Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Black Friday egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Black Friday Deals Shop Now HTL

Format: DVDChange
Price:$11.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on January 10, 2010
I used to enjoy this series, but, with Season 7, the flaws which were hidden away in the series have come perilously close to eclipsing the enjoyment factor. Primary wondering: Who is the intended audience? The series used to have some level of intelligence about it, but is steadily sliding into the vast void of clichés.

** All women must be of the cookie cutter variety. Stiletto heels? For crime scenes? Come on! It appears one plastic surgeon was contracted for the whole series. Make-up (and tons of it!) and hair styles the same. Beaches and pools filled with hordes of the same few bodies, done a hundred times over. Older lead guy can only be in relationships with pitiful, and/or neurotic, anorexic youngsters. This pretty much demeans everyone -- audience, actors, writers, producers.
** Appearance of Woodwork Family. Yawn. When shows are losing their edge, all of a sudden the previously non-existent family appears out of the woodwork. The characters are written in the absence of creativity, rather than as a part of creativity, and are pure filler material. About as interesting as packaging, except they stay around a lot, lot longer. Very long.
** Bad guys are pure evil. Granted, this particular problem runs throughout almost all TV series having to do with crime, so can't put this on this series alone. But it would be great to see some bad guys elevated to actually being interesting enough to do something beside be evil comic book villains. Saris, the Russian mobster du jour, etc., are so one-dimensional and boring, the best to hope for is they die (without coming back from the dead) and the show moves on.
** One story per episode. The series used carry its weight, by having the different CSIs working on different crimes, creating an energetic and interesting interweave of plots and characters. Now it is one story per episode ... or a story with an ongoing pure evil bad guy sprinkled on top.

~~ I like the Horatio Caine persona. Gutsy David Caruso creates a wonderfully individualized character. But Caine is so Caine I believe one would need to like the weird character, with his sideways crabwalk and strange speech cadence, to enjoy the show. Even Caine had not much to go on this season. Too much of the prefab family, too little substance.
~~ Emily Procter is terrific on a bad day. And she has no bad days. Procter's Calleigh Duquesne is an excellently drawn character, pulled off with a surprising range of thought and emotions, with just the right touch of sly humor.
~~ I enjoy the other regular characters just fine, particularly Detective Tripp (Rex Linn). But another reviewer said it for me: Bring back Dr. Alexx Woods (Khandi Alexander)!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
33 of 44 people found the following review helpful
on July 25, 2009
Spoilers Ahead!!! What an interesting season! In the very first episode of the season, we find out who wants Horatio Caine (David Caruso) dead and in the final episode, Eric Delko (Adam Rodriguez) has disappeared with his devious father. Both Horatio's son Kyle (Evan Ellingson) and Eric get thrown into jail,a new coroner named Dr. Tara Price (Megalyn Echikunwoke) turns out to have an addiction to Oxycodone pain killer pills, Eric and Calleigh Duquesne have a blooming relationship with each other, Yelina Salas (Sofia Milos) returns undercover, Horatio's mortal enemy Ron Saris (Kim Coates) turns out to be married to Horatio's ex Julia Winston (Elizabeth Berkley), Natalia Boa Vista (Eva La Rue) was lucky enough this season to not have so much of the drama focused on her, and Ryan Wolfe (Jonathan Togo) was forced to betray his team within the entire season's swirl and hinting of the Russian Mob's constant tabs on the team's every move. The crimes have become more intriguing from a con man who tricked married women into sexual relations for their money, a man who cannot remember how he could have killed an entire family, and explore the world of extreme plastic surgery. Season Seven has proved itself to be one of the best seasons yet to watch and I would definitely recommend it over the tedious CSI: Crime Scene Investigation Season Nine. Don't miss a second of this hard-hitting drama with non-stop action in each episode. Episodes I recommend are: Episode 1 "Resurrection" in where Horatio has been supposedly shot, Episode 10 "The DeLuca Motel" where a shooter targets the place where Eric is staying at, Episode 20 "Wolfe In Sheep's Clothing" where Ryan is forced to betray the team by altering evidence in a case, Episode 24 "Dissolved" where Julia spins out of control and Dr. Price is fired, and Episode 25 "Seeing Red" where Eric finds out about his father's involvement in a current case and disappears to help him out.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on February 27, 2015
Those of you who have followed my reviews know that I have had some problems with the series, though the good stories and solid acting by
David Caruso has kept me enchanted with the seasons. This season really had some excellent episodes: tear jerkers, funny ones, rather sad
ones and so forth. And I still do not like the character of Delko, a sniveling, jealous man-child who was in my opinion a semi-stalker of Kelly. Well,
she apparently gave in to him after dating some rather good looking men. What a world. Still, he is a good investigator and the other people in
the CSI are likeable. Sadly, the forensic examiner/ coroner Alex had to leave for personal reasons, with the next one lasting only one episode
before getting shot in the head. Not good. Finally they got this good looking babe who seemed to fit in and was doing a good job but got into
a mess of trouble. Hopefully Alex with come back. There are some really powerful episodes which I think will appeal to the types like me who
like crime solving through scientific investigations. The CSI series (all of them) do this and with excellent cast members. There are some high
scale tense scenes in quite a number of episodes especially the last episode on disc 7. Yes, there are seven discs in this seventh season.
Caine is the same nasty, grouchy and yet very compassionate cop/investigator and added from earlier seasons is Ryan Wolfe, my favorite character along with Caine: I refer to this season as the Caine Saga because he is the main center of the stories and Caruso does a great job
along with Gibbs of NCIS and William Peterson (the original head of CSI LV, and of course Gary Sinise of CSI NY (where I live!); all the best
of television. And in season 8 (which I just started) a new young male investigator is added that probably contest with Delko for Kelly's charms.
Too bad....not really as far as I am concerned. Anyhow, FIVE STARS this time dispite Delko. To be fair, I found at least one character I did
not like in such of my favorite shows as BONES, CASTLE, THE MENTALIST, NCIS (all of them) and CSI (all of them) and still strongly
recommend them to everyone. There is strong violence, some gory scenes and rather strong language but then this is 2015. I got all my
DVDs from Amazon and at very good prices. I bought the entire CSI Miami 10 seasons at very good price. Enjoy!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on December 6, 2011
I was looking for a specific episode, and guessed (incorrectly) that this was the season that included that episode. So here is a list of the episodes included in this set:

