Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book and Practice Tests (Aced my ICND 1 Exam)
PROS:
- This is a good book to purchase and utilize for a final prep for the ICND1 exam.
- GREAT video on how to easily SUBNET!!!
- The included practice test were much harder than the Cisco exam, so if you master it you will have NO PROBLEM passing the ICND1 exam and receiving the CCENT certification.
- Great BOSON simulation exam questions...
Published on January 7, 2008 by P.Ricky93

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good enough to pass
I have read this book and I say that this book covers mostly all the things that you need to know about the exam but you have to have more resources or have a enough experience(which I have) to pass the exam. Not recommended if your a beginner in networking.
Published on August 30, 2009 by David Jason B. Dumlao


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book and Practice Tests (Aced my ICND 1 Exam), January 7, 2008
This review is from: CCENT/CCNA ICND1 Official Exam Certification Guide, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
PROS:
- This is a good book to purchase and utilize for a final prep for the ICND1 exam.
- GREAT video on how to easily SUBNET!!!
- The included practice test were much harder than the Cisco exam, so if you master it you will have NO PROBLEM passing the ICND1 exam and receiving the CCENT certification.
- Great BOSON simulation exam questions.
CONS:
- Some of the examples (figures) in the book use the wrong IP addresses vs. the actual IP addressing scheme
- Some of the test questions showed the wrong IP addresses
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CCENT 1 Exam, March 14, 2009
By 
This review is from: CCENT/CCNA ICND1 Official Exam Certification Guide, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
I just had to write a comment about this book and how it prepped me for the CCENT 1 exam. I passed it today with a 925 and I can honestly say that I am glad that I used this book in the process.
Ok, this book does have some errors like everyone has stated previously. However, I found the book to be too comprehensive at times. I supplemented this book with Todd Lammle's CCENT book and I am glad that I did. Where Wendell went off on some tangent, Todd was able to explain things much better. You really need both books to balance out the knowledge they are trying to give you.
The free Boson exam on the CD is really what did it for me. The simulations are tough and mind wrenching! I can tell you this, if you get that part down- the exam is a piece of cake. You won't be surprised by the format and the questions on the real exam, because they look like the Boson test questions.
Do not spend the money for Transcender- it was a waste of money prepping for this exam.
Get Todd Lammle's CCNA book and Cisco's CCENT/CCNA ICND2 book to study for the CCNA exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CCENT/CCNA ICND1 Official Exam Certification Guide, December 9, 2007
By 
This review is from: CCENT/CCNA ICND1 Official Exam Certification Guide, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
It appears that Cisco is trying to make the the uphill certification process a little easier by offering rewards along the way. Instead of passing a more rigorous CCNA exam you can now take the ICND 1 exam and receive a certificate for your efforts. The Cisco CCENT (Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician) certification is the new entry-level networking certification and the required exam is 640-822 ICND1 - Interconnecting Cisco Networking Devices Part 1. To all intents the ICND1 exam replaces the old INTRO exam.

I started reading the CCENT/CCNA ICND1 Official Exam Certification Guide a few weeks ago and I must say that Wendell Odom consistently produces good work. I enjoyed the old INTRO and ICND books also written by the same author. Wendell Odom does a great job of explaining and illustrating fundamental networking concepts to readers at any level.There are a few errors in the study guide , but not enough to detract from the overall usefulness of the book.

The book is broken into 6 parts, 18 Chapters and a grand total of 641 pages. Wireless LANs and Network Security are new on the syllabus.ISDN is gone but now DSL and Cable are on the WAN technologies chapter. The CD included with the book has an excellent test bank from Boson. A quick word about the CD, it installs the Boson exam environment and a free Boson account is required to activate the exam environment. This was new to me. The last time I used a Boson test I did not have to go through that process. The bonus DVD has 8 videos explaining the ins and outs of subnetting.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and look forward to reading more material from Wendell Odom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Same material as used in Cisco training, April 3, 2008
By 
G. Jimenez (Portland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CCENT/CCNA ICND1 Official Exam Certification Guide, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
I bought this book right before taking Cisco CCNA training. This book is identical to the material they give you in the ICND1 course. The benefit of taking the class is that a good instructor will give you additional information above and beyond what's in the material including do's and don'ts. Also, you have lab material that you have to do which is not available in the book. Be aware, however, that the material taught in the CCNA course (and thus this book) may not cover 100% of what's on the exam. That's because Cisco does not allow the people that write the exam and the people that write the study material to collaborate!! This means that even if you take the class you'll want to pick up other CCNA material such as exam cram guides, flashcards, and/or network simulation software. I haven't take the exam yet but I'm told Cisco has made the 640-822 exam even more difficult in order to make the CCNA a better regarded certification and have introduced a lower-level CCENT certification for Entry-level people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Thorough ICND1 Book, October 9, 2008
By 
Scott Bowden (Atlanta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CCENT/CCNA ICND1 Official Exam Certification Guide, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
This is a very good book for the aspiring CCNA. I finished reading through this book, taking the included practice exams and passed the ICND1 on the first try! The subnetting videos are very helpful, but you MUST practice. Just understanding the concept is not good enough for the exam, as you must be able to do subnetting QUICKLY or you will run out of time. The "Do I know this already?" quizzes are helpful as well for saving time. I will add that I purchased a couple of used routers (2600) and switches (2950) off eBay to practice on before taking the exam and that was helpful as well. I have ZERO industry experience in Cisco, and still felt very comfortable taking the exam with just these resources. Nice job by Wendell Odom!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Signifcant Information well presented, March 20, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CCENT/CCNA ICND1 Official Exam Certification Guide, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
I found Odom's new release to be quite thorough and informative. As a CTAI I am always looking for more succinct and well-written works. This book bridges and fills in gaps in learning and the advance of the networking industry. After 10 years of Cisco instruction I have seen quite a number of efforts. This book succeeds. The media included is quite useful and allows test preparation and practical application of information learned. The connection to certification practice also enables greater reach for a truly motivated student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good primary book for the ICND1 exam. DOWNLOAD THE ERRATA!, October 21, 2009
By 
WARPed "WARPed" (FL, USA (Brit Expat)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CCENT/CCNA ICND1 Official Exam Certification Guide, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
Thoroughly recommend this book as part of self study towards the ICND CCENT exam. I am already MCSE certified and have 10 years of IT experience with Desktops and Servers (no Cisco equipment) which I am sure helped, however I feel this book was worded well enough to ensure people of all abilities would be capable of passing the exam. Other materials I used as additional reading included the Exam Cram CCNA Practice Questions (Exam 640-802) (3rd Edition) book and the Cisco Press CCNA Portable Command Guide (2nd Edition) although I am confident I would have passed if I didn't have them. There were a few questions in the exam that the book did not cover including types of NAT (static, dynamic, overload) and configuration of Frame Relay, for which the book only touches the concepts.

