Customer Reviews


375 Reviews
5 star:
 (299)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lower Amperage Limit - 13 A
This extension cord is only rated for 13A, so be cautious when plugging devices into it (most other extension cords & power strips are rated 15A). Other than that it is exactly as advertised.
Published on September 23, 2011 by Martin

versus
305 of 332 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Use caution if using with Kill-A-Watt - only rated for 10 amps!
This product is fine if you are just using it to free up space on your surge protector or UPS that would otherwise be used by A/C adapters for cell phones, speakers, etc.

However, this cord is only rated for 10 amps. Unfortunately that is not disclosed anywhere in the promotional materials. This means you can only use it for electrical loads of up to 10x125...
Published on December 19, 2008 by Glenn


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

305 of 332 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Use caution if using with Kill-A-Watt - only rated for 10 amps!, December 19, 2008
By 
Glenn (New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This product is fine if you are just using it to free up space on your surge protector or UPS that would otherwise be used by A/C adapters for cell phones, speakers, etc.

However, this cord is only rated for 10 amps. Unfortunately that is not disclosed anywhere in the promotional materials. This means you can only use it for electrical loads of up to 10x125 volts = 1,250 watts. So if you were intending to use this with a Kill-A-Watt to measure, for example, how much electricity your refrigerator or microwave uses, well, don't do it because those appliances may draw more than 1250 watts and overheat the wire, possibly causing a fire.

What is needed for use with the Kill-A-Watt is an extension cord that is rated for 15 amps or more. That will allow safe transmission of the electricity over the extension cord without overloading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT as Described, June 17, 2013
By 
WWJ (Denver, CO, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The description includes "NEMA 5-15." This indicates it is rated as 15 Amps (and 1875 Watts at 125 Volts); the "15" in "NEMA 5-15" refers to the amperage rating. (See the chart at en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NEMA_connector#NEMA_nomenclature.) However, the item I received has a tag attached that says it is rated at only 10 Amps. See my two images.

To examine the cable it would seem to be well made and good quality. But the attached "10A" tag means the inferior quality is in the gauge of the conductors. The cable is stamped "18 AWG," i.e., 18 gauge, the maximum safe load of which in this type of three-conductor cable is 10 Amps. The specification "18 AWG" does appear in the description, but is not directly recognizable as implying the 10-Amp limit and is easy to overlook and/or disregard (as I did) in the presence of the immediately recognizable spec "NEMA 5-15" that indicates 15 Amps directly.

(NOTE: There's no simple chart for current capacity because there are many factors to be considered, including conductor material and gauge, insulation, ambient temperature, number of conductors bundled together, and application circumstances. Caution must be exercised in simplifying, but generally in typical household usage an 18 AWG three-conductor extension cord such as this has a rating of 10 Amps, as the attached tag says. For a rating of 15 Amps it would need to be at least 14 AWG. See, e.g.:
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Extension_cord#Restrictions
- ehs.gatech.edu/fire/extension_cords.pdf
- ul.com/global/eng/pages/offerings/perspectives/consumer/productsafety/cords/
- homerepair.about.com/od/exteriorhomerepair/ss/extension_cords_3.htm)

Given that the 1-ft cable was an Add-on Item that got me free shipping, a return isn't worth the hassle and I will find a suitable use. But I would recommend only as above qualified (10 Amps), and would NOT buy again. And I reprimand Amazon for its inadequate care in gathering product info and publishing accurate descriptions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lower Amperage Limit - 13 A, September 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This extension cord is only rated for 13A, so be cautious when plugging devices into it (most other extension cords & power strips are rated 15A). Other than that it is exactly as advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Performs the Job Intended, November 4, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased a "Kill-A-Watt EZ" and use this 3' extension cable in conjunction with that. For background, the Kill a Watt EZ measures power consumption of anything plugged into it and displays watts consumed and if you enter your local utility's cost per Kw it will tell you what it costs to operate on a per day, per month, per year basis. The only issue is that you plug it into the wall and then the electricity consuming device into it, after, you have to get down on your hands and knees to view the reading. Kind of a pain to do. In using the unit with the CTG 3' Outlet Saver Power Cord I find it much easier to use.

What can you say about a 3' extension cord...It's a well constructed cord for the money and does the job intended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for freeing up surge protector & UPS outlets, May 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I ordered two of these to free up outlets on my UPS that had transformers plugged into it. It seems to be a good quality extension cord, and it says made in China. But it is not one foot in length. When it said 1 foot, I was thinking the actual cord was 1 foot long(from plug to plug). It is not! The actual cord length, not measuring the plugs, is exactly nine inches long. Other than that, it serves its purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a plug!, November 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's a plug to end all plugs! I love the way it goes in and out of sockets! It carries electricity very nicely!

Go, plug, go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect for my needs, December 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I got a brand new tv and mounted it to the wall. the cord was just a bit short of being able to plug into my surge protector/ battery backup. got this. BINGO! perfect setup. ty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just need a little cord., January 12, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I decided to run the cables from my wall mounted tv through the wall only to find that the power cord for my tv was a little short.

So I got this, tapped them together with electrical tape so they didn't come apart, and finished up my project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These cables are good for the money., December 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Cables were a bit thicker than what I'd expected for the price. They look more that solid for extending the short power chord for my big screen TV. They been plugged in for a few months now. I couldn't find them at Lowe's or Home Depot, but these are better than they look in the picture. Seller was fast with delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works Great, October 27, 2012
By 
L. Adler (Boulder Colorado) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These short 1 ft extension cords are great and fit into tight spaces, on power strips and UPSs. Price is right. I can't seem to find these at Lowes or HomeDepot. Work as expected!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.