Customer Discussions > Clockwork Angels forum

CA is great!

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 28 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jun 11, 2012 7:12:57 PM PDT
I got the CD on Friday and I've pretty much been listening to it whenever I can since then. I'm not a music critic and I don't play one on T.V. so I'm not going to give a detailed track by track review like I have some special knowledge to impart. Besides it's all subjective anyway.

I can tell you that I've been a Rush fan since 1979 (my 8th grade year) and I have every one of their albums. Like most of their albums it takes me a few listens before I begin to "get it" and CA is no different, except that it is. CA seems to be a throwback in some ways to their earlier, more ambitious and more complex work, and yet they still lay down some serious grooves like their last few albums.

Clockwork Angels (the song) is maybe the best example of this. It took me maybe four or five listens to begin to really appreciate it, whereas Headlong Flight grabbed me from the first note. CA is more of a concept album than they've ever done before but the concept never gets in the way of the music. Each song stands (almost) alone both musically and lyrically.

It just amazes me that these guys who have been together for nearly 40 years can still make such great and original music and not stoop to self parody. If you are, or ever have been a fan of Rush, you should grab CA and give it a few listens from end to end. It's a pretty safe bet that you'll find yourself amply rewarded.

Posted on Jun 12, 2012 2:48:23 AM PDT
DFC says:
Not to mention "The Garden." Probably the best structured song they've ever written.

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 15, 2012 2:34:28 PM PDT
RF says:
What a great album and at this point in their career , that is truly amazing.

Posted on Jun 16, 2012 11:25:22 PM PDT