Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (118)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


225 of 234 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars C.S.I. Crime Scene Investigation - The Complete Third Season
CSI is often intense and chilling. The scenes showing the laboratory work are fascinating. I scouted around on Paramount's web site to see what information they might have about the CSI 3rd season set. Here is what I found:
=>23 Uncut episodes
=>over five hours of special features.
Audio commentary with cast and crew on Episodes:
"Revenge Is Best...
Published on February 5, 2004 by cyclista

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars THE CUSTOMERS ARE ENTITLED
THE WALLFLOWERS appeared live in THE ACCUSED IS ENTITLED performing EVERYBODY OUT OF THE WATER but Jakob Dylan was not included on the commentary or was the video for the song included on the Special Features. Big name band-little DVD notice.

The dwarf population in the United States was given spotlighting in A LITTLE MURDER, this was also Naren Shankar's...
Published 22 months ago by Jared P. Baratta


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

225 of 234 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars C.S.I. Crime Scene Investigation - The Complete Third Season, February 5, 2004
By 
CSI is often intense and chilling. The scenes showing the laboratory work are fascinating. I scouted around on Paramount's web site to see what information they might have about the CSI 3rd season set. Here is what I found:
=>23 Uncut episodes
=>over five hours of special features.
Audio commentary with cast and crew on Episodes:
"Revenge Is Best Served Cold"
"The Accused Is Entitled"
"Fight Night"
"Snuff"
"Random Acts of Violence"
"Lady Heather's Box"
5 Exclusive Featurettes:
The CSI Tour: Police Station
The CSI Shot: Making It Real
The Writers Room
CSI Moves Into Season Three
Crime Scene Field Kit
Here is an episode guide, with a tiny description:
1. Revenge Is Best Served Cold: A poker player dies during a high-stakes game. A dragster is found dead at an airstrip.
2. The Accused Is Entitled: An actor is suspected of killing a hooker found in his hotel room. His lawyer hires Grissom's former mentor to find mistakes in CSI's work.
3. Let The Seller Beware: A wealthy couple's bodies are found at their home. Sara investigates the death of a cheeleader whose organs have been removed.
4. A Little Murder: A dwarf is found hanging at a Little People's convention. Catherine is attacked at a crime scene.
5. Abra Cadaver: A volunteer disappears during a magic act. A rock star appears to have overdosed.
6. The Execution Of Catherine Willows: A man on death row is granted a stay based on DNA evidence.
7. Fight Night: A boxing champ dies during a match. A gang member is shot. A jewelry store is robbed.
8. Snuff: A movies shows a woman being murdered. A long-dead body is found.
9. Blood Lust: After a taxi driver appears to have run over a teen-ager, an angry mob beats him.
10. High And Low: A man who was thrown off a building was already dead.
11. Recipe For Murder: A woman apparently commits suicide. There is a murder at a slaughterhouse.
12. Got Murder? A bird is found with a human eyeball.
13. Random Acts Of Violence: An old friend's daughter is killed in a drive-by shooting. A computer company employee is murdered.
14. One Hit Wonder: Escalating peeping tom incidents are investigated by CSI. Sara reopens a case involving a friend.
15. Lady Heather's Box: 90 minute episode. Two employees of a dominatrix are murdered. Catherine's ex-husband disappears after a car crash.
16. Lucky Strike: The young son of a pro basketball player is kidnapped. A man dies with a stake in the back of his head.
17. Crash & Burn: A woman dies due to carbon monoxide poisoning.
18. Precious Metal: A decomposed body found in a chemical waste drum begins an investigation of robot sports.
19. A Night at the Movies: A man is stabbed during a movie. A teen-ager is shot to death in a warehouse.
20. Last Laugh: A comedian dies during his act. A woman's death is investigated after her husband is seen with a new car and girlfriend.
21. Forever: A teenaged couple are found dead. A horse trainer is found trampled to death in the cargo bay of a private jet carrying a show horse.
22. Play With Fire...: A woman is strangled at a sports field. The CSI crime lab explodes.
23. Inside The Box: A detective is killed during a bank robbery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CSI's Still On Top!, April 20, 2004
By 
Tim (Williamstown, USA) - See all my reviews
Being an extreme CSI fan, I couldn't pass up the chance to buy season 3 to add to my growing collection. I saw probably a little more than half the season and it was just as good as the other two seasons and I wanted to see all that I missed. The plot with Grissom's hearing problem kept you watching to see how he handled it and what would happen. Once again, there's 23 episodes on 6 disks. The episodes are as follows: (Episodes appear in the order of original airdate)
DISK 1:
*Episode 302: "Revenge is Best Served Cold"
**Episode 301: "The Accused is Entitled"
Episode 303: "Let the Seller Beware"
Episode 304: "A Little Murder"
DISK 2:
Episode 306: "Abra Cadaver"
Episode 305: "The Execution of Catherine Willows"
***Episode 307: "Fright Night" (Emmy Award Winning Episode)
^Episode 308: "Snuff"
DISK 3:
Episode 309: "Blood Lust"
Episode 310: "High and Low"
Episode 311: "Recipe For Murder"
Episode 312: "Got Murder?"
DISK 4:
+Episode 313: "Random Acts of Violence"
Episode 314: "One Hit Wonder"
~Episode 315: "Lady Heather's Box"
Episode 316: "Lucky Strike"
DISK 5:
Episode 317: "Crash and Burn"
Episode 318: "Precious Metal"
Episode 319: "A Night At The Movies"
Episode 320: "Last Laugh"
DISK 6:
Episode 321: "Forever"
Episode 322: "Play With Fire"
Episode 323: "Inside The Box"
*- Featuring audio commentary by Danny Cannon and Anthony E. Zuiker
**- Featuring audio commentary by Ann Donahue, Elizabeth Devine, and Ken Fink
***- Featuring audio commentary by Richard Lewis and naren Shankar
^- Featuring audio commentary by Ann Donahue and Ken Fink
+- Featuring audio commentary by Danny Cannon and Karen Shankar
~- Featuring audio commentary by Richard Lewis, Anthony E. Zuiker, Naren Shankar and Josh Berman
Along with 23 episodes, the DVD features the following bonus materials:
The CSI Tour: Police Station
The CSI Shot: Making It Real
The Writers' Room
CSI Moves Into Season 3
Crime Scene Field Kit
(All bonus materials combine into a total of approx. 5 hours)
You get so much for the price! Some DVD sets can break 100 but this is much less. With 5 hours of Bonus Material and the 23 episodes, you can't possibly complain! I recommend any CSI lover out there to buy this DVD set. If you are a true fan of CSI, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank goodness for CSI, October 20, 2004
I pretty much do not watch tv anymore with the exception of childrens shows with my 4 year old (I like to make sure what he is watching) and occasionally news with my husband. I was thrilled when a friend let be borrow the first season DVD set of CSI and I immdeiatly started hunting them down.

