Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book -- it could save your life
In a time where literature on illegal substance is usually limited to propaganda either for or against drugs, their legalization, etc.., this book provides a refreshing, unbiased account. The knowledge it provides on a drug's different effects on the body, the brain, one's emotional well-being, and its addictive potential prove to be invaluable. This is not a crusade...
Published on March 23, 2000 by a college student

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative and interesting: but beware...
I enjoyed this book, it was quite informative, and I learned a lot from it. This book does a good job of giving you the straight up facts in a way that even college students such as myself can understand. It has the appearance of giving everything a fair outlook without any bias, telling you exactly what drugs do to your brain and body, the differences between the drugs,...
Published on June 15, 2012 by lemmyrose


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book -- it could save your life, March 23, 2000
In a time where literature on illegal substance is usually limited to propaganda either for or against drugs, their legalization, etc.., this book provides a refreshing, unbiased account. The knowledge it provides on a drug's different effects on the body, the brain, one's emotional well-being, and its addictive potential prove to be invaluable. This is not a crusade against the use of substances, but it does not seek to glorify their use. Anyone planning on experimenting with any drug should at least read this book first. It allows an individual to weigh the risks from a more educated point of view as it dispels myths and delivers what it says it will: the straight facts.
I would urge everyone involved in this area from policy makers to other students to buy this book and read it. I finished it in two days, and I'm a better-informed, more careful thinker because of it.
Don't go to a party without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Necessity for Those Entering Substance Abuse Arena, January 20, 2000
By 
Warren (New Orleans, Louisiana) - See all my reviews
As a college professor at Delgado in New Orleans, La., I found the book to be very informative and fact based for anyone interested in substance abuse and/or addictions. I am using this book as a text for a class entitled "Introduction to Substance Abuse". The authors are clear, concise and discuss various drugs (including alcohol) at differing levels of use. This is an excellent text book for those preparing to enter the prevention and treatment fields. If you are expecting to read that "all drugs are bad", and other typical statements, this book will not appease you. It has value for the professional interested in the field as well as the parent who may simply wish to be better informed on the current trends in the world of drugs and alcohol. Warren J. Perret,BSCW/BCSAC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Primer On Many Aspects Of Addictive Substances, September 7, 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am a health care professional who just started working with patients in a hospital detox setting. This book was exactly what I was looking for as a review and primer on the effects different drugs had on the brain and body. The book is in two parts. Part one is basically a quick reference to the different classes of addictive substances, how they affect the brain, how the body disposes of them, the type of withdrawl someone will experience, etc. Part two covers some basics of neuropharmacology which you will need to understand some of the technical info in part one, and also goes into things as varied as the addictive process and social and legal issues involved with drug use. There is a good bibliography and a great index with many of the common street names for a variety of drugs and drug related activities.
I would highly reccommend this to anyone in health care, education, or any type of drug counseling or rehab. Great tool for patient/client/student education about drugs that is factual and easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, unbiased information on recreational drugs, October 23, 2000
By 
"bonesman" (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
I read this book as a casual user of marijuana, alcohol, and nicotine. This book has made me come to the realization that I will never use another illegal drug other than marijuana. I never knew the drugs that my classmates were using so carelessly were so destructive. What I like most about the book is the fact that the information is completely unbiased, and is just focused on giving you the straight facts. Information that you get from other, unreliable sources, such as Internet web sites, is so completely biased towards telling you how horrible drugs are, you begin to pick up that you are not being given the whole truth but rather what anti-drug people want you to believe. "Buzzed" gave me more incentive to never do hard drugs than those "unreliable" sources would ever have, even with their terrible drug horror stories. People are smart....just give them the information they need about something, and they will decide their actions from there. I reccomend this book to anyone taking any drugs (including marijuana, alcohol, or nicotine), or anyone considering taking a potentially dangerous recreational drug.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern, Factual, Agenda-Free Handbook on Modern Drug Abuse, December 14, 2005
By 
Mark Lee (Woodruff, UT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buzzed: The Straight Facts about the Most Used and Abused Drugs from Alcohol to Ecstasy (Buzzed: The Straight Facts about the Most Used & Abused Drugs) (Paperback)
Some folks reviewing this book don't seem to understand the purpose for which the book was intended: This is a general consumer book with "straight facts" from Ph.D.s in pharmacology and chemistry on "the most used and abused drugs." This isn't intended to be comprehensive. It it certainly isn't about grandstanding as some tool in the "war on drugs." The motto in this book is "Just say Know."

The authors candidly observe, for example, that it's practically impossible to overdose on marijuana. There's no "Reefer Madness" in this text. And alcohol, caffeine and nicotine certainly qualify as abused drugs in this day and age. The substances that are covered include those above and Ecstasy (MDMA), various hallucinogens (LSD, mushrooms, peyote, etc.), so-called "herbal drugs", various inhalants (nitrous oxide and psychotoxics), marijuana, opiates, sedatives in general and stimulants in general. The chapters on "Drug Basics," "Brain Basics" and "Legal Issues" were straightforward and concise.

