Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Buxtehude: Cantatas

5 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, April 18, 1995
"Please retry"
$19.96 $9.25

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Wachet Auf, Ruft Uns Die Stimme (BuxWV 101) - Herrad Wehrung/Gundula Bernat-Klein/Friedreich Melzer/Johannes Hoefflin/Wilhelm Pommerien...
  2. Jesu, Meine Freude (BuxWV 60) - Herrad Wehrung/Gundula Bernat-Klein/Friedreich Melzer/Johannes Hoefflin/Wilhelm Pommerien...
  3. Cantate Domino (BuxWV 12) - Maria Friesenhausen/Erich Wenk/Kantorei Barmen-Gemarke/Helmut Kahlhofer
  4. Lauda Sion Salvatorem (BuxWv 68) - Maria Friesenhausen/Erich Wenk/Kantorei Barmen-Gemarke/Helmut Kahlhofer
  5. Mit Fried Und Freud Ich Fahr Dahin (BuxWV 76) - Johannes Kunzel/Greifswalder Domchor/Hans Pflugbeil
  6. Befiehl Dem Engel, Dass Er Komm (BuxWV 10) - Johannes Kunzel/Greifswalder Domchor/Hans Pflugbeil

Product Details

  • Composer: Dietrich Buxtehude
  • Audio CD (April 18, 1995)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Cantate
  • ASIN: B000003CFM
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #837,116 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Unlike the prolific Bach Cantatas of which there are many recorded versions available.

The same cannot be said for Buxtehude though he was known to have composed

masses of vocal music as well as Keyboard Works, sadly what we have available on disc

is typically what has survived, as a large portion of Buxtehude's compositions have been lost. Although many of the librettos have survived , but not the all important scores.

This CD contains some identical contents performed by the Greifswald Cathedral Choir & the

Berlin Bach Orchestra conducted by Hans Pflugbeil, available on a cd called

"Abendmusik"and available from The Baroque Music Club in Canada. This is wonderful Lutheran music very rich in sound as they are all for the most part performed by a full choir & stringed instruments.

These Cantatas are very refreshing in in their simplicity. They were from what i can gather recorded in the 60's. I was so happy to find this gem of a disc and that from an audio standpoint the Re-mastering sounds very transparent with excellent clarity.

Other worthwhile recordings to compliment this are:

another also called "Abendmusik" performed by the Goteborg Baroque Arts Ensemble on the Swedish Intim Musik label (IMCD 070)

and 6 Cantatas performed by Orchestra Anima Eterna Collegium Vocale

on the Channel Classics label ( CCS7895) which are both available on Amazon

Who knows what might turn up in an Ancient Lübeck attic one day, perhaps more of this Heavenly Music.
Comment 6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in