I enjoyed the third season as much at the first two. I loved the ending which left you wondering about how Grissom's surgery would turn out and if Sara and Grissom would get together or not.

What I also appreciate is the fact that while they give us intresting tastes of the lives of the CSI personel the do not let it get in the way of the mysteries. I used to watch "Judging Amy" but after a while it switched from being about cases to being about Amy's crazy family life and in my oppinion just another soap opera. I appreciate that the CSI people have kept a good focus on the mystery part of the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CSI gets better every year, June 10, 2004
Having watched this series from the pilot episode, I've not missed one episode. I have them all on videotape, and now that they've been released on DVD, all the better! I have all 3 seasons, and can't wait until season 4 is released. This is a fantastic show with realistic crime scene depictions, often taken off the front pages of today's newspapers. The twists and turns make it fun to try to solve the crime before it shows you at the end, and some cases I find truly baffling! The tools are real, and I've gotten to the point I have a deep interest in forensic science. I've even thought of going back to school for it because of this TV SHOW! I think this is my favorite show EVER..even above ER, Third Watch, and Crossing Jordan! If you haven't seen it yet, you're missing something truly unique! Furthermore, I like the original CSI in the Las Vegas setting, and don't much care for the spinoff of CSI: Miami. CSI: New York is beginning in the fall, and I'll give that a couple episodes before I decide. I'm a CSI fanatic, I can't help it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mild flaws, but other wise C.S.I excellence, April 4, 2004
By 
Meg "Livin la vida loca in Maine!" (Presque Isle, ME, United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
As a huge C.S.I. fan, I cannot objectively rate this. I love C.S.I., and own the other two seasons. I just spent the weekend watching this (Yes I know I need a life! : ), but I felt it was a weekend well spent.
Even though C.S.I. had two plotlines that never worked in season three (Grissom's hearing loss, and Sara lusting over Grissom), this season contains some of the best C.S.I.'s yet. When the personal lives of the C.S.I's combine with the cases they are working on, you get some of the best acting out of this distinguished group of actors. The plotline of Eddie Willows' death, and how it effects Catherine is probably one of the most gripping ones of the season. Also, when Warrick puts his personal feelings for the victim, someone's daughter from his past, ahead of his criminalistic objectivity we see how fragile he really is.
In most every C.S.I. episode, there is an "A" story and a "B" story. At times, you wish that the C.S.I. writers would use only one story at a time, as it could get confusing. But other then that, I cannot find any horrific flaws.
Jerry Bruckheimer continues his reign as the modern day Jack Webb with his series "Cold Case", and "Without a Trace". The C.S.I. Miami and now New York series are watering down the name, but Bruckheimer continues to turn out hit after hit. Go with this C.S.I. season for a great DVD set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Going Strong, May 24, 2006
By 
By the third season of any popular series, it's not unusual for creative plot ideas to slow down, the acting to become stagnant, and the show to generally weaken. Not so with CBS's runaway smash hit "CSI: Crime Scene Investigation". Like its first two years, season three was full of drama, mystery, and episodes that kept viewers on the edge of their seats.

