Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Read is a Good Guide Too
This book is great for more than just lovers of trivia - it is a practical guide to life and full of "who knew" surprises that you can put into practice. The writing makes it entertaining and fun to read, but it's obvious that real research went into it. I like the way it's organized into areas of life. I grew up in California and it's true - Fall is the best time to go...
Published on October 7, 2009 by Mary Aldrich

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Not-so Good Read, Some Not-so Surprising Insights, All in a Perfectly-timed Gift Package
Could be the perfect gift book as the holidays approach, and its no coincidence that it just showed up on NYT's How-to Bestseller list. To coin a phrase, this is the kind of thing a person on your gift list will really like, if they like this sort of thing.

Really there is not much insight here, and after having heard Di Vincenzo pitch the book on NPR, his...
Published on November 15, 2009 by J. A. Walsh


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Read is a Good Guide Too, October 7, 2009
This book is great for more than just lovers of trivia - it is a practical guide to life and full of "who knew" surprises that you can put into practice. The writing makes it entertaining and fun to read, but it's obvious that real research went into it. I like the way it's organized into areas of life. I grew up in California and it's true - Fall is the best time to go to Disneyland!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want to save 15% on a lot more than car insurance?, November 1, 2009
If you enjoy saving money, increasing your efficiency, or outsmarting the world, this is a great book for you.

Buy Ketchup in May is a fun book that lets you in on the secrets of how and when to do many of life's common activities, from when to eat dinner out (Tuesday) to when to apply ice to sunburns (never).

The book is written in a short question-and-answer format that is easy to follow and remember. I appreciated how Di Vincenzo refers to the research methods behind his answers, so the reader knows where the answers are coming from. I recently found myself quoting the book in a conversation with friends about when to buy airline tickets. And the book covers so many different topics that it's hard to imagine a month going by without using at least one of his recommendations. For me, the book paid for itself right after I got it. The book pointed out that pants often go on deep discounts after back to school. So when October came around, I decided to test out this claim. I ended up buying a pair of nice $70 pants for $35!

So if you like useful information that will help you save money and increase your efficiency, definitely get this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Not-so Good Read, Some Not-so Surprising Insights, All in a Perfectly-timed Gift Package, November 15, 2009
By 
J. A. Walsh (Lake Norman, NC) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Could be the perfect gift book as the holidays approach, and its no coincidence that it just showed up on NYT's How-to Bestseller list. To coin a phrase, this is the kind of thing a person on your gift list will really like, if they like this sort of thing.

Really there is not much insight here, and after having heard Di Vincenzo pitch the book on NPR, his methodlogy is not exactly the rigorous stuff or peer reviewed economics research (or even journalism for that matter).

There are just not enough (or enough interesting) stories-behind-the-stories for his tips. The ketchup gambit is titleworthy, but much of the rest is common sense.

Get the first surgical appointment of the day? Fly midday, midweek and you'll save money? Buy stuff when the people selling are inclined to make better deals? No big surprises.

The book might be the perfect gift for that reader who loves quirky insight and the trivial made useful. It may even inspire ten minutes of communal reading and good conversation around the tree when unwrapped. For those reasons, its a three; but, this is really a two-star read with perfect timing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ketchup in May, Fly at Noon, February 16, 2010
Buy Ketchup in May and Fly at Noon is a book that looks and feels cheap - and I mean noticeably cheaper than a basic paperback. The author and publisher clearly do not view this as a book that will endure. The paper seems to be newsprint and the card stock for the cover is as thin as possible. Perhaps the plan is to update the information every couple of years, but the lack of regard shown in the shoddy construction caused me to question the quality that went into creating the contents. I read the book with skepticism because in my grasp it felt like junk. That said, the book eventually won me over.

It is a quick read and would be perfect for those times when frequent interruptions are inevitable or distractions are likely. While reading it, at least 50% of the revelations were things I already knew (buy fresh fruit when in season), but the rest were interesting revelations (the best time to find a sympathetic insurance claims adjuster is 4 PM Friday) which when read are filled with common sense.

The author claims no credit for the information and lists the sources at the back of the book. Many things seemed obvious and correct, but some suggestions appeared less than accurate. For example the best month of the year to buy jeans is noted as October, after the back to school sales are finished. Well, anyone who wears a popular size jean knows that by then, those sizes are out-of-stock, and with the low inventories most retailers are maintaining, unlikely to be back in stock for months.

The book contains useful information and I felt the time spent reading it wasn't wasted. Few of us are experts in everything, so the majority of people will find some helpful information within the pages. The book might be best suited as a graduation gift along with a gift card or check. The younger the recipient, the more useful the book will be for the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars like a Reader's Digest article, May 18, 2011
I think I read a review of this in the NY Times Magazine, which made it sound very interesting and like a fun read... come to find out it is merely a glorified list, worthy of a Reader's Digest article.

As others have noted, there is no index, so if you want to find, say, the tips on airline tickets, you have to flip through the entire "travel" chapter til you find the bit you want. And frankly, most of the tips are either very general and obvious (best time to buy fresh veggies? when they're in season); or they are ridiculously over-specific (best time to get a haircut -- sorry, I have to fit a haircut in when I can, not at some mystical perfect wonder-time when the stylist will cut the straightest). In fact many of these "tips" fall under the category of: Who on earth has time to worry about this stuff?

This might be a cute time-killer to read in the dentist's office or maybe a good toilet book, but certainly don't buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, great insight!, December 5, 2009
By 
michelle34 (los angeles, ca) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very interesting book. Heard about it on 89.9 and bought it based on the author interview. The book contains interesting facts about very random topics that it's good to know about but you might have never researched yourself. Fun read. Great for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timing--It's Not Just For Comedians, December 14, 2009
By 
Bucky (Haunted Mansion, The Magic Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
BUY KETCHUP IN MAY AND FLY AT NOON manages to be both fun and serious, dispensing its wisdom on matters as esoteric as the best time to replace your toilet flapper (once a year) in a manner that is both entertaining (toilet flapper manufacturers lead the public to believe that their products are capable of lasting longer than they actually do), and informative (a toilet with a serious leak can lose more than 500 gallons per day). Who'd have thunk it? Toilet flappers probably aren't something the average person devotes much thought to, but a huge toilet leak wastes water and money. This book is filled with interesting, bite-sized tidbits on the best time of year or day to buy a variety of items or engage in a wide spectrum of activities, some serious (mammograms, surgery) some unexpectedly relevant (toilet flapper replacement), and many quite interesting (writing poetry). This book is fun to read and easy to dip into whenever a person has a spare moment. And the next time I have to visit the DMV, I know the best time to go (page 47).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, November 23, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Saw the author on Rachael Ray show one morning and am always interested in knowing when the best 'bargain' shopping time is for everything. Worthwhile to have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book!, December 3, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I absolutely love this book! It is so handy and packed full of useful information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hints for making life easier, June 16, 2010
By 
Kechmocash "Susan" (Laguna Park, at Lake whitney Texas) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buy Ketchup in May and Fly at Noon: A Guide to the Best Time to Buy This, Do That and Go There (Paperback)
What an informative and fun little book! I have only read a few pages and am swamped with information. The only problem is remembering all the juicy tips! I'll have to keep it close at hand. It has seven chapters which helps a bit in organizing, but there is a ton of hints. This would make a great gift item and a neat bathroom book for you and your guests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Buy Ketchup in May and Fly at Noon: A Guide to the Best Time to Buy This, Do That and Go There
Used & New from: $1.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.