I work principally in law enforcement and use this book along with the Drug Identification Bible as resource literature in helping local kids with presentations. One of the authors, Dr. Wilkie Wilson, has been a TV Dateline expert and wonderful spokesperson for being informed about the risks of drug use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Book That Breaks Through the Chaff, June 30, 2004
By 
Bruce Gilliz (Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Buzzed: The Straight Facts about the Most Used and Abused Drugs from Alcohol to Ecstasy (Buzzed: The Straight Facts about the Most Used & Abused Drugs) (Paperback)
As my review title states, this book targets an audience - one that wants to be well informed about drugs that are used and abused in our society.
What sets this book apart from so many others (most notably government-issued literature about recreational drugs) is that its language isn't dry, bureaucratic, and unappealing. Instead, the authors have successfully made their points about the uses and abuses of recreational drugs without boring the reader into submission. A book of this nature that is actually entertaining and enlightening to read is a breakthrough!
My one qualm with the book was with its lack of relevant informaton on steroids, which are definitely a drug that have been, and will continue to be, highly abused by many people the world over. The chapter on this drug class was brief and should have included more information about steroids from a user's point of view. However, it's worth noting that my library-issued copy was the 1998 version of the book, which has since been updated.
So, I have given this book a strong reveiw because, frankly, it deserves it; I was able to read the book cover to cover in about a day and a half without feeling any boredom. As a result I feel better informed and more confident with my knowledge about recreational drugs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Say Know!, April 24, 2007
By 
Chris Luallen (Nashville, Tennessee) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buzzed: The Straight Facts about the Most Used and Abused Drugs from Alcohol to Ecstasy (Buzzed: The Straight Facts about the Most Used & Abused Drugs) (Paperback)
This is a book that takes the right approach to drug education. It certainly isn't the naive rhetoric of the "Just Say No" campaign nor does it romanticize drug use or downplay the potential dangers. Instead it provides a wealth of useful factful information that is based on scientific research but is still accessible to the average reader.

The book is divided into sections based on the various classes of drugs - hallucinogens, opiates, stimulants, etc. Just about every drug, both legal and illegal,is covered, with extra attention paid to those most widely consumed, such as alcohol and marijuana.

The writers here tell it like it is and, overall, do an outstanding job. I would have preferred slightly more attention devoted to explaining the actual effects, both positive and negative, of each individual drug (ie) how it feels to "get high". Some people may see this as promoting drug use. But the truth is that "getting high" can make you feel really low. For example, smoking pot can, for some people, cause intense feelings of "paranoia" very similar to what people with clinical anxiety experience. Can smoking pot lead to clinical anxiety later in life? The truth is that the medical community is, to the best of my knowledge, still out on this question. In fact, far too little is known about all illegal drugs because the government, in its ignorance, makes it extremely difficult for scientists to study them. But exploring the effects of specific drugs on brain chemistry is where this book excels. The three primary writers are professors at Duke University Medical Center and so are clearly well qualified to write on the subject.

This book should be required reading for all high schools students and I would recommended it to just about anyone working in the field or interested in the topic. Knowledge is power and this book provides a great education.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUZZED takes much of the mystery out of how drugs work!, May 6, 1999
By 
danderso@gmu.edu (Fairfax, Virginia) - See all my reviews
Understanding how drugs and alcohol work on the human body is an ongoing mystery for many people, whether citizens, students, or professionals working with drug/alcohol issues. Many traditional approaches include moralistic perspectives which, while helpful for some purposes, are not part of the human body's processing of these substances! BUZZED provides the facts, stripped of their moral and legal connotations, about how drugs, alcohol, tobacco, and other substances work on the human body. BUZZED is refreshing in that it explains, with the best understanding that we have today, HOW drugs work on the body, and WHY they work the way they do.
Refreshingly, BUZZED provides this information in a way which helps the reader understand these facts. The book provides an understanding of why people generally feel the way they do when using various substances, and provides information about the various dangers that may be associated.
I believe the book will be helpful for people of all ages and all walks of life. While many of the biochemical principles and details underlying substance use and abuse are extremely complex, BUZZED takes these and makes them understandable.
I find it particularly helpful to see this emphasis upon the brain chemistry, and how drugs are linked to the neurotransmitters that we are increasingly coming to understand and respect. My only critique of the book is that I wish it included references for further reading and more detailed elaboration.
I anticipate that drug and alcohol education approaches, such as those emphasized in BUZZED, will come to represent the best approaches to helping people, particularly young people, understand and respect these substances to a greater degree. I think it provides great promise for future changes in how we understand drugs and alcohol, and how we address this important issue as the United States and as a world culture.
David Anderson, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Center for the Advancement of Public Health, George Mason University - Fairfax, VA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What educators and parents need to know., August 27, 1998
By 
RTSterett@msn.com (Orange County, California) - See all my reviews
I am a deputy sheriff in a Southern California county of more than 2.5 million residents. For 3 years I have been educating children and adults about the dangers of drugs. Finding complete, factual information about drugs commonly abused was not an easy task. My search was complete when I read "BUZZED." No scare tactics, no outdated statistics, and complete information in both easy to understand language as well as scientific details. I believe it should be used as both a textbook and a reference source by law enforcement, educators and health care professionals. Since reading the book I have had the opportunity to speak to the authors who I find very accessible, knowledgeable and motivated to educate. I hope they will continue their research and I look forward to further editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different than anything else, November 10, 2006
By 
Jennifer A. Dunaway (Sierra Vista, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buzzed: The Straight Facts about the Most Used and Abused Drugs from Alcohol to Ecstasy (Buzzed: The Straight Facts about the Most Used & Abused Drugs) (Paperback)
I love this book because it's the first I have read that JUST gives the facts. Good or bad, the writers speak from a scientific perspective rather than what the media tries to feed the public. It's refreshing and I can trust that there is no hidden agenda here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.