Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still going strong
The fifth season of C.S.I. saw the innovative series continue to be a ratings juggernaut, despite the fact that some believed the show's quality would dwindle with two spin-off's on the air as well, the original C.S.I. saw the show still going strong. In quite a few of these episodes, Gil Grissom (William Petersen) takes a bit of a back seat as more focus is put on the...
Published on November 11, 2005 by N. Durham

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars CSI Las Vegas Season Five
Package came wrapped in shrink wrap although the second disk was scratched so badly it does not even play. Other disks seem to be fine though.
Published on November 26, 2012 by KLT2025


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still going strong, November 11, 2005
The fifth season of C.S.I. saw the innovative series continue to be a ratings juggernaut, despite the fact that some believed the show's quality would dwindle with two spin-off's on the air as well, the original C.S.I. saw the show still going strong. In quite a few of these episodes, Gil Grissom (William Petersen) takes a bit of a back seat as more focus is put on the newly promoted Nick (George Eads), as well as former lab rat Greg (Eric Szamada) who is now in the field with the rest of the crew. We are given more glimpses into the personal lives of the characters than we have in previous seasons, even though it doesn't always work for the better. However, the second half of the season is simply superb, including an investigation in a mental facility which may prove fatal for Sara (Jorja Fox), an investigation into a college stud's mysterious demise, and of course, who can forget the epic season finale? Self confessed fan of the show Quentin Tarantino writes and directs the two part season finale, in which Nick is kidnapped and buried alive, and Grissom and co. race against time to save him. The finale is worth owning this season box set for alone, and it is undoubtadly one of, if not the, best episodes in the show's entire history. All in all, the fifth season of C.S.I. saw that the show still has plenty of fuel left to keep going strong, and it reaffirms that this is still the best prime time crime saga on network TV today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How do they keep it getting better?? :-), September 24, 2005
By 
Little Miss Cutey (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is such a good show. I keep saying it (as do most other people), but it's true. I don't know how this keeps surpassing each past season, but this is one of the best yet. They find a way to keep the story lines fresh and exciting and I cannot for the life of me understand why they were so obviously snubbed at this years Emmy's. My favourite episode on this is the Mexican singers who cut off a girls head and put it in a newspaper stand, and of course, the amazing season finale with Nick's character buried alive. He did a great job in that and Quentin Tarantino showed his amazing talents yet again in a phenominal episode. How they are going to top that now is anyone's guess (although that episode was the cause for Warricks character to get married in the beginning of season 6. He thought life was too short after seeing what happened to Nick). Great show. Must see. Must buy.
PS The only slight minimal negative about it, is (with all the CSI dvds, they don't include a synopsis. Therefore, if you know a particular episode you like and you want to watch it, you need to know what it's called in order to call it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 5 episodes!, November 1, 2005
The best explosive season of CSI there is to this day!, September 20, 2005
Season 5 will now be always remembered of the director Quentin Terintino who directed the 2-hour blockbuster finale in which is mind grabbing, awesome, and thrilling! Anyway here are the season 5 episodes in order.

1.) 23 Sep 04 Viva Las Vegas
2.) 7 Oct 04 Down the Drain
3.) 14 Oct 04 Harvest
4.) 21 Oct 04 Crow's Feet
5.) 28 Oct 04 Swap Meet
6.) 4 Nov 04 What's Eating Gilbert Grissom?
7.) 11 Nov 04 Formalities
8.) 18 Nov 04 Ch-Ch-Changes
9.) 25 Nov 04 Mea Culpa
10.) 9 Dec 04 No Humans Involved
11.) 6 Jan 05 Who Shot Sherlock?
12.) 13 Jan 05 Snakes
13.) 3 Feb 05 Nesting Dolls
14.) 10 Feb 05 Unbearable
15.) 17 Feb 05 King Baby
16.) 24 Feb 05 Big Middle
17.) 10 Mar 05 Compulsion
18.) 31 Mar 05 Spark of Life
19.) 14 Apr 05 4 x 4
20.) 21 Apr 05 Hollywood Brass
21.) 28 Apr 05 Committed
22.) 5 May 05 Weeping Willows
23.) 12 May 05 Iced
24.) 19 May 05 Grave Danger (1) Two part episode Directed by Quentin Terintino!
25.) 19 May 05 Grave Danger (2)Conclusion with Quentin Terintino
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best explosive season of CSI there is to this day!, September 20, 2005
Season 5 will now be always remembered of the director Quentin Terintino who directed the 2-hour blockbuster finale in which is mind grabbing, awesome, and thrilling! Anyway here are the season 5 episodes in order.

1.) 23 Sep 04 Viva Las Vegas

2.) 7 Oct 04 Down the Drain

3.) 14 Oct 04 Harvest

4.) 21 Oct 04 Crow's Feet

5.) 28 Oct 04 Swap Meet

6.) 4 Nov 04 What's Eating Gilbert Grissom?

7.) 11 Nov 04 Formalities

8.) 18 Nov 04 Ch-Ch-Changes

9.) 25 Nov 04 Mea Culpa

10.) 9 Dec 04 No Humans Involved

11.) 6 Jan 05 Who Shot Sherlock?

12.) 13 Jan 05 Snakes

13.) 3 Feb 05 Nesting Dolls

14.) 10 Feb 05 Unbearable

15.) 17 Feb 05 King Baby

16.) 24 Feb 05 Big Middle

17.) 10 Mar 05 Compulsion

18.) 31 Mar 05 Spark of Life

19.) 14 Apr 05 4 x 4

20.) 21 Apr 05 Hollywood Brass

21.) 28 Apr 05 Committed

22.) 5 May 05 Weeping Willows

23.) 12 May 05 Iced

24.) 19 May 05 Grave Danger (1) Two part episode Directed by Quentin Terintino!

