Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true adventure in making merry past and present
Received today and have spent most of day reading and plotting to cook all the recipes when I get out of the hammock. Julia Reeds life experiences, friends, personalities she has crossed paths with ...... parties past and present are memorable and entertaining. References to travels also interesting and bring back how it was before sequester, weighing passengers and...
Published 20 months ago by Lynn Thomas Ziglar

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Did not like this book
I started out liking this book. But gradually, Julia Reed's "And then this interesting person dropped by and then this fascinating guy dropped in and pretty soon this bunch of fascinating people were there" writing style began to just bore me witless.

The endless stories are supplemented by recipes which are interesting enough, in a retro "this is...
Published 7 months ago by Mom of Sons


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true adventure in making merry past and present, April 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: But Mama Always Put Vodka in Her Sangria!: Adventures in Eating, Drinking, and Making Merry (Hardcover)
Received today and have spent most of day reading and plotting to cook all the recipes when I get out of the hammock. Julia Reeds life experiences, friends, personalities she has crossed paths with ...... parties past and present are memorable and entertaining. References to travels also interesting and bring back how it was before sequester, weighing passengers and luggage and other such nuances.
Lynn Ziglar
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Here we go again!, July 29, 2013
By 
Rolling Fork (Sugarloaf Key, Florida) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: But Mama Always Put Vodka in Her Sangria!: Adventures in Eating, Drinking, and Making Merry (Hardcover)
Another delightful read, full of interesting anecdotes and girth-expanding recipes. I am going to try Judy's Coleslaw soon; it will be perfect with some barbeque pork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What's Not to Love?, September 26, 2013
By 
Sherri T. Chockley (Nashville, TN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm a southern woman.
I love to cook and eat and drink.
I love the peculiarities of the south and grew up in the same time period.

Since these were originally essays, there is a slightly disjointed feel to the book, and, of course, this is not deep and challenging reading. And most of the name dropping whizzes right over my head. But what fun! I feel like I've been on vacation after reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun read, September 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: But Mama Always Put Vodka in Her Sangria!: Adventures in Eating, Drinking, and Making Merry (Hardcover)
Can't wait to try the recipes! Love this author's style. This book is a good one for the kitchen shelf...right alongside the cookbooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun read on Southern American Culture, September 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: But Mama Always Put Vodka in Her Sangria!: Adventures in Eating, Drinking, and Making Merry (Hardcover)
A very fun read on Southern American Culture. The recipes are great and something to try for today and tomorrow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the dish...., July 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
... both food- and people-wise. I put the book down just long enough to make the sangria -- yes, with vodka -- and went right back to reading this delightful compilation, glass in hand. Reed has another hit on her hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, funny book, June 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: But Mama Always Put Vodka in Her Sangria!: Adventures in Eating, Drinking, and Making Merry (Hardcover)
Buy this for all of your family and friends who have a sense of humor and love the Southern way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Did not like this book, May 14, 2014
By 
This review is from: But Mama Always Put Vodka in Her Sangria!: Adventures in Eating, Drinking, and Making Merry (Hardcover)
I started out liking this book. But gradually, Julia Reed's "And then this interesting person dropped by and then this fascinating guy dropped in and pretty soon this bunch of fascinating people were there" writing style began to just bore me witless.

The endless stories are supplemented by recipes which are interesting enough, in a retro "this is what used to be served back in the day" way. The heavy emphasis on drinking and cocktails, including advice on how to recover from over-imbibing (drink in the morning, of course) give many of the accounts of "then this interesting person dropped by" a boozy, practiced feel.

The author's arch, intellectual, breezy tone succeeded for me some of the time, but as the book wore on, and on, I got really tired of her voice and just wanted the book to come to an end. The whole thing started to feel like that dinner party guest with the admittedly interesting life who just won't stop talking about this interesting person dropping by, and what fun they had. My attention strayed many times as I spent 7 days getting through this slim book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute book!, December 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: But Mama Always Put Vodka in Her Sangria!: Adventures in Eating, Drinking, and Making Merry (Hardcover)
We purchased many of these books as client gifts. They have been received well by our clients who love not only reading each chapter but putting the recipes to the test as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great recipes and very humorous, July 12, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: But Mama Always Put Vodka in Her Sangria!: Adventures in Eating, Drinking, and Making Merry (Hardcover)
Julia writes very well with a lot of subtle humor while weaving in some really interesting recipes with her stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

But Mama Always Put Vodka in Her Sangria!: Adventures in Eating, Drinking, and Making Merry
$25.99 $18.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.