Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For investors, too.
Terranova is familiar to many as one of the financial gurus on "Fast Money," a daily post-market show that's capable of holding the viewer's attention longer than the rather loud and repetitious one that follows it. He comes off as a thoughtful, cogent contributor and is equally communicative and lucid as a writer--important, since despite appearances, most books that...
Published on January 4, 2012 by Caponsacchi

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good book.
This book is a pretty good read. Nothing ground shaking but interesting concepts. Off the top of my head I recall - keep investing in stocks that are doing well, have a team as a sounding board, and keep close watch on your porfolio allocations. He does not tell enough personal stories about success or failure - i prefer Jim Cramer books. This book does not dig in...
Published on April 4, 2012 by Dan Glass


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For investors, too., January 4, 2012
By 
This review is from: Buy High, Sell Higher: Why Buy-And-Hold Is Dead And Other Investing Lessons from CNBC's "The Liquidator" (Hardcover)
Terranova is familiar to many as one of the financial gurus on "Fast Money," a daily post-market show that's capable of holding the viewer's attention longer than the rather loud and repetitious one that follows it. He comes off as a thoughtful, cogent contributor and is equally communicative and lucid as a writer--important, since despite appearances, most books that offer advice about money share in common the following: 1. the author's key points can be summarized in a paragraph or two; 2. after reading the first several, they begin to sound suspiciously alike. So besides pointers that might help the reader make a buck, it's important that the writer have a personal voice as well as a knack for conveying familiar ideas in fresh language. Terranova's book succeeds on both counts, as the author offers the reader the opportunity to shadow him during some of his "big money" moves and offers potentially useful concepts like having an "investment calendar" and a "winning team" to lessen the pain and increase the gain of the non-professional investor.

From listening to some of the fast talk about fast money on the show, the reader might expect the book to be focused primarily on trading with excessive attention to exotic trading approaches unlikely to be of much interest to the time-challenged, over-burdened "little money" investor. But there's useful, solid advice here even for readers who do not fancy themselves "traders" much less students of derivatives and complex leveraging plays. I've never paid much attention to a stock's "moving average," but the author explains its importance and tells you which one of many such averages is most followed by the pros. He also explains why you might heed it as well, showing how and when to make use of this statistic which, moreover, is instantly accessible on sites like Yahoo Finance. Like the writers of most trustworthy investing guides, he warns against emotional investing but goes one further: he tells you which days of the week NOT to trade stocks precisely because of the emotional factor.

As the title of the book would suggest, the author is a fan of neither buy-and-hold investing nor index funds (they're cheap, but what's the gain if the markets show none?). Since the averages have been essentially flat for the past ten years, with investors seeing little to no gain in their portfolios (except for those who bet heavily on a "five-star" mutual fund at the beginning of 2008, only to experience losses of 30-50% as the year played out). At the same time, Terranova is not about to encourage new investors to get caught up in costly account churning: in fact, he makes it clear that many investors (including himself) have inflicted self-injury by taking their gains prematurely. Terranova's approach may remind some readers of Marty Zweig's, the guest on Lou Rukeyser's popular PBS show who was always emphasizing "big mo," or placing big bets on the upward movers rather than buying dips in hopes of profiting from the rebound. Zweig eventually appeared to become skeptical of his own methods and got out of the game. Like a professional athlete, a professional investor requires steady nerves and quick but decisive and disciplined reflexes. So perhaps with age comes an abatement of the energies required to realize the fullest benefits from momentum investing. But that doesn't mean that we occasional, week-end players can't learn how to "sweeten" our swing by watching Tiger (even the post-superhuman version) or how to sharpen our own timing, hedge our bets, and contain our losses by observing how a younger professional like Terranova does it on a daily basis.

