Customer Reviews


299 Reviews
5 star:
 (148)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (74)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars works great
This works perfectly for my new MacBook Air hooked up to a 1080p LED ViewSonic monitor. It was a fraction of the cost of the same exact piece that Apple sells. I see no reason to spend the extra $$ for Apple's version.
Published on January 20, 2012 by ssgriffi

versus
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not work with 2012 MacBook pro
I purchased two of these to go with a new 15in MacBook Pro w/ Retina Display (mid 2012). Neither works at all. I tried multiple monitors and DVI cables with no luck. Replaced them with genuine apple connectors which work perfectly in the same configuration. Both have gone back to Amazon for a refund.
Published on August 2, 2012 by Brian Graf


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not work with 2012 MacBook pro, August 2, 2012
By 
Brian Graf (Sagamore Hills, OH USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: C&E CNE11274 Mini DisplayPort to DVI Female Adapter Cable for MacBook, MacBook Pro, iMac, MacBook Air and Mac mini (Electronics)
I purchased two of these to go with a new 15in MacBook Pro w/ Retina Display (mid 2012). Neither works at all. I tried multiple monitors and DVI cables with no luck. Replaced them with genuine apple connectors which work perfectly in the same configuration. Both have gone back to Amazon for a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't work with 2012 MacBook Air, August 10, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: C&E CNE11274 Mini DisplayPort to DVI Female Adapter Cable for MacBook, MacBook Pro, iMac, MacBook Air and Mac mini (Electronics)
Doesn't work with my new MacBook Air 2012 running Mountain Lion. Try the StarTech.com MDP2DVI Mini DisplayPort to DVI Video Adapter Converter instead with a MacBook Air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars works great, January 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: C&E CNE11274 Mini DisplayPort to DVI Female Adapter Cable for MacBook, MacBook Pro, iMac, MacBook Air and Mac mini (Electronics)
This works perfectly for my new MacBook Air hooked up to a 1080p LED ViewSonic monitor. It was a fraction of the cost of the same exact piece that Apple sells. I see no reason to spend the extra $$ for Apple's version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avoid the Apple tax with this great item, March 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: C&E CNE11274 Mini DisplayPort to DVI Female Adapter Cable for MacBook, MacBook Pro, iMac, MacBook Air and Mac mini (Electronics)
Ugh, I'll never buy an Apple adapter again. I have this hooking up my 27" iMac to a 20" external display. It's perfect, works exactly as you would expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works for the Macbook Pro, June 21, 2011
By 
Katie B. (Arlington, VA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: C&E CNE11274 Mini DisplayPort to DVI Female Adapter Cable for MacBook, MacBook Pro, iMac, MacBook Air and Mac mini (Electronics)
This adaptor works perfect connecting my 13in Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4 GHz Macbook Pro to an external monitor with a DVI cord. I haven't had any issues yet! Does exactly as it should for a lot less than the one Apple offers. Picture quality looks fine, etc (and if it didn't I would probably blame the external monitor.) As long as you are buying it to connect with DVI, it should work for you. Anyone who rates this badly because they bought the wrong thing should simply learn to read more carefully before they place their order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheap for a reason, July 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: C&E CNE11274 Mini DisplayPort to DVI Female Adapter Cable for MacBook, MacBook Pro, iMac, MacBook Air and Mac mini (Electronics)
You get what you pay for -- Although this product is inexpensive, it has 3 problems:

#1: Does not work with ATI EyeFinity as it is a passive mini displayport adapter, not an active one. This is my own fault, I should've done more research with it before I purchase two, but just as a warning to anyone else: Look for an adapter that specifically clarifies "active" converting if you want to use it for EyeFinity, otherwise it will be useless to you.

#2: There are artifacts and other interference seen on screen with both of the adapters. Blue colors seem to have random sparkles in them for example... I tried with another adapter I got at BestBuy and do not have this issue at all.

#3: Cheap construction... The whole thing feels like it could fall apart from a feather landing on it.

Overall, just buy something else, you'll thank yourself in the end... It may work for some people, but it's better not to risk it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy official Apple, July 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: C&E CNE11274 Mini DisplayPort to DVI Female Adapter Cable for MacBook, MacBook Pro, iMac, MacBook Air and Mac mini (Electronics)
Waste of money. The adapter displayed sparkly artifacts and disconnected itself constantly. Jiggle the cord to get it to work. Bought an official Apple adapter, used, for a few bucks more and it was worth every cent. Also, this garbage shipped on a slow boat from China and took almost a month to arrive. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works fine, but not with a VGA adapter, July 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: C&E CNE11274 Mini DisplayPort to DVI Female Adapter Cable for MacBook, MacBook Pro, iMac, MacBook Air and Mac mini (Electronics)
The shipping time and cost was fine, the product build is almost identical to PPA Int'l (same cable, but connectors are a bit lesser quality). Seems solid from the get-go, but too early to tell how it will hold up over time.

It worked fine with a DVI cable, but I tried using with a VGA adapter to a DVI-D cable, and while my Mac could detect the monitor and even select the resolution, the display was black and I could never get a picture to show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No fear in purchasing this. Works perfectly with my iMac., April 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: C&E CNE11274 Mini DisplayPort to DVI Female Adapter Cable for MacBook, MacBook Pro, iMac, MacBook Air and Mac mini (Electronics)
You can purchase this adapter with confidence. I was concerned about the quality of this product. The Apple brand product was considerably more money so it makes you wonder; why is that? Did they leave something out? But, there was nothing to be concerned about. The quality is good. Nothing weird about how everything fits; everything plugged in smoothly. Works perfectly with my iMac. What more could you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great with my Mac Mini, October 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: C&E CNE11274 Mini DisplayPort to DVI Female Adapter Cable for MacBook, MacBook Pro, iMac, MacBook Air and Mac mini (Electronics)
This allowed me to add a second monitor to my Mac Mini at a great price! If you are thinking of doing the same be sure to check the configuration on your Mini on Apple's site. Apparently this only works with 2012 and newer editions. The port is slightly different on older versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.