701: Resurrection
702: Won't Get Fueled Again
703: And How Does That Make You Kill?
704: Raging Cannibal
705: Bombshell
706: Wrecking Crew
707: Cheating Death
708: Gone Baby Gone
709: Power Trip
710: The Deluca Motel
711: Tipping Point
712: Head Case
713: And They're Offed
714: Smoke Gets In Youre CSIs
715: Presumed Guilty
716: Sink or Swim
717: Divorce Party
718: Flight Risk
719: Target Specific
720: Wolfe in Sheep's Clothing
721: Chip/Tuck
722: Dead on Arrival
723: Collateral Damage
724: Dissolved
725: Seeing Red

I'm not terribly disappointed by my mistake in ordering the wrong season, because this is an entertaining series and the set seems to be of better quality than most of the tv series I have ordered on dvd. Some series don't come close-captioned, and when they don't, I am disappointed. This set is closed-captioned, for anyone else who finds this important.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2010
Very few shows in my opinion are good once they hit their sixth or seventh year, however, that is not the case here, like "Star Trek" Next Generation" this show only gets better as it goes on & this season like Season 6 are probably the best seasons of this show, "C.S.I.Miami" got off to a slow start when it began in 2002, but it has since gotten better, despite David Caruso's thinning hair line, the scenery gets better & better, this is without a doubt one of the most beautifully shot shows on T.V., & this Season 7 picks up exactly where Season 6 ended where Horatio appears to have been shot, we quickly learn that it was all staged in an attempt to get Sarius(Kim Koates), a despicable villian, to come out of hiding, this is a guy you just love to hate, & the plan works, Elizabeth Berkley returns as Horatio's ex, & currently Sarias' new love as she sets him up to be taken down by Horatio, with this subplot wrapped up, the show then takes on some new story arcs, the "Miami" team soon attract the attention of Russian mobsters who keep tabs on them, Andrew Divoff who has played some memorable villians over the years("Lost" "Another 48 Hours") does so again here as a Russian mobster, who irratates & mocks Horatio much like Sarias, as the team try to connect him to a series of unsolved crimes, a romance blossoms between Caleigh(Emily Proctor) who always to me seemed one-dimensional & Eric(Adam Rodriguez) where Eric learns his estranged father may be tied to these mobsters, won't give to much away, because this season is full of surprises, some may compare it to "Miami Vice" of the 80's because of Caruso's Horatio always being somewhat trigger happy unlike his counter-parts Grissom(Las Vegas) or Mac Taylor(C.S.I.NY), well, I don't know, Mac(Gary Sinise) seems to be a bit trigger happy too on (C.S.I."NY"), but then again I don't think this is a bad thing, people who complain about this obviously have a bone to pick with Caruso it seems, I can't believe people are still ticked at him over "NYPD Blue", like he was the first T.V. star to bail on a hit show, (please!!!), William Peterson just did the same thing on the original "C.S.I.", yes, Caruso might have been a bit arrogant back in the early 90's, but he hasn't done that here, we all make mistakes, anyway this Season is a must have for any "C.S.I. Miami" fan, it is my favorite season of "C.S.I. Miami".
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2008
Video On Demand is the coming thing and will likely replace DVD's, except for Blue Ray. Unfortunately, there are some quirky issues with Amazon Video On Demand that need to be fixed. They are:

1. You are not required to log in to download a video, but your credit card is charged. That appears to have potential for a security breach.
2. The Unbox software is flaky. It plays the videos just fine, but it has some navigational quirks that will frustrate unsophisticated computer users.
3. There is no apparent way to call or e-mail customer support if you are having trouble with Video On Demand. You can read the FAQ's and provide feedback, but there seems to be no way to contact a live individual if your video's are not downloading or playing correctly.

