Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DELICIOUS!!
Awesomeness. I read the monthly issues of Chew, but I had to get this hardcover anyway. I love the series, and if you haven't checked it out, you're missing one of the best and funniest stories the comic medium can tell.

Chew blends food-centric cop drama with absurd comic sci-fi and cannibalism. Tony Chu is an agent for the FDA, the most important and...
Published on August 27, 2010 by Dusty Bottoms is Dead & Gone

versus
0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could not get interested in this book.
I read this from front to back, the whole time hoping I could get into the book. But by the end I realized the story was not interesting at all and the art was unattractive for me. Not a book for me at all.
Published 10 months ago by Justin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DELICIOUS!!, August 27, 2010
This review is from: CHEW Omnivore Edition, Vol. 1 (Hardcover)
Awesomeness. I read the monthly issues of Chew, but I had to get this hardcover anyway. I love the series, and if you haven't checked it out, you're missing one of the best and funniest stories the comic medium can tell.

Chew blends food-centric cop drama with absurd comic sci-fi and cannibalism. Tony Chu is an agent for the FDA, the most important and powerful government agency, post the avian flu pandemic, which led to the ban and large-scale eradication of chicken and other edible foul. He posseses extra-censory powers based on things he ingests called cibopathy. He eats some pretty gross things to solve crimes and mysteries, but don't let his cibopathic abilities fool you, Tony does plenty of real detective work. As the story moves along at a sort of slow-burn pace, the much larger mystery about the bird flu conspiracy begins to unravel, and it's safe to anticipate many other surprises along the way.

The series has loads to offer, including awesome streamlined animated style artwork, that helps set the comedic tone and fits CHEW like a latex glove. Rob Guillory is one of the most skilled and creative artists in the comic scene today, and in many ways his style goes without comparison. The story's content isn't always pretty, and the art allows the reader to squirm and split their side at the same time. Tony's facial expressions after eating something particularly gross are always priceless, and every page is worth second and third looks to enjoy all the little hidden jokes.

I could say a lot about CHEW, that you've probably already heard:
It's fantastically crafted in every way. It's absolutely hilarious. Everything about it is fresh and original. The characters are unique, intriguing and most could probably have a comic series of their own. There's nothing else like it.

What's important about the Omnivore Hardcover Edition is it's totally worth owning. There is no dust jacket, instead they put the art right on the cover, which I think looks snazzy. The pages are bigger than the ones in the monthly series, and they're much thicker too. There's some great extra-material such as the original pitch for CHEW, some history behind Layman and Guillory's collaboration, early experimental sketches, a rough-draft version of the intro page showcasing an alternate darker style for the artwork, and a few other goodies too.

Also, due to the comic's unexpected but totally merited success, Layman, Guillory and Image Comics have decided to extend the length of the series from the original plan for 25-30 issues to somewhere around 60, which means there will be plenty more of these Omivore Editions to look forward to. Yeah!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original Flavor, August 29, 2010
By 
Joseph Carlin (Seguin, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CHEW Omnivore Edition, Vol. 1 (Hardcover)
Chew is original, exciting and dynamic. It is definitely not a comic you buy for your 8 year old nephew, but its much funnier than it is offensive. This edgy comic will keep you up laughing, and honestly you won't be able to put it down if you are anything like me (the gross moments are more over the top and interesting than they are disgusting).

On the quality of the book itself: definitely go for the omnivore edition over the paperback. The book will last much longer (this is going to be one you reread). Image comics does a great job making quality hardback books. My "Invincible" ultimate collection books have been borrowed and reread so many times and don't show any sign of wear to the binding. This book is worth having in hard back, especially if you want to start making a decent comic book library for yourself.

You can never go wrong in investing in quality for an Eisner award winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, January 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CHEW Omnivore Edition, Vol. 1 (Hardcover)
Excellently bound book, and the story and art is phenomenal.

It's dark and gritty but still very fun without being completely disgusting.

Highly recommend this series and this collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent story, January 1, 2013
This review is from: CHEW Omnivore Edition, Vol. 1 (Hardcover)
The deserved winner of multiple Eisner Awards (best new series of 2010, best series of 2011), I was both surprised and delighted with the first 10 issues of Chew. The art is very good, the dialogue is funny w/o being campy, the characters motivations are realistic and the story moves swiftly.

Set a few years after the Bird Flu has wiped out tens of millions of people around the world, Tony Chu is a detective who can learn the history of things (food, people) by ingesting them. He prefers not to eat anything other than beets (because he can't determine their history), but by the 2nd issue he is working for the FDA (the most powerful crime fighting organization in America now that chicken has been banned post-bird flu).

He has a partner, a crazy ex-partner, a jerk for a boss, a potential love interest, a famous chef brother (who loves chicken and has declared that the banning of chicken by the US Government was both fascist and motivated by money) and a host of people who want him dead. It's a great cop story with a number of never-seen-before twists.

