Customer Reviews


172 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculous, silly, and very, very, funny
Make me laugh as much as this film and you get four stars at least, hands down. You figure; you've got a couple of dolls possessed by murderous spirits and who somehow go around murdering people for fun and right away you can forget all about suspension of disbelief. Anything is okay here, since the premise is so absurd. This is not a horror film, it is primarily a...
Published on June 2, 2005 by Christine Menendez

versus
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chucky and Tiffany's Androgynous Child
Continuing from Bride of Chucky... Tiffany has given birth to a strange looking razor tooth baby named Sh*thead. The seed is kidnapped by a british ventriloquist and forced to compete in ventriloquism contests in England. Sh*thead looks like a dead ringer for David Bowie in his Ziggy Stardust days. He has a kind soul and is nothing like his parents.

As each...
Published on February 2, 2006 by Amy Lynn


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chucky and Tiffany's Androgynous Child, February 2, 2006
By 
Amy Lynn (Pennsylvania United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Continuing from Bride of Chucky... Tiffany has given birth to a strange looking razor tooth baby named Sh*thead. The seed is kidnapped by a british ventriloquist and forced to compete in ventriloquism contests in England. Sh*thead looks like a dead ringer for David Bowie in his Ziggy Stardust days. He has a kind soul and is nothing like his parents.

As each day passes hes wondering where his parents are and dreaming of meeting them. Soon enough he manages to escape and ends up in America. He makes it to the set of the movie where Tiffany and Chucky are filming a movie. He reads the voodoo chant words on his necklace and manages to bring his parents back to life.

Chucky and Tiffany cant tell what their child is so they take off his pants to reveal a barbie-like crotch. Tiffany wants a girl so she names her Glenda and Chucky wants a boy so he names him Glen. If you ask me id say its more like a boy. But Tiffany and Chucky continue to argue over it throughout the movie. To the suprise of Glen/Glenda his parents are killers , they try to do whats best for Glen/Glenda but its hard to stop killing, especially for Chucky. Papa Chucky wants to turn his son into a killer but Tiffany wants to stop the killing for her son/daughters best interest.

Overall, its a strange funny film more than scary. The movies in the series just get more weird by the years. I wonder what they'll think of next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculous, silly, and very, very, funny, June 2, 2005
By 
Christine Menendez (St. Andreu de Llavaneres, Barcelona Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Make me laugh as much as this film and you get four stars at least, hands down. You figure; you've got a couple of dolls possessed by murderous spirits and who somehow go around murdering people for fun and right away you can forget all about suspension of disbelief. Anything is okay here, since the premise is so absurd. This is not a horror film, it is primarily a comedy with a bit of blood. And Jennifer Tilly is hysterical as herself playing the screen idea of herself: on a diet, sneaking candy bars, ready to play a sexy version of the Virgin Mary for a film done by Rapper Redman. It is so good to see a gorgeous woman on screen who doesn't look like she's starving to death.

And, oh, yeah, the special effects are incredible. All done with puppets, not CGI. Very impressive. For this alone, all you guys out there studying film, this film is worthwhile.

Just let me put it this way: if you liked the Gremlin films, this one is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite Funny, Gruesome, Emphassis on the Second One, November 15, 2004
A Kid's Review
Bloody, gory, sex filled, and quite hilarious. Seed of Chucky was a great moie all around. After i saw the movie, i went to a restaurant were a hobo broke inn to my car (i was on a road trip, i actually still am. i'm writing this in the new york hilton). this was #1 on my movie road trip list, where mee and my friend bill are going to go across america and see all of the movies that we feel the need to see. i'm really not 13, but i don't have an sn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprised, February 10, 2005
By 
With a series that has moved further and further from horror roots and into severe camp, I wondered if I would like this movie. After all, the director/writer had to know that this whole idea is ludicrous. Thankfully, this movie did not disappoint me because it knew it was being campy and never once took itself seriously.

From the very beginning, the audience knows not to take the movie too seriously. When the son of Chucky and Tiffany does not know if he is a boy or a girl (Glen or a Glenda), the movie makes homage to Ed Wood (fabuously horrible director, rated worst director ever). By incorporating cult director John Waters as a sleazy reporter looking to score, this campy feeling is firmly established. I honestly laughed most of the way through the movie in disbelief that this was actually happening.

