Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic returns
This book, half upstairs-downstairs memoir and half how-to manual for maintaining a household (including the small individual establishment) had gone out of print and was fetching very high prices on the used market. Thanks to the enormous popularity of 'Downton Abbey,' Clarkson Potter has reissued it with a new foreword by the historical advisor to that series. I had...
Published 19 months ago by Randall Couch

versus
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OLD SCHOOL
While I enjoyed the book, I was very old school. I was looking for something with more information on running your househould on an everyday basis. But overall the book was okay.
Published 17 months ago by CAROL


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic returns, December 11, 2012
By 
Randall Couch (Philadelphia, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Butler's Guide to Running the Home and Other Graces (Hardcover)
This book, half upstairs-downstairs memoir and half how-to manual for maintaining a household (including the small individual establishment) had gone out of print and was fetching very high prices on the used market. Thanks to the enormous popularity of 'Downton Abbey,' Clarkson Potter has reissued it with a new foreword by the historical advisor to that series. I had often consulted the book in the '80s from my university library, and in my current city have been frustrated not to find it, so I'm very glad to have the new edition. Most of the cleaning and preservation tips, while traditional, would pass muster with modern conservation authorities (something not true of many "household tips" cleaning and polishing methods) and Ager's thoughts on clothes maintenance, table setting and service, and packing clothes for travel are worth the price of admission. The fact that his coauthor was the daughter of the house in which he served for nearly thirty years is a testament to his knowledge and to the esteem in which he was held by the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How to, November 19, 2012
This review is from: The Butler's Guide to Running the Home and Other Graces (Hardcover)
This is a book that will guide you in how to take care of a household - as Stanley Ager did. He was in service for almost 3 decades and was the butler at St. Michael's Mount in Cornwall, England. He lived at this fascinating location, surrounded by water at high tide from 1945 to 1975.

The best and most interesting part of the book is the beginning where, in a foreword we are given information about Stanley Ager, an author's note by Fiona St. Aubyn who lived at the Mount and about 14 pages where Ager tells his story.

The rest of the book consists of how to run the home, clothing care and packing, managing the table and some stories on royalty visiting, being a guest, dealing with servants, tips on courtesy - helping someone on with their coat, to push in a chair correctly and his advice for a picnic. There is also an index. Illustrations are in black and white.

If you would like a butler's hints on how to run a house, taking care of the silver, etc. This book would be exactly what you are looking for. You could also learn something of what servants had to do to keep up the large stately homes; however there are no real general descriptions of life as a servant or of those who they served.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fun and Informative Read, November 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you're a fan of Downton Abbey, this book is for you! It's a well written and detailed tome on what it takes to keep one of the big British houses going, with lots of tips for today's houses as well. There's even a little blurb on what to look for in a dry cleaner. Highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Information, January 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This kindle edition seems to be formatted well enough but the illustrations are too small to see (guess I'll have to get an 8.9" kindle fire some day) so I'll use the PC kindle reading software to see it on a larger screen.

There is some good information for anyone to use. I work at a church as a jack of all trades and many times I have to set up a table for a small lunch of six to ten people and the information here will help me to make it look better than just something slapped together.

I also have to clean the pastors coat from time to time and the tip of using a soft haired brush to clean a coat has come in handy. They don't seem to make brushes just for that use anymore so instead I have used a horse hair shoe polish brush instead and it is working fine when used as he shows. Just remember to write on it what it's being used for so no one uses it for shoes. I would not want to see old shoe polish brushed on a white coat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, November 24, 2012
By 
EssCube (Bellows Falls VT USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Butler's Guide to Running the Home and Other Graces (Hardcover)
We love this book. It is a great window into a way of life that we in the U.S. never (or hardly ever) experience. Our family found it fascinating, plus it contains numerous hints that we can use nowadays, such as cleaning methods and materials, plus ways of preserving valuable heirlooms, antiques, etc., and much more. The subtitle tells everything about what the book is about, so no one should be surprised that it is not a mystery or who-done-it, for instance! Would recommend this book to anyone with a special interest in the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic for the servant set, January 11, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If your Downton Abbey is getting flabby, if at the remains of the day, you have nothing to show for your pains of the day, if you are downstairs with too many cares, then get this book and be enlightened. A classic on how to be a classic servant to the rich, if that is your thing. Even if you are not enslaved to the one percent, this book will make a better housekeeper out of you, and who among us does not count that as a consummation devoutly to be wished?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy read into a bygone era, March 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I found this book hard to put down. You get a private peak behind the curtains to see how pampered the British aristocracy was earlier in the 20th century. Plus, you pick up invaluable tips for the care of all kinds of personal property. Etiquette lessons are also included! The selflessness of a great butler is touching, to say the least, and the first person narrative conveys this perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Butler's Guide, July 8, 2013
By 
Debbie (South carolina) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Butler's Guide to Running the Home and Other Graces (Hardcover)
Interesting look at how the other half lived! Interesting to read after seeing Downton Abbey. Lots of work involved to keep up big estates!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old info is still useful., March 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Butler's Guide to Running the Home and Other Graces (Hardcover)
I read this as a library book in the 90s. I wish I had bought it then because the price has increased dramatically due to the popularity of the Downton Abbey series. Nevertheless it is a great book. Also a nice peek at times that were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, fun read., February 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Butler's Guide to Running the Home and Other Graces (Hardcover)
This was a gift for my sister who's a Gosford Park freak. She said a was fun little voyeuristic trip into the world of downstairs/upstairs breeding. A way over the top trip! Those days of "butler-ing" seem to be waning, but one can dream!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Butler's Guide to Running the Home and Other Graces
The Butler's Guide to Running the Home and Other Graces by Stanley Ager (Hardcover - November 6, 2012)
$22.99 $16.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.