A great, great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The characters and world of Chew are an absolute joy to discover and spend time with, December 22, 2010
This review is from: CHEW Omnivore Edition, Vol. 1 (Hardcover)
Detective Tony Chu is a cibopath, which means he gets psychic impressions from the food he eats. He can see how a piece of fruit was cultivated and what pesticides were used, or how the cows that became his hamburgers were slaughtered. Other times, his powers flash onto things far more heinous. Like a bowl of chicken soup that leads him to a serial killer who has targeted young women and hitchhikers across the country and uses their remains to spice up his dishes. Recruited by the FDA, now America's largest crime fighting agency after an outbreak of avian bird flu killed over 100 million people worldwide and prompted the U.S. to ban poultry, Chu is forced to use his unconventional gift to solve grisly, baffling crimes.

John Layman writes Chew with a healthy dose of humor, never getting mired down in the dark taboos that lie at the heart of this book. His mission, first and foremost, is to make the book entertaining. Rob Guillory's cartoony style assists in setting the tone for the book, giving it an upbeat, colorful aesthetic. Although the heart of the book is more Silence of the Lambs, visually it's more akin to Toy Story, and this animated appearance really helps to sell the tone and fun-factor of the book. Although it's gory and horrifying, it's never offputting, thanks to the illustrations.

Chew is a wildly entertaining work, rife with black humor and disgustingly fun scenarios. Equal measures police-thriller, sci-fi, horror, and comedy, this genre-blending book manages to throw in every ingredient from the kitchen pantry. You've got serial killers, Russian spies, illegal chicken dinner shacks, a government conspiracy (possibly involving extraterrestrials for good measure), cyborg cops, cannibals, and foodies. If these over-the-top ingredients don't make you the least bit curious, then you are missing out on one of the most original and fresh comic series to come around.

Layman slowly introduces his multiple concepts, delicately layering them to create a deeper over-arching construct to hang the plot from. In drafting this world without chicken, he's populated it with several memorable and enjoyable characters. Tony Chu is a terrific guide through these adventures, as he's often thrust into awful situations that produce a nuanced tension of both curdled disgust and surprising laughs. Chu's FDA recruiter, Mason Savoy, is a behemoth whose vocabulary and ferocity is as considerable as his mass. John Colby, Chu's partner, is described on several occasions as being the worst person alive, as he often has a wry, bigoted observation and is quick to anger, but the two have an infectious friendship.

This oversized hardcover edition collects the first two story arcs, "Taster's Choice" and "International Flavor," along with some neat bonus materials that help satisfy the cravings for more. In addition to the usual cover gallery, there are concept art and character sketches, and some unused promo materials. The best addition, though, is Layman's original series pitch outlining a few ideas for the overall story of Chew and its characters. Rather than spoiling what will come, it is instead a small appetizer for future servings.

The characters and world of Chew are an absolute joy to discover and spend time with, and the stories are just downright unique in their fusion of food, crime, and conspiracy. It's an exhilarating, heady stew of ideas and genres, blended together to create a daring new entrée--a book that is so over-the-top in its delivery and so subversive in its black, situational humor that it's impossible to not be charmed by it.

-- Michael Hicks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, March 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CHEW Omnivore Edition, Vol. 1 (Hardcover)
My son loves it , bought it for his birthday. Said it was the best gift ever. He loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best new comic IP I've come across in years, November 24, 2013
This review is from: CHEW Omnivore Edition, Vol. 1 (Hardcover)
Easily the best series I've read in years. The art is awesome: I wasn't sure what it was until my wife pointed it out, but it reminds me of work by Jhonen Vasquez (Invader Zim, Johnny the Homicidal Maniac, Squee) and Eastman/Laird (Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles). And the story is a page-turner: the premise is both unique and hysterical, the characters are interesting, and I'm constantly wondering "what the hell comes next?".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chewasome!, October 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CHEW Omnivore Edition, Vol. 1 (Hardcover)
awesome, funny and the most incredible comic i have read in ages
gotta buy vol.2 now!
chew is a must for every comic lover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great comic, December 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CHEW Omnivore Edition, Vol. 1 (Hardcover)
This is a great way to get started on a great comic. If you like colorful and stylized art, Rob Guillory is the man for you. The story is weird but you get used to it pretty quickly. It's funny, sometimes silly, and always entertaining. I'd recommend it to anyone with a strong enough stomach to take the main plot (the main character can get psychic readings from anything he eats, including people). Geared toward an older teen/adult audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Give it a shot, you won't be disappointed, September 16, 2012
This review is from: CHEW Omnivore Edition, Vol. 1 (Hardcover)
After quite a few times of amazon recommending this to me, I finally decided to give it a shot. It want at all what I expected, it was awesome! What originally threw me off was the plot of the whole thing, kinda like y the last man mixed with x files with some food channel tossed in for good measure, but it doesn't disappoint. It was actually a truely original storyline that I promise will never be duplicated. It's well written, and the artis a nice change to the same old things you see in every other title. Just give it a shot, it's worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7baa1e0)

This product

CHEW Omnivore Edition, Vol. 1
CHEW Omnivore Edition, Vol. 1 by John Layman (Hardcover - August 24, 2010)
$34.99 $26.52
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.