Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read for Anyone doing Interop Programming
Like Andrew's "C# and the .NET Platform", this book combines an excellent technical overview with nitty gritty examples that detail how to use these technologies in your own development. We followed the book's step-by-step instructions to create a CCW that allows us to use the NET framework's XML digital signature support in our existing unmanaged code. Try...
Published on July 23, 2002 by Richard Hertzberg, PKC Corporation

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Programmer traps missing
This book is definitely a good starting point. It covers most of the topics, a newcomer would like to see and enables both, the .NET programmer and the COM programmer (which is most likely a VB programmer) to find a way into the material.
What is missing from my point of view is a section which describes the problems that a typical user/writer of legacy code (which...
Published on April 14, 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read for Anyone doing Interop Programming, July 23, 2002
This review is from: COM and .NET Interoperability (Paperback)
Like Andrew's "C# and the .NET Platform", this book combines an excellent technical overview with nitty gritty examples that detail how to use these technologies in your own development. We followed the book's step-by-step instructions to create a CCW that allows us to use the NET framework's XML digital signature support in our existing unmanaged code. Try cobbling up an XMLDSIG implementation on your own! I can't imagine anyone attempting to use Interop technology without a reference like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From COM to .NET and Back Again, December 21, 2004
This review is from: COM and .NET Interoperability (Paperback)
There may be times when you need to access legacy COM DLL's written in non-managed C++ or Visual Basic. This may be as a stop-gap measure until your older legacy code can be updated to .NET. In cases where performance is critical, you may have no desire to ever upgrade your C++ DLL, but would like to use C# for GUI design, rather than Microsoft Foundation Classes. If any of these situations apply, this is the book for you.

This book begins with a few chapters that will bring the reader up to date on both sides of the GAP. First you are shown the fundamentals of COM objects. Second you are shown the newer .NET architecture. Only by understanding both sides will you be able to make the two effectively communicate. For experienced users, who are already familiar with COM and .NET this section can easily be skipped. The book then continues with an overview of what datatypes are available on each side, and how they cross over.

The real meat of the book comes in the next two sections. Three chapters (the basics, intermediate and advanced topics) are given first for COM to .NET. Then the exact same pattern is repeated from .NET to COM. I spent most of my time with the .NET to COM part of the book, as I was using a C++ DLL with C#. The book answered all of my questions and I was able to successfully implement the application.

The book provides a great deal of good information, but it is sometimes hard to find exactly what you are looking for. Each direction is covered in chapters named the basics, intermediate and advanced topics. What exactly is meant by this is not clear until you begin the chapter. I often found myself skimming all three sections trying to find an example close to what I was doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the first few chapters, October 11, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: COM and .NET Interoperability (Paperback)
This is an amazingly well-organized text. I can hardly imagine how Troelsen figured out the right angle of approach, but he did!

The first few chapter are an excellent introduction to COM. I feel like my unstanding went from pattern-following to solid (but not especially deep). Troelsen offers an example of a COM object coded completely by hand in C++ that is enlightening.

The deeper one gets into Windows or .NET, the more one realizes just how entrenched COM is. Interop is still, a decade after .NET's debut, a very important issue. This may well be the best all-in-one text on that topic. However, Nathan's .NET and COM is more in-depth and has a very deep DirectX example that is much more real-world than most of Troelsen's examples. Still, Nathan is dense by comparison, and at the prices these books are going for, why not get both?

At this point I can only give an at-a-glance perspective relating this text to Templeman and Mueller, which is that they both rest around the same 'depth' but Templeman may be a little more this-then-that with very pragmatic short coding examples, while Troelsen has that wonderful teaching organization, and Nathan is somewhat denser than either Troelsen or Templeman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, October 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: COM and .NET Interoperability (Paperback)
Loved it. Great service and speed on getting the book in on time. This was exactly what I was looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andrew Troelsen 's another master piece..., February 13, 2004
By 
Puneet Sinha (Saint Paul, MN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: COM and .NET Interoperability (Paperback)
The very first book of his I bought about three years ago was COM and ATL3.0. The thing I liked about that book was the way the author explained the difficult concepts of ATL and COM in plain english.
He does it again with this book. The book covers all the aspects of Interop services with examples, and explanations are clear and to the point. I was looking for a book that will help me get started on Interop services quickly and this book helped me tremendously.
Great Job Andrew...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Programmer traps missing, April 14, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: COM and .NET Interoperability (Paperback)
This book is definitely a good starting point. It covers most of the topics, a newcomer would like to see and enables both, the .NET programmer and the COM programmer (which is most likely a VB programmer) to find a way into the material.
What is missing from my point of view is a section which describes the problems that a typical user/writer of legacy code (which COM definitely is from Microsoft's perspective) will have to overcome before he can reuse COM components in the .NET framework and write COM-usable components within .NET.
Here it relies a bit to much on Microsoft's perspective, which is that "the Framework" will do everything for you.
This is however only partly true and many programmers have gone through hard times.
When you start with COM interop, it all seems to easy... but be assured, Microsoft has a lot of work to do for programmers to make it work seamlessly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT IF YOU ARE NEW TO .NET WORLD, August 23, 2002
This review is from: COM and .NET Interoperability (Paperback)
most of the books about Interoperability bettwen COM and .NET for the programmer who worked with COM for a long time,but what will happen if you are learning .NET now and you don't know anything about COM (because you are new to programming world),so this book (the only one in the market) for the new developers and for expert developers too,it's easy to understand as all Mr.Andrew books,for me if they sell the book for 200 $ i will buy it,because of the way of explainning the subjects,if you want something about COM and .NET and how they work together FOR YOU without pain then go to the nearest bookshop and get this book now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOUR COM IN THE .NET WORLD, August 27, 2002
This review is from: COM and .NET Interoperability (Paperback)
FIRST,LET'S SAY THAT MR.ANDREW DO A GREAT JOB IN HIS BOOKS,DO YOU IMAGINE HOW MUCH MONEY HE SAVE IT FOR YOU WHEN YOU READ HIS BOOKS ?
THE BOOK BEGIN WITH OVERVIEW ABOUT COM AND .NET TOO AND IT'S EASY TO UNDERSTAND TOO,THE BSET THING IN HIS BOOKS THE CHRYSTAL EXAMPLES TO EXPLAIN WHAT HE WANT TO SAY,
MR.ANDREW IS THE BEST AUTHOR IN THE WORLD AND A LOT OF MY FRIENDS SAY THAT TOO BECAUSE HE KNOW WELL WHAT HE'S DOING,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

COM and .NET Interoperability
COM and .NET Interoperability by Andrew W. Troelsen (Paperback - April 20, 2002)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.