The book includes good examples of command use and Switch/Router responses but for the best experience I suggest the use of some kind of simulator or better still go and buy some switches and routers on eBay to create your own lab to play with (what I did). This was also invaluable.

The book included a Boson exam prep test which was also very helpful.

I would have given the book 5 stars but as mentioned the exam did ask questions about some areas that the book did not cover. The extra exam materials I used helped to highlight this allowing me to use internet resources to cover some of those holes. Finally the other reason for a lost star is the number of small mistakes in the text. Ensure you go to the Cisco Press website and download the Errata. This is very important!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good enough to pass, August 30, 2009
This review is from: CCENT/CCNA ICND1 Official Exam Certification Guide, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
I have read this book and I say that this book covers mostly all the things that you need to know about the exam but you have to have more resources or have a enough experience(which I have) to pass the exam. Not recommended if your a beginner in networking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide by a Certified CCIE., May 16, 2008
This review is from: CCENT/CCNA ICND1 Official Exam Certification Guide, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
This is an awesome book. Mr. Odom explains everything in a very simple approach. Leaving you with a good understanding of the material. The appendices are very helpful and the included Boson test engine finishes your preparation for the test. Although there were several errors on the Boson test engine but I cannot complain: The test engine is a freebie and the book teaches well enough to recognize these mistakes. Buy this book, for the main reason that it is written by one of the first CCIEs and knows his craft. Most other books are not written by CCIEs. This is important to me. Great job Mr. Odom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Utilize this guide to conquer the new CCENT / CCNA ICND1 certification exams!, December 6, 2007
This review is from: CCENT/CCNA ICND1 Official Exam Certification Guide, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
The CCENT / CCNA ICND1 Official Exam Certification Guide: Second Edition, by Wendell Odom is published by Cisco Press.

This book offers the reader a comprehensive study guide to assist the candidate in preparing for the new CCENT exam, as well as for the CCNA certification.

In June 2007, Cisco announced the Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician (CCENT) certification to be the first entry-level Cisco certification that will be offered to computer professionals seeking Cisco credentials. The exam number is: ICND1 (640-822). The candidate can also elect to utilize this reference to study for the CCNA exam. Although the author has written other study guides that will go more in-depth on each specific objective for the CCNA certification, this book covers much of the material contained on the ICND1 exam. It is worthwhile to note that by passing the CCENT exam, the candidate will also have to pass the ICND2 test (640-816) in order to become a CCNA certified professional.

This study guide focuses on the CCENT / CCNA ICND1 content. As in all of Mr. Odom's study guides and reference materials, the concepts are presented in a pyramid process. The objectives that are conveyed to the reader are the building blocks to the next chapter. The reader can skip chapters by taking the "Do I Know This Already?" Quiz. If the reader prefers, they can read through all the chapters and gain a full understanding of the content and take the quizzes at the end of each section. There are seven parts of the book, but only five of them are the main content of the book. The book starts with the basic networking fundamentals then quickly jumps into LAN switching, IP Routing, Wide-Area Networks and the last part is the Final preparation for the exam. The remaining two parts are the appendixes and the CD contents.

The study guide contains two extremely useful compact discs that will enhance the reader's experience and reinforce the study guides material. The first CD contains CCNA Subnetting presentations and a free video from the CCNA Video Mentor study resource. If you are interested in additional videos and subject matter, please refer to ISBN 1-58720-168-2, by Mr. Odom.

The second CD in the book is one of the most comprehensive materials that I have seen thus far included in any study guide. The CD has the following contents: Cisco Press Support, Registration, and Updates; Exam engine; Electronic version of the Cisco Press book in PDF format, Printable appendices, Cisco Press Samples, and additional practice exams. Also, there is a binary game that the student can play to both entertain and enhance the reader's knowledge.

Overall, I found this certification guide one of the best that I have reviewed thus far. The CCENT, as well as, the CCNA candidate will find these resources extremely useful to both prepare and utilize as a reference for years to come. I give these materials 4 out of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

CCENT/CCNA ICND1 Official Exam Certification Guide, 2nd Edition
CCENT/CCNA ICND1 Official Exam Certification Guide, 2nd Edition by Wendell Odom (Hardcover - September 15, 2007)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.