The best parts deal with Chucky and Tiffany's concern over raising Glend/a in a violent family. Tiffany decides that it's time to stop the killing and try and be a normal family so as to not screw up their genderly confused child. This involves calling a 12 step hotline (she's addicted to killing), having "little slips" and realizing that Rome was not built in a day.

If anything in the previous paragraphs makes you smirk or even chuckle, or if you find humor when movies are self-referential in their humor, then you will find this movie to be very funny. You can't take it seriously so don't even try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who's your daddy?, May 10, 2005
By 
Matthew King (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Whenever a horror film involves killer dolls, a high camp factor is sure to ensue. However, the first three Chucky films (then known as Child’s play) actually were semi-serious horror films. Humor and camp were always present but were still a background drop to what were essentially still horror films meant to give the viewer some jolts. After the 3rd Child’s Play, a mediocre effort at best, the franchise seemed ready to die a slow death. Director Ronny Yu’s film Bride of Chucky, the fourth in the franchise, changed all of that. Yu injected his film with atmosphere, style and outrageous humor that reinvigorated the franchise. The film added another doll, a female lover companion to chucky and made these dolls the centerpiece of the film, instead of the first 3 where Chucky was a seldom-seen spooky doll that only appeared at the most inadvertent moments. The fifth film in this series, “Seed of Chucky” goes one step above Yu’s film to pump the camp factor thousandfold. It’s an amusing entry however I’m convinced after watching Seed of Chucky that the franchise will never be able to recover from the ridicule certain to be bestowed upon it by genre fans.

Anyone who saw Bride of Chucky will never forget the site of dolls Chucky and Tiffany getting down and doing the nasty, a graphic scene that was depicted in all of its plastic glory. Seed of Chucky introduces us to the offspring of this unholy mating, a sex-less, compassionate and confused doll named Glenda. In the movie’s prelude Glenda is stuck in Glastonbury, England working as a puppet ventriloquist for an ingrate slavemaster. One night while in his cage, he sees a show about Chucky and his bride on T.V. and immediately recognizes them as what must be his parents. He manages to flee his cage and flies to Hollywood to meet his parents. His parents, of course are long asleep, but he manages to reawaken them by reticing the famous Chucky voodoo prayer. Soon, Chucky and Tiffany are awake again and eagerly slaying their way through Tinseltown. Their goal this time is for Chucky to enter the body of film producer/rapper Redman and for Tiffany to enter the body of actress Jennifer Tilly (she of the monstrous bosom).

The good news about Seed of Chucky is that many of the same players return namely good ol’ Brad Dourif as the voice of the Chuckster and Jennifer Tilly as herself/Tiffany. However Ronny Yu is no longer at the director’s chair, now replaced with Don Mancini. Mancini, I must say probably has no respect for this franchise whatsoever or has forgotten what has made it so successful in the first place. This franchise used to consist of horror films not straight comedy spoofs! This entry veers into such a ridiculous amount of camp and self-referentiality it can no longer be considered horror. We get Chucky and Tiffany with their own TV shows, endless cracks about Jennifer Tilly’s career, countless gags about other famous celebrities such as Martha Stewart, etc. If anything, this film reminded me of Broken Lizard’s Club Dread or Scary Movie rather than any other entry in the chucky series.

What I did enjoy was the very generous amounts of gore. If anything this film had more gore than any other entry of the series, and that is its only saving grace to horror film fans. Sadly, Seed of Chucky is not nearly as stylish or as good a film as Bride of Chucky, which had a high camp/laugh factor but that at least never completely abandoned the horror spirit. Seed of Chucky has a ludicrous storyline, little suspense and is not in the least bit scary. Still, I’d be lying if I said it’s not downright funny. I busted my gut laughing several times and if you have the least bit of a sense of humor so will you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Glen Or Glenda?", June 27, 2005
By 
M. Hencke "m hencke" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is not a film you can review in any normal sort of way. Its trash sure...But its high quality trash don't be fooled. If you're in any way a fan of the Chucky series (particularly Bride Of Chucky) you're going to love this film. The son character alone is worth the price of admission. Billy Boyd did a terrific job doing the voice of that character. And Jennifer Tilly really stepped up to the plate in this one poking fun at herself to the point it actually touches upon comic genius. The dynamic between the family Tiffany, Chucky, Glen...Or is it Glenda? will hold your attention throughout. And the casting of John Waters in the film was a particularly inspired choice. For what it is I found it extremely entertaining, imaginative and refereshingly over the top. But b-movie haters beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jennifer Tilly plays ... Jennifer Tilly, March 16, 2006
I'm totally in love with the Chucky films now, not so much the earlier ones, but the later ones are soooo funny! I've already had to buy my own copy of Bride Of Chucky, and now I want my own copy of this! It's so good! The thing about Bride & Seed of Chucky, is that they are stand alone films - you only need to have a basic knowledge of the previous 3 films.

