Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You must read this book.
If you program in C or C++, you must read this book if you want to consider yourself a superior programmer. If you are a college student, definitely read this book. Koenig fills in a lot of gaps left by authors of introductory books on C or C++. Why do I mention C++? Because C++ is far more than just objects and classes. The lower level implementation of functions...
Published on December 27, 1999 by From_Plano_TX

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good book for novice C programmers
I'd recommend this book for novice C programmers, people with two or less years of coding experience. However, this 1989 book focuses on pre-ANSI C, so the novice would need to be guided by someone that knows the history of C. Some of his statements are false when applied to ANSI C with prototypes (e.g., p.139, it _is_ possible to pass a char argument, if there is a...
Published on November 21, 2008 by scott-gamer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You must read this book., December 27, 1999
This review is from: C Traps and Pitfalls (Paperback)
If you program in C or C++, you must read this book if you want to consider yourself a superior programmer. If you are a college student, definitely read this book. Koenig fills in a lot of gaps left by authors of introductory books on C or C++. Why do I mention C++? Because C++ is far more than just objects and classes. The lower level implementation of functions is still basically C programming. He includes chapters on linkage, the preprocessor, and portability. It is a short book that is definitely worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enormously entertaining and exceedingly helpful!, May 13, 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: C Traps and Pitfalls (Paperback)
This is among the five "must have" books on the astute C programmer's bookshelf. Actually, it spends little time on the shelf since one refers to it time and time again. This slim volume packs a lot of information about those "gotchas" that still "getcha" (when you least expect it). The Introduction is "Chapter 0", your first hint that Koenig knows and respects the subject. His treatment of unscrambling complex declarations is especially good.

Why a 9 instead of a 10? Simple. Andy: please release a new version! The ANSI/ISO standard is almost ten years old. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good book for novice C programmers, November 21, 2008
This review is from: C Traps and Pitfalls (Paperback)
I'd recommend this book for novice C programmers, people with two or less years of coding experience. However, this 1989 book focuses on pre-ANSI C, so the novice would need to be guided by someone that knows the history of C. Some of his statements are false when applied to ANSI C with prototypes (e.g., p.139, it _is_ possible to pass a char argument, if there is a function prototype). I read through and did the problems in this slim book in about three hours. It does have a few nuggets of value, and introduced me to a bug I'd not seen before, the reverse of the "= for ==" bug:
while( (x == fgetc(f)) != EOF )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Know What You're Doing, December 4, 2006
This review is from: C Traps and Pitfalls (Paperback)
If you have to write in C, then yes, it is still worth reading a good, short book about C even if it was written in 1989. It can get a bit boring to read the details of selected problems and solutions in C cover-to-cover, but it's only 100 pages. An experienced C programmer will probably know many of these answers, and can skim over what's not new. But if you hit even one pitfall which is new to you, or which you have not made the effort to avoid, then the book was worth it. The bonus is the last chapter, "Advice". It's only a few pages, and is followed by answers to exercises. But I think it has more meaning if you do leave it until the end of your reading.

(One caveat: Since Koenig was writing before long variable names were common, his examples do not serve as best practice for modern variable-naming in an IDE with auto-complete.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare and unusual book for experienced programmers., July 23, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: C Traps and Pitfalls (Paperback)
Along with Holub's 'The C Companion', this is one of the few programming books that I've read in 13 years of C programming that talks about real programming issues instead of simply rehashing what a for loop is. A must read for C programmers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice little book, December 22, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: C Traps and Pitfalls (Paperback)
To preface my review, I learned how to program in C four years ago as an undergraduate engineer, but didn't really get into it until I started my graduate studies about a year and a half ago. I would describe myself as a very competent C programmer, but by no means an expert.

There are many doorstops that call themselves C programming reference books, including the one that I used as an undergrad. This book should be on any C programmer's shelf as the first go-to guide during debuggings. I found this book very helpful, despite the fact that it is almost 20 years old (pre-ANSI C). It highlights many issues that I have pulled my hair out trying to find and fix in the programs I have written over the years, and also some new bugs that have yet to bite me. Perhaps my original C text wasn't the best to begin with, but the proper usage of many aspects of C have been explained to me with this text, such as safely writing macros and using the static keyword (especially with multiple-file programs), just to name a few. He also explains (in an appendix) using the library variable-argument functions, which I have been trying to get working without any success...until now.

This is a small book, and I read a chapter or two every night for a few days. Programming isn't exactly page-turning literature, but the author makes his point clearly and concisely. I highly recommend this book for students and practicing programmers alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, June 21, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: C Traps and Pitfalls (Paperback)
I bought because it was required for a class, but I don't plan to unload it afterwards - has a lot of good tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A classic and entertaining book!, June 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: C Traps and Pitfalls (Paperback)
Some of the lessons are a lot less applicable now, but the entirety of the book is an interesting glance into history and explains many of the reasons C is the way it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice survey of C gotchas, May 25, 2014
This review is from: C Traps and Pitfalls (Paperback)
While working at AT&T in the 1980s, the author kept note of C features that frequently were a source of confusion, and eventually compiled his notes into a long article. This book is an expansion of that article with the addition of long sections on the more general topics of prototypes, macros, pointers vs. arryas, and platform dependencies. The writing is clear and brief, although the topics of the longer sections would be better covered in a good C tutorial book. The original article is available online and I think it contains all the most interesting bits from the book. While some of the material is dated, and the gotchas listed should be well covered in any of the more thorough C introductions, the article/book is good for a quick survey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very out-of-date; would not recommend except to historians of the C language, May 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: C Traps and Pitfalls (Paperback)
This is a very out-of-date book; it seems to have been written when C89 was still the 'new coolness' and the concept of a high-level language as we understand it wasn't on the radar. It says nothing about memory management, pointer errors, etc. --- all the stuff that a modern programmer coming to C needs to know. Instead, it spends its time talking about nested comments, *very* elementary undefined operations stuff that any C FAQ will cover, etc. As an accomplished programmer trying to learn "how do I reduce segfaults in C?", this book was completely useless to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

C Traps and Pitfalls
C Traps and Pitfalls by Andrew Koenig (Paperback - January 11, 1989)
$39.99 $28.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.