This is by no means the only investment/trading book to own. For example, there's much to be said on behalf of dividends--and not just the yield part--but that's for another book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading, January 2, 2012
By 
Brett Brown (Highland Lakes, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buy High, Sell Higher: Why Buy-And-Hold Is Dead And Other Investing Lessons from CNBC's "The Liquidator" (Hardcover)
Having written a book myself on trading, I know that most people are still looking for the book with "the big secret to trading". When they don't find it, they usually give the book a bad review. What this book is: A well written book on how Joe Invests (this book is more geared to the investor than trader). That's not to say that a trader can't get anything out of it. The book covers things like seasonality and how fund managers re-balance. Certain days of the month and year to pay attention to, etc. The way I look at it, if you can read a book and take just one thing away from it that will help you in the market, then the author did his job and it was worth the read. Joe did that and then some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good book., April 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buy High, Sell Higher: Why Buy-And-Hold Is Dead And Other Investing Lessons from CNBC's "The Liquidator" (Hardcover)
This book is a pretty good read. Nothing ground shaking but interesting concepts. Off the top of my head I recall - keep investing in stocks that are doing well, have a team as a sounding board, and keep close watch on your porfolio allocations. He does not tell enough personal stories about success or failure - i prefer Jim Cramer books. This book does not dig in very deep - high level stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Book is too rambling and contradictory, May 6, 2012
This review is from: Buy High, Sell Higher: Why Buy-And-Hold Is Dead And Other Investing Lessons from CNBC's "The Liquidator" (Hardcover)
I had high hopes for the book and it disappointed big time. He makes so may contradictory statements and makes trading so complicated it is impossible to do anything he says in the book. Some examples. He says not to day trade then says to put 3% stop losses on trades. This is so minute, u would be trading and losing all the time. He says only worry about 1 news event at a time and proceeds to outline dozens of news events that should effect trading. He also says not to trade on Mondays, Tuesdays or Fridays and not to trade first thing in the morning or mid day. He says the average trader does not need to spend too many hours on research and then states all the things about news events and stock performance to research before buying. There are too many too list. he also says to get a team of experts too assist in finding stocks. No one has the time or money to do all he suggests. He never develops any plan for what type of trade to make as if one would eliminate all the trading stops news etc, it would eliminate all stocks. He also suggests buying stocks crossing the 200 day moving averages. This is no sure way to pick a winner as any back testing shows. He does pick a stock he likes which is copper based. This stock has had a roller coaster ride and tanked big time since his book came out. The book is not worth a penny. Glad I got in the library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read!, January 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buy High, Sell Higher: Why Buy-And-Hold Is Dead And Other Investing Lessons from CNBC's "The Liquidator" (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book for any trader, beginner or experienced. Joe Terranova is kind enough to share his insights and market knowledge so we can all improve our investment strategies. It drives home the disciplines required to be a successful trader. Also appreciated the personal information as we all must realize key times to step back from the market. Even with years of trading experience this book taught me many improtant points that I have implemented in my trading today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Meh. The author's thesis is logical: buy on ..., December 2, 2014
Meh. The author's thesis is logical: buy on momentum and stocks that are priced at a premium usually often have momentum on their side. The problem is that momentum doesn't last forever and momentum stocks generally dump very quickly as all the other momentum traders are bailing out together. I tend to skim books and early on in the book the author makes a statement to the effect: "never day trade". He doesn't explain why, he just makes this proclamation from the burning bush. I'm not even sure what he means. Does he mean to not get out of a stock the same day that you buy it? What if you buy it and an hour later it caves down to your stop price? Should you stay in it because you shouldn't day trade? The author presents his arguments fairly cogently but there really isn't much new under the sun or ideas that will suddenly make you into a star trader. Average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joe's training, January 7, 2012
This review is from: Buy High, Sell Higher: Why Buy-And-Hold Is Dead And Other Investing Lessons from CNBC's "The Liquidator" (Hardcover)
Joe worked for Mark Fisher for over 20 years..Ive seen Fish trade on many occasions.You don't get to work with someone like that for too long if you don't know what you are doing.Very current trade examples in this book.The market has changed in the last few years and this book is a fresh take on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good 2nd Step, January 13, 2012
This review is from: Buy High, Sell Higher: Why Buy-And-Hold Is Dead And Other Investing Lessons from CNBC's "The Liquidator" (Hardcover)
This book is much less . . . preachy than a lot of other books about trading philosophies. It is a good intermediate step between the full time day trading and the old school buy and hold style.

Also, they indicators are much clearer about what to look for in new opportunities, so hopefully it will be easier to actually follow what is suggested.

It's a pretty good read, should be worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good strategies, November 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buy High, Sell Higher: Why Buy-And-Hold Is Dead And Other Investing Lessons from CNBC's "The Liquidator" (Hardcover)
I thought this book was very interesting and suggested some good investment strategies that I'm now incorporating into my investment decision making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A New Perspective On Being Fearless To Buy High, April 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Joe Terranova sets the main theme mindset in a revolutionary philosophy for the reader. Buy High Sell Higher. Good title. Good theme maintained throughout the book. The reader will be introduced to an alternative mind set otherwise perhaps not ever considered in the world of commercial liquidation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Buy High, Sell Higher: Why Buy-And-Hold Is Dead And Other Investing Lessons from CNBC's "The Liquidator"
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.