If season one introduced audiences to the world of forensic science and season two saw the characters become a bit more comfortable with each other, season three was full of action and character-driven drama previously unseen on the show. Gil Grissom (William Petersen) continued to struggle with his growing deafness and increasing chemistry with Sara; Catherine Willows (Marg Helgenberger) managed to not only lose her ex-husband in a car accident but discover the identity of her father and blow up the lab. Warrick Brown (Gary Dourdan) learned that personal actions have consequences for the victims in his cases, Nick Stokes (George Eads) began his ongoing competition with Sara for Grissom's approval, and Sara Sidle (Jorja Fox) just plain had a bad year, from finding out she was her boyfriend's 'other woman' to nearly being killed in a lab explosion. Greg Sanders (Eric Szmanda) continued on his quest to become a CSI, while Jim Brass (Paul Guilfoyle) and Doc Robbins (Robert David Hall) continued to process some of Las Vegas's craziest.

However, the personal dramas took a backseat to the reality of crime in Vegas as the nightshift continued to investigate some of the most compelling cases to date. 'The Accused is Entitled' featured a popular actor going up for murder and putting CSI on trial in the process (not entirely unlike what happened with OJ Simpson a decade earlier), 'Fight Night' took viewers into the underworld of boxing, and 'Inside the Box' combined the death of a police officer with mob ties and the high-stakes world of a casino mogul. In addition to these episodes, season highlights included 'The Execution of Catherine Willows', 'Random Acts of Violence', and the 90-minute episode 'Lady Heather's Box', a mini-movie that brought the return of infamous dominatrix Lady Heather (Melinda Clarke) in a mystery so full of twists it will have you glued to your chair.

In addition to all twenty-three season episodes, the DVD box set includes a tour of the police lab, a behind-the-scenes view of the writers' room, interviews with the cast, and episode commentaries full of information on how each episode comes together.

Having passed the sophomore hurdle, in its third season, "CSI" proved that it was capable of delivering quality entertainment, and is still going strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My Fascination with This Series Is Almost Embarrassing, October 4, 2005
Between CSI Miami and this, the original series, I think that this series wins hands down. I remember first seeing Petersen (Gil Grissom) in Manhunter (the first movie based on Thomas Harris' book the Red Dragon and the perfect movie adaptation of that book) when he was quite a bit younger and thinner but it is not his leading man qualities that make him so appealing.

The writers/producers/directors of this series manage to recreate some of the things that make British crime dramas so fascinating-- they 1) don't pull away from the dark to contrive a happy ending; 2)they don't hesitate to portray the lead characters as vulnerable and "strange"; and 3) they look for really great faces, not conventionably pretty or ugly actor, for the parts.

Sure, it's science fantasy in the sense that things don't happen in real life the way they happen in the CSI lab, and it's not great art, but its a great way to pass time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CSI CONTINUES TO SHINE, June 29, 2006
By 
Having absorbed the third season, it's amazing how this series continues to grow both dramatically and technically. In this season, apart from the usual puzzling crime scenes, the stars of the show find themselves in varying crises: Grissom's hearing loss gets worse and a decision must be made; Katherine's personal life undergoes a tragic change; Warrick finds himself involved in an internal affairs investigation; Sarah loses one love and contemplates a surprising replacement; Nick takes up a dangerous new hobby; and Brass continues to be his wonderfully sardonic self. We get dwarves, stand up comics, vigilantes, murderous actors and more. The cast as always is impeccable with William Petersen continuing to be the most complex character on television. Brilliant show just keeps getting better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally Enhanced Widescreen, March 31, 2004
By A Customer
CSI is a show that people either seem to love or hate - I personally think it is great TV. This DVD set is made even better by using wide screen - enhanced for 16/9 TV. Credit should be given to CBS for releasing the 3rd year (last year's season) so soon. This show definitely ranks with other "cop" shows like Law & Order and Homicide, Life on the Street. All 23 episodes are here. The only question now is when can we expect CSI Miami and a release of the first two seasons in this enhanced 16/9 mode
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As all great things, it has its down sides., April 15, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am a huge CSI fan. If you've never watched it, first of all, say hi to everyone on Mars for me.. other than that, order your copy today. Have no doubts. There is no way you can be wrong about buying this DVD. Besides one small problem.
In a show, where one of the lead characters is having a hearing problem, how come there are no subtitles recorded? It's the down side of it all, that kind of takes the fun away when big latin words start flying around.
As I said, do not hesitate. Just order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.