25.) 19 May 05 Grave Danger (2)Conclusion with Quentin Terintino!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm in love., December 27, 2005
I don't really watch a lot of television but I do watch CSI. It is the best show out there. I was hooked after watching some of the first episodes, and the series has continued to grow and improved over time, and as soon as you think it can't get any better, it does. The show is not always accurate, but let's face it...what TV show is. Most people don't know this because they are not familiar with chemistry, physics, etc. If you're looking for a series that is worth your while though, this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gross, but oh-so-good, October 1, 2005
By 
O.K., so it took them, like, for. freaking. ever. to get S5 out on DVD, but never mind! This was the best season ever, with cast changes and re-arranges, weird new cases, Evil Ecklie smirking his way around, and a kick-ass Season Finale! This show just keeps getting better and better; rock on, CSI!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How do they keep getting better??, September 24, 2005
By 
Little Miss Cutey (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This is such a good show. I keep saying it (as do most other people), but it's true. I don't know how this keeps surpassing each past season, but this is one of the best yet. They find a way to keep the story lines fresh and exciting and I cannot for the life of me understand why they were so obviously snubbed at this years Emmy's. My favourite episode on this is the Mexican singers who cut off a girls head and put it in a newspaper stand, and of course, the amazing season finale with Nick's character buried alive. He did a great job in that and Quentin Tarantino showed his amazing talents yet again in a phenominal episode. How they are going to top that now is anyone's guess (although that episode was the cause for Warricks character to get married in the beginning of season 6. It made him think that life is too short after what happened to Nick). Great show. Must see. Must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Gripping--can't wait for the 6th season, April 10, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This season was totally gripping; I was glued to my seat especially for the final two episodes where Nick is kidnapped. What continues to draw me to the show is the sprinkle of personal life of the characters. The show isn't about the characters, but about the crimes and how they are solved by the characters--however, that doesn't mean that as an audience we don't want to watch the love interests between Gil and Sarah, and Catherine and Warrick, Catherine's dealing with her daughter, Sarah's upbringing issues, etc.

My one question is, why is Nick always the victim--he's been stalked, had a life-threatening situation where a gun was drawn on him and now this...I find that interesting.

All is all, the 5th season was the best so far and I anxiously await to add the 6th to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finale unprecedented in TV; gripping, horrifying, March 3, 2007
By 
Niel Rishoi (Livonia, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This show has some of the best writing, directing and acting ever produced on TV, and its two-part finale, "Grave Danger," reached levels of greatness unprecedented on TV. Quentin Tarantino unflinchingly explores the darkest taboo themes in human nature, exploiting the worst fears. In this case, being buried alive. It was a masterstroke having Nick Stokes, the carefree resident he-guy playboy of the show, to be the victim. And for once, making a male the victim. In most of their cases, the CSI team commences with cool calm in assembling their evidence and in solving their murder cases; the repetitiveness of their jobs give them a certain immunity to the constant brutality of their work. But here we have Nick Stokes, drugged and placed into a plastic box underground. He has lost all control, and has no way out. Certain to face a slow, agonizing death. We see Nick flailing helplessly and screaming in sheer terror and panic. Watching this is like a real-life nightmare; if this does not leave you shivering, you're made of strong stuff. The implied claustrophobia is staggeringly suffocating: you are placed in the ground with Nick, and you feel his anticipation of the worst of what he knows is certain. Tarantino is a master at manipulative fear-tapping, and nowhere else will you experience such a terrifying identification as here. The director has the entire cast effectively on edge, some of them numbed into shocked silence, others totally freaked out. Highest honors, though, goes to George Eads for his completely unexpected virtuoso performance. He should have won an Emmy. Who would have expected Eads to go from an efficiently competent actor to one of dazzling range of depth? When was the last time any male character was made to seem so vulnerable, so helpless, so completely downright scared crapless? Eads screams and cries like a boy; his character's adult male control has been taken away from him, and the actor assails the viewer with an unspeakable sense of cold, clammy dread. A woman would react to this as a girlfriend and mother would, but speaking as a male, I cannot imagine a more sinister scenario (short of being castrated) than this. Most movie/tv situations has the male hero nearly always in control, or at least, having a means, a plan, a way out. Not here. It violates the standard dictum of the hero ingeniously conquering all, and therefore, it is a stunning innovation.

The one small cavil I have is that the end of the episode did not provide us to see a great emotional catharsis of Nick and the other characters in the final resolution. But that is a minor point. All told, this slow, clautrophobic agony of terror is one of TV's greatest moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, what a ride!, April 3, 2006
By 
Sofia (Cologne, Germany) - See all my reviews
After five seasons CSI is still my favorite show on TV. I couldn't wait to get my hands on this box set (I live in Germany and they've just started showing the 5th season a couple of months ago) to watch the last two episodes that Quentin Tarantino directed (Note: he actually didn't write them; the credits say: story by QT). I never used to like Quentin Tarantino's work but, man, these two episodes took my breath away! I was sitting at the edge of my seat, biting my fingernails, hoping that Nick (my favorite character by the way) would get out of that transparent box alive. Great job, guys. Can't wait for season six!

Just one word to the person who said that the crimes are always solved: this is not true! There is one episode during this season where the CSI guys get the serial killer that has been killing (on and off) for over twenty years (so they didn't catch him right away, see?) and whose "partner in crime" was caught and sentenced to death in season 3. And then there is also Catherine's father who got away with murder. And there is also Paul Milander (of season one and two). He never gets caught, he commits suicide before the police can arrest him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.