It carries on from Bride Of Chucky, with the 'seed of Chucky' fertilising an egg, and a child coming to life. Then it all goes haywire, and I had difficulty trying to figure out what on earth was going on! :) Thankfully, I didn't open my mouth & ask, cos I eventually figured it out. There's actually a film being made about Chucky & Tiffany, with new dolls (as you remember they were basically destroyed at the end of Bride), and Jennifer Tilly is in the film, but actually playing Jennifer Tilly. It all gets very confusing, cos I thought they'd actually managed to bring back Jennifer Tilly playing Tiffany, but they hadn't.

The child doll that was born, I've read many reviews saying that it looks like an early David Bowie - no it doesn't!!! Can no one see the resemblence between Glen(da), and the characters in Corpse Bride? The hollowed cheekbones (grrrr), and dark shadowed eyes?

And how refreshing is it to see an actress like Jennifer Tilly not starving herself to death and being proud enough to flaunt her curves? She's a gorgeous gal (she's 47!), and although you're quite often distracted by her cleavage, she's a welcome change to many other Hollywood stars with no cleavage, and all bony. She was apparently trying to lose weight for this film, but just in case she didn't, she got a few 'fat' jokes written in. She also mocks her voice and her behaviour. (And she has dark hair in this too!)

There are a lot of in jokes & celebrity references in this, most of which I probably missed, but there are a couple I got. There are some references to one of Jennifer's other films, Bound, which I haven't seen, and she talks about her 'special' relationship with her other costar. There's a very, very good lookalike of Britney Spears in this, who Chucky drives off the road, and then says "Ooops, I did it again!" Jennifer talks frequently about Julia Roberts stealing all the good roles, and about how she could have done a better job of Erin Brockovich, and not needed a wonderbra. She also mentions Anna Nicole Smith. John Waters appears, as a paparazzi, and dies a very unusual death. Other references include Psycho, Shining ("I can't think of a thing to say"), Rosemary's Baby, and I spotted a hint of Pinocchio? There's references to Martha Stewart as well, but there was a brief reference to her in the previous film. There are plenty of other references, you'll have great fun spotting them.

Hannah Spearritt also appears, in one of her major film roles, since S Club 7 split up (who I loved by the way, and I still have all their albums!), and although she does end up getting killed off, she is a breath of fresh air, as a star who is also not afraid of her body.

I'm still after my Tiffany doll, but so far, no such luck. Tiffany & Chucky make such a cute couple in this, they're so sweet together.

