The CIA's Greatest Hits (Real Story) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$3.60
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Eligible for *FREE* super saver shipping. Amazon customer service with delivery tracking. A book that has been read but is in good condition. Very minimal damage to the cover including scuff marks, or very small tears. Binding has minimal wear, and some pages show signs of use. Occasionally these may be former library books. CD may NOT be included!
Access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The CIA's Greatest Hits (The Real Story Series) Paperback – July 1, 2002

ISBN-13: 978-1878825308 ISBN-10: 1878825305

Used
Price: $3.60
16 New from $0.01 48 Used from $0.01 1 Collectible from $9.98
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback, July 1, 2002
$0.01 $0.01
Free Two-Day Shipping for College Students with Amazon Student Free%20Two-Day%20Shipping%20for%20College%20Students%20with%20Amazon%20Student


Best Books of the Year
See the Best Books of 2014
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for 2014's Best Books of the Year in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Hero Quick Promo
Save up to 90% on Textbooks
Rent textbooks, buy textbooks, or get up to 80% back when you sell us your books. Shop Now

Product Details

  • Series: The Real Story Series
  • Paperback: 95 pages
  • Publisher: Odonian Press (July 1, 2002)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1878825305
  • ISBN-13: 978-1878825308
  • Product Dimensions: 4.5 x 0.5 x 7.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 3.2 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (22 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #532,445 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Author/illustrator Mark Zepezauer’s previous books include Take the Rich Off Welfare, Boomerang! How Our Covert Wars Have Created Enemies Across the Middle East and Brought Terror to America, The Nixon Saga and the first edition of The CIA’s Greatest Hits. The former publisher of the Tucson Comic News, he lives in Tucson with his wife and two children.
--This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
2
See all 22 customer reviews
After reading this book all I can say is WOW!
TitaniumDreads
Within this book one will be introduced to the CIA's involvement in the overthrow of democratic governments all over the world.
mrgrieves08
Or perhaps it tells a very different story about what the US stands for.
schimmel

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful By mrgrieves08 on October 26, 2000
Format: Paperback
This is another important contribution to the ongoing critic of imperialist culture that many mistaking think ended at the start of the twentieth century. In the vein of Chomsky, Vidal and Jardine, "Real Story Series" pamphlets, Zepezauer gives a quick overview of, perhaps, one of the most dishonorable ongoing chapters of US history. This book is not meant to go into a detailed analysis' of CIA activities, but rather introduce the nefarious activities of this powerful agency to the public. Within this book one will be introduced to the CIA's involvement in the overthrow of democratic governments all over the world. From Nicaragua, Guatemala, and El Salvador and the repeted attempts to bring about the downfall of Castro in our hemisphere, to the Phillipines, Vietnam, Greece, and into Africa, the reader introduced to what could be called the most well financed terrorist organization in the world. This book is only an introduction, as I said, and if one is interested in a more in- depth look at the CIA, check out "Killing Hope" by William Blum. All in all this book is a very good place begin in any investigation of the CIA's activities, especially for those not familar with the subject.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful By TitaniumDreads on May 30, 2005
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I read this book right after september 11th when I was curious about why someone might want to attack the United States. After reading this book all I can say is WOW! Still I had to admit that I was more than a little dubious about the claims this book makes. I spent several months doing research and was severely disappointed when it all checked out. The CIA's Greatest Hits is the short version of some of the sketchiest things we are never taught in school.

Thinking about this kind of stuff tends to make my guts and my intellect roll. In fact, it may be easier to call the book propaganda and lies so I wouldn't have to think about the consequences of our government killing all those people. If you accept it as truth (or just do the long hours of research like I did) you will probably start to ask some difficult questions about the way the government actually works and how it purports to work and why there is such a massive gulf between two.This book takes some of that pressure off by presenting the information with funny little graphics and a tongue in cheek style that allow you to keep reading instead of getting bogged down and depressed. You can even laugh out loud occasionally.

Zepezaur does a superb job here because the book appeals to wide range of people. Someone who is totally unfamiliar with politics could pick this up and finish in a couple nights of light reading. This book scores major points with me because it's easily approachable to those who don't have a strong backing in history, yet the battle hardened Chomskyite will no doubt find new info.

I do wish he had cited sources on the pages themselves instead of in an index. It just makes them easier to check out for people who think this book is full of lies.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful By Anton Batey on January 9, 2006
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Mark Zepezauer took advantage, unlike many Americans, of the declassified CIA documents, and compacted complicated events into a single book. I got this book after doing years of research regarding the assassination of John F. Kennedy and Malcolm X. Especially Malcolm X, seeing that COINTELPRO (FBI documents) is all declassified now. Don't take Zepezauer's word for it, do your own research, your own thinking. But with the CIA admission concerning the removal of leaders like Lumumba, Mossedegh, Arbenz, Allende, Sukarno, the Pathet Loa Party and so forth, AND the installation os dictators like Suharto, Pinochet, Shah Phalevi, D'Aubassaun, and members of the Al-Quida in Afghanistan, it's hard to deny that the United States of America was, and still is, an imperialist country. And the only reason there leaders were either removed, or installed, was for the fortification of government-protected corporations in America.

-Anton Batey
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful By Bruce P. Barten on May 7, 2003
Format: Paperback
Many books attempt to include more detail on whatever historical situation they are attempting to *cover*. I know that disinformation is a large part of any secret circus stunt, and everything that happens at a circus might be more convincing than any of the parts of the world that allegedly existed before and after the momentous events that are summarized on the back cover of this book as times when the C.I.A. "participated in the assassinations of . . . literally millions of ordinary people in Indonesia, Guatemala, El Salvador, Vietnam, East Timor and many other countries." I've been in one of those countries on a U.S. government project that was not quite secret enough to suit some people, and it seemed like the C.I.A. was there long before I was, and even William Colby couldn't convince LBJ that hundreds of thousands of American troops shooting people there might get into the newspapers more often than he would like. I like reading this book on places I have never been, like Germany, whose famous Hitler employed General Reinhard Gehlen as "Hitler's intelligence chief for the Eastern front" (p. 6) before he had the opportunity to help form the C.I.A. pursuant to a "secret treaty, his spy organization--which came to be called the Gehlen Org--would work for, and be funded by, the US until a new German government came to power." (p. 6). I have searched for other information on the web about Reinhard Gehlen, which corresponds so well to the information in this book, that it is possible that the secret treaty also required Gehlen to teach the C.I.A. everything it knows.Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?