Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here are the specifications for this product
There seems to be a lot of confusion about eSATA cables, and not very good product descriptions. So let me list the actual specs for this cable.

- SATA III compatible
- Supports Transfer Speeds up to 6 Gpbs
- Backwards compatible with SATA I & II
- Type 1 to Type 1 connectors (1 x 7 Pin External Serial ATA)

Not all cables are alike...
Published on October 14, 2012 by Mark E

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A little stiff
These were a bit tough to route and don't like to bend that much. I was afraid of bending to the point of a "kink" that might damage the wire within.
Published 21 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here are the specifications for this product, October 14, 2012
By 
Mark E (Las Vegas, NV USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: C2G / Cables to Go 10220 External Serial ATA Cable (1 Meters, Black) (Personal Computers)
There seems to be a lot of confusion about eSATA cables, and not very good product descriptions. So let me list the actual specs for this cable.

- SATA III compatible
- Supports Transfer Speeds up to 6 Gpbs
- Backwards compatible with SATA I & II
- Type 1 to Type 1 connectors (1 x 7 Pin External Serial ATA)

Not all cables are alike. Some are better shielded, some have a better tolerance ratings, and some are built better and more robust. However, all eSATA cables can be used for SATA I, II, or III with virtually the same result; capable of utilizing the respective transfer speeds of any SATA connection.

Some product packaging may say SATA II or SATA III compatible, but this is really marketing and to inform buyers that they are getting a cable that can handle the speed of their SATA version. If you see package labeling that says SATA II compatible, this was likely printed before SATA III and a marketing effort to demonstrate that the cable could handle the fastest speeds (at that time).

I should also note that if you have a SATA 3 HDD, unless you're running multiple hard drives using RAID there really is no advantage using a SATA 3 HDD over a SATA 2 drive anyway. The max read/write speed on the average 7200 RPM HDD is about 150 MB/s if you're lucky (with some exceptions). SATA1 is 1.5 Gbits/sec, but accounting for the 8b/10b encoding overhead you're looking at an actual transfer rate of 150 MB/s for SATA1. Respectively, the actual transfer rate for SATA2 is about 300 MB/s, and SATA 3 peaks out at about 600 MB/s. So unless you are using a solid state drive/SSD (or RAID), virtually no HDD is going to utilize the full bandwidth of SATA2, let alone SATA3.

(Just a note, I just replaced my primary 7200 RPM HDD drive with a solid state, and the performance is incredible)

Hence, don't worry about the cable, just get one that is built well, with good shielding and solid connectors, and you'll be set and ready to go. Even if you're using this cable to connect to a solid state SATA3 drive you'll be fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is an eSATA 2 cable (3 Gbs), September 6, 2012
By 
Kodiak Biker (now California, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: C2G / Cables to Go 10220 External Serial ATA Cable (1 Meters, Black) (Personal Computers)
OK, its a quality eSATA cable 39 inches long (1 meter). The only markings on the sealed baggie were: SATA2-1M, Made in China, RoHS; so not clear if this is really a CTG part.The cable connector fit into my eSATA dock snugly, has metal shielding on each side of the connectors and is reasonably flexible (as one would expect for a SATA2 cable). No problem if your SATA HDD and/or eSATA connection run at 3 Gbs. But if you have a faster SATA 3 HDD (i.e., able to run at 6 GBs), then you want an eSATA6 cable for maximum speed and reliable data transfers. The SATA2 specification of this cable is not mentioned in the Amazon product description. With shipping costs it was about the same price as an eSATA6 1M cable on Amazon Prime [Sept 6, 2012 - there was a price increase since I purchased this item, so with shipping costs its a few dollars more than the eSATA6 cable below] (if you don't mind having a stiffer, less flexible eSATA cable). Would have given this 5 stars if supplier had put an accurate description on Amazon. Now I need to order one more cable, an eSATA6 like this one from StarTech:http://www.amazon.com/StarTech-3-Feet-Shielded-External-ESATA3/dp/B000ENUCR4/ref=pd_cp_e_2 (not yet tested by me so this is only a suggestion).

Last, but not least, remember that you should not use an eSATA to eSATA cable over 1M in length if you are going through an eSATA patch panel on your desktop PC (the one that has short cables inside the case that go directly from the eSATA panel jacks to SATA jacks on the motherboard). See the Wikipedia SATA and eSATA pages for more technical info. That site shows that if you have an eSATA HBA card on the PC (or a MAC), then a 2 meter eSATA cable is allowed. I hope some of you mark this review as helpful so it gets to the top where others can discover its a SATA2 (3Gbs), not SATA3 (6Gps) cable before making a decision on whether it meets their system requirements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No-nonsense cable, October 29, 2011
By 
Araxiel (south Florida) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: C2G / Cables to Go 10220 External Serial ATA Cable (1 Meters, Black) (Personal Computers)
Got this cable to attach a drive to my wife's machine to back up her HD so that in case the Win 7 Service pack 1 install again screws up her drive I can swap it. I use Casper 6.0, which is simply the best disk clonning software out there, and I have been building computers from scratch for over 20 years. Anyhow, this eSata cable is very sturdy. It transfers data quickly and is certainly well-built. There isn't really too much to add, except that Cables to Go cables have always worked well for me. Recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good eSATA cable, January 22, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: C2G / Cables to Go 10220 External Serial ATA Cable (1 Meters, Black) (Personal Computers)
These cables work just as expected, even under stressful loads.

They have a good feel to them and appear to stay firmly connected to the eSATA ports.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simple cable. It just works as expected., May 30, 2013
By 
F. Koh (San Diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: C2G / Cables to Go 10220 External Serial ATA Cable (1 Meters, Black) (Personal Computers)
It's a cable. Plug and go. Sturdy feel. Would buy again. (Why is there a minimum word limit on reviews?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fully functional, March 26, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: C2G / Cables to Go 10220 External Serial ATA Cable (1 Meters, Black) (Personal Computers)
works well; no problems, price was right. I fully recommend it. Not much more to say but extra words are required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice cable, February 14, 2013
By 
J. Siebenshuh (St. Charles, MO USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: C2G / Cables to Go 10220 External Serial ATA Cable (1 Meters, Black) (Personal Computers)
Worked fine with my SiI3726 port multiplier. I ended up looking for a longer cable so I could move the port multiplier to another location.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A little stiff, January 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: C2G / Cables to Go 10220 External Serial ATA Cable (1 Meters, Black) (Personal Computers)
These were a bit tough to route and don't like to bend that much. I was afraid of bending to the point of a "kink" that might damage the wire within.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great cable for a great price, December 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: C2G / Cables to Go 10220 External Serial ATA Cable (1 Meters, Black) (Personal Computers)
This cable is great, it is not too stiff but it isn't so flexible that it feels like it will break. The contacts on either end are good and tight, but not so tight that it will unplug itself easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Fit, December 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: C2G / Cables to Go 10220 External Serial ATA Cable (1 Meters, Black) (Personal Computers)
Came ahead of schedule and fit my purposes. Perfect fit to replace one that went bad. Others were way too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.