Who else thinks there will be at least one more Chucky? If I can do my maths correct (ha!), there's a 20th anniversary coming up soon, so maybe a new film especially for that. I hope so, cos I'm officially loving these films now. I'm sure there's a couple of references I've missed too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sorry Jack...Chucky's Back!, June 15, 2005
As a huge fan of Chucky and the "Child's Play" franchise, my expectations were considerably huge for this sequel, which brings back Chucky and Tiffany from "Bride of Chucky" and adds a gender confused son to the mix. I'm sure this all sounded good on paper, with in-jokes, Chucky's maniacal demeanor, and Hollywood setting, but the end result doesn't quite measure up. For starters, this is more of a comedy than a horror film...granted, its understood the magic of the original "Child's Play" (which still plays like a wonderful creepfest) could not be recaptured, and the slant would be towards comedy after BOC, but at least that film still featured some creepy moments amid the comedy. "Seed" would have benefitted from some decent stalking scenes or suspense set-pieces (the opening scene comes very close, but thats it). Jennifer Tilly is a wonderful comedienne, but here she seems more fatigued than game. Casting Redman is yet another disastrous trend Hollywood is insistent on; casting rap stars with no acting ability to draw in the hip-hop crowd, and therefore coming across as blindingly amateurish (see the crowning achievement in bad acting, Busta Rhymes in "Halloween Resurrection"). On the plus side, Chucky remains a wonderfully entertaining villian; I'd pay to watch him recite the phone book. John Waters (a self proclaimed huge Chucky fan) shows up to add some pizzazz. And the DVD is everything a Chucky fan could wish for: terrific audio commentaries from director Don Mancini and Tilly; behind the scenes featurettes; Chucky and Tiffany interviews; and specially made features just for the disc (make sure to get the unrated version of this). Obviously, any fan of the series needs to see this film, but ironically serious fans are the most likely to see the shortcomings of this installment...let's hope Chucky 6 brings back the right mix of laughs and chills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like Father, Like....?, June 8, 2005
Coming 6 years after the incredibly fun and refrshing "Bride Of Chucky", which totally reinvented the series and was the most stylish ride thus far in the adventures of killer doll Chucky, 'Seed' fails to measure up to the visually funky and entertaining 1998 sequel. While this latest screamfest is definitley Chucky's sickest and twisted entry yet, there is something about it that's just not there. Something that keeps it from giving 'Bride' a run for it's money. That being said, it's still crazy, fun, and off the wall escapism. 'Seed' is a full blown self referential, movie within a movie, satire. This type of genre has been done to death here lately, but it's hilarious with what they do. Chucky and his bride Tiffany are resurrected once again by a living doll like themselves. Their child. The one that was born at the end of 'Bride'. Chucky has his boy Glen, and Tiffany think it's her girl, Glenda(get it?). Whatever the kid is, it looks like Howdy Doody and Michael Myers had a love child. Chuck and Tiff and the offspring find themselves in Hollywood, where actress Jennifer Tilly(who voices Tiffany)is appearing in a new movie being made about the devilish dolls. This sets in motion the fiendish twosome's plan to take over Tilly's body, and use her as a host mother to birth a human baby to give Glen(or Glenda)a real sex once and for all. Rapper Redman, also playing himself, gets into the mix as Tilly romances him for a part in his upcoming film about the Virgin Mary. What?, Method Man too busy?. Written by Don Mancini(who wrote the others)and directed by him for the first time, 'Seed', which was filmed in Romania, has an interesting look, but it's nowhere near as arresting as Ronny Yu's for 'Bride'. Still, as a first time director, he does an admirable job. Tilly, while she is supposed to be herself, is playing more of a character who just happens to be Jennifer Tilly. Some of the digs they get in at her own expense are hilarious and prove what a great trooper she really is. The astonishingly adorable Hannah Spearitt(of "S Club 7" fame)also stars as Joan, Tilly's assistant. Brad Douriff returns as the voice of Chucky(and who else could do it?), while The Lord Of The Rings' Billy Boyd voices Glen/Glenda. The high priest of camp, John Waters, has a brief appearance as a sleazy tabloid reporter. The film makes good use of it's inside jokes and personal jabs, and most of them are pretty funny. Chucky and Tiffany are interesting, but it's obvious that they, especially Chucky, are played for fun and high camp, since he has lost that creepy horror doll schtick a long time ago. The movie's theme of family strife is quite interestingly done, as Glen/Glenda figures out who he is, what he is, and how he, and he in his family, fits into the world. Quite an interesting piece of plot for a part 5 of a slashr series. Mancini himself said the movie is taking on other films like "Ordinary People". The extra features keep referring to Chucky doing this for 20 years. I believe the original came out in 1988, so it's 17 years. Someone's math is off. The movie is short and clever in places, and it doesn't make one's mind wander off. Although it would of been better if so much of it didn't take place in Tilly's house. The ending is quite off it's rocker, and a part 6 is already in the planning stages. After this ending, I can only imagine what sick place Mancini will take us next in the Chucky legacy. I think in the end, it's self referntial style and plain craziness just flies off the rails and it caves in on itself. All in all, it looks pretty good, and has some great comedic lines, but does not rise to the level of 'Bride'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very very strange!, August 2, 2005
there are the 2 killer dolls from before and now they have a child they call glen and glenda as its not properly equipped to make a definate decision.chucky wants to turn him into a psycho killer like himself and tiffany wants to turn her into martha stewart.tiffany even tries the 12 step program to try and quit killing.this family is very dysfunctional and demented,to say the very least.redman is in it and the chick from bride of chucky that put herself into tiffany.[im not sure how].even redman,martha stewart and britney spears show up,since they do live in hollywood now.the real problem comes when chuckys new body is that of a chaufuer.this leads to much family turmoil.its very strange and very demented to watch but exquisitely unique.check it out .its a one of a kind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

CHILDS PLAY:SEED OF CHUCKY
Used & New from: $2.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.