Having said that, I would rate the service as good. I have my computer connected directly to my 42" Phillips Plasma TV via a HDMI cable. The quality of the videos comes out on my TV as 720i although my TV is a 1080i. Not quite DVD quality, but very close. The downloaded videos play seamlessly from start to finish and the sound is excellent. Some of the colors in CSI: Miami are not quite true compared to viewing the HD broadcast version of the episode. CSI: NY seems to come out clearer and colors are more true.

The VOD TV episodes have the advantage of no commercials and the movies don't waste your time with previews at the start. They also have no bonus material.

Download time is long even with a fast connection. About 1 GB of space is required per hour of video. I have not tried viewing on-line, but I suspect that buffering delays would occur.

The price of VOD movie rentals is somewhat hefty compared to Redbox, but VOD is very convenient and you have 30 days to start viewing your rental movie before it locks. Once you start viewing it, it will lock after 24 hours.

Overall, I really like Amazon Video On Demand, but they need to jump on fixing those problems listed at the start.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on September 25, 2009
Okay........If you watched the DVD package "Seasons 1-6" as I did; you were engrossed by David Caruso's campy acting of overplaying "Horatio Caine" into our favorite TV hero....... with his constant repositioning himself in dramatic sideways stances, his famous "removing his sunglasses" at a key script line, and his voice lowering in a pitch that only a commercial hack announcer could deliver without blushing for its rediculous overdramatic presentation.

But this Season's shows are completely laughable in their cartoon plots, with the over acting that has returned like some sort of viral disease, and the NEW medical examiner who looks like she is 15 years old!

Adam Rodriguez has fallen off the map once again in his portrayal of Eric Delko. The first episode "Russurection", when Horatio is apparently assasinated at the local municipal Airport, is just plain laughable as Rodriguez's overacting compels you to send him a check to revisit that acting school in Long Beach he obviously dropped out of early to take this role in the first place. His cast counterpart, Jonathan Togo's "Ryan Wolfe" is even WORSE! These two guys would have been dropped from any High School's Drama Club, and sent back to the Atheletic Department with tennis shoes in hand.

And now our series favorite, Emily Proctor, has caught this disease. The Make Up crew has done their best to hide Proctor's 41 years by "softening" her look, but sadly the script writers have also "softened her brain" as well; making her appear as comedically cartoon-like in nature with her performances.

"Well, Crispy here.........." as the new Medical Examiner, Tara Price [played by newcomer Megalyn Fouckunwke] notes to Delko, while examining the beach party burn victim in the episode "Won't get fueled again", shows the inappropriate humor that only a poor CSI Miami Hollywood screenwriter can stoop to, and makes her character look like a sophomoric moron. BRING BACK KANDI ALEXANDER.............please!

No longer does the classic "campy acting" of David Caruso carry this show anymore, but rather it is indicative of a burned out screenwriting crew that has run out of ideas, and a cast that looks literally bored and are just in it now for the money. It is time for "Red" to move on to bigger and better things.

Caruso's Golden Globe for "NYPD Blue" must haunt him now as he watches the Daily Rushes of CSI Miami, and make him long for those days when Hollywood still considered him a great performer before his self destructive Ego Trip.

Put this series in the "Can".......and move on, David.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on September 23, 2008
The quality of the video is pathetic. I find it hard to believe they are selling this. They aren't ready from prime time yet. Video quality was poor resolution, jumpy and sometime large pauses.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2015
The series is really starting to wind down, and this season was a snoozer. I honestly can't think of any episode that really stood out as excellent, and instead there was plenty of cheesiness and contrived story elements (such as the episode with the spare grenade that happened to land up a victim's pant leg(?!) then conveniently drop out later to explode in the autopsy room??!!) The most bizarre element of the writing this season is the awkward and unbelievable "romance" of Delko and Duquesne. Overlooking the fact that he looks to be in his early 20's and she looks closer to early 40's (closer in age to Horatio maybe) the relationship seems completely artificial and contrived, and serves little more than to be a cheesy sub-lot to the season. The new ME was completely forgettable and, as best I can tell, is no longer in the series aften snatching meds from the lab? What sort of strange sub-plot was that all about? Again, nothing spectacular about this season, and the subplot with the Russian mob was equally ridiculous (and could Wolf seriously be tortured and have a tooh ripped out then go back to work like it was no big deal? Shouldn't he have, I dunno, checked into a hospital? Couldn't that missing tooth socket get infected?)
In any case, this season was silly and forgettable. David Caruso was still awesome in this but too much goofy cheese ruined the season.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on March 17, 2013
What can I say? The original CSI was always my favorite, but the more I watched of Miami, the more interested I became in the characters. This franchise has the best character development.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
CSI: Miami: Season 9
CSI: Miami: Season 9 by David Caruso (DVD - 2011)

CSI: Miami: Season 8
CSI: Miami: Season 8 by David Caruso (DVD - 2010)

CSI: Miami: Season 6
CSI: Miami: Season 6 by David Caruso (DVD - 2008)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.