess you can put A lot of effort into writing A great Book!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 26, 2007
I picked up this book after hearing about it on the radio of all places! The Talk Show host talked about the book with a sense of awe that anyone could do the things that Resnick did to feed his gambling habit. It is the sense of someone who is liable to the flash and celebrity associated with addition rather than the realities of broken families and broken lives.

Bust is a good story and while the people are real, I would suggest that readers look at this as a piece of fiction -- really a tribute to the incredible hubris of a person who is addicted to the action. The books prose works at a quick clip, the stories are almost too cute and perfect for the subject.

Resnick is an addict and in the book you get the sense that he has mentally internalized his problem, yet psychically he has not. In that regard it is a somewhat tragic tale until you realize that may be exactly what Resnick wants you to think.

Recommended as a first person study of the destructive effect of addition and the fact that it is always there even when you recognize you have a problem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